Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 Official Thread V2, 10.1" Android Ice Cream Sandwich Tablet
mydragoon
Oct 13 2011, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(DikkieD @ Oct 12 2011, 11:40 PM) Is Asus always waiting with official press releases up until the moment the device hits the shelfs? I would like to know more about the final TF2 product, but so far it's all guessing. dun think this one is guessing... if this is to be believed: QUOTE Asus Transformer 2 Bringing Quad-Core to the Masses November 7? by phandroid: For tablet fans eager to see how NVIDIA’s Tegra 3 processor performs, the wait might not be much longer. Next week, ASUS chairman Jonney Shih will take the stage at the AsiaD conference, joined by NVIDIA CEO Jen-Hsun Huang. The joint appearance lends credence to rumors that have surfaced pinning the launch of the ASUS Transformer 2 to November 7th. Along with the potential release date, Tabletowo also provided a set of leaked spec, which confirmed the Transformer 2′s Tegra 3 quad-core CPU and listed the tablet as shipping with 1GB of RAM and 32GB of internal storage. NVIDIA asked to have the information removed from the site, but the coverup does little but help to confirm the report.
mydragoon
Oct 14 2011, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Oct 14 2011, 12:19 AM) pple talking about locally lar not overseas. its been out overseas for some time already but locally not on sale yet... but honestly... could be there are no plans for Asus MY to bring it in. after all... 3G means need sim card. if no telco wanna tie up... dun think Asus can justify bringing in the model and setting up support for it. Added on October 14, 2011, 9:04 amQUOTE(cychua85 @ Oct 13 2011, 07:01 PM) I`ve been waiting asus tablet 3g since transformer 1 release.... but no news at all about 3g. Either transformer 2 or slide eee something... End of november 2011, still no news bout transformer, with no choice, i`ll go for tab...  for me... TF's unique feature is the transform between netbook and tablet. so far, no other tablets really have this yet. for me... at this time, i'd just wait for TF201 aka TF2. This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 14 2011, 09:04 AM
mydragoon
Oct 14 2011, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(cychua85 @ Oct 14 2011, 11:34 AM) After TF2 then there will be TF3 or Megatron Transformer..... All i want just a 3G version then everything will be fine already. If i buy a tablet just for leisure in home for movie/music.... Better for me to go for a 60' Big Big Screen TV. Anyway, heard that TF 2 is quad core but still with 1GB RAM only, well, i think you have better luck just buying it from the sites mentioned earlier... at the rate things are going, Asus MY might not be bringing it in... anyway, no harm dropping them a message on FB and asking them if got plans to bring in or not... do let us know if and when they reply.
mydragoon
Oct 18 2011, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Oct 17 2011, 01:37 AM) Found out Mx Video Player does a much better job! Both better graphics and smoother playback! Not just that, but it's free too! There's just a small Google Adwords at the directory listing, and no ads during playback. There's an ad-free version as well. anyone else got dice and can do comparison? since this one is free, i'm gonna check it out. dem sianz that video playback on TF is not as smooth as i expected... but it's not big deal... just that when i compare with my sgs2, no fight la. sgs2 wins...
mydragoon
Oct 19 2011, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Oct 18 2011, 09:06 PM) u can try dice for 3 days no need wait for others to feedback  oh, i mean compare side by side... dice with MX. but ya... since dice also free for 3 days... i guess i could do it. maybe this weekend la...
mydragoon
Oct 20 2011, 10:58 AM
QUOTE Asus Reveals “Transformer Prime,” Padfone Availability and Plans For ICS UpdateThat wasn’t the only bomb Mr. Shih dropped during the interview. First, Asus plans on updating current Asus Transformers to the newly announced Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich before the end of the year. Second, Asus also plans to ship the Padfone during 1st quarter of next year and running on none other than, you guessed it — Ice Cream Sandwich. As a refresher, the Padfone is essentially a tablet “shell” that allows a user to dock a phone into it then using the smartphone as the “brain” of the device. Ever since it was announced, it seemed like an ideal device to be running Ice Cream Sandwich as the updated Android OS now supports both smartphone and tablet functionality. i love you, asus...
mydragoon
Oct 20 2011, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Oct 20 2011, 11:29 AM) yeap, good news. but HoneyComb -> ICS isn't too big a change that's why I think its not difficult to upgrade it to ICS. but its good to see ASUS taking the first step to announce this and potentially be the first manufacturer to release ICS for tablets. i personally think HC --> ICS is also a big leap but like you, ya... the more impressive thing is that Asus have been really fast in the firmware updates. and now, already stating TF101 will be getting ICS. most other manufacturers, including phone makers, are still quiet about this.
mydragoon
Oct 20 2011, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Oct 20 2011, 02:06 PM) * after ICS, will the keyboard have any issues? wanna get the keyboard.. so may i ask... is the keyboard using the same charger as the tablet? thanks. yes... from what i understand, when you buy the keyboard dock, it does not come with charger -- i found that silly. when i first got my set, i was hoping to get 2 sets of chargers (1 as spare). charger only comes with the tablet. Added on October 20, 2011, 2:15 pmQUOTE(mikeeeee @ Oct 20 2011, 02:13 PM) why would ICS cuz any problem to the keyboard? Anyway, i don't think it will be so soon that ICS will land on Transformer, probably a good few months wait asus big boss say by year end wor... This post has been edited by mydragoon: Oct 20 2011, 02:15 PM
mydragoon
Oct 20 2011, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Oct 20 2011, 03:09 PM) and the cable is so short isnt it? they purposely want u to buy extra..haha and the problem is... not sure if things have changed... but... no official accessories/ spare parts in MY. do let me know if i'm wrong about the spare part availability in MY. but i guess can use 'compatible' products la...
mydragoon
Oct 20 2011, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(caterpiez @ Oct 20 2011, 03:41 PM) just buy 3m usb 3.0 extension  i was hoping to have the charger also (the black piece thingy), not just the cable.
mydragoon
Oct 20 2011, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Oct 20 2011, 04:03 PM) still choosing between logitech bluetooth keyboard or the keyboard dock since both same price. lol... i tot this would be a no-brainer. ya, the + points are as mentioned earlier by another owner. key thing is -- the dock is also a battery!
mydragoon
Oct 28 2011, 05:12 PM
hmmm... have to admit i seldom visit this thread coz TF is quite officially my son's gadget. anyway, a fren shared this: Supernote lets you take some pretty super notes on your ASUS tablet (video) http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/24/superno...-your-asus-tab/OTA?!? hmmm... going to check my TF this weekend and see got or not.
mydragoon
Oct 31 2011, 05:52 PM
sorry this post came a bit late... anyway, 2 weekends back (quite sure it was not last weekend, else i'm really losing my mind!), i managed to test out 3 players on the TF101 to see if it could play the 1080p file. this file played smoothly on the SGS2.
copied the file to internal memory. the file was about 300mb. before starting the test, i powered down the TF first. the results, in summary:
Mobo Player was still the 'best' but its performance was bad. Audio did not come on and the picture was jerky. This was with HW decoding. With SW decoding enabled, no picture...
Also tested Dice and MX. Both failed... MX (if I recall correctly) could not even play at all. I managed to get the trailer to show up on Dice but I think it just could not play after that.
Sorry if the test was not scientific enough (it actually failed my own standards of a scientific test) but i really could not find the time). But since already installed Dice with 3 days trial... Just had to run the file and see.
mydragoon
Nov 1 2011, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Nov 1 2011, 03:35 AM) I'm pretty positive that my Internet connection is good. TF is not really capable of playing 1080p. Pretty much limited to 720p. And considering the screen size, 1080p is an overkill. ya... but the reason for me to wanna play 1080p files is i got them already... dun wanna have to go download another version to watch on the TF and sgs2. but ya... i think the 720 is the max for tf101... which is kinda sad coz processor wise, its similar to sgs2. chip wise, supposedly Tegra ma... *sigh*
mydragoon
Nov 1 2011, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Nov 1 2011, 08:27 AM) actually SGS2 processor is faster than tegra 2 and our tegra 2 is actually old tech already, we got it late cos of late release from manufacturers oh... i see... hmmm...
mydragoon
Nov 10 2011, 08:21 AM
in one article... it was mentioned that TF Prime will be marketed as premium product. our tf101 will be the entry level... update1: entry level = mainstream. also, the article... from: http://www.ubergizmo.com/2011/11/asus-tran...-prime-preview/ This post has been edited by mydragoon: Nov 10 2011, 08:51 AM
mydragoon
Nov 10 2011, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(alexwks @ Nov 10 2011, 10:32 AM) well.. our mainstream is still up to market standard at the moment, i think everything is about the same, other than Prime is having flash camera, tegra 3 and a really shinny shell (more notable differences at least).. so i guess TF101 users don't need to sob or weep over the new Transformer unless you like shinny stuff... alot Prime vs TF101i think TH Prime is also thinner. very much thinner. for me... that's the only notable difference. so, might be better for those who wanna hold it up and do night reading -- ya, i find tf101 to be slightly heavy for 30-60mins reading. the other thing is... 32GB memory is the smallest one for TF Prime. i think that's good, actually. for MY... only 16GB model sold officially, i believe...
mydragoon
Nov 10 2011, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(choco87 @ Nov 10 2011, 09:31 PM) did any one try to play 1080p movie and can play but no sound? i using mobo player, or got other player to intro ? tried and fail... I reported my simple tests on a few players about 2 weeks back.
mydragoon
Nov 11 2011, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(alexwks @ Nov 11 2011, 02:53 PM) is it just me or others are feeling the same.. i think Asus is releasing products of similar (almost) too frequent.. 6mths and our tab is considered outdated.. even apple has about 1yr breathing space.. if i m not mistaken, the TF101 is already 1 yr old. update1: my bad... less than 9mths old. from wikipedia: QUOTE The ASUS Eee Pad Transformer is an Android 3.2 Honeycomb tablet computer announced at CES 2011 and launched on March 30, 2011. The Transformer design includes an optional docking keyboard. This post has been edited by mydragoon: Nov 11 2011, 03:09 PM
mydragoon
Nov 18 2011, 02:33 PM