>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

am3
post Apr 23 2019, 11:08 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Apr 22 2019, 06:01 PM)
They are selling x220 about 500-600. I just wanna play around with old Thinkpads, more like a collection haha. I guess it can perform normal tasks such as surfing , and some Ms office word , excel and ppt
Website are getting heavier. And YouTube are more demanding. Office work still ok. But internet related stuff may get frustrating.

myway1985
post Apr 23 2019, 11:13 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(am3 @ Apr 23 2019, 11:08 AM)
Website are getting heavier. And YouTube are more demanding. Office work still ok. But internet related stuff may get frustrating.
chrome eats all
prasys
post Apr 23 2019, 01:56 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Apr 22 2019, 06:01 PM)
They are selling x220 about 500-600. I just wanna play around with old Thinkpads, more like a collection haha. I guess it can perform normal tasks such as surfing , and some Ms office word , excel and ppt
If you install Linux - you can get away with it , provided you pimp up with SSD + RAM.

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Apr 22 2019, 11:21 PM)
Any A485 user here?? Mind to share how the laptop perform.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksc2LSyO8vs

From the review , it looks like the A485 can run some games , has the rugged look. It depends what you are looking for in an laptop

Yes it can run games far better vs Intel HD
anakMY
post Apr 23 2019, 02:15 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 23 2019, 01:56 PM)
If you install Linux - you can get away with it , provided you pimp up with SSD + RAM.

From the review , it looks like the A485 can run some games , has the rugged look. It depends what you are looking for in an laptop

I think the seller changed it to new HDD, not SSD, and pump up the RAM to max 3GB.
prasys
post Apr 23 2019, 04:28 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Apr 23 2019, 02:15 PM)
I think the seller changed it to new HDD, not SSD, and pump up the RAM to max 3GB.
HDD ? Useless , SSD is good

3GB , opt for 4 - maybe get Linux

Windows might be too slow , Linux should able to handle it
anakMY
post Apr 23 2019, 08:00 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 23 2019, 04:28 PM)
HDD ? Useless , SSD is good

3GB , opt for 4 - maybe get Linux

Windows might be too slow , Linux should able to handle it
I bought x60 but they gave me x61 lol. 3gb ram with 120gb HDD. Quite responsive for a 12 year old laptop! I cant expect more for this kinda price.

Its running on win7, you will be surprised how responsive it is. I think its a brand new HDD.

This post has been edited by anakMY: Apr 23 2019, 08:02 PM
Biscuit
post Apr 23 2019, 10:11 PM

177 posts

It's finally here .. tongue.gif ..

Specs as followed:

Intel Core i7-8650U Processor (8MB Cache, up to 4.20 GHz)
Windows 10 Home 64
14.0" WQHD (2560x1440), IPS, Anti-Glare, 300nits
8GB DDR4 2400MHz SODIMM
NVIDIA GeForce MX150 GDDR5 2G
Infrared & 720p HD Camera with Microphone
No Fingerprint Reader
First Hard Drive: 256GB Solid State Drive M.2 2280 NVMe, Opal 2.0
Second Hard Drive: None
No Smart Card Reader
3 Cell Li-Ion 24Wh Front
3cell Battery 24Wh Rear
Intel Dual Band Wireless AC(2x2) 8265, Bluetooth Version 4.1, vPro

It's not too bad ..
Just realized that even when compared against my 1st Edition X1C, the X1C still has an overall better built and feel.

Does T480 has no ThinkShutter?
Mine doesn't look like there is anything for me to move and cover the cameras..
hjh87
post Apr 23 2019, 11:44 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 23 2019, 01:56 PM)

Will run mainly as workstation doing Autocad stuff. And if compare between the T480 and A485, which is best for the used I've mentioned?

ylchow
post Apr 23 2019, 11:53 PM

> Does T480 has no ThinkShutter?

website> Optional: IR camera - required for Windows Hello and facial recognition, but it does not have ThinkShutter

https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...20L5CTO1WWENMY2
zaoldyeck
post Apr 24 2019, 12:28 AM

327 posts

https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comments/..._arrived_first/

guys prepare for this doh.gif not me tho
Sammy6
post Apr 24 2019, 12:42 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(zaoldyeck @ Apr 24 2019, 12:28 AM)
I can confirm this. Happened to me when i purchased from Lenovo's main site.
wild_card_my
post Apr 24 2019, 12:49 AM

6,562 posts

I have a few appointments tomorrow at 12:15 in KLCC, 3PM at the same place, and 830PM in Bukit Jalil.

Guess who will be rushing back to Cyberjaya to receive the laptop tomorrow at his office during peak hours? This guy!!! laugh.gif

Kudos to abang customs for their quick actions.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 24 2019, 12:50 AM
widget
post Apr 24 2019, 06:01 AM

1,156 posts

Happened to me too.
Not a big deal to me as the mouse and bag are shipped from different Lenovo’s facilities and we don’t have to pay extra shipping charges
prasys
post Apr 24 2019, 08:35 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Apr 23 2019, 10:11 PM)
It's finally here .. tongue.gif ..

Specs as followed:

Intel Core i7-8650U Processor (8MB Cache, up to 4.20 GHz)
Windows 10 Home 64
14.0" WQHD (2560x1440), IPS, Anti-Glare, 300nits
8GB DDR4 2400MHz SODIMM
NVIDIA GeForce MX150 GDDR5 2G
No Fingerprint Reader
First Hard Drive: 256GB Solid State Drive M.2 2280 NVMe, Opal 2.0
Second Hard Drive: None
No Smart Card Reader
3 Cell Li-Ion 24Wh Front
3cell Battery 24Wh Rear
Intel Dual Band Wireless AC(2x2) 8265, Bluetooth Version 4.1, vPro

It's not too bad ..
Just realized that even when compared against my 1st Edition X1C, the X1C still has an overall better built and feel.

Where's the picture. If you buy IR Camera , you don't get Shutter....you are exposed !

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Apr 23 2019, 11:44 PM)
Will run mainly as workstation doing Autocad stuff. And if compare between the T480 and A485, which is best for the used I've mentioned?
Personally T480 , but you need to cough up for NVIDIA GeForce MX150 graphics card. How serious of AutoCAD stuff do you do , if it's more of viewing and understanding stuff - it's fine. But if you are super duper serious , yeah it might not cut it

It's all usual...you get the bag + mouse first
widget
post Apr 24 2019, 08:43 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Apr 23 2019, 10:11 PM)

Infrared is without ThinkShutter.
It's either you want Wwindows Hello or you want privacy cry.gif
keyser soze
post Apr 24 2019, 02:46 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 24 2019, 12:49 AM)
I have a few appointments tomorrow at 12:15 in KLCC, 3PM at the same place, and 830PM in Bukit Jalil.

Guess who will be rushing back to Cyberjaya to receive the laptop tomorrow at his office during peak hours? This guy!!! laugh.gif

Kudos to abang customs for their quick actions. 

Mine arrived after lunch. Looks huge but a solid laptop.

prasys
post Apr 24 2019, 02:50 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 24 2019, 02:46 PM)

Wow looks nice

I'm interested to find out gaming performance. Shall we try couple of games
wild_card_my
post Apr 24 2019, 03:26 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 24 2019, 02:46 PM)

Mine arrived at 3pm. And im in a middle of an appointment. Rushing back right after, even though i have an 830 in bukit jalil later

Kl, kl, cyber, bukit jalil

Inefficient but i dont want to leave the laptop in my office unattended tonight

prasys
post Apr 24 2019, 03:51 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 24 2019, 03:26 PM)
Mine arrived at 3pm. And im in a middle of an appointment. Rushing back right after, even though i have an 830 in bukit jalil later

Kl, kl, cyber, bukit jalil

Inefficient but i dont want to leave the laptop in my office unattended tonight

Waiting for the photos and first impression
keyser soze
post Apr 24 2019, 04:00 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 24 2019, 02:50 PM)
Wow looks nice

I'm interested to find out gaming performance. Shall we try couple of games
Too bad, already passed to my staff.