>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

widget
post Dec 20 2018, 12:56 PM

1,156 posts

I've just place an order for a customized X1 Carbon via their toll-free number and I noticed that the price is much cheaper, for my case by RM6xx over the similar configuration if I ordered via Lenovo online.
As I made payment via CC, I still need to log-in to my user account at Lenovo online for payment.

I was considering between the XPS13 and X1 Carbon, but the X1 current promo for 3-years warranty and free upgrade to 512 SSD made me opted for the X1
widget
post Dec 21 2018, 10:17 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 20 2018, 02:09 PM)
I have been monitoring their website for almost 3 weeks, and I realized that different promotion periods yield different starting price. In the end, your setup will be priced at around a certain fixed region. Of course, you may get a good deal by chatting with the customer support tech.
I too realized they have different starting price during different promo periods and their promo keep on changing.
For eg, during the Black Friday and 12.12 promo, they used "FLASH" coupon code which will knock down the price by RM7xx or so.
Current promo until Xmas seems to be free upgrade to 512Gb SSD.

Luckily I called their customer support to try my luck and she managed to give me RM6xx discount in addition to the free SSD upgrade.

QUOTE(afiqsabri @ Dec 20 2018, 01:28 PM)
I have used the XPS13 before, and compared to lenove, Lenovo has the best keyboard. go for X1 carbon...
I went to Lowyat Plaza last week to test the XPS13 and X1 at their flagship stores respectively.
While the XPS13 has brighter screen and clean look aluminium unibody, the ports selection (incl USB 3.0 and HDMI) and keyboard of X1 makes it a better all-rounder as will be using the laptop for work, home and travel

This post has been edited by widget: Dec 21 2018, 10:34 AM
widget
post Dec 29 2018, 10:47 AM

1,156 posts

Received my Thinkpad X1 Carbon yesterday.
I was expecting a bigger box after watching some unboxing videos in youtube.
Alas, the packaging must be different for different regions

Kinda shocked me at first when the packaging is very minimalist as I was expecting a premium packaging like MBP after watching those unboxing videos biggrin.gif

Anyway, quite pleased with the initial impression after updating all the software, etc
Hopefully it will serve me well for many years to come icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by widget: Dec 29 2018, 10:49 AM
widget
post Dec 29 2018, 09:14 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(dskarindra @ Dec 29 2018, 11:33 AM)
Enjoy your new Thinkpad 👍
Thanks bro.
Coming from an old MBP, the keyboard clicking is so satisfying notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Benefon @ Dec 29 2018, 12:18 PM)
Cost saving, they won’t ship with red premium box for us
As long as they don't cut corner on the actual laptop, I'm good icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by widget: Dec 29 2018, 09:17 PM
widget
post Feb 11 2019, 10:09 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Feb 9 2019, 12:11 AM)
Hey Guys,

Looking through the current Lenovo Website, I am configuring the following specs:

T580
Intel Core i7-8650U Processor (8MB Cache, up to 4.20 GHz)
15.6" UHD IPS (3840x2160) AntiGlare 300nits
16GB DDR4 2400MHz SODIMM
256GB Solid State Drive M.2 2280 NVMe, Opal 2.0

With the CNY Discount on the Site, the price comes up to RM 6249. Do you think there are any other ways for further discount for the specs above or this will be it?
Would you recommend other models with Similar Customization specs over T580 with about the same spec and price?
Try calling their CS hotline and ask them for the quotation of exact specs and compare the online price with price given by the CS.
Else, try asking for academic discount if you are eligible or know someone who is.
I believed academic price can get up to 15% discount
widget
post Feb 18 2019, 02:22 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Feb 18 2019, 02:00 PM)
thought of buying XC16 also but then again, XC17 is coming out later on June this year.

should i wait or should i get XC17? 7th gen offers spectacular sound compared to XC16 & also the 4K HDR display.
i'm not a gamer so is i5, 256gb, 8gb + WQHD/4K HDR enough for my daily works?

appreciate your feedback.
I'm a non-gamer too and don't use memory-intensive apps for my works.
For me, i5, 8gb, 512gb (free upgrade from 256), WQHD is suffice.

X1C7 will only be launched in middle of the year and we don't know the starting price and date of availability in M'sia yet.
If you don't need a laptop in a hurry and 4K HDR is kinda important, maybe you should wait for Lenovo MY to release X1C7.

I don't know how spectacular is the sound if they still use bottom-firing speakers.

widget
post Feb 28 2019, 10:45 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(juzstrike @ Feb 26 2019, 09:18 PM)
Getting myself into the thinkpad cult, planning to add another stick of 8gb ram and 256gb NVME by myself rclxms.gif
Try calling Lenovo CS and ask them for a quote of similar spec.
They migh quote you a cheaper price, or you can check for educational price which give upto 15% discount
widget
post Mar 1 2019, 11:19 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Mar 1 2019, 08:13 AM)
No more free mouse and backpack?
Not free hor!
RM1 each tongue.gif

But honestly, the quality of the bag is so-so and nothing special with the wireless mouse.
But ok lah for RM1 stuff
widget
post Mar 13 2019, 08:19 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Mar 12 2019, 10:02 PM)
Just got my X1 Extreme smile.gif
Good to hear that after the delay in Custom clearance.
Let us know how's your brief experience with your X1E so far biggrin.gif
widget
post Mar 13 2019, 11:55 AM

1,156 posts

When I order my X1C back in December last year, only took them 8 days from the ordered date to delivery date.
Did not encounter the stuck at Custom due to lack on import licence.

12/28/2018 2:05 P.M. ULU KLANG, MY
DELIVERED

Past Event Out for Delivery 12/28/2018 10:17 A.M. Shah Alam, Malaysia
Out For Delivery

12/28/2018 9:55 A.M. Sepang, Malaysia Departure Scan
12/28/2018 9:02 A.M. Sepang, Malaysia Import Scan
12/28/2018 7:44 A.M. Shah Alam, Malaysia Arrival Scan
12/28/2018 7:44 A.M. Sepang, Malaysia Arrival Scan
12/28/2018 5:00 A.M. - Your package was released by the customs agency.
12/28/2018 4:09 A.M. Shenzhen, China Departure Scan
widget
post Mar 31 2019, 09:15 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Biscuit @ Mar 29 2019, 11:38 PM)
How's the WQHD 300 Nits Screen?
Noticed T490 now have 500 nits Screen  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
My X1C6 is on WQHD 300 nits.
Nothing spectacular, but get the jobs done.
Good enough for outdoor usage, but can’t beat MBP 15” touchbar that my sis is using.
But no regret switching from the old MBP 13 to X1C6
widget
post Apr 2 2019, 03:57 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Apr 2 2019, 11:18 AM)
you switched to X1C6 due to the spectacular keyboard experience yes?

macbook's butterfly switch keyboard is CRAP and ZERO reliability
Indeed.
Notwithstanding the butterfly keyboard reliability, the typing experience on Thinkpad is so satisfying.

widget
post Apr 8 2019, 09:11 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Apr 7 2019, 07:24 PM)
New X1 Carbon user checking in! Waited a month for this baby. It's my first windows laptop after 10 years of being Mac user. Holy cow the build quality is amazing. The 500 nits screen is incredible. Who else has an X1C and how long have you owned it? Looking to have this for at least 3-5 years, fingers crossed.
I have an X1C6 since the new year but mine only WQHD, without HDR.
Just like you, it's also my 1st Windows laptop after using MBP for the past 10 years.
The things I like about the X1C6 is the typing experienced and the weight.
widget
post Apr 10 2019, 08:13 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(grabulasa @ Apr 9 2019, 11:41 PM)
Easter sale going on at Lenovo Malaysia. After discount X1C 6th Gen going for RM5400. Should I pull the trigger? It's either this or Dell XPS 13.
I was in the same boat as your before.
Either I remains as an MBP user just like the pass 10 years or jump ship to XPS13 or X1C6.

But as the above poster comments, if you type a lot and need plenty of ports, go for X1C6.
You also get additional warranty for just RM1 whereas for XPS13, 3 years warranty will easily cost additional RM7xx to 8xx

This post has been edited by widget: Apr 10 2019, 08:15 AM
widget
post Apr 10 2019, 09:43 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(grabulasa @ Apr 10 2019, 09:38 AM)
Thanks all. Checked this morning and there was a flash sale for the same laptop plus add ons so got it all in for RM 4972. Hope it ships!
If you're OK with the config and don't need to customize, I'd say go for it.
It comes with 512GB SSD too, instead of the usual 256GB
widget
post Apr 15 2019, 03:31 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 15 2019, 03:21 PM)
Ok done. Gah, I feel like shit a bit after paying for big-ticket items.... Need to recoup and sell now soon to be unused laptops. Will create proper sales thread in garage sales, but I am selling these. How much do you reckon? 

1. X1C 1st gen i5, 8gb
2. X240 i5, 8gb, 6 hour battery life
3. X220 i5, 4gb

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, have a wondefully nice X1C~~~
Congrats on your order. rclxms.gif
Now is the waiting game biggrin.gif

widget
post Apr 15 2019, 04:00 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 15 2019, 03:54 PM)
I see, but mine is non customized. Bought as the spec they showed. Got 15% discount, so I bought accidental warranty as well
Yours' with back-light keyboard or without?
widget
post Apr 15 2019, 04:35 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 15 2019, 04:31 PM)

Backlit is meh , compared to MacBook keyboard backlit..thinkpad one is a joke..thinklight was more like it.....personally I rarely use it because it does not auto on like macs or turns it off when not in use....

Indeed,
1 thing that I really miss from MBP is the keyboard auto backlit.
I believed my 10-year old MBP has smarter auto backlit than my X1C6
widget
post Apr 15 2019, 04:39 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 15 2019, 04:35 PM)

Can I charge my laptop with my phone USB C charger?
I'm using Aukey PD 56W charger as my travel charger.
Bought from Lazada for RM130 during their flash sale

Aukey 56W
widget
post Apr 15 2019, 04:53 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 15 2019, 04:41 PM)

I imagine my phone charger that came with my phone wont do?
Your phone charger can output how many Watt?
I believed need those charger with PD to charge th X1C6, but I've never tried charging with normal phone charger.

Since you bought accidental coverage, maybe can try charging the X1C6 with your phone charge once you received your laptop biggrin.gif

0.0219sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:57 PM