>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

wild_card_my
post Apr 13 2019, 03:14 AM

6,562 posts

Any coupons that you guys know of for the X1C (6th)? I was a little late (thought too much) and the 72FLASH coupon is gone.

What about student coupons, if my brother were to buy it, will he get discounts? What the max known discount for a student?

edit: the non-configurable CX1 6th has a non-backlit keyboard. It is quite important for me as I use the laptop in the dark sometimes. How easy is it to upgrade? Do I need to upgrade the whole KB or just add a few parts?

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 13 2019, 03:16 AM
wild_card_my
post Apr 13 2019, 03:06 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 13 2019, 01:05 PM)
chat with agent and ask them for discount, you may get a discount to purchase it
Actually the chat agent yesterday offered me 15% but the code is only good for 10 minutes and he would disable it. I took too much time "thinking", i told him to give me the code when i am ready. And now the chat agent service is offline due to the weekend

Will wait till monday I guess
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 03:21 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 13 2019, 03:10 PM)
Just pull the trigger. If you are unconvienced , go to thinkpad community in reddit
Ok done. Gah, I feel like shit a bit after paying for big-ticket items.... Need to recoup and sell now soon to be unused laptops. Will create proper sales thread in garage sales, but I am selling these. How much do you reckon?

1. X1C 1st gen i5, 8gb
2. X240 i5, 8gb, 6 hour battery life
3. X220 i5, 4gb

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, have a wondefully nice X1C~~~

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 15 2019, 03:24 PM
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 03:32 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Apr 15 2019, 03:31 PM)
Congrats on your order.  rclxms.gif
Now is the waiting game  biggrin.gif
They better arrive.............................. soon
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 03:53 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 15 2019, 03:38 PM)
Got SSD ? in damn good condition ? taken care of it - can fetch damn good prices

1. This one i am not too sure
2. X240 i5, 8gb, 6 hour battery life - RM 1.5k - if got SSD can nicely whack and if it's in good condition
3. X220 - maybe about RM 800

Personally I would put up in carousell also and in LYN garage sales.. Carousell seems to get more attention - especially if it's in damn good condition for a good price

Yay ! good job pulling the trigger

why hide the part no lol..its all generic part no smile.gif
1. Yeah, got SSD. Original SD 250GB
2. yeah, 160 gb ssd
3. Added SSD, 120gb.

I dont mind giving discounts, especially to students (since I am a rich professional now laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif ). Will put them up on caro and

Didn't know the part numbers are generic. I never bought thinkpads first hand, all 6 (I have/had t420, t430, another x220) thinkpads have been 2nd hand
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 03:54 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 15 2019, 03:41 PM)
It's gonna to take sometime maybe 1 month.
I also ordered a E585 on Saturday, still no sign on shipping....
Order customized thinkpad you have to be patient and the box is very normal with minimal accessories.
I see, but mine is non customized. Bought as the spec they showed. Got 15% discount, so I bought accidental warranty as well
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 04:02 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Apr 15 2019, 04:00 PM)
Yours' with back-light keyboard or without?
Nope. As far as I can tell, non-customized version cannot add backlit. I hate it, almost bought the 480s due to this, when I customize the 480s to match the X1C6 but with the back lit, the price is the SAME.

I went with the X1C6 because I can change the backlit kb later, but I can't change the form factor of the 480s.

Mine is the one on the right, or the one you cannot customize. WEb price is RM5599. I applied my 15% off discount and got it for RM4750, cheaper than the FLASH72 sale coupon I think. Added accidental damage protection just for piss of mind (peace of mind)

https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...n/p/22TP2TXX16G

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 15 2019, 04:05 PM
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 04:35 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 15 2019, 04:31 PM)
You are a salesman , trust that you can position it very well on how to sell. Not gonna give the 101
Backlit is meh , compared to MacBook keyboard backlit..thinkpad one is a joke..thinklight was more like it.....personally I rarely use it because it does not auto on like macs or turns it off when not in use....

X1C6 is a good buy , you got TB3 bro..need external GPU to become a gaming PC ? Not a problem....
But... i sell contracts. no merchandise. hahaha. Sure it should be easy to let go as long as I undercut the market. I dont mind too much

I have used the thinklight, didn't like it as much as the backlit. I guess personal preference

Sorry if this is dumb q. Is USB C = TB3? Can I charge my laptop with my phone USB C charger?
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 04:41 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(yks8845 @ Apr 15 2019, 04:38 PM)
can share to us the 15 % discount code ?? brows.gif
already expired. usable once. talk to sales agent Thomas Jefferson.

What kind of name is that? Does he think he is a Founding Father? At least pick a more believable name la hahahhaha

QUOTE(widget @ Apr 15 2019, 04:39 PM)
I'm using Aukey PD 56W charger as my travel charger.
Bought from Lazada for RM130 during their flash sale

Aukey 56W
I imagine my phone charger that came with my phone wont do?

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 15 2019, 04:42 PM
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2019, 10:45 PM

6,562 posts

Guys! what is the best way to take care of the battery so it is long-lasting? Should I have lenovo vantage to keep it at 70%? Dont need the battery at 100% all the time until I need it (when stepping out of the office for the whole day)

QUOTE(widget @ Apr 15 2019, 04:39 PM)
I'm using Aukey PD 56W charger as my travel charger.
Bought from Lazada for RM130 during their flash sale

Aukey 56W
QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 15 2019, 04:56 PM)
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...d=4007789425361

I bought this 65w charger from taobao, been few months already. So far so good and it's half the size.
Okay, then this is a reverse stupid question. Can I use these chargers to charge my USB C phones then? It would be awesome to be not having to bring the power brick with me in my bag, and just bring this PD thing to charge my laptop and phone

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 15 2019, 10:56 PM
wild_card_my
post Apr 17 2019, 11:26 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(zaoldyeck @ Apr 17 2019, 12:00 PM)
Just purchased mine T480s custom spec. I only custom the gpu and backlit keyboard.
My main criteria is GPU, weight and height, also price lol

[attachmentid=10228564]

I own T450 due to my company provide thinkpad as their working laptops and to surprise, they already started handout T480 this year to the employee.
That was the reason i chose the S version since it will be more exclusive to consumer side
did you buy it directly from lenovo site?

I was thinking of getting the 480s too, and it had the same price as the carbon x1 when configured spec-to-spec. i dont care about the discrete graphics card and added the 512gb ssd instead (just like the non-confogurable x1) but more power to you I guess. you can add/change the SSD later on. but in the end I bought the x1 due to my consumer-facing nature of my job, got to look sleep and light.
wild_card_my
post Apr 18 2019, 01:37 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(zaoldyeck @ Apr 18 2019, 01:23 AM)
If dGPU is not a concern, then is total no brainer to go for the X1C. But T480s will have more power cause of the cooling system
I am stuck at 4k+ budget cause the laptop wont bring much added value to my financial life. Else if im buying 6k laptop, ill make sure it does generates income.

Ive been comparing latest model ultrabook and ideally it should be less 16mm to be one

T series is the only option for me, and i compare them and found out T480s is the best spec value wise for now
You can see they are hovering around 18mm+- among 470s/480s/490s and only 480s having dGPU.
490s have minor upgrade, they have the same intel gen 8, not very much diff. No dGPU option for now, i checked US model also no dGPU

edit: yes i bought from lenovo site, so probably 1 month....
Right. As for myself, the latop will be exclusively used for my business. it will, hopefully add value to my sales figure - right now I am on X1C 1st gen, the battery lasts for just 2 hours. 6 hour is good enough for me, I would be quite a bit more productive with a longer battery life, and lesser load (weight). I haven't held it, but at 1.16kg, that is lighter than my 1.35kg.

The performance of i5 8250u is fine for me, is so much better than the 3rd gen intel on my X1C 1st. To some it may look like I am pissing my money away - I could definitely get some Acer or Asus.. but when I considered that laptop is a package that I would be stuck with for a few years (I keep my stuff well, its been 5 to 6 years since the X1C 1st), and that I love to type - the X1C6 is just the right choice.

I type and do content marketing all the time, especially on this forum and FB. I type type type, everything else is secondary (good battery life is important too). I've been eyeing the X1C6 for a while, but the price has be somewhat exorbitant. At 4.75k, it was just GOOD. I couldn't customize it for this spec, but it had EVERYTHING I needed, except for the backlight-keyboard.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 18 2019, 01:42 AM
wild_card_my
post Apr 18 2019, 01:54 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(zaoldyeck @ Apr 18 2019, 01:49 AM)
Best if you can go for the 16gb soldered mem for future proof. Probably for me and you this thinkpad should last atleast 4 to 5 years.
So we dont know what future tech gonna be. How windows 11 gonna take the memory usage, how the web gonna be all heavy flash haha

Oh well just enjoy the moment, by the time maybe we already have extra money for another upgrade
Nah, i dounbt i would need it that much. I am not a power user, dont game, dont do crap. Just want a responsive FB machine (hahahha). Nothing is worse than trying to get my job done quickly, and my PC is stuck loading. The i5 (wiuth boost) and SSD NVME should do the job opening a few excel sheets, loading sites and typing in peace.
wild_card_my
post Apr 18 2019, 02:02 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(zaoldyeck @ Apr 18 2019, 02:01 AM)
I guess the X1C by default have backlit keyboard. I try to customize it and there is no option for normal keyboard. The backlit already included
Lets hope that is the case. If yes, Ive found the perfect companion for the next few years
wild_card_my
post Apr 18 2019, 09:11 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 18 2019, 08:56 AM)
Yes - by default X1C comes with backlit keyboard. Check your order details. You'll see the keyboard SKU/part number

Oh one more thing , X1C is damn fast. The NVMe which Lenovo provides is either WD or Samsung. Pray you get Samsung as it's a bit faster. I am using WD NVMe , 3000MB/sec read speed and 1800MB/sec write speed is just crazy. Everything loads up instantly..chrome with 83742473284324983 tab does not lag

Plus X1C is powerful enough that you can buy a eGPU and even game on it...you have Thunderbolt 3 port....
The eGPU is the one in some Thinkpad docks? That thing is expensive. Since TB is a "standard", possible to get eGPU from other manufacturers?
wild_card_my
post Apr 19 2019, 09:15 PM

6,562 posts

OK shipped already. No-config Carbon X1.

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 18 2019, 08:26 PM)
Took me 1 day after i escalated the case....but normally takes 2-3 days...just wait for it...you'll get it shipped smile.gif
I need to anticipate this.

To whom did you escalate this issue to? Customs? Shipping company? Lenovo?

And which channels, how do i contact them?

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 19 2019, 09:20 PM
wild_card_my
post Apr 23 2019, 08:56 AM

6,562 posts

This Shanghai to Incheon thing is flying me crazy. Now back to Shenzen.

wild_card_my
post Apr 23 2019, 09:18 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 23 2019, 09:15 AM)
Seems like our laptops are on the same flight, lol.
we are eskimo Lenovo brothers

edit: Update, in Penang now. Hurm, come on customs, it's an innocent machine! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 23 2019, 10:58 AM
wild_card_my
post Apr 24 2019, 12:49 AM

6,562 posts

I have a few appointments tomorrow at 12:15 in KLCC, 3PM at the same place, and 830PM in Bukit Jalil.

Guess who will be rushing back to Cyberjaya to receive the laptop tomorrow at his office during peak hours? This guy!!! laugh.gif

Kudos to abang customs for their quick actions.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 24 2019, 12:50 AM
wild_card_my
post Apr 24 2019, 03:26 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Apr 24 2019, 02:46 PM)
Mine arrived after lunch. Looks huge but a solid laptop.

Mine arrived at 3pm. And im in a middle of an appointment. Rushing back right after, even though i have an 830 in bukit jalil later

Kl, kl, cyber, bukit jalil

Inefficient but i dont want to leave the laptop in my office unattended tonight

0.1063sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:32 AM