>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

V3000
post Sep 21 2007, 11:08 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Sep 21 2007, 09:32 AM)
@v3000, just on it 24 hours, T series comes w 3 years warranty brows.gif

@sena, i guess rm500 is cheap, lcd should cost near or more then rm1k in service centre.. my fren accidentally drop his 3 months old toshiba, lcd crack, go service replace cost RM1.5k sweat.gif
I just worry it spoil after my warranty end ( LED lifespan how long? ) hmm.gif

QUOTE(senna @ Sep 21 2007, 12:40 PM)
yeah..comparatively reasonable , that is why i didnt go to ibm center ,sure they will cost you a bombb.
just came from that shop and cost me rm600...
moreover he gave 90 days warranty for lcd.
How bout the quality they offer?

V3000
post Sep 22 2007, 01:56 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(Austin @ Sep 22 2007, 10:26 AM)
RM500 should be used panel..... smile.gif you go to Vital Computer?
Should be used 'panel'? What do u mean by this bro? wink.gif
V3000
post Sep 23 2007, 02:07 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(senna @ Sep 23 2007, 01:38 AM)
new info . i just change back to another one as the previous  incompatible with its connector and giving some sort of red flickering color.. sucks my eyes....then i went to that fellow and asked him to change back to my spoiled lcd.
then i went to lowyat and finally found shop that could settle my problem.. vital shop. he gave me brand new lcd as well as connector
well the cost..hmm. i hv to add up rm200 more .it s ok ,i think it worth since i m dealing with expertise . he mentioned that ibm t42 lcd is special type which is not ordinary ppl could install their hardware.. it kinda complicated when seeing him dismantle my ibm..
too many screws dude !!!
Wow! Grats to hear that! Soo all together u spend how much for the new LCD? Yeah! Grats u got ur nice T42 working again! smile.gif

Cheers! Grats! rclxms.gif
V3000
post Sep 23 2007, 05:18 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(senna @ Sep 23 2007, 10:21 AM)
ahhaha..new lcd resolution is 1400x1050 which isnt the same as my spolied 1024x768...
Better resolution leh! Btw bro how much they charge u? hmm.gif
V3000
post Sep 23 2007, 10:07 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(senna @ Sep 23 2007, 09:47 PM)
charge+new lcd (1400x1050)+new connector = rm800
OMG! sweat.gif i need to have spare rm800 in my acc ready for my lcd liao!
Thanks and happy to hear you get ur T42 fixed and up running again!
V3000
post Oct 10 2007, 09:45 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

I got X61 (Vista Business recovery dvd) if u need it plz let me know smile.gif
V3000
post Oct 16 2007, 11:53 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Hail to all ThinkPadder smile.gif

I wish to know ne1 of u guys try install SSD on your ThinkPad?
I hope to get a 32GB SSD since i see SSD perform darn good in all aspect!
-The load and boot time surprisingly faster then normal HDD!
(Refer here: http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4015 )

Wish to hear Pros give some feedback on this SSD smile.gif

Cheeers!

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 16 2007, 11:56 PM
V3000
post Oct 17 2007, 11:49 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(fariq_azad @ Oct 17 2007, 10:18 AM)
bro how much do you think a 32GB SSD would cost?

have you heard about the compact flash to notebook IDE converter? I hear its also good biggrin.gif
32GB 2.5" cost like USD300 (Transcend) while for (Supper Talent) cost like USD550.
-This price is base on Ebay US. While if we get it here the price would be slightly higher.

"Compact flash to notebook IDE converter"
-Bro do u mean the "ExpressCard SSD"? If yes i dont think can use as HDD but only work as "ReadyBoost" for Vista OS and this price also not very cheap 8GB cost u like USD200!

Lets put the price aside (since tech gadget price drop kinda fast) i just worry that is this drive work with ThinkPad? Our ThinkPad have a "Shock-Mounted Hard Drive" that come with "Active Protection System) software.. When the "Shock-Mounted Hard Drive" detect movement it stop the HDD to spin... if we install 2.5" SSD inside what will happen? (Lets say i activate the Active Protected System software). Other then this does our BIOS recognize SSD?

p.s. i worry that if i get SSD from US and later findout that my machine not compatible with it sweat.gif

Edit: Ah! the bootup time for Vista less then 1min while XP less then 30sec with SSD!
Try Find at UTube (keywords: SSD)

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 17 2007, 11:51 AM
V3000
post Oct 17 2007, 03:42 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(fariq_azad @ Oct 17 2007, 03:19 PM)
the compat flash to IDE adapter being sold by one of the forummer here...and he has used it as a harddisk before. I think can find it at the garage sale under notebook PDA section. I guess Its a Cheaper alternative but CF card are now at 8GB?
-Ah.. bro u mean "Compat flash".. I dont think it work fine with me smile.gif
I want a purely 2.5" SSD that exchange with my 2.5" HDD
(CF card used as HDD sound messy and if it really good* i think alot ppl using it right now)
*Price VS Speed VS Durability

-Bout 8GB i mention above is "ExpressCard SSD" while CF card max capacity up to freaking 64GB!!

p.s. no 1 using SSD atm?

Cheers.

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 17 2007, 04:02 PM
V3000
post Oct 18 2007, 04:36 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Oct 18 2007, 01:01 PM)
hello all thinkpad user, just want to find anyone can clarify whether the new lenovo notebook t61 and x61 come with ibm logo anymore ? i saw the demo unit at one of the computer shop at klcc but they do not have any ibm logo on it only "thinkpad" logo, but someone so called expert from lowyat.net insist that there is ibm logo on all the thinkpad series until next year. anyone ?
My X61 come with IBM logo please refer to page 29.
-Please show me when the soo call expert say he is expert. We just give the right facts to everyone.

Please refer to Lenovo BLOG for more info bout the branding.

Cheers!

V3000
post Oct 18 2007, 04:46 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Oct 14 2007, 07:34 PM)
even the new thinkpad series has the ibm label removed ;-) so no longer available ibm laptop or pc, oni lenovo...

-Taken from http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13637095

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Oct 18 2007, 01:01 PM)
hello all thinkpad user, just want to find anyone can clarify whether the new lenovo notebook t61 and x61 come with ibm logo anymore ? i saw the demo unit at one of the computer shop at klcc but they do not have any ibm logo on it only "thinkpad" logo, but someone so called expert from lowyat.net insist that there is ibm logo on all the thinkpad series until next year. anyone ?
-Since when i become soo called Lowyat.net Expert blush.gif

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Oct 18 2007, 04:44 PM)
the right fact is, there is new t61 and x61 that come without the ibm logo now not one year from now. the real units is availabe at most of the shop that selling lenovo nb. i prefer to check the real unit instead of virtual evidence. if u the owner of the old model of thinkpad or just bought it, your units might still come with the ibm logo. so is this the fact when i say "lenove started to remove ibm logo in some of the notebooks oredi" ?
to make things clearer below is the place which i found the demo units for T61 and X61. please call the contact number is there unless u think they are selling fake lenovo nb.

Notebook Shop (showroom)
------------------------------
Lot 316D, Level 3, Suria KLCC,
Petronas Twin Towers,
Kuala Lumpur City Centre,
50088 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Tel: (603) 2166 6488
Fax: (603) 2166 3488
-Since when u say that? Refer to your quotes above.

DOH!
Im using X61!
Please refer to page 29 to see the actual picture!
Its not bout old or new stock, refer link below. (thanks)

Lenovo Blog: - http://lenovoblogs.com/insidethebox/?p=85

-If you are a customer who buys large enterprise models or our "workhorse" models, your sticker will be the new ThinkPad sticker like is shown in the example above.  Under certain circumstances our largest customers have the option of buying systems with the old logo.
-If you are buying our systems at retail or through the web, your sticker will continue to be the familiar IBM ThinkPad logo.  You will not have a choice of the logo you receive.
-All of our ThinkCentre desktops today continue to have both the IBM name as well as the Lenovo name on the front.  Starting later this year, we will start removing the IBM logo from the products.
-All of our keyboards and mice shipped with our ThinkCentre desktops will feature the Lenovo logo only
Our options and accessories will either feature the ThinkPad logo if it is a ThinkPad option or the Lenovo logo if is a Lenovo accessory.
By early 2008, all of our products will be using the new branding and will not be sold with the IBM name any longer.
DOH!! Your facts is asking ppl go to showroom view the some of model they display there? Or u want us to go Lenovo OWN Blog read whats in those manufacturer mind? Can we really trust seller now days? sweat.gif

Cheers!

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 18 2007, 06:34 PM
V3000
post Oct 19 2007, 10:27 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Oct 18 2007, 08:03 PM)
"shock mounted hard drive" is the technology where the 2 piece rubber attach at the both side of the hdd, and hence it's might not fit 2.5" hdd and our so called "shocked mounted hdd" will gone  tongue.gif

"active protection system" is the software tht enable the hdd stop spinning when detects movements. if this software is not installed, the hdd will runs like an ordinary drive and wont stop spinning if movements are detected.. however sdd is running on flash memories, so it's will be the time for "active protection system" software to say bye bye rclxms.gif
Thanks for the answer bro,
I got few question regard your answer sad.gif

-What does bro mean by might not fit 2.5" hdd and our so called "shocked mounted hdd" will gone?
My ThinkPad come with normal HDD and if i replace it with SSD will it be compatible? Or i need to remove anything from my ThinkPad?

-If i still install the "Active protection system" software and enable it.. Will it stop my SSD to work half way? (when shock detected)
I know we are not require to have this software if we use SSD but IF i try to use it what will happen?

-And.. the most scary parts.. will our BIOS recognize SSD as our HDD?

Hehe! now i still dont have the budget to own myself SSD but i wish to know more bout it.. When the price drop.. i might get myself 1 of those SSD couse the speed and durability really makes everyone happy smile.gif

Cheers!

V3000
post Oct 19 2007, 10:08 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Thanks for the link bro, really enjoy reading it smile.gif
Ah! really hope to own SSD..

CHeers!
V3000
post Oct 27 2007, 08:34 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Yeah, Agreed! I get my T60 at Midvalley (Techdos) but now i think they shift to Lowyat liao!
V3000
post Jan 10 2008, 08:59 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

OMG sure o not? I also want 1 ah!! smile.gif
V3000
post Jan 10 2008, 09:05 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:00 AM)
http://img341.imageshack.us/my.php?image=51731354xy4.jpg

Edit: Brought it from US, wonder if I can upgrade it in Malaysia?
Bro, can u check the warranty? Worldwide? or States only? hmm.gif
V3000
post Jan 10 2008, 04:06 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 10 2008, 10:43 AM)
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...cid=MIGR-4A9HCE

Applicable countries and regions
Worldwide

Document id:  MIGR-4A9HCE
Last modified:  2007-06-25
Copyright (C) 2008 IBM Corporation
Copyright (C) Lenovo 2008, all rights reserved
Thanks bro, nice find! smile.gif

V3000
post Jan 11 2008, 06:20 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Yep! Buying from Bro Austin is far more better then go to any retail shop!

He's a sincere seller!
V3000
post Feb 11 2008, 04:07 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Buying new ThinkPad laptop? Hold your purchase guys! This baby is marvelous/sexy!

ThinkPad X300

Spec:
Display: 13.3" widescreen WXGA+ (1440 x 900) display, LED backlit
Processor Chipset: Intel Santa Rosa 2.0GHz LV
Storage: 64GB SSD
Wireless: Bluetooth, 802.11 a/b/g/n, Wireless USB, WWAN, WiMax, GPS
Optical Drive: Ultrathin DVD Burner (7mm)
Memory: up to 4G
Dimensions: 12.5 in (width) 9 in (depth) x 0.73 in - 0.92 in (thickness)
Ports: 3 USB ports, Mic in, Headphone out, VGA Adapter, built-in web camera, stereo speakers
Input: ThinkPad keyboard with TrackPoint, touchpad
Battery: 3-cell Lithium-Polymer (Built in batt, Like Mac Air does)
Weigh: 1.2KG with 3-cell Lithium-Polymer
Price: USD2744/RM9k laugh.gif

More info's : http://www.techshout.com/laptops/2008/22/l...-killer-leaked/

This post has been edited by V3000: Feb 11 2008, 04:35 AM
V3000
post Feb 11 2008, 11:04 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Feb 11 2008, 06:42 PM)
still cheaper than a macbook air with 64gb ssd tongue.gif
Hidup ni kan banyakkkkk pilihannn.. kalau ade banyakkk duit biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ayell @ Feb 11 2008, 07:29 PM)
whoaaaa... i think it is time to replace my T23 PIII 1Ghz to this hehehehe
Hold back abit longer and i think more great tech coming end of this year and still coming, coming and coming (Dont forget Moore's Law if u trust Intel) biggrin.gif

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1065sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:48 AM