>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

V3000
post Oct 15 2008, 08:54 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 15 2008, 09:37 AM)
haha nolah. just like on my previous post i guess since i'm on a budget sad.gif
Anyway.. just a quick note.. Look at my spec.. i never ever run it full tongue.gif (I set everything lowest) for me heat kills!
Soo beside R series weight everything is perfect! (But i still suggest u to do a clean format after u receive ur lappy) Download the latest driver from Lenovo site. Get rid of everything that u dont need, this is really important! wink.gif

p/s: Recovery cd's is for noobs tongue.gif

Cheers! ThinkPadder smile.gif

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 15 2008, 08:56 PM
V3000
post Oct 16 2008, 07:10 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 15 2008, 10:58 PM)
Thanks for the tip smile.gif ThinkPads traditionally comes with bloatware?

format with windows cd? or format with dos format?

i'm only 'pro' with windows cd formatting. haha
For me i just format it with XP cd smile.gif
ThinkPad don't come with bloadware but those Thinkvantage software load everytime u 'ON' ur lappy.. at the same time u need to wait long time before u can actually use ur lappy..

What i have is (ThinkVantage Saoftware)
1) Power Manager
2) Access Connection
3) FingerPrint Software
4) Active proctection System Software
5) All those Driver and stuff
With the 5 Items above my lappy bootup <1min and shutdown take me <30sec with everything set to lowest plus Norton AntiVirus 2008 (My Proc running at 790mhz all the time) thumbup.gif

Cheers!
V3000
post Oct 16 2008, 09:21 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 16 2008, 01:44 PM)
that's some crazy specs u have there! why not get your hard disk at 7200rpm since ure already spending so much?

man u thinkpadders really go all out to get what u want. import from here n thereĀ  notworthy.gif
Bro.. 5400rpm vs 7200rpm.. in real life usage we really doesn feel much different..
-Safe those $ get something else like.. ThinkPad bag? tongue.gif

Addon: Why dont pick Intel 5300agn? hmm.gif

Cheers smile.gif

ps: I always see Dell users gathering at StarBuk here and there.. If can i hope someday we can have ThinkPad gathering too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 16 2008, 09:29 PM
V3000
post Oct 16 2008, 10:33 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 16 2008, 10:18 PM)
I am now considering the SL series. Or a secondhand T61
If me, i go for SL300 series! (13.3" screen not too small not too big, Perfect!) Come with LED screen plus cool looking casing drool.gif

check it out --> http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4579

This post has been edited by V3000: Oct 16 2008, 10:35 PM
V3000
post Oct 17 2008, 12:00 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Oct 16 2008, 10:41 PM)
Oohhh notebook also have gathering??
Ya, So ThinkPadder can have a look at others ThinkPad model beside the 1 we already own smile.gif

V3000
post Oct 17 2008, 07:08 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 17 2008, 12:17 AM)
good stuff! but i have no idea where to get one  cry.gif

i'm really new to all this, especially importing stuff. what is the BEST way to import from the US, considering that sparco.com doesn't have what i want?

shawn>> how much did u pay the dude for transportation?
Can u tell me the spec u want? i try help u browse it there.. Not really hard to find stuffs there..
V3000
post Oct 22 2008, 04:56 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Oct 17 2008, 11:41 AM)
i had one gave to my wife using in oz. kenot join u all d haha
Good hubby over here smile.gif

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 21 2008, 11:02 AM)
the price of an r400 is RM4350 with these configs:

how's the pricing compared to parallel imports/foreign buys?

i wonder how much the price will drop by pc fair  ohmy.gif

Added on October 21, 2008, 2:08 pmhey guys, how's lenovo malaysia's warranty/customer service here? any first hand experiences?
If u can wait till next pc fair, sure u'll get it cheaper here minus the custom and delivery headache smile.gif

QUOTE(qkchuah @ Oct 22 2008, 03:25 PM)
For anyone intending to import the thinkpad from US, below are some informations:

Those having HSBC card, you can refer to this link http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...online-shopping.

Those having Maybank American Express, you can check out Maybank website where they are having a "Maybank Promotions", search for "American Express Global eShop"

At the moment in malaysia, only HSBC and Maybank allow you to buy from US and then ship to malaysia.

For custom clearance, those interested will have to check out Malaysia Customs for tax amount. If you are have any relatives in singapore, you can try and ship the parcels to singapore, tax calculation is easier to calculate, 5% + CIF value of the items. Do note if you intend to ship the items to singapore, HSBC and Maybank credit card will not allow you to do so. In order to ship to singapore, you will need to use a singapore credit card.

For those that do not have the cards as mention but would still like to buy from US, you can goggle found a mail forwarding service like Bongo, Access USA to help direct the shipment to Malaysia.

Hope the information will be useful to all. All this are done at own risk.
Ship lappy to Singapore.. minus the cell/battery? or they (SGilly Gov) already lift this silly rules?

Cheers!

V3000
post Oct 24 2008, 04:56 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(qkchuah @ Oct 23 2008, 09:01 PM)
@kege
Thanks for the rep point

@V3000
I have not heard anything before about not able to ship complete laptop(with cells) to singapore. The tax calculation is what the officer tell me after i call up the singapore customs.
Wierd then.. couse when i try to ship 'notebook' to SG frm US the seller say cant ship batt there (SG) sad.gif

V3000
post Oct 28 2008, 10:11 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Ding Dong~ ThinkPadders idle again? sad.gif
V3000
post Oct 29 2008, 06:39 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Oct 29 2008, 12:46 AM)
i guess very few of forumer own a Thinkpad..... sweat.gif
Hahas! Malaysian don't like dumb looking lappy eh? smile.gif
V3000
post Oct 29 2008, 10:12 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Hah! But I think we can always 'skin' our ThinkPad.. I think because of the silly price of this dull looking machine sad.gif
-low spec but selling at premium price sad.gif
V3000
post Oct 29 2008, 06:33 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Oct 29 2008, 03:59 PM)
similar thing when my fren saw i'm using ThinkPad....
their immediate reaction was, whoa this is "olskool" laptop  doh.gif
due to dull,blank & squarish design  sweat.gif
and their nvr heard IBM brand b4.....most of them using Acer,Dell & HP lappie....
Haha! Lucky im not a ThinkPad tongue.gif
-Im Acer but deeply fall in love with ThinkPad laugh.gif
V3000
post Oct 30 2008, 05:40 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Oct 30 2008, 11:23 AM)
huh!?!? *looks at your siggie*
hah?! whats wrong with it? brows.gif

QUOTE(crittertoo @ Oct 30 2008, 05:06 PM)
anyone here can assist me in getting a good ibm x60s 8 cell battery? Original cost a BOOM > rm 1K
Cost soo much? browse Ebay.. wont cost so much de sad.gif

V3000
post Nov 26 2008, 09:19 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Ah! Long time nvr spam here biggrin.gif

Dearest ThinkPadders!
-Do anyone of u know where can i get 'Unlocked HSDPA Minipci Card for X200?

Long Life ThinkPad!
V3000
post Dec 7 2008, 12:18 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Using X200 for few months already.. till now still very very very happy with it (Fall in Love with X200) biggrin.gif
-Go for X200! Value for our hard earn $$$!
V3000
post Dec 7 2008, 01:31 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Dec 7 2008, 11:36 AM)
unless you don't have a budget biggrin.gif then go for the x300!!! go youtube x300 vs macbook air
Sure X300 better then X200 if got $$..
I think price between X200 & X300 is RM2-3k more?
V3000
post Dec 7 2008, 08:08 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(kege @ Dec 7 2008, 03:33 PM)
let's have a small poll for favourite trackpoints: classic, flat and rim.

when i first got my r61, i favoured the classic trackpoint the most. but after testing the other trackpoints over a few days, i find that the flat trackpoint (default one) is the most comfortable to use. the classic is great too, but it gets really dirty really fast. i've even tried cleaning it (and probably damaging it with overly aggressive scrubbing)

sweat.gif
I don't like the 'Flat Nipple' as it stuck alot dirt in it and hard for me to clean. The 'Basic Nipple' comes with the ThinkPad is the best (Look Great too!)

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Dec 7 2008, 07:59 PM)
hi thinkpad'ers..... wave.gif
juz re-apply new thermal paste on procc.
i wonder why there is no difference temp. b4 and after new thermal paste applied...
still stay around same range on idle 47-49c while on load 66-70c
is that ideal temp?
coz when i opened, i see's those old thermal paste alredi dried & hardened......
For me my idle temp is between 35-45C, Sometimes lower.
Beside apply new thermal paste do u clean your FAN? (Or maybe update to latest FW does help)

V3000
post Dec 8 2008, 02:14 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Dec 7 2008, 11:55 PM)
wow ur 1 very low eh....35-45c thats very cool....btw izzit standalone? i mean with cooler pad or anything?
yes, i did clean out those dust in fan....

ooh ya, da FW u mean Firm Ware update?
but i'm usin old model R52 i dun think got FW update....
Yup Standalone lappy without those cooler.. but the fan continuously kick in low rpm blowing air out.
-Ya, i mean update firmware, since no more new FW for your machine.. bro does your FAN still works properly?

V3000
post Dec 8 2008, 08:16 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Dec 8 2008, 06:03 PM)
yea, my heatsink fan still work normal....
now i'm usin a software for control da fan speed manually then could archive lower temp.
Bro, I think your lappy Temp is still ok won't harm your lappy much since i see those 'Gaming' lappy Temp more fierce then our beloved ThinkPad smile.gif
-I guess ThinkPad Temp always lower* then other's lappy on the market nowdays rclxm9.gif

*Compare my lappy with most of my buddies lappy (Brand such as DELL, Asus, Vaio and HP)

This post has been edited by V3000: Dec 8 2008, 08:18 PM
V3000
post Dec 10 2008, 06:20 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(ah_chak @ Dec 9 2008, 04:35 AM)
Talk about heat.. the exhaust of my X31 is conveniently placed on the RIGHT side of the unit itself.. blowing hot air towards my palm.. doh.gif my X31 gets real hot man.. i wonder why.. put on the table / flat surface also the same..
Haha biggrin.gif
This make me think of my old Asus W7J lappy (Right Side Exhaust also!) sweat.gif

-Bro how many years u've been with your X31?
-Compare with new processor (Mobile Processor Technology) Old Processor does generate more heat then new Processor sad.gif

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0892sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:17 PM