148 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

EightPhantomz
post Aug 1 2011, 05:06 PM

1,766 posts

The word "best" was intentionally put as if I assumed it is almost at the end of the tunnel for portable DAC. Forgive me if I offended you guys.

After all, I'm still waiting for my first DAC ever. And its a DIY USB DAC. Who am I to say what is the best. LOL.

Please recommend more products with reviews backing it up. And among its price range also. I will put it in the first post for reference. thumbup.gif

For me, by the price, DAC Port seems likely to be the end of tunnel for me. LOL. My wife would cut my throat.

QUOTE(Lennox @ Aug 1 2011, 12:09 PM)
I'm waiting for that test  biggrin.gif 

nice review for that bro  rclxms.gif
Based on his test, you can already decide on which to buy. wink.gif

QUOTE(sheenho @ Aug 1 2011, 11:53 AM)
hi folks, im currently using GoVibe USB DAC..
how is the PCM2702 different from WM8740?
i mean, in sound quality..
I'm new about this too and would appreciate if taiko can explain the difference.

As far as I know, almost all DAP/PMP (IDevice, Sansa etc) have Wolfson's DAC chips in it.
Been told that anything with Wolfson in it, it is surely good.

Regarding these 2 chips, I saw a DAC that consists of both TI and WM chips. And that adds more to my confusions. LOL.

Anybody can explain? Thanks!

Google doesnt help also. Found some DAC chips comparisons page but its too advance for newcomers to understand.
Lennox
post Aug 1 2011, 06:19 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Aug 1 2011, 05:06 PM)
Based on his test, you can already decide on which to buy.  wink.gif
yeah man.. already decided which to go.. hahaha.. but still, no matter how good our rigs are, without a good format is still limited the quality.. i'm waiting his 320Kbps MP3 VS FLAC audio format review.. drool.gif rclxms.gif
SUSnordingh
post Aug 1 2011, 06:58 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

definitively flac will win...

Cube C30 itself is already awesome player. FLAC with normal EQ is good enough for me.

For MP3, can use BBE to make the music come alive with C30.

This post has been edited by nordingh: Aug 1 2011, 07:03 PM
DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Aug 2 2011, 09:04 AM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

woflson dont appear in serious dacs at the level of pcm1704, sabre chip, akm, etc.
Iphone4 are using cirrus logic, but has better sound quality than my ipod mini using wolfson.

get this if u dont want lavry. very good, more expensive tho, but less hassle.
http://www.stereoaudio.com.au/index.php/au...sb-music-player
hongrui
post Aug 2 2011, 10:33 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Aug 2 2011, 09:04 AM)
woflson dont appear in serious dacs at the level of pcm1704, sabre chip, akm, etc.
Iphone4 are using cirrus logic, but has better sound quality than my ipod mini  using wolfson.
the CLAS is using a wolfson chip though. http://www.cypherlabs.com/Products.php

i do not think its fair to say this DAC is using this chip so it's good or bad because alot depends on the implementation of the chip as well as other components within the circuit design of the DAC too.

sheenho
post Aug 2 2011, 10:47 AM

On mah way! :D
688 posts

hahaha.. yalor, ppl keep saying wolfson chip is so good but i would really wana know how is it different than the pcm chip.. >.<

QUOTE(hongrui @ Aug 2 2011, 10:33 AM)

i do not think its fair to say this DAC is using this chip so it's good or bad because alot depends on the implementation of the chip as well as other components within the circuit design of the DAC too.
i see, so the sound quality is all depend on implementation of the components, not solely on the chip itself..
even if they are using a superior chip, the SQ might be bad if the implementation is bad?
meaning we will have to try it only then we can know the SQ of the DACs..

Added on August 2, 2011, 10:56 ambut still, im kinda wondering about the range for both pcm and wm chips..
like which chip in PCM is on the same level with which chip in WM..

hmm.. im kinda interested to try the good cable as well.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sheenho: Aug 2 2011, 10:56 AM
TechMy
post Aug 2 2011, 11:14 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Aug 2 2011, 11:33 AM)

But i do know these Chips are good. thumbup.gif

i am currently searching high n low for good USB cable for my DAC.
any place got sell???
BCurve
post Aug 2 2011, 12:44 PM

1,271 posts

QUOTE(Alpoyoz @ Aug 1 2011, 12:17 AM)
biggrin.gif . yes. its good to start from bottom. but its not always the best way rite. upgrading cost more that getting it from the start. But in the end, it depends  smile.gif

Any1 can also try a 2ndhand dac. atleast ur loss is not that much brows.gif .

icon_rolleyes.gif .
no point starting at the bottom, this is the second half of 2011 already, I like the Lindemann USB-DAC 24/192, colour is nice, shape is also nice, with many bits and lots of frequencies to boot .... what is the point of listening owning so many when all you can listen is only one at a time .... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by BCurve: Aug 2 2011, 12:46 PM
hongrui
post Aug 2 2011, 02:00 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(sheenho @ Aug 2 2011, 10:47 AM)
i see, so the sound quality is all depend on implementation of the components, not solely on the chip itself..
even if they are using a superior chip, the SQ might be bad if the implementation is bad?
meaning we will have to try it only then we can know the SQ of the DACs..

yep, that's my personal opinion. DACs & Amps, i believe that you have to try them out to know (its very hard to audition them, i know) if they provide you with the correct synergy with your headphones and if you like the SQ of the DACs and Amps. no matter how technically good their specs might be, there's no point if you do not enjoy the music at the end.

Techmy: what's your budget? I might have something ...

audiohub's Epic USB cable. supposed to be arriving next week.

the usb cable, if you guys are interested, i'll post more details when i get mine.

actually i'm also not sure why a USB cable would affect the 1s and 0s transmitting through.

but all i can say is according to my ears, there is a difference. beyond that, the next best thing i can say is try and see if it makes any difference to you.

happy.gif
xandman
post Aug 2 2011, 02:11 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

As far as I know...And what i know is very limited...
Wolfson WM8740 DA Chip is legendary...
why is it so...i have no idea...

hong...
u have good usb cable? brows.gif

where to get these good cables?
i m using the stock usb cable only...

QUOTE(hongrui @ Aug 3 2011, 05:48 AM)
the usb cable, if you guys are interested, i'll post more details when i get mine.
please do hong!
we'll all be grateful!
rclxms.gif
EightPhantomz
post Aug 2 2011, 05:10 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(BCurve @ Aug 2 2011, 12:44 PM)
no point starting at the bottom, this is the second half of 2011 already, I like the Lindemann USB-DAC 24/192, colour is nice, shape is also nice, with many bits and lots of frequencies to boot .... what is the point of listening owning so many when all you can listen is only one at a time ....  laugh.gif
I think what he meant starting at the bottom was to start small, just to get familiar with DAC and stuff, especially for beginners. It might be a waste of time(or money) for some people, but this is a clear habit for any enthusiasts everywhere. biggrin.gif

Windcent
post Aug 2 2011, 07:18 PM

On my Way
571 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 2 2011, 02:11 PM)
hong...
u have good usb cable? brows.gif
Furutech GT2 is good choice smile.gif

This post has been edited by Windcent: Aug 2 2011, 07:19 PM
mercury
post Aug 3 2011, 11:48 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Aug 3 2011, 05:48 AM)
Just out of curiosity, does digital signals make any difference by using different cable ? hmm.gif Or maybe shielded & not shielded does ? Cheers

DaEMoNteNTAcLe
post Aug 3 2011, 12:23 PM

~ w00d!!! ~
2,825 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Aug 3 2011, 11:59 AM)
actually i'm also not sure why a USB cable would affect the 1s and 0s transmitting through.

but all i can say is according to my ears, there is a difference. beyond that, the next best thing i can say is try and see if it makes any difference to you.

happy.gif
because 0s and 1s only exist in computer algorithm, not electronics.
Iqbal_kakashi
post Aug 3 2011, 11:43 PM

iqbikh
683 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 29 2011, 10:22 PM)
erk?
u who la?
the fella looking for DAC? with the friend who bought the ES55?

Good stuff must share2 la...
luckily i m not crazy enuff to get the Lavry...
haahahaha...
right bro! biggrin.gif , the "legendary" headphones both of us talking bout is joke. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

that DACport is really something. drool.gif
EightPhantomz
post Aug 4 2011, 12:31 AM

1,766 posts

Guys, just posted my first (evar) review on the first page. Its a budget DAC sold by one of our members. Feel free to comment. I think its a good DAC to start with especially for beginners.

Feel free to recommend other DACs aswell. I will try to look for its reviews and put it on the first post. But would prefer it reviewed by one of us. Or maybe a local dedicated thread like DACPort. It would be awesome! Thanks!

Haha. The T-Muso is RM120.
Can we have like another branded budget range other than Go-Vibe USB DAC? 250-500 maybe?
Then we move up abit to something like 500-1000 range. Above that already DACPort range. Then move up to Lavry for the ultimate.

Just an idea. And I think we have limitation space for each post. So I cant put everything to the 1st post. Should've reserve the 2nd post. LOL.

Yup Ibasso d2+ boa is on my list aswell.

Lets break it to:-
Popular DAC within:-
RM200-500 = ?, ?
RM500-1000 = Ibasso D2+ BoA, ?
RM1000-1500 = DACPort, ?
Above RM2000 = Lavry, ?

What do you guys think?

Ah thanks! But not so many lah. 2-3 in 1 price range. Another thing, I will need to search for its reviews aswell. Alot of work for me. Any help would be appreciated.

Maybe 1 for portable and another 1 for desktop.

Nope, dont mind. Can PM me the links. wink.gif

But before that, instead of just list up the one we thought is good or popular, maybe we need to do a poll first maybe. Unless ClieOS said so. HAHA.

Added on August 4, 2011, 9:29 amGotta sleep first. Just came back from graveyard shifts.
hongrui
post Aug 4 2011, 08:52 AM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

maybe something a listing like this? the list is not comprehensive, this is just off the top of my head and i'm not that sure of the prices too.

xxx xxx

<RM200
T-Muso

RM201-RM500
iBasso d2

RM501 - RM1000
Uber Muzik Tiny Tube DAC/Amp (TTD)

RM1001 - RM2001
iBasso D12 DAC/Amp
Pico DAC
Pico DAC/Amp
RSA Predator DAC/Amp
DACport
Cypher Labs Algorhythm Solo (DAC for i-devices only)

>RM2000
Fostex HP-P1 (DAC for i-devices only/Amp)

xxx

only portables? or to include the desktop DACs too?

i agree that the portable and desktop DACs should be separated. makes for easier reading and searching too.
mpyw
post Aug 4 2011, 08:36 PM

3,603 posts

anyone tried the Nuforce uDac2 ?
around RM500, worth to buy?
E1 - AKG
post Aug 4 2011, 10:25 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

DAC
- FiiO D3 < RM200
- FiiO D5 (dedicated gamers' dac) TBA

DAC / AMP
- FiiO E7 < RM300
- FiiO E10 TBA

AMP (Portable)
- FiiO E1 < RM100
- FiiO E5 < RM100
- FiiO E6 < RM150
- FiiO E11 < RM250

AMP (Desktop)
- FiiO E9 < RM500
- FiiO E9i (Docking for iPhone/iPod) < RM500

LOD
- FiiO L3 (iOS/8cm) < RM100
- FiiO L30 (iOS/30cm) < RM150
- FiiO L50 (iOS/50cm) < RM200
- FiiO L5 (Sony/8cm) < RM100
- FiiO L6 (Sansa/8cm) <RM100

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Aug 4 2011, 10:26 PM
Cold|Drawn
post Aug 4 2011, 10:34 PM

1,138 posts

guys, how do you all differentiate a good amp or not?

because usually when I plug on an amp, it certainly feels to me that the music is simply louder...

except for the bass, as the beats are heavier.

as for mids and trebles... hmm don't really feel it.

148 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:14 AM