Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

Lennox
post Jul 27 2011, 08:15 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 26 2011, 11:36 PM)
E11 give you more option, E5 have limited option. E11 sounded better, punchier bass and clear treble. I have both. Now I keep E5 in my drawer...
sell me your E5 then biggrin.gif
Lennox
post Jul 27 2011, 10:40 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 27 2011, 10:32 PM)
Not sure I gonna sell it or not...  before I have 2 E5 and 1 E3...  E3 already sold to someone here... 1 of my E5 borrowed by a friend and next day he just pay me for it.. now left 1 E5...  wink.gif
Need to wait, I gonna ask my kids 1st, they want to use or not with their headphone...  cool.gif
WoW.. Cool... Remember me when you are trying to sell it man brows.gif

Added on July 27, 2011, 10:48 pmi was funding an AMP now.

Source : Smartphone (Current use HTC Incredible S & Nokia 5800) and also Desktop
Equipment : Sennheiser HD 437 (Going to upgrade but 1st, i would like to get an AMP 1st), AKG K331 and for desktop speaker were Altec Lansing VS4121
Requirement : I don't really care about portable or not as long as it pumps the sounds quality. and i think Fiio E7 is the best choice now but if have any others model or brand please advise
Budget : currently money in-hand only can afford the Fiio E5 sweat.gif , i need all pro here advise so that i can fund money to get the target. Not over than rm500

This post has been edited by Lennox: Jul 27 2011, 10:48 PM
Lennox
post Jul 27 2011, 11:40 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 27 2011, 11:15 PM)
If want best for all.. CMOY..  with RM500, can buy 2 units... buy with rechargeable battery installed to save the environments. And yes E11 also can...  never try hippo.
E7 good if you also use for desktop...
whistling.gif

The best way is to test yourself... using your own source and headphone.... you can feel how much differences with and without the amp... using different amp too to get one that suitable...

I suggest you the head to KLAV show this weekend for own test...
did you hear before AVPRO PDVD-9208 Multimedia headphone ? is come with an AMP. but still around rm100 i can even found a seller selling rm50 2nd hand. how come so cheap hmm.gif the quality bad?
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 12:05 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 27 2011, 11:48 PM)
Let hear from the expert...
http://www.headfonia.com/music-on-a-budget...-amps-shootout/
never as I don't like multimedia headphone... those normally good for movie...

I think I have test it before at Carrefour...  sound like 'budak2 ketuk tin'...
haha... thanks man.. i got it. E11 is the latest model for Fiio now?
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 12:28 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 28 2011, 12:25 AM)
Yes... latest one... I read at Singapore forum, some forumer start selling E7 and get E11 instead... E11 was made for user that need normal amp without the DAC function. (that the reason I don't have E7, I don't need DAC, but when E11 out, I upgrade my E5)
WOW... Corda  shocking.gif
As i know DAC is Digital-to-analog converter. Search for it many times. Still not really understand, mind to give a short explanation? icon_question.gif
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 12:55 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 28 2011, 12:40 AM)
Hmm...  OK... 

When you play a music on your PC, all are in digital format. (ie MP3, FLAC), your headphone is for sure is analog. Digital data sent to your headphone won't give you anything or maybe you can hear a white noise up and down. So the DAC is to convert those Digital sound to analog before it's goes to your headphone.

Your sound card can do this but not all sound card are good especially that already built-in on your PC/notebook. Most use cheap DAC chip.

BY using E7 or other DAC, that digital sound will be pass to E7 and not using your internal sound card. This will give a good Digital to analog conversion because, of-course you will choose a DAC with a good chips like PCM2704.
i see.. thanks a lot man.. most of the review i search all would suggest E11. still thinking both of them which to go now. biggrin.gif really thanks a lot about your help. notworthy.gif

Edit : Even much people suggest E11, the only thing i hesitating for both E11 and E7 is because E7 can be combine with the Fiio E9 to pump my desktop.

This post has been edited by Lennox: Jul 28 2011, 12:58 AM
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 06:36 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 28 2011, 01:07 AM)
Sample of USB DAC being discussed here in LYN http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1578682

There is a few seller selling this.

[attachmentid=2354420]
- this one belong to my officemate. Improved version for headphone user.
hmm.gif i think i don't need the DAC function as my pc soundcard was Creative and it cost rm200++. chould have the DAC function. aiming E11 then biggrin.gif
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 08:28 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 28 2011, 07:49 PM)
If you happy with creative then no point invest a new DAC.  biggrin.gif
Yeah.. i satisfied with it since day 1.. rclxms.gif

so when u are willing to let go ur E-11 please remember me laugh.gif
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 08:31 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 28 2011, 08:30 PM)
Ha ha..  E11 still new... not going to let go soon...  not before I can afford some desktop amp.
laugh.gif Where you bought and how much? you know somewhere else i can test it around KL?

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 28 2011, 08:40 PM)
with bro E1
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1868193&hl=

you can set time with him to test...  really nice guy...

(don't forget to ask him to bring along AIAIAI TMA-1 for testing.. tangkap leleh nanti)

If you around KLCC can meet, I just nearby.
rclxms.gif is him, just bought an AKG K331 from him. But now i don't have that cash in hand. as i said my money in-hand now only can afford E-5 sweat.gif
so might not ask for testing from those seller. later i test tak beli. DeadMan spotted then blush.gif

You was always around KLCC?
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 10:24 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(jinj @ Jul 28 2011, 08:48 PM)
then how if i connect a portable player to an external dac? how does it works?

digital--->analog---->digital again---->analog again?
i thought DAC only works for PC? hahaha... i'm a noob here.. just started to be or maybe trying to be an Audiophile tongue.gif

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jul 28 2011, 10:11 PM)
You do not need a DAC for your portable player.  By the way, what player is that  hmm.gif
which means i also do not need a DAC for my smartphone as well? smile.gif
Lennox
post Jul 28 2011, 10:43 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jul 28 2011, 10:28 PM)
DAC is only for PC use with exception of the Fostex HP-P1 taking digital audio out from iPod / iPhone / iPad.

By the way, the E5 is already EOL, to be replaced by E6 in September  brows.gif
E6 aaaaa???? hmm.gif was currently aiming E-11 now. should wait and see the E6 then tongue.gif
Lennox
post Jul 29 2011, 11:01 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jul 28 2011, 11:33 PM)
E6 is an E5 replacement, not in the league of the E11   blush.gif

you say so, i would stay my target as E11 now flex.gif

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jul 29 2011, 09:32 AM)
Bro, the D5 is a totally different animal.  It is a dedicated gamers' USB/DAC.

For gamer? why you say so? is it anything special function inside is benefit to gamer?
Lennox
post Jul 30 2011, 03:00 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

seriously theres a huge difference between E5 and E11 while i plug them separately and compare?

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Jul 30 2011, 02:43 AM)
guys i have a situation here, currently i own a Samsung Galaxy S2 and pair it with MylarOne Bijou 3. The problem is that i am not statisfied with the amount of bass produce, is there any portable amp that can boost the bass to a good level.

new set MylarOne Bijou 3?
Lennox
post Jul 30 2011, 03:36 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jul 30 2011, 03:05 AM)
Why not u try and tell us? I've tried E11 and it is a good enough amp for its price range. Cant say much for E5 since I never tried it.

Added on July 30, 2011, 3:07 am

Your budget?
Its a headphone.
of course i wanna try it out but where can i try around KL? i shop for so long in KLCC and Pavi today but cant find also.

and i know that MylarOne Bijou 3 is a headphone, just asking wherether is new or old which already done burn-in a lot biggrin.gif
Lennox
post Jul 30 2011, 01:10 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 30 2011, 03:44 AM)
you go to Pavi why not got to KLAV show at JW Marriot, just next to Pavi only...  I heard Jaben bring so many amp there for testing.

Added on July 30, 2011, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jul 30 2011, 03:48 AM)
Can try Jaben Network in Subang SS15 opposite AsiaCafe. Or you can go to their booth OR any other Audiophiles booth at KL AV 2011, JW Marriott.
Refer to this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1973253

OR, you can PM E1 - AKG.
sweat.gif i don't even know got such event over there. missed ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by Lennox: Jul 30 2011, 01:11 PM
Lennox
post Jul 30 2011, 11:08 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jul 30 2011, 01:39 PM)
Its until tomorrow what? Go go go! Hehe.
Too bad i can't go KL anymore due to personal reason until September sad.gif
But E1 bro willing to let me try. Will try from him some others day rclxms.gif such a good seller

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 30 2011, 11:02 PM)
Hippo around RM260
Fiio E11 around 235
sweat.gif he just said " put the price aside". BTW, i do interesting on listening some comparison between both of them too icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 30 2011, 11:14 PM)
Ops... eye too tired already after few hours at KLAV.... not read properly.. sad.gif

no hippo there.. canot test...
hehehe.. i thought suppose is your ears tired? biggrin.gif you must be really enjoy yourself over there bro.
There's really big different between Fiio E5 and E11 while you listen to them separately? Although that is a big different between it's cost

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jul 30 2011, 11:43 PM)
Offcourse too much different.. E11 can drive my SRH440 really good but E5 will not (at least to my level of hearing, I like my music to be loud, mostly heavy rock).. E5 won't give good response to music like that.
biggrin.gif thanks for the confirmation bro. notworthy.gif my audiophiles' life has been start cool.gif
Lennox
post Aug 1 2011, 12:09 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Aug 1 2011, 01:42 AM)
No need la...  sweat.gif

If I got time I will test with MP3 file later... but FLAC is the best to test actually.
I'm waiting for that test biggrin.gif

nice review for that bro rclxms.gif
Lennox
post Aug 1 2011, 06:19 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Aug 1 2011, 05:06 PM)
Based on his test, you can already decide on which to buy.  wink.gif
yeah man.. already decided which to go.. hahaha.. but still, no matter how good our rigs are, without a good format is still limited the quality.. i'm waiting his 320Kbps MP3 VS FLAC audio format review.. drool.gif rclxms.gif
Lennox
post Aug 5 2011, 11:50 PM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Aug 5 2011, 12:56 AM)
@Cold|Drawn
I guess I'll just add some extra points..
1) Do your headphones need an amp in the first place?
If your headphones doesn't need any in the first place, improvements are usually negligible.
2) Sound preference.
An amp could make your things sound better, but IMHO it's just that the amp 'colours' the sound to your liking, hence why you think it's an improvement.
3) Synergy
From my understanding, is how well all your stuffs works together. Take nordingh's post as an example. His source + amp works well for his samson, but not for his shure.

Since you've said you're still new, these should be some good reading materials.
~ In Ear Matters: Which Way up?
~ In Ear Matters: To Amp, or Not To Amp?

It's quite long(for a lazy guy like me tongue.gif); but here's some highlights for the amp part:
Bro, thanks for the 2 article you provided. It really helps for newbie like me rclxms.gif
now i know what to do instead of getting an AMP first.
Lennox
post Aug 6 2011, 12:37 AM

H3nG
1,333 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Aug 6 2011, 12:22 AM)
@Lennox
Ur welcome smile.gif Also, thanks to ClieOS for writing lots of useful articles. thumbup.gif
rclxms.gif Now i reading every article he wrote. hmm.gif probably a MP3 player is better than a phone? I always use phone to listen music, never plan to get a MP3/MP4 before. using HTC Incredible S now. Currently already listen to FLAC format's songs or at least 320 Kbps for MP3. Now, i have a good-enough IEM, AKG K331. Previously i was thinking to get an amp but after reading that article, i do agreed, Headphone is much more need an amp than an IEM.

0.0480sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:12 PM