164 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

daddyVW
post May 10 2012, 11:01 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(inv @ May 10 2012, 07:06 AM)
The only problem with BC setup i find is that it's freaking difficult to almost impossible to cast micro lure as far compared to a spinning setup. The spool just wouldnt get going...
depend on model you use.. using alphas, pixy, MGX, scorpion etc, will not be a problem... use SX, zillion etc from this range will be slightly difficult... icon_idea.gif
vng69
post May 10 2012, 11:18 AM

1,160 posts

yo anglers and everyone else,
good day to all of you.
i'm in my mid 20's and haven't been fishing for like 15yrs+. when i was young that time, always follow my dad fishing. last i went fishing was like 2 years ago at kelong, Johor.

i see that Fish Valley,Semenyih is very tempting and would like to visit that place this weekend. my only issues are;

i) what rod, reel, line to prepare? ( not sure mine can sustain anot)
ii) what bait to use?
iii) any specific technique?

*hope all sifus can explain to me. Thanks in advance.
vioxmonsta
post May 10 2012, 12:45 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(vng69 @ May 10 2012, 11:18 AM)
i) what rod, reel, line to prepare? ( not sure mine can sustain anot)
ii) what bait to use?
iii) any specific technique?

wads your current kachang setup?

BTW,CHECK OUT MY SIGNATURE GUYS!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by vioxmonsta: May 10 2012, 12:47 PM
rorytate
post May 10 2012, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 9 2012, 03:43 PM)
laugh.gif i really dunno how to cast 1 wo.
haha
Well, if you dunno, this is the time to practise and learn biggrin.gif

Added on May 10, 2012, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(kayent @ May 9 2012, 06:00 PM)
can i bring a few friends along for the TT? got limit to how many ppl can go ah? maybe 3-4 of my friends wana tag along.
Hi Bro Kayent,
Sure do, please update into the list and place the number of Anglers you are bringing along

Added on May 10, 2012, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(inv @ May 10 2012, 07:06 AM)
The only problem with BC setup i find is that it's freaking difficult to almost impossible to cast micro lure as far compared to a spinning setup. The spool just wouldnt get going...
No problem on casting ler..

You just need the right matching setup. I am casting 2.5g with a PE1~3 rod, 30lb and still i'm getting about 30m

Added on May 10, 2012, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(daddyVW @ May 9 2012, 06:46 PM)
no worries lah... bro rory can show technique not to goreng bee hoon maaa... we use to have friend so call 'tokey bee hoon'... MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
No worries about that. Bro Daddy also can guide. He's damn good with luring too

Added on May 10, 2012, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(wetwetwater @ May 9 2012, 11:06 PM)
This sounds interesting! Thinking of joining too..
Come join us. Just place your particulars will do smile.gif

Added on May 10, 2012, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(wai1460 @ May 9 2012, 10:03 PM)
then there must be award for cbh categories...
hmmn....

Since we will be having BBQ and beer after fish, perhaps we can announce that there... wahkakakka

Added on May 10, 2012, 4:24 pm1. Rorytate - Vincent - 012-2877814
2. Inv - ming - zero one zero- two two 130 two two.
3. mika_84-michael-0129050522
4. wai1460 - Wai - 016-5215757
5. evildonkey - Alex - 0124559937 (Any other weekend aside from the coming one)
6. Ivan Lim - zero one two 324 two nine two one (as long as not early morning)

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 10 2012, 04:24 PM
kayent
post May 10 2012, 05:20 PM

213 posts

Ahh great. biggrin.gif Add me up on the list bro,

Kayent - Ken - zero one six 8678062 (+3 extras anglers) tongue.gif

chun
post May 10 2012, 05:50 PM

85 posts

alo... long time didn't come in here lu...

Should be joining u guys for TT, can someone state the date and time on the TT list so that me (or anyone else) no need to look back few pages behind lu... TQTQ...

rorytate
post May 10 2012, 05:57 PM

1. Rorytate - Vincent - 012-2877814
7. Kayent - Ken - zero one six 8678062 (+3 extras anglers)

Bro Chun,
Tentatively on the 2nd of June 2012. Time expected to be around 3.30pm~4pm
kumanosuke
post May 10 2012, 06:04 PM

717 posts

is 2-4kg rated rod good enough to handle Jurassic fishes ? I only got 1 fishing rod.
chun
post May 10 2012, 06:07 PM

85 posts

pertaining to noob question:

IMHO - if new to fishing, then spinning would be good choice (Sifu Rory, Sifu Daddy please dun shoot me tongue.gif ) as spinning reel tend to be cheaper (generally) and less technical to learn, a RM50-RM150 spinning reel can cast any small kucimiao lure or bait with same poundage of line... if u compare with BC, u wanna cast anything less than 3 grams then need to invest on the models that sifu Daddy mentioned which will cost ya RM500-RM1500.

My personal recommendation for spinning is of course the ever reliable and value for money Ryobi Applause (RM150-RM200+) best bang for buck.

Conclusion: Again IMHO, both types have pros and cons. Generally:

BC more suitable for lure casting... More accurate & cast whole day also can (provided setup is correct or balanced). For live bait like Keli or any bait that'll come off easily, not that suitable.

Spinning if lure casting whole day lure u'll find that your fingers start to go numb (since reel seat-thingy/handle/dunno-wat-u-call-it is between your fingers). Suitable for live bait since you can lope the bait over your waste and less tendency of the bait flying off without your hook and line. If fishing bottom (or waiting game) then more suitable as well IMHO.

Added on May 10, 2012, 6:16 pm
QUOTE(kumanosuke @ May 10 2012, 06:04 PM)
is 2-4kg rated rod good enough to handle Jurassic fishes ? I only got 1 fishing rod.
that would be about 5-10lb rating maybe a little light... but since the toman not that big there also la (about 2-6kg the last time i went la)...and not too much of snag, only thing is maybe scared will cross other ppl's line only lo if u kena big fish... brows.gif

IMHO, i think best setup should be about 6-15lb or 8-17lb rod with 8lb to 10lb braid. <- sifus pls correct me if i'm wrong notworthy.gif

Oh make sure everyone change their lure hooks to SINGLE hooks as TREBLE hooks not allowed ler... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by chun: May 10 2012, 06:18 PM
vioxmonsta
post May 10 2012, 06:40 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ May 10 2012, 06:04 PM)
Eh bro u going bo? Ur using casting rod or spinning, if spinning I got plenty I can borrow
daddyVW
post May 10 2012, 07:13 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(chun @ May 10 2012, 05:50 PM)
alo... long time didn't come in here lu...

Should be joining u guys for TT, can someone state the date and time on the TT list so that me (or anyone else) no need to look back few pages behind lu... TQTQ...
sifu chun must join maa.. MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

chun, i found pencil (you so called GOBO pencil)... you want kaa? wat color aa? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
vioxmonsta
post May 11 2012, 12:51 AM

287 posts

Using BC need swivels to snap on the lure too? Or direct to main line?
vng69
post May 11 2012, 09:23 AM

1,160 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 10 2012, 12:45 PM)
wads your current kachang setup?
BTW,CHECK OUT MY SIGNATURE GUYS!!!!!!!!!!
well..this is the thing. my kachang all in the store room and haven't been taken out for some time. i'm not sure either..all that i know is, its OLD. like very OLD!!
daddyVW
post May 11 2012, 09:36 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 11 2012, 12:51 AM)
both.. but if direct then must cut and tie back... icon_idea.gif

Added on May 11, 2012, 9:37 am
QUOTE(vng69 @ May 11 2012, 09:23 AM)
well..this is the thing. my kachang all in the store room and haven't been taken out for some time. i'm not sure either..all that i know is, its OLD. like very OLD!!
OLD is GOLD... MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by daddyVW: May 11 2012, 09:37 AM
inv
post May 11 2012, 09:48 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

My setup is main line > leader > snap > lure.
chun
post May 11 2012, 09:50 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(daddyVW @ May 10 2012, 07:13 PM)
sifu chun must join maa.. MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

chun, i found pencil (you so called GOBO pencil)... you want kaa? wat color aa?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Bro, u sure not the new type kar? i know there's some newer version not as nice one leh... got photo ar? Or let me know where to go to check it out?
vioxmonsta
post May 11 2012, 09:58 AM

287 posts

QUOTE(inv @ May 11 2012, 09:48 AM)
My setup is main line > leader > snap > lure.
u mean a fg knot > snap > lure
rorytate
post May 11 2012, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 11 2012, 12:51 AM)
Bro Viox,
IF you are using braided line, preferably connect to a shock leader. Look up the braid to shock leader - FG Knot. Learn how to tie. If still not catchy, i'll guide you during the TT.

Rationale of using shockleader.
1. Braided line are sensitive cos of the non stretchy factor.
2. Braided lines are not abrasion resistance since it's actually multistrain of thread to become a end product.
3. Shock leader have higher abrasion resistant as well as slight stretchy, preventing the line to bust when fighting fish.

As for the snap, most of the anglers i saw uses them for quick change of lures. I would recommend to use these below. Some of the snaps are actually limiting the action of the lure. Refer to the pics below, i'll explain later why certain snaps are crappy for luring.

This is the most shocking snap i ever seen. First time seeing it also. No Go! Too limiting movements to the lures. Not forgeting, some lures eyelet is small and does not have split rings.

The regular haruan snap. Good for froggy but not lures. This snap also tends to slip and open under pressure.

This snap looks sturdy and strong, but unfortunately the shape of it is limiting the movements and freeplay of the lure. No Go!

Now the above 2 are the regular ones for luring. For my personal preferences, the DuoLock snap(1st picture above) is allowing much free play to the lure. It is also thin and lightweight, which again does not hamper the action of the lure. Recommend to get reputable brands like Rosco. As for the 2nd picture, it is known as Cross Lock Snap. Personally, i use the cross lock when going to hunt in the wild. It is slightly heavier compared to duolock and stronger too.

As for the swivel, some like to use snap with swivel and some dont. I dont see any differences in strength but if you are fishing for finesse or heavy pressure place, please do avoid the swivel. As it does contain some weight, the action of the lure have to be precise and extra weight is a nono. Also, i never seen a baitfish holding a swivel and swim all over the place...LOL. Ultimately, the right method, the right speed = for the right lure = for the right fish.

Hi All,
Personal opinion on the Jurassic arsenal set up.

Recommended:
1. Rod - 8-17lb spinning or casting
2. Line - 20lb

If you use light weight rod, you may not be able to cast a heavy lures. Eg: if you use 4-12lb rod, likely you can only cast around 1/3 ounce or 1/4 ounce. 1 ounce is 28gram. Anything lure heavier will cause damage to the rod during cast.

As for the line, it's just a recommended poundage. If you would like to try lighter line, it would be more challenging and not forgetting higher chance of busting the line. smile.gif Since many of the Anglers here are new to luring, the 20lb line is just a recommendation from me smile.gif

Updated list for the Jurassic TT (11/5/2012)

Any more? If can come close to 20 would be excellent.

Added on May 11, 2012, 10:13 am
QUOTE(chun @ May 11 2012, 09:50 AM)
Bro, u sure not the new type kar? i know there's some newer version not as nice one leh... got photo ar? Or let me know where to go to check it out?
Metallic pearl white with yellow back (the one above is green)

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 11 2012, 10:13 AM
vioxmonsta
post May 11 2012, 10:15 AM

287 posts

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.4...33792065&type=3

some poison b4 the TT
mika_84
post May 11 2012, 10:41 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ May 10 2012, 05:57 PM)

Bro Chun,
Tentatively on the 2nd of June 2012. Time expected to be around 3.30pm~4pm
sad.gif i only available on 16th june 2012. too bad cry.gif

164 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:28 PM