I give up about the on-campus accommodations. I'll find somewhere off-campus X_X
University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC) V4, "A city is built on wisdom"
Aug 15 2012, 02:10 PM
475 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: 부산 |
I give up about the on-campus accommodations. I'll find somewhere off-campus X_X
Aug 15 2012, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 15 2012, 04:49 PM) Please check below for update. wow, the room is legen....wait for it....dary, but too bad out of my budget (and I want a single room) xD.I have a room for rent for Malaysian Chinese, TTS5, facing the playground (so is very near to the bridge). Air-con, attached bathroom, big and can fit two people in the room, will have 2 PhD students staying (so they are the old birds that know everything about Nottingham) + 1 more person, rental price should be quite attractive I believe. If interested, please PM. BTW, it's legendary because I stayed in the same house before! Update/more detail: -Rental: RM600 (if not mistaken or is it RM700?) (does not include utilities) - large enough to stay two people -Term: pay rental for 9 months but stay 12 months (no charge over summer break) -Furniture: Bed, wardrobe, rack (all for two if not mistaken), in common area, TV, sofa, table, chairs, fridge, microwave, water heater, washing machine, stove etc. -Walking time to Uni: 5-10 minutes to lecture halls (<5 minutes to get into university) -Internet: Maxis wired 1.5 Mbps, monthly RM88+25, rental doesn't include internet and to be shared, strictly no p2p, torrent, pps, qvod, xunlei etc. - router will act up if detected either of this - a good thing I would say! -Other utilities: Based on previous usage, our electric bill is about RM180 per month - that's 4 air-con running every day), water bill is about RM20 per month (or per few months, paid once, couldn't recall, LOL) -Hidden charges: (and is no longer hidden now) RM60-100 for air-con service fee (one time off when you come in), cut-grass fee (to be determined among each other whether want to pay or not, sometimes landlord will come over to do it for free), cleaning fee (usually called every month, RM60 one time) Any more info anybody want? |
Aug 16 2012, 03:24 PM
Aug 16 2012, 08:40 PM
Everyone, I'm looking for a place to stay, preferably near the campus (TTS5). Looking for a single room with AC and ensuite bathroom. Budget max RM600, please PM me if there is ^^ thanks on advance
Aug 17 2012, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(manthew @ Aug 16 2012, 08:41 PM) Sorry I missed that >___<Anyway I wanna ask, how is TTS2? Is the place good enough? EDIT: Does anyone actually bike to school? I am thinking of bringing my bike there xD. I love biking xD. This post has been edited by HwangTommy: Aug 17 2012, 06:26 PM |
Aug 18 2012, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(manthew @ Aug 17 2012, 10:55 PM) Run down zombie far far away land... If you don't mind the distance.. TTS7 is the way to go..but it's bit pricey though. I'm sure they are bikers.. I use to cycle to class too (from Pangkor Hall)..but when ur bicycle break down, the repair shop it's in semenyih town. Have to access by car. I actually mind the distance, still haven't had any luck in finding rooms in TTS5 T__TAnd I just realized today that my passport have less than a year of validity, so now I have to extend it first before I can apply for student visa Confused, don't know if I will make it on time |
Aug 18 2012, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Aug 15 2012, 06:30 PM) Two existing PhD students are close friends of mine, authentic Malaysian Chinese (one from Muar, one from Penang if that helps in making decision). The newcomer is expected to be Malaysian Chinese as well, friend of friend of mine. The room fits my criteria, but I am not Malaysian Chinese, I am Indonesian Chinese, can or not? All guys! Neezhen: Wanna share with me? xD |
Aug 18 2012, 09:15 PM
Aug 19 2012, 04:17 PM
Aug 19 2012, 05:50 PM
Aug 20 2012, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Muba @ Aug 20 2012, 01:22 PM) Just sent it my results, hope I get the unconditional offer soon. Once I get that and my Visa, Nottingham here I come Where are u from? Haven't applied for visa? I thought I was late! xD. I also haven't applied for visa, waiting for hari raya to end and then extend my passport first xD.Added on August 20, 2012, 2:24 pm Guess I will just have to make my own life then |
Aug 20 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(Muba @ Aug 20 2012, 10:35 PM) Im from Sri Lanka dude.. I applied for the visa already, they said itll take 8 weeks to process so I am a but worried I may not get it in time.. I haven't even applied, hahaha.. Still waiting for my passport, need to renew it.8 weeks? Really? I though it only takes 4 weeks max? |
Aug 26 2012, 02:25 PM
Still no news for my on-campus accommodation!!
Aug 26 2012, 10:09 PM
Anyone knows how far is it from SZB (Subang Airport) to the school?
This post has been edited by HwangTommy: Aug 26 2012, 10:09 PM |
Aug 27 2012, 09:08 AM
Aug 27 2012, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Aug 27 2012, 08:34 PM) look for seniors. if not uni bookshop? i noe one bookshop here in subang. i don't drive xD, probably take taxi, lol, they don't provide airport pickup there O_OAdded on August 27, 2012, 9:35 pm not far. its near my house. can lead u the way if u like. Around 1 hour drive to uni. |
Aug 29 2012, 10:31 PM
What hotel is the nearest to the school? Will be visiting there soon xD.
Prescott Metro Inn Kajang and Uptown Hotel Kajang, which one do u guys recommend? |
Sep 1 2012, 08:46 PM
Sep 1 2012, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(oceanic93 @ Sep 1 2012, 09:40 PM) I know, right. I sent my accept/decline form and paid the RM1000 on August 13th. Still haven't got my full offer and visa application details (I prepared everything already for the visa, just waiting for them to send me my full offer before I can apply for visa). |
Sep 4 2012, 10:34 AM
got my unconditional offer letter yesterday, and applied for my student visa today! Yay! I hope the student visa comes on time
anyway I'll be going to Kajang tomorrow, can I visit the school? Is there anyone from the school staff who can "take me for a walk" in the uni? xD trying to get a laptop, but don't know what to get. is a macbook appropriate for an engineering student? because in some uni their engineering software are windows only. This post has been edited by HwangTommy: Sep 4 2012, 11:31 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0725sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:56 PM |