Are property prices going to up further? V3

Nikmon
post Jul 27 2011, 01:04 PM

1,780 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jul 27 2011, 12:34 PM)
I don't know for sure. Let's just say they still can continue living their lifestyle even after the purchase.  smile.gif
Unless money supply drops drastically next year, otherwise the market will still be flushed with liquidity. As long as there is still a large amount of cash floating in the market, many people, like your friend will continue to dabble in risks. Banks need to loan out the cash, risk takers will borrow and dabble in stocks, properties, etc. The recent SRR increase doesn't really affect banks hoarding of cash. M-3 supply has grown another RM106B from July last year till May this year.

I really don't see how property market will crash in the short to mid term as long as the money keeps rolling in (thanks to US anyway for their quantitative easing). hmm.gif

Moderation of property prices in the short term maybe, as no. of barriers increase for property buyer. Many ppl will pause to see see look look what is the next development. Then after awhile, ppl will think "What is my money doing in the banks earning less than the inflation rate?" And then the property price graph start to continue upwards movement...

Of course, I am not saying a crash won't happen, it is just that I don't see the signs yet.  laugh.gif

Something for reading, which is a good piece from BNM:

[attachmentid=2353156]
wah, seem like you are from property industry....

but i agree with you.. laugh.gif

no crash in mid term but the risk is high for property investment. yah, no pain no gain. good luck.

super911
post Jul 27 2011, 01:36 PM

1,108 posts

If QE3 materialized, inflation will be even higher. Price of commodities will skyrocket, including house. Bnm will raise rates, it will make owning a house even more difficult.
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2011, 01:46 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(super911 @ Jul 27 2011, 01:36 PM)
If QE3 materialized, inflation will be even higher. Price of commodities will skyrocket, including house. Bnm will raise rates, it will make owning a house even more difficult.
the notion of qe1-2-3, incr money supply, too much cash chasing too few goods, inflation and therefore prices keep going up... can only be correct up to a point. there is also a parallel thing happening - high inflation is a precursor to a recession followed by price corrections as demand drops drastically for a period. then comes recovery, new cycle begins.

when your pocket does not permit it, can't afford a good pizza, how to pay more rent or buy new pricey house?

dun misss this impt part too of that article! we got lots of new malls coming - shop till you drop or drop some shopping?
KL property may enter uncertain patch says DTZ
By Lee Wei LianJuly 26, 2011

The retail market meanwhile is expected to be impacted from more sluggish consumer sentiment as high inflation eats away at household disposable income.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 27 2011, 01:56 PM
kh8668
post Jul 27 2011, 02:12 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 27 2011, 01:46 PM)
the notion of qe1-2-3, incr money supply, too much cash chasing too few goods, inflation and therefore prices keep going up... can only be correct up to a point. there is also a parallel thing happening - high inflation is a precursor to a recession followed by price corrections as demand drops drastically for a period. then comes recovery, new cycle begins.

when your pocket does not permit it, can't afford a good pizza, how to pay more rent or buy new pricey house?

dun misss this impt part too of that article! we got lots of new malls coming - shop till you drop or drop some shopping?
downgrade from apartment (rrom) to LC flat (room). lol
dlyw1103
post Jul 27 2011, 02:39 PM

869 posts

Rich Chinese turn to Malaysia for property bargains
Jul 27, 2011
With China’s real estate sector in a slump, a number of wealthy Chinese are looking to Malaysia for bargains.

At the height of China’s real estate boom in 2009, Qiu Liping turned to Malaysia’s moderate housing market by investing three million yuan for the purchase of an apartment close to Kuala Lumpur’s Petronas Twin Towers.

“I had doubts about my first property investment in Malaysia at the time but I was even more doubtful about China's relentless housing prices after years of skyrocketing increases,” recalled Qiu, a 45-year-old Shanghai resident.

Prior to the purchase and before the central government’s clampdown on property speculation, she had acquired properties in Shanghai, western Chongqing and Sanya in Hainan province.

“I was considering investing in Australia but after careful and prudent selection, I chose Malaysia, which is closer to China and more importantly, (where) people speak Chinese. So I'm planning to live there when I retire,” said Qiu, who invested over 11 million yuan in two more apartments in Malaysia’s capital in 2010, following a forecast that her investment would likely generate a return of 15 percent by this year.

“This year, we have clients with more than 10 million yuan each to invest in Malaysian properties. That's never happened before,” said Sophia Xia, Managing Director of Shanghai’s Super City Group, a real estate brokerage.

Aside from China’s stringent housing curbs, Chinese investors also venture into Malaysia due to the “high risk” areas for investment in Hong Kong and Shanghai, Malaysia’s foreigner-friendly “My Second Home” Programme, the ringgit’s strengthening against the US dollar and the prediction that the Malaysian property market will appraise as high as 20 percent.

This post has been edited by dlyw1103: Jul 27 2011, 02:42 PM
lch78
post Jul 27 2011, 03:11 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Jul 27 2011, 02:01 PM)
No GE... how u see the sign... 3 months after GE u will kena it...
laugh.gif Kena lottery? brows.gif

My view is constructed solely based on economic data. I don't factor in non-data news like GE, US default, China crash, 2012, etc. Of course, any of these uncertain events happening will eventually affect the data. I'll go rclxub.gif if I am to factor in those uncertainties. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Nikmon @ Jul 27 2011, 02:04 PM)
wah, seem like you are from property industry....

but i agree with you.. laugh.gif

no crash in mid term but the risk is high for property investment. yah, no pain no gain. good luck.
No la. I am not from the property industry. laugh.gif All the best to you too.. thumbup.gif

kh8668
post Jul 27 2011, 07:22 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

IP Global pinning hopes on KL's buoyant property market
Jul 27, 2011 - HomeGuru.com.my

".....Meanwhile, Kuala Lumpur has emerged as one of IP Global’s primary markets. According to the Real Estate and Housing Developers’ Association of Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur will witness price increases of between 15 and 30 percent this year...................."

“What excites me most is the huge growth potential for Kuala Lumpur to further develop its international standard office space and high quality, luxury residential apartments,” said Tim Murphy, CEO and Founder of IP Global, in an interview with HomeGuru.

“Malaysia’s economic transformation programme will drive 3.3 million new jobs with 4.3 million urban inhabitants expected to commute in the next 10 years, mainly to Kuala Lumpur. This means that the power of the economy will be driven primarily to Kuala Lumpur.”

When asked if the positive trend is expected to continue into 2012, Murphy said Kuala Lumpur’s performance is likely to stay strong towards the end of this year.

He added that the Malaysian government’s stimulus package will support further economic growth, which will impact the real estate market positively in future.

Overall sentiment in the property market remains positive, although there are concerns regarding an oversupply of condominiums in certain locations.

IP Global said that one of the longer-term consequences of the high levels of inward investment into Malaysia will be increasing demand from multinational companies for international-standard, as well as high quality luxury residential apartments.

Kuala Lumpur continues to be one of IP Global's primary markets and “we expect performance to remain robust throughout 2011,” it noted.

For more information, please visit IP Global’s website at http://www.ipglobal-ltd.com/. You may also email them at info@ipglobal-ltd.com.

To contact the journalist, you may send your message to editor@homeguru.com.my
TSsampool
post Jul 27 2011, 11:03 PM

2,294 posts

i think ur better dun listen the NEWS to buy prop mainly for investment... Any news release is toward bubble if any.. more news more confirm of the bubble... this concept can apply in the next 100 years... THERE IS NOT NEED HARDSELL IN ORDER TO LET GO THE GOOD INVESTMENT & VISE VERSA.
kh8668
post Jul 27 2011, 11:05 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

no worries. the market will correct itself. cheers

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:26 amhttp://my.news.yahoo.com/music-stop-060818932.html

the music will stop?

This post has been edited by kh8668: Jul 28 2011, 10:27 AM
dlyw1103
post Jul 28 2011, 10:06 PM

869 posts

Msia office market attracting a lot of interest
Jul 28, 2011 - HomeGuru.com.my
German-based Union Investment Real Estate GmbH (UIRE) is looking to invest in Malaysia’s office property market over the next two to three years.

“It’s possible that we might look for other investments of a similar kind priced from RM200-RM400 million,” said Ulrich Dischler, Managing Director of UIRE Asia Pacific.

Dischler was speaking at the handover of its initial property investment in Malaysia, in an office tower under the CapSquare development in Kuala Lumpur by Bandar Raya Developments Bhd (BRDB).

The company acquired CapSquare Tower for RM440 million in 2008, which marked UIRE’s first venture into Malaysia.

“The price depends on market situation — every location is different, every quality is different. It depends on the right building, right location and appropriate market price,” he added.

Datuk Jagan Sabapathy, Chief Executive of BRDB, said that UIRE’s investment in Kuala Lumpur’s property market is noteworthy, as it shows confidence in Malaysia.

“Despite the banking crisis in the US and Europe in 2009 that had a significant knock on effect on global real estate, UIRE stood by and completed this purchase,” he quipped.

CapSquare Tower is part of the CapSquare development, which encompasses 15 acres of prime land and houses the Menara Multi-Purpose, as well as two luxury residential towers, CapSquare retail and UNITAR campus.

The freehold development, which is the second high-rise commercial building developed in CapSquare, comprises a 41-storey office tower and has a net lettable space of around 600,000 sq ft.

RTW1888
post Jul 28 2011, 10:59 PM

Last week I have a chat with my cousin, he told me that he was waiting for the economy to crash to get a good buy. Well, I told him that he can still get a good buy in any point of time.
Aeon_Clock
post Jul 29 2011, 12:58 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(RTW1888 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:59 PM)
Last week I have a chat with my cousin, he told me that he was waiting for the economy to crash to get a good buy. Well, I told him that he can still get a good buy in any point of time.
a lot of people are hoping for this but they might have to wait another 7 years before the anticipated 'bubble-burst', which may or may not happen. How far the bubble bursts is also another issue...
keithcky
post Jul 29 2011, 01:17 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jul 29 2011, 12:58 AM)
a lot of people are hoping for this but they might have to wait another 7 years before the anticipated 'bubble-burst', which may or may not happen. How far the bubble bursts is also another issue...
Yes i heard it will keep going up for next 10yrs. Dont let the buying stops smile.gif

cranx
post Jul 29 2011, 01:33 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(keithcky @ Jul 29 2011, 01:17 AM)
Yes i heard it will keep going up for next 10yrs. Dont let the buying stops  smile.gif
exactly man. prices you think is expensive now, revisit again in 2 years time.
I dont think you could find any condo for less than RM1000psf by then.

please take note our property is one of the cheapest in the region and there are lots of foreign investors.
better buy now and sell to the foreigners at a profit later.

also, it is damn shame without your own house when most of the working class has more than 3 properties. smile.gif
kh8668
post Jul 29 2011, 07:55 AM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

KEKEKE...wow...suddenly feeling "hope" is rising. Cheers guys...

dlyw1103
post Jul 29 2011, 08:34 AM

869 posts

where there is risk, there is also opportunity
post Jul 29 2011, 09:50 AM

1,549 posts

QUOTE(RTW1888 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:59 PM)
haha...no oni ur cousin.....my group of friend oso waiting.......they stop to buy early of last year and start to sell end of last year.....they all come from mid incoming group (7k ~ 12k). biggrin.gif
kochin
post Jul 29 2011, 10:49 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

market swings. the past few months all is doom and gloom and now so many gung-ho again?
next week will be a VERY interesting week to know where we are heading.
soongkm
post Jul 29 2011, 11:31 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 29 2011, 10:49 AM)
market swings. the past few months all is doom and gloom and now so many gung-ho again?
next week will be a VERY interesting week to know where we are heading.
Why next week would be VERY interesting week to know where we are heading?
kochin
post Jul 29 2011, 11:40 AM

I just hope I do!
10,319 posts

QUOTE(soongkm @ Jul 29 2011, 11:31 AM)
Why next week would be VERY interesting week to know where we are heading?
we will all know soon enough.

128 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:39 PM