125 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Bottom

ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

oOoproz
post Jan 17 2012, 02:19 AM

1,352 posts

We're actually entitled for the RM200 voucher..... UITM acca's students also got their voucher ady right??
Soulsareworthless
post Jan 17 2012, 12:18 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

I'm graduating with a Bachelor of Commerce majoring in Accounting from the University of Melbourne soon, anybody knows how many more papers I have to take if I want to obtain my ACCA papers?
starz92
post Jan 17 2012, 02:08 PM

1,679 posts

anyone from private institution studying ACCA received the rm200 voucher ady?
ikki9394
post Jan 17 2012, 02:09 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 16 2012, 10:10 PM)
if family can support then study full time and finish it asap
Family can support.
Would it be very tough to take up 3 papers studying full time?
noonies_naruto
post Jan 17 2012, 03:04 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Jan 16 2012, 10:59 PM)
I'm now starting the professional level. Should I:

Do 1 paper, get full time job?;
Do 2 papers, get full time job/part time job?;
Do 2 papers, study full time?;
Do 3 papers, study full time?

I've got none relevant working experience.

Please advise
You must also consider the gap between papers la.. I last time did P123 all back to back really want to die one T_T ... Some employers, I know Big4 give study leave.. I've heard those for 1 week per paper. but if back to back, dunno la how.. I think if 2 papers with gap at least 4-5 days can la take 2 and work full time.

But seriously, if can avoid working first, please la do that. many people really AMBITIOUS want to do everything end up with NOTHING. P papers no joke man.. In fact, if pass all your gaji up a bit maaa...

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Jan 17 2012, 03:19 AM)
We're actually entitled for the RM200 voucher..... UITM acca's students also got their voucher ady right??
im from uitm. they dont really care what student u are, as long as u have student card, just go office can claim biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Jan 17 2012, 03:09 PM)
Family can support.
Would it be very tough to take up 3 papers studying full time?
To me, 3 papers depend la gap. if back to back, DIE. but usually la, we should always play safe take 2 per sem okay la..
YH90
post Jan 17 2012, 03:13 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Jan 17 2012, 02:19 AM)
I think the vouchers actually depends on which institution you are coming from. Eg. Sunway, INTI, UiTM, KDU shouldn't be a problem but I think tuition centres like KSA etc might have problems claiming the voucher since these are tuition centres.

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 17 2012, 03:04 PM)
You must also consider the gap between papers la.. I last time did P123 all back to back really want to die one T_T ... Some employers, I know Big4 give study leave.. I've heard those for 1 week per paper. but if back to back, dunno la how.. I think if 2 papers with gap at least 4-5 days can la take 2 and work full time.

But seriously, if can avoid working first, please la do that. many people really AMBITIOUS want to do everything end up with NOTHING. P papers no joke man.. In fact, if pass all your gaji up a bit maaa...
im from uitm. they dont really care what student u are, as long as u have student card, just go office can claim biggrin.gif
To me, 3 papers depend la gap. if back to back, DIE. but usually la, we should always play safe take 2 per sem okay la..
Since he only has to take 5 professional level papers, he doesn't really has a choice in the papers especially since he can't take the optional papers before attempting to complete the core papers. P321 are one after another, the most you can do is taking P3 and P1, so there is a day gap between the papers.

It really depends on where you think your capabilities are. Working full time while taking 2 papers at a time might be better than studying full time, since you will be able to claim membership earlier than when you are studying full time. The pay difference is just 150. Opportunity cost is very big if you want to study full time. But if you think you can't handle the pressure and time management, then by all means, study full time.
noonies_naruto
post Jan 17 2012, 03:23 PM

736 posts

May i know which employer does actually give that RM150 diff in salary? Quite interested~

Opportunity cost might be big, but paper fail cost is BIGGER la in my opinion. I mean, lets not risk it laa..
YH90
post Jan 17 2012, 03:35 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 17 2012, 03:23 PM)
May i know which employer does actually give that RM150 diff in salary? Quite interested~

Opportunity cost might be big, but paper fail cost is BIGGER la in my opinion. I mean, lets not risk it laa..
I'm looking at Big4 here. They generally pay 2.7k for degree holder, 2.85 for ACCA Affiliates. Thus the 150 difference.

Even if you fail a paper while working, you are actually earning 2.7k per month compared to nil while you are studying full time. And the tuition cost is mostly paid by the employer. The only thing you will lose out is mostly time, but given that you are actually working already which contributes to your 3 years working experience, as long as you complete the 5 papers in 3 years, you would actually gain (less if you fail) more than studying full time.

FYI, I put monetary and working experience as the more important factor. Especially working experience since you are just entering the commercial world.
tzxsean
post Jan 17 2012, 04:01 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

very easy...if you're young...lets say 21-22 y/o

become full time students and enjoy while u can before u start to work

if you're not that young anymore... be part time student and take 1 step at a time

ikki9394
post Jan 17 2012, 05:52 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 17 2012, 04:01 PM)
very easy...if you're young...lets say 21-22 y/o

become full time students and enjoy while u can before u start to work

if you're not that young anymore... be part time student and take 1 step at a time
Lol.
Study full time 2 or 3 papers? I've already check, the p1,2,3 paper is back to back 3 days in a row... ><
noonies_naruto
post Jan 17 2012, 06:28 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Jan 17 2012, 06:52 PM)
Lol.
Study full time 2 or 3 papers? I've already check, the p1,2,3 paper is back to back 3 days in a row... ><
It has always been that way all the time.. even after the change... from 123 to 321..

believe me.. studying all these 3 in a row is sakit kepala rclxub.gif

I'd definitely recommend a 3 day shift for each paper when studying, otherwise... YOU CAN LUPA ONE rclxms.gif

caillech
post Jan 17 2012, 07:05 PM

247 posts

i oso take p1~p3 hmm.gif

damn my college said acca student not entitled to receive the book voucher vmad.gif
tzxsean
post Jan 17 2012, 07:25 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Jan 17 2012, 05:52 PM)
Lol.
QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Jan 17 2012, 06:28 PM)
It has always been that way all the time.. even after the change... from 123 to 321..

believe me.. studying all these 3 in a row is sakit kepala  rclxub.gif

I'd definitely recommend a 3 day shift for each paper when studying, otherwise... YOU CAN LUPA ONE  rclxms.gif
for me
I've always do it in the order

f5 f7 f8 - dec 2010
f9 p1 p2 - june 2011
p3 p5 p7 - dec 2011

ask urself , do u pay attention in class ? do you do last minute revision?

if not then there should be no problem at all taking back to back exam

having extra days between exam date can give u excuse to procrastinate if you're not disciplined

and I'm one of those people that let complacency and slacking off got the better of me last sitting

if u choose to take p1 p2 p3

i will recommend you to revise in this order (according to exam schedule)

eg. 1 month before exam- P1>>P2>>P3
right before exam (within 1 week) - P3>>P2>>P1

for me, the most important in revision is the 1st part where u need to understand almost all content of the syllabus

then when it comes to 2nd part, you should spent lesser time on it

(spent least time on p3 since ur last revision of it is still recently, more time on p2 since you might 4get some part and most time on p1

if u can understand this logic)

and if you're not very fast in reading, I suggest u start earlier than usual or normal people does

afterall you yourself should noe ur limit and capability

meaning u should straight away skip to important parts on 2nd part

hence time issue on having back to back exam is not an excuse or problem strictly

apart from that, after taking 1st paper

you can maintain the performance or so called form almost the next day

rather than have to pick it up again after few days later

apart from that, if you had made mistakes on the 1st day

u should still remember where you shouldn't repeat ur mistakes on the 2nd day since it's still fresh

this is especially helpful if u take revision classes from tuition providers

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jan 17 2012, 07:37 PM
nothingz
post Jan 17 2012, 07:26 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

3 papers at the same time is quite dangerous, 2 x 60 is better than 3 x 40
tzxsean
post Jan 17 2012, 07:34 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

apart from that, choosing appropriate exam centre is important too

near to your home

not too far away else you might affected by fatigue of driving

good examination environment etc
caillech
post Jan 17 2012, 07:43 PM

247 posts

and oso don eat curry mee, laksa, prawn mee, nasi lemak, satay b4 the exam day nod.gif

noonies_naruto
post Jan 17 2012, 08:06 PM

736 posts

alaa.. just do ALL questions INCLUDING the MOCK exam ones from BPP exam kit... sure kena onee...

P5 last seating keluar soalan sebijik.. and that wasn't the first time.. on pyramid model.. and also on maximax minimax..

I studied P papers in a month before start first paper. each day study minimum 12 hours, one day make sure do 15-20 questions from exam kit/past years..

when sit for exam, waaa.. this one i know liao XD

but one enemy for the know-all person is TIME LIMIT. u just wanna write everything you know.. end up no time for other questions.. jaga timing~
tzxsean
post Jan 17 2012, 08:19 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

i duno bout others

but I wont stressed myself when doing revision

i will split it into little sessions according to the relevance of chapters

it easier for me to grasp it and relax/rest my brain at the same time

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jan 17 2012, 08:22 PM
ikki9394
post Jan 17 2012, 10:02 PM

NexT
582 posts

Quick question, say I completed p1 and 2 in
This sem, can I do 1 essential module and an
Option module next sem?
YH90
post Jan 17 2012, 10:19 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Jan 17 2012, 10:02 PM)
Quick question, say I completed p1 and 2 in
This sem, can I do 1 essential module and an
Option module next sem?
Yes, as long as you are in the attempt of completing the essential papers, ie. you have to take P3 in order to sit for the optional papers.

125 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:32 PM