ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

YH90
post Jun 29 2011, 10:34 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(Miss Lam @ Jun 29 2011, 08:50 AM)
Is the Business Research Module (BRM) compulsory?
Hello everyone  -

Just a little update on a development on a college in the Klang Valley (let’s use the term SC to refer to it).

SC has made the BRM module COMPULSORY for its current batch of F7,8,9 student, at a price of RM1,200.

What does it mean to have the module COMPULSORY? Will students be BARRED from taking the ACCA exams if they do not take the module with SC?

Some of my findings:

1. It is the RIGHT of students to take their exams regardless of the demands of the tuition provider
2. The official ACCA website provides a list of the ACCA papers that can be taken for the exams: BRM is NOT ON THE LIST. It is an OPTIONAL service that a tuition provider can offer
3. If you need some more clarification, call ACCA Malaysia at 03-2713 5051. Ask them:
- Is the BRM COMPULSORY? Or JUST ENCOURAGED to develop ‘critical thinking skills’?
- What is the repercussion of not taking the module as far as your course completion is concerned? (NONE!)- Take down the name of the person and if they say that the BRM is compulsory, complain to ACCA UK: info@accaglobal.com

I think  SC creating fear in students to JUST MAKE MONEY?   mad.gif

It also bundled the OBU mentoring together with the BRM.

Personally I think it is their right to do business, but not in a way that cows students in submission with HALF TRUTHS...[cool.gif

OBU has stated that students HAVE A RIGHT TO BE MENTORED BY ANYONE OF THEIR CHOICE! [cool.gif

In light of these developments, critically think of what SC is saying to students! Your call!
Its very obvious you are talking about Sunway. And I agree, they are brainwashing their students to make even more money. Previously they introduced some Business Communication Skills that isn't about communication, they thought elementary english in these classes. Luckily for me, it was free of charge but the students after that are required to pay for such courses.

The BRM if I'm not mistaken is to help students know more about researching, referencing, etc. for their OBU thesis. More money later on if they opt for their OBU.

Students just have to know what are their rights and not simply give in to the college's demands.
YH90
post Jul 1 2011, 01:03 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(sassygal @ Jul 1 2011, 12:26 AM)
Thanks! beside bandar kolej, any other lecturer is good also? sunway college punya good anot?
Sunway's fee is at least 2 times the fee at KSA. Lecturer wise, it depends. Mr Goh P1 and P7 is quite good IMO, Rozi P6 is good as well, Menon P2 is the best there is, Dinesh P3 is quite good in spotting. P4 and P5 I shall refrain from commenting. tongue.gif
YH90
post Jul 8 2011, 07:23 PM

606 posts

The 3 years route at the Big4 is actually because they are the Approved Employer of ACCA. Not really sure a bronze, gold or platinum affects the duration but commercial firms are also one of them, namely Sime Darby, Accenture, etc....

You just need to find an approved employer so that you won't need to send in the PER every year.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
YH90
post Jul 13 2011, 01:47 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jul 13 2011, 09:48 AM)
hey guys how do i join acca? the website isnt working atm.
I am exempted from f1-f9. so how many papers do i have left? I have never tot of getting ACCA as I tot i'll be getting CPA in aussie. but I am thinking of going back to msia and ACCA is easier for me to obtain atm.

Do you think I can complete all exams in a years time? I am not working. just part-time as a waitress in aussie atm. and my visa expires next year oct. should be plenty of time aye?
You will have to sit for the remaining 5 papers in the professional level. CPA is deemed by many to be much easier than ACCA. And since you will be in Aussie till next year Oct, why not take CPA instead? The MIA recognises ACCA and CPA as equivalent in Malaysia.

If you are studying full time, you will be able to finish ACCA in a years time, provided you did not fail any of the papers.
YH90
post Jul 22 2011, 10:08 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(Yanngel @ Jul 22 2011, 01:10 AM)
Yahh.. I heard that it is necessary to have strong P2 base to excel in P7.. hmm.. But then as according to my seniors, if i dont choose P7, eventually when i go into audit line, it will  be more difficult for me to cope with my job scope.. I wonder how true is this.. @.@

as for P4, i wanted to try too.. But it seems to be known as a killer paper and require strong F9 knowledge, right? Is it a type of analysis paper like P3??
I don't think it will be difficult to cope with your audit job if you didn't take P7 cause' you will start from the bottom, learning everything all over again. P7 is related to more advanced audit procedures, you most probably don't get to use it during your early years as an auditor.

I took P4 because I feel its very relevant to our everyday life. We have to invest in our money sooner or later, might as well learn it now, better than learning it through failure, losing more money in the process.

P4 involves quite a lot of analysis since you need to know what the question wants before you choose either NPV, APV, etc...
Some questions can be very twisting and are not very obvious. But half of it is also theory, so if you are good in theory, you might pass without doing the deep calculations.
YH90
post Aug 2 2011, 12:21 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Aug 1 2011, 09:52 PM)
Hey, my mom say it is much more easier to pass in UK, is that true? which college in london offer best ACCA tuition?
It's impossible to prove whether such claims are true. One thing for sure is that Malaysia holds a lower pass rate than the rest of the world in certain papers, especially audit.
YH90
post Aug 2 2011, 04:10 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ Aug 2 2011, 03:31 PM)
how long does it take to complete OBU RAP, with the mentoring offered by colleges? And after submitting the RAP, when will the result comes out?
The mentor fee is fixed by the colleges themselves ranging from 1k to 4k. And you will be required to pay 85GBP to OBU.

The results will only be out in March or September, depending on which date u submitted the RAP.
YH90
post Aug 2 2011, 05:36 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(junggle @ Aug 2 2011, 05:03 PM)
I ask for the time normally needed to complete OBU RAP.
The time required obviously is based on your performance, expectation and availability of time. If you expect to get a grade C, of course it can be done swiftly. If you're fast, it can be done within a few weeks by using other candidates' samples.

The RAP is nothing challenging IMO, Monash U students have been writing 4.5k word assignment since their 2nd year, if not earlier.
YH90
post Aug 9 2011, 08:16 AM

606 posts

Could we request for a moderator to clean the thread? I sense PAAC is getting pretty desperate in promoting their institute. And judging from the style of writing, it might be done by 2 person.
YH90
post Aug 10 2011, 01:12 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Aug 10 2011, 12:50 AM)
every sem oso same result day for june and dec sitting 1 la
It used to be the 2nd Monday of August and February, but now it seems it has been delayed to the 3rd week.

I guess the scanning technology used by ACCA actually made things even slower.... hmm.gif
YH90
post Aug 10 2011, 08:49 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Aug 10 2011, 02:05 AM)
22nd is the 4th week in this August  -__-
nervous nervous.

somemore the Exam Entry structure changed, lagi nervous
Oh, my bad. biggrin.gif

Hope I don't get to see anymore of ACCA, or face any more Exam Entry nightmares that I have encountered before after August 22nd.
YH90
post Aug 16 2011, 10:22 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(student2 @ Aug 16 2011, 12:42 AM)
I do agree that some things have an order especially nature; but remember that policies are man made and man can also twist the order of things. For example; abortion and energy manipulation. 

If what you say is true then why ACCA grant exemptions? They are literally gambling on their reputation by awarding you with exemptions.

There are cases where there are practising accountants whom are not that academically inclined; are you suggesting them to be lesser accountants?

I will only reply if you have valid points. If not it ends here.
It is not gambling when providing exemptions. There are procedures to follow when checking the syllabus of certain universities before granting exemptions. Note that not all institution are granted the maximum exemption of 9 papers. UniRazak I believe doesn't have the 9 paper exemption if I'm not mistaken. And after the exemption, there is still the 5 Professional Level papers. This ensures the quality of it's students and potential affiliates.

Some practicing accountants don't even need to take any professional qualification to be a member of MIA. IPTA degrees are already enough for someone to be a Chartered Accountant with enough working experience.

YH90
post Aug 17 2011, 12:11 AM

606 posts

Based on my personal experience, roughly around 4pm and after i have received my results vix email. Its like 7 hours difference between Malaysia and UK and i guess when UK is 9am the emails get posted from their side , i think!

Good luck smile.gif

I usually don't have classes on results day, so I always camp in front of my computer, refreshing the website every 5 seconds when it strikes 1pm in Malaysia.

I usually get my email from ACCA between 3pm to 5pm. Some received it the next day due to the system crashing like what we saw last semester. Pity those who only got their results the next day.
YH90
post Aug 21 2011, 12:10 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(CreamCracker @ Aug 20 2011, 11:47 PM)
dang. but my e-mail is the correct one and i did receive my results via e-mail for the last sitting. did you guys have to re-register or something? my friend is registered as e-student but i'm not. so weird.

nvm lah, worse come to worse fight to gain access into web on that day :|
If you have received your results via e-mail before then I don't think there will be any problem.

Last time I was not even opted into the OBU degree even when my exam results clearly stated the I was opted in.
YH90
post Aug 22 2011, 01:45 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(CreamCracker @ Aug 22 2011, 01:31 PM)
OBU need average of 67 to get distinction i think. And take into account all the F papers only, so my F7 F8 F9 need to burn midnight oil until morning. Argh and I hate F9  cry.gif
Actually it's 68% for a confirm First class honours. But I have heard rumours that if your thesis is done well, you will be able to get a First even though your marks did not qualify, not sure how true is that though....
YH90
post Aug 23 2011, 10:34 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Aug 23 2011, 09:54 AM)
anyone here taking ACCA and also CFA or CIA or ICSA at the same time?
I took CFA and ACCA at the same time. P4 and P7 classes while I self studied for CFA.
YH90
post Aug 23 2011, 11:33 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Aug 23 2011, 10:44 AM)
wow, how r u doing so far? CFA reach which stage d ?  biggrin.gif
I just passed CFA Level 1 and ACCA. Am contemplating when to start my Level 2.

Just realised self study ain't really my thing. You really need a lot of time and commitment in doing so.
YH90
post Aug 23 2011, 07:38 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(utar_boy @ Aug 23 2011, 07:18 PM)
guys can ask, after i graduate my degree, and exempted 9 papers,
can i straight away continue my studies for ACCA?

means exactly after degree i study the remaining 6 ACCA papers without working.
A lot of them continues their studies for ACCA before going out to work. Or you can study part time if you have the discipline.

Btw, it's 5 papers, not 6.

This post has been edited by YH90: Aug 23 2011, 07:39 PM
YH90
post Aug 24 2011, 08:39 PM

606 posts

I personally liked P3. Memorize those concepts and then apply them in the case studies. I did just 2 past year questions and re-read my textbook like 5-6 times to solidify those theories.

Read the past year answers, they are very very well written. Take note of those hints in the case study that you normally would miss out, remember them.
YH90
post Aug 27 2011, 12:49 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(SereneAshley @ Aug 27 2011, 12:28 AM)
Hi there, I just started ACCA and I'm taking 3 papers per sitting ( F1 to F3 )

Lets just say i totally had a freak out moment after seeing the passing rates that tzxsean posted  rclxub.gif

And i'm wondering if anyone here passed their papers within the 1st attempt?Do share with me how many papers you took per sitting as well ^^

I'm worried I might not pass the F2 and F3 paper. Especially the F3 paper, its turning out to be much more complicated than I expected.
Ignore the world passing rate, it does not represent you. It is low because the entry requirement is low, and thus more candidates.

I believe there are actually quite a number of straight passers, at least where I'm currently studying. People usually take 3 papers in the F level and 2 in the P level unless they failed certain papers so they might be taking 4.

If you are already afraid of F2 and F3, do you think you will be able to go far in ACCA? Throw that mindset away, if so many people are able to do it, so can you.
Practice makes perfect.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:14 AM