ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

ikki9394
post Nov 25 2011, 12:10 PM

NexT
582 posts

I would just like to inquire several things regarding ACCA and glad I found this thread after 3 years studying Bach in Accounting biggrin.gif

This is the case, I just completed my Bach of Accounting and was in a dilemma whether to do a Masters or ACCA. I finally ended up choosing ACCA as shorter period of studies to completion and it is also a flexible course. The thing is, should I go back to Malaysia to commence the course or should I do it in Australia?

The reason that I asked this question is because I was being advised that its easier to complete is in Australia because less people are doing it due to the fact that CPA is more recognised in Australia and its rather easier to pass compared to Malaysia. While in Malaysia, most of the fresh graduate would do ACCA and they actually set a quota of student who can pass(works like melbourne Uni) - source from a lecturer of mine migrated to Australia from Malaysia.

Please advise me,

- Im pretty certain im going back to malaysia
- Masters or ACCA?
- Do it in Malaysia or Aust?
- Cost issue Malaysia vs Aust

Any input would be appreciated,

Nef smile.gif

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Nov 25 2011, 12:12 PM
ikki9394
post Nov 25 2011, 01:23 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(faradie @ Nov 25 2011, 12:51 PM)
1. Re staying in Aussie/M'sia obviously the future is better in the former. Let's put it this way - if u manage to get a job and PR I think its more valuable than an ACCA done in M'sia. But u hv yr personal reason(s) why you're coming back.
2. Master/ACCA - Former is more suitable if u wish to work in higher education like universities but ACCA is a professional qualification which means it is more useful in the commercial sector
3. ACCA is Aussieland may lack resources like Institutions and lecturers that teach ACCA. In Malaysia it's easily available
4. Cost definitely Msia wins outright.

Hope this helps. IMHO, if I had a choice, my statement in 1 abv still ranks foremost.
1.Yeah, the personal reason is because I'm the youngest son and all my elder siblings is either migrated or married(daughter) to in law's home. My mom is fine if I'm to stay in Aust or to get a PR or whatsoever but my dad insisted me to go back. I understand I should choose the best for my future but I have to be thoughtful for my parents as well. But I will try talk to him bout getting a PR again in Aust; just hope that I don't get into a huge argument with him...

Btw, Aust new scheme for getting PR have been drafted and its gonna commence next year. The new scheme appears to be harder for foreigners to get a PR in Aust. Furthermore, we Malaysian never have to sit for IELTS to study in Aust but now they require 8/10 for all test in IELTS in everything(oral, writing, listening, etc) as a requirement for PR.

3. In Aust, ACCA course is completely self study as far as i know

QUOTE(YH90 @ Nov 25 2011, 12:52 PM)
Are there any good ACCA tuition providers out there in Australia? You need to make sure there are good lecturers out there to guide you if you're not that committed in self studying.

Why don't you take CPA instead? Both ACCA and CPA provide the same recognition here in Malaysia but CPA is supposed to be easier. Why put in the extra effort in getting the same thing?

I believe professional qualifications provide better career prospects unless you are aiming to be a lecturer. Being a chartered accountant IMO is much better than having a Master in Accounting.

Assuming you are getting maximum exemptions from ACCA, you only need to take 5 papers. Each paper cost around RM1k+ (unless you are going to Sunway, Taylors, etc where you need to pay the registration fee, resource fee, etc), it will only cost you around RM6-7k assuming you did not fail any paper.

I have no comments on the quota since I have not seen any proof of such thing. You will know your exact marks for each paper and the answer scripts can be easily obtained from the ACCA website, looks quite transparent to me. And I always believe that quotas only affect weak students who always marginally pass their paper. If you are good, you don't need to care about any quota whatsoever.

In a nutshell, I believe taking CPA is a better route for you whether you're in Australia or Malaysia. May I know your reason for not considering CPA?
Apparently I've heard that CPA is only available for locals or PR in Aust. Not really sure though... but I reckon ACCA is more recignised in Malaysia isn't it?

ikki9394
post Nov 25 2011, 02:48 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(YH90 @ Nov 25 2011, 02:19 PM)
Self studying for ACCA might not be as easy as you think. Take a look at the past year Q&A to see whether you are capable of providing similar answers without going for tuition.

I have no idea whether ACCA has more preference compared to CPA by accounting firms or not, but both provides entrance to be a member of MIA. IMO, as long as you get the job done, any qualification is the same.
Well, I've heard what u've said that CPA is easier...
However, CPA has a longer time frame tho(2 and a half years) plus need 2 years related working experience. Is it the same for ACCA?
ikki9394
post Nov 25 2011, 04:48 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(YH90 @ Nov 25 2011, 04:40 PM)
ACCA can be completed in a years time, assuming you obtain maximum exemption and you do not fail any papers and 3 years of practical experience to obtain membership. But since it is supposed to be harder than CPA, you actually need to put in effort in actually study while working (assuming you don't plan to study full time).

I've heard many cases where people have easily passed CPA exams with just 2-3 days of last minute studying and that is without going for classes or spending time actually reading the notes given. So this might be an important factor for you as well.
U read my mind as a student rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Nov 25 2011, 05:01 PM
ikki9394
post Jan 12 2012, 02:05 AM

NexT
582 posts

I once heard a consultant said ACCA is a course to prepare a person to be chartered accountant. What does it mean?
ikki9394
post Jan 13 2012, 03:10 AM

NexT
582 posts

Should I pursue my professional level ACCA qualification in Sunway college or UCSI?
UCSI tutors good?
UCSI Connaught is nearer to my house tho... =/

Anyway studied ACCA in UCSI before?
ikki9394
post Jan 14 2012, 08:48 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 13 2012, 03:11 PM)
^ if u in KL, i d suggest u dun stick in 1 college for all papers. you should go for different lecturer for different papers
Mind if I ask the reason being is?
ikki9394
post Jan 14 2012, 11:29 AM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 14 2012, 10:28 AM)
it is as simple as, not all famous + good lecturers are stationed at 1 college such as Sunway, Taylor etc. you are selecting the good lecturer and not the college
Yeah u're right. I attended p3 yesterday and the lecturer was slow and not so fluent in explaining but he is very nice tho. However the p1 I attending today was pretty good. Btw it's ucsi Connaught. Should I stay at ucsi or study somewhere else more experienced in teaching like Sunway? I live much nearer to ucsi anyway... Hard decision.

Ps: I haven't enrol yet
ikki9394
post Jan 14 2012, 12:57 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 14 2012, 12:25 PM)
if u're free...mayb you should look at what people commented starting around dec

however you should beware of certain untrue statements
It's a matter of time now for me because the latest to register with Acca online is tomorrow if I want to start in this sem... Btw I will still go back to have a look at those post and decide by today. Thanks for the replies.

ikki9394
post Jan 14 2012, 04:12 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 14 2012, 01:07 PM)
u can register with ACCA anytime u want earlier

but u can slowly decide bout tuition provider

however dun be too late until u missed some lessons
Eh the consultant just called me up and told me that I can actually register anytime before march because I am new applicant to join Acca. However like u say I shouldn't do it too late because still need to register for tuition center.
ikki9394
post Jan 15 2012, 02:23 PM

NexT
582 posts

Hi all seniors, just a quick question here. When applying to take up Acca course at the accaglobal website, do I need to submit only my LATEST qualification or my latest qualification with ALL my previous qualification?

My current qualification is acc degree, previous are pre-u SAM, spm etc

Please advise
ikki9394
post Jan 15 2012, 05:03 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(wenni89 @ Jan 15 2012, 05:00 PM)
In Sunway, Ms Menon is very good and experienced in p2, but her notes is even thicker den BPP text book~ others lec i have no comment~ FYI, sunway will place new student to smaller class which is different lecture with their existing student except p2. check it out before you register~
classes adi started and u haven't enrol? sweat.gif
Haha think I miss too much class ald if enrol in Sunway especially full time. Will give ucsi a try...
Btw for Acca got external tuition?
ikki9394
post Jan 15 2012, 05:43 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 15 2012, 05:07 PM)
revision class b4 exam got la..

already told u go refer to different lecturers in different tuition centre for different papers

instead of going to UCSI (which I don think anyone here recommended before)

I might be wrong
U mean sit for the papers in UCSI but look for other lecturers?
Maybe i misunderstood ur meaning earlier >< paiseh
ikki9394
post Jan 15 2012, 06:41 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 15 2012, 05:49 PM)
examination hall is selected by ACCA

not the college

what I mean is go to other tuition providers for the class

i think u dun really noe the ACCA stuff well
Hehe yeah... Dint know much bout Acca. I initially thought of doing CPA but change my mid after that.
Please be patient with me ><
So what u mean is select the lecturers 1st and then enrol at where they are teaching?
ikki9394
post Jan 15 2012, 07:04 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(yclim2 @ Jan 15 2012, 06:46 PM)
But there is risk for crashing timetables during revision week, unless u just take 2 papers  smile.gif
Thats what I'll do. I plan to take 2 papers and get a full time job if possible haha.
ikki9394
post Jan 15 2012, 07:15 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 15 2012, 07:07 PM)
that will depend on which paper he pick ...

out of all P level , I think P1 no need go revision class

I just take the copy of Joey Wong's revision class note from my friend and the note is quite compact ( only like 5 pages!)

unlike my lecturer's note...full of words  rclxub.gif

@ikki9394

u see

ACCA just like tuition

u just need to pick tuition centre to let them give u tuition on the paper u plan to take exam

so regardless of the tuition provider

at the end u'll have to go to exam hall specified by ACCA to take exam

it's just that some are famous like Sunway , some less famous

ultimately, you should choose different lecturers (different tuition centre) for different paper

after you have seek advice on the lecturers u intend to study with

because I can say there is no tuition centre that have the same quality for every paper they offer
Ahh! I misread your sentence for the very beginning...
"^ if u in KL, i d suggest u dun stick in 1 college for all papers. you should go for different lecturer for different papers "

I miss out your "dun" haha so I thought u said I should stick with 1 college haha! Now I understand d.... Ah sry bout everything...

So say once I've done 2 papers this sem, the next sem say I wanna do P3 and find out other tuition center have a better lecturer with P3 I should drop out from current college and go the the other 1 with the better lecturer?

Correct me again if im wrong ><
ikki9394
post Jan 16 2012, 09:59 PM

NexT
582 posts

I'm now starting the professional level. Should I:

Do 1 paper, get full time job?;
Do 2 papers, get full time job/part time job?;
Do 2 papers, study full time?;
Do 3 papers, study full time?

I've got none relevant working experience.

Please advise
ikki9394
post Jan 17 2012, 02:09 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Jan 16 2012, 10:10 PM)
if family can support then study full time and finish it asap
Family can support.
Would it be very tough to take up 3 papers studying full time?
ikki9394
post Jan 17 2012, 05:52 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Jan 17 2012, 04:01 PM)
very easy...if you're young...lets say 21-22 y/o

become full time students and enjoy while u can before u start to work

if you're not that young anymore... be part time student and take 1 step at a time
Lol.
Study full time 2 or 3 papers? I've already check, the p1,2,3 paper is back to back 3 days in a row... ><
ikki9394
post Jan 17 2012, 10:02 PM

NexT
582 posts

Quick question, say I completed p1 and 2 in
This sem, can I do 1 essential module and an
Option module next sem?

0.0276sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled