121 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

SUSserendipity168
post Feb 19 2012, 11:58 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 19 2012, 10:15 AM)
Had my K5 for a week. Only one problem occurred so far - Creaking sunroof. One that I feared, anybody having the same problem? There's a faint creaking noise from the sunroof whenever i go through uneven roads. After a bit of searching, it seems that Hyundai USA has issued a Technical Service Bulletin to lub the sunroof parts. I doubt that would be permanent. But better than nothing. FYI, the creaking noise doesn't occur when the roof is open.

Other than that, this is one heck of a good car, the interior feels solid (some said it looks like Waja but i'd suggest them to go see a doctor) , ride comfort is good (it would be even better if you swap for 17" rims and better tyres but that would spoil the look, so I could bear with it totally, huhuhu, i'm such a b*t*h  biggrin.gif ), engine is powerful and smooth enough (I really cannot understand why some guai lows said the engine is not refine enough in their reviews, the difference on engine refinement between this car and a camry is pretty minimal for normal user like myself). The front and rear seats are spacious. Few petite female colleagues of mine sat in my car and they all had at least a foot between their legs and the front seats. I'm almost six feet and i find no problem with the back seat, but lets face it, how often do you carry passengers that are taller than six feet over long distance? Give and take lor.

However, few things that buyers must endure or sacrifice are the front passenger seating position and the small little windows and lack of front parking sensors.

The seating positions are low for both the front passenger and the driver. As a driver, i find it hard to estimate the front as i can't see beyond the bulge of the bonnet, especially when I park the car or driving/turning out of basement carparks. Can't push the driver seat too high as the sporty low roof line would not allow it. The front passenger is worst as the passenger seat does not come with vertical height adjustments, so all my petite wife could see the the dashboard and the sky. hahahaha. Not much of a problem, just get her a ipad to divert the attention.

The sporty roof line limits the size of the windows, it makes it hard to reach out for parking tickets or make toll payments. But i could accept and endure all those because the sporty design was what drawn me to this car anyway. Just step outside of the car and compare it to other jap cars and you'll see why. I was comparing Mondeo, Camry, Accord and K5, Mondeo and K5 wins. Camry and Accord immediately feels outdated.

I'm considering a front sensor, but wonders whether that'll void any warranties or not.

Added on February 19, 2012, 10:24 amFew more things to add,

1) The HU can't connect to android phones properly. It is possible to connect but requires a few tries and good timing.
2) Can't lock the door from outside when the engine is running. A bit of inconvenience as I always lock the car doors when i leave my wife in the car. It's for safety.
3) The electric folding mirrors won't fold down automatically when i move the car.
Congrats on your new purchase! Thanks for sharing and it is good to get some feedback from an actual owner.

1) Creaking sunroof - Sure hope that this glitch will be resolved in the next batch
2) 17" Rims - Accept it as it is. As you have mentioned, it will ruin the look.
3) Sacrifice passenger seating position & small little windows - For the most part, I suppose when you said 'Seating' you were actually referring to 'Visibility'. Let's face it, the appeal of the car is that fact that it is designed just like a sports car. Low profile, low roof line, etc., etc. It's a about adapting. About a decade ago, I had a Mitsu 3000GT TT back in the States. It certainly was not the easiest car to drive around. It has very low visibility (front, side & rear), very bulky (I had a friend who called it a Big Mac) and back then, there was no such thing as parking sensors! No offense, perhaps some sort of seat support may help elevate your petite wife for better visibility.

Mirrors not unfolding while the car is in motion, can't lock the car from outside - these are minor details.

The bottom line is, get accustomed to the car and enjoy it.

All the best with your new toy! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by serendipity168: Feb 19 2012, 12:01 PM
small-jeff
post Feb 19 2012, 12:09 PM

1,646 posts

Nice owner review! biggrin.gif

Hm..thinking of booking 1 this weekened...went to do some comparison yesterday

Optima vs Tienna 2.0 vs VW Jetta 1.4 TSI

Too bad I cant test drive Optima. But from the review online, I believe Optima would be on better side of both world; performance & comfort smile.gif

Anyway, i'll go to another Kia SA today...what kind of package you guys get when buying Optima? Any nice SA to intro? Thanks all
JuneSeptember
post Feb 19 2012, 12:56 PM

71 posts

Oh yeah, i'm enjoying every bits of it now. It is really a head turner. brows.gif

small-jeff, another reason for you to book one: Korea launched 2013 model without any cosmetic changes. They added in a few additional driver aids, auto parallel parking and stuffs like that.

After searching the entire morning, found two possible fixes for the creaking sunroof: 1) grease the sunroof parts using special non-corrosive grease (USA solution) 2) Replace a wrong-sized screw (China solution)

Forgot to add: The ECO mode really dulls the drive train response, i wonder how much would it improve the fuel economy. However, i find it smoothens gear changes over the normal mode.

This post has been edited by JuneSeptember: Feb 19 2012, 12:59 PM
small-jeff
post Feb 19 2012, 01:09 PM

1,646 posts

Wow..guided parking? Hm.. But thats 2013 sad.gif

What were u offerred when u bought the car? Any discounts of freebie?

Having lunch now..going showroom latet..haha
JuneSeptember
post Feb 19 2012, 01:34 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Feb 19 2012, 01:09 PM)
Wow..guided parking? Hm.. But thats 2013 sad.gif

What were u offerred when u bought the car? Any discounts of freebie?

Having lunch now..going showroom latet..haha
Nothing. SA said he could give me coil mats but never give me. Should i ask?

SA also intro'd tinting salesperson to me saying she could give me good discount. That's it.
gregy
post Feb 19 2012, 02:07 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 19 2012, 10:15 AM)
Few petite female colleagues of mine sat in my car and they all had at least a foot between their legs and the front seats.
LOL... Couldn't help it smile.gif
small-jeff
post Feb 19 2012, 02:59 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 19 2012, 01:34 PM)
Nothing. SA said he could give me coil mats but never give me. Should i ask?

SA also intro'd tinting salesperson to me saying she could give me good discount. That's it.
haha..i would ask for the coil mat is i were u tongue.gif

hm..the SA i met just now, also couldnt offer me much stuffs...only some tint voucher sad.gif
IpohLad
post Feb 19 2012, 03:01 PM

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 19 2012, 05:56 AM)
Oh yeah, i'm enjoying every bits of it now. It is really a head turner.  brows.gif

small-jeff, another reason for you to book one: Korea launched 2013 model without any cosmetic changes. They added in a few additional driver aids, auto parallel parking and stuffs like that.

After searching the entire morning, found two possible fixes for the creaking sunroof: 1) grease the sunroof parts using special non-corrosive grease (USA solution) 2) Replace a wrong-sized screw (China solution)

Forgot to add: The ECO mode really dulls the drive train response, i wonder how much would it improve the fuel economy. However, i find it smoothens gear changes over the normal mode.
I think its exist already in Korea if I'm not mistaken. You can have this option in the UK for the top spec optima £26k (RM125k). So at least you know that the government didnt tax this car as far as other cars.

The eco mode is a bit pointless on car like this. Its not a hybrid, so its just help you out on throttle sensitivity.

Hope you enjoy your new car.

Added on February 19, 2012, 3:17 pmMalaysia only have 8 speakers, where the UK have 12 speakers. Cheeky Naza! LOL

This post has been edited by IpohLad: Feb 19 2012, 03:17 PM
leds
post Feb 19 2012, 06:46 PM

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 19 2012, 12:56 PM)
Oh yeah, i'm enjoying every bits of it now. It is really a head turner.  brows.gif

The 2013 optima comewith three 2.0 version
1. 2.0 T-GDI - 271hp
2. 2.0 LPi - 152hp
3. 2.0 CVVT - 172hp

Others additional like upgraded from existing VSM to VDC system, ISG (i-stop/go), SPAS (10 camera surrounded),electric handbrake, 3type nappa lether colour choice, navigation GPS, heated seat, active headrest etc

For exterior unchange..
For the creaking noise from the sunroof i got few solution not sure you already settle your sunroof already not?
If u complain bout the seating position too low try the sportage..expecially the passenger seat, then you wont complain anymor....lolz

Adding the front parking sensors wont void the warrenty as its just an plug and play items...
I also thinking to add as last week scratch my left bumper a bit...sigh...
But at last thinking of have to drill our bumper for the 4pcs of sensor i give up already...lol
Now thinking to add a camera in the front grill for parking assist

The door lock while engine running...you can try push the central lock and close the door after you go down from car...i think it might work

The folding mirror sure dont have function like the central locking
Now available device from korea is the auto-folding mirror follow our smart key (lock/unlock)..that it
JuneSeptember
post Feb 20 2012, 12:24 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Feb 19 2012, 02:07 PM)
LOL... Couldn't help it smile.gif
What the heck? But I agree with you, I'm tempted to do that sometimes.

QUOTE(IpohLad @ Feb 19 2012, 03:01 PM)
I think its exist already in Korea if I'm not mistaken. You can have this option in the UK for the top spec optima £26k (RM125k). So at least you know that the government didnt tax this car as far as other cars.

The eco mode is a bit pointless on car like this. Its not a hybrid, so its just help you out on throttle sensitivity.

Hope you enjoy your new car.

Added on February 19, 2012, 3:17 pmMalaysia only have 8 speakers, where the UK have 12 speakers. Cheeky Naza! LOL
8 speakers are a lot to me. Perhaps I'm used to two speakers all this while.

QUOTE(leds @ Feb 19 2012, 06:46 PM)
The 2013 optima comewith three 2.0 version
1. 2.0 T-GDI - 271hp
2. 2.0 LPi - 152hp
3. 2.0 CVVT - 172hp

Others additional like upgraded from existing VSM to VDC system, ISG (i-stop/go), SPAS (10 camera surrounded),electric handbrake, 3type nappa lether colour choice, navigation GPS, heated seat, active headrest etc

For exterior unchange..
For the creaking noise from the sunroof i got few solution not sure you already settle your sunroof already not?
If u complain bout the seating position too low try the sportage..expecially the passenger seat, then you wont complain anymor....lolz

Adding the front parking sensors wont void the warrenty as its just an plug and play items...
I also thinking to add as last week scratch my left bumper a bit...sigh...
But at last thinking of have to drill our bumper for the 4pcs of sensor i give up already...lol
Now thinking to add a camera in the front grill for parking assist

The door lock while engine running...you can try push the central lock and close the door after you go down from car...i think it might work

The folding mirror sure dont have function like the central locking
Now available device from korea is the auto-folding mirror follow our smart key (lock/unlock)..that it
Which Kia do you own? Optima or sportage?

I tried the sportage and I loved it. However the speedometer makes it feel one generation older so I chose optima instead.

I have yet to fix my sunroof noises but the noise gets fainter after a car wash so I suspect it could be rubber rubbing against each other or I could be wrong. Any suggestions?

And pertaining the front sensor, I think some models don't require drilling, it is stick-on behind your bumper.
leds
post Feb 20 2012, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 20 2012, 12:24 AM)
What the heck? But I agree with you, I'm tempted to do that sometimes.
8 speakers are a lot to me. Perhaps I'm used to two speakers all this while.
Which Kia do you own? Optima or sportage?

I tried the sportage and I loved it. However the speedometer makes it feel one generation older so I chose optima instead.

I have yet to fix my sunroof noises but the noise gets fainter after a car wash so I suspect it could be rubber rubbing against each other or I could be wrong. Any suggestions?

And pertaining the front sensor, I think some models don't require drilling, it is stick-on behind your bumper.
Sportage, going to add another optima later but maybe will wait for facelift sonata come out see what hyundai is offering first...hehe

The sunroof creaking noise i already pm you few solution with photo..garrenttee can solve your problem
As i already did mine and so far so good

Front sensor u got photo show which type no need drill one??

SA6YEuro
post Feb 20 2012, 07:57 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(leds @ Feb 20 2012, 11:00 AM)
Sportage, going to add another optima later but maybe will wait for facelift sonata come out see what hyundai is offering first...hehe

The sunroof creaking noise i already pm you few solution with photo..garrenttee can solve your problem
As i already did mine and so far so good

Front sensor u got photo show which type no need drill one??
Sunroof creaking solution can pm me as well. Interested to know. Thanks.

small-jeff
post Feb 20 2012, 10:53 PM

1,646 posts

anyone got the TTDI SA's, who can do a "test drive", contact? tongue.gif biggrin.gif
JuneSeptember
post Feb 20 2012, 11:01 PM

71 posts

Wow, thank you for all the solutions. I'm gonna try that 3M sticky tape first.

Btw, no drilling sensors:

No holes sensors

Added on February 20, 2012, 11:01 pmWow, thank you for all the solutions. I'm gonna try that 3M sticky tape first.

No holes sensors

This post has been edited by JuneSeptember: Feb 20 2012, 11:01 PM
devinz
post Feb 20 2012, 11:04 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 20 2012, 07:57 PM)
Can pm me as well?

leds
post Feb 20 2012, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 20 2012, 07:57 PM)
not applicable for forte one woh...as yours is not panaromic...
So the technical issue of ratting sound might not same though
SA6YEuro
post Feb 20 2012, 11:36 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(leds @ Feb 20 2012, 11:32 PM)
not applicable for forte one woh...as yours is not panaromic...
So the technical issue of ratting sound might not same though
Errr... I dun drive a forte mate. My K5 shuld b in my hands next month. drool.gif

How did you come to the conclusion that i own a forte? U oso in MFC?

Anyway, pls share. Really keen to know wat issues u r reffering to.
leds
post Feb 20 2012, 11:41 PM

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 20 2012, 11:36 PM)
Errr... I dun drive a forte mate. My K5 shuld b in my hands next month.  drool.gif

How did you come to the conclusion that i own a forte? U oso in MFC?

Anyway, pls share. Really keen to know wat issues u r reffering to.
Oh as u mention bout forte story though u forte member too...no im not MFC,im in KSOC
Between the solution just pm to you
please check

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Feb 20 2012, 11:01 PM)
Wow, thank you for all the solutions. I'm gonna try that 3M sticky tape first.

No holes sensors

Added on February 20, 2012, 11:01 pmWow, thank you for all the solutions. I'm gonna try that 3M sticky tape first.

No holes sensors
got it...this stuff so far cant find in local yet...have to order online...
If u know any place local got sell do let me know...
interested to add this stuff

This post has been edited by leds: Feb 20 2012, 11:43 PM
SA6YEuro
post Feb 20 2012, 11:47 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(leds @ Feb 20 2012, 11:41 PM)
Oh as u mention bout forte story though u forte member too...no im not MFC,im in KSOC
Between the solution just pm to you
please check
Thanks for the pm but the image links are broken "500 Internal Server Error".

Sigh... Sori mate.

Btw, KSOC = Kinabalu Sportscar Owners Club?

This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Feb 20 2012, 11:49 PM
leds
post Feb 20 2012, 11:52 PM

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Feb 20 2012, 11:47 PM)
Thanks for the pm but the image links are broken "500 Internal Server Error".

Sigh... Sori mate.

Btw, KSOC = Kinabalu Sportscar Owners Club?
Alright i fix it the URL already...try check again
KSOC : Kia Sportage Owner Club

121 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:51 PM