QUOTE(kapultek @ Dec 14 2011, 10:48 PM)
102k? Then likely will be in SKD form with Naza badge instead. If it is true, you will see the waiting period could be as long as 1 year... Hahhaha
2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?
Dec 14 2011, 10:59 PM
597 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Feb 11 2012, 07:14 PM
Finally spotted one on Plus just not too long ago.
Pretty eye catching and look stable at around 140/150 kmh... |
Feb 13 2012, 12:14 AM
Am considering K5 after me and my wife was stoned by its sexy look on Plus highway a while ago.
Any good sales contact anyone here can share with me. So far my acquaintance with most Kia SA has been far from good. Am looking for some recommended and reliable one. Btw, anyone managed to find an outlet with test drive unit? Do share... Thanks |
Feb 13 2012, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(zrill @ Feb 13 2012, 06:58 PM) Branch manager just called stating the 2nd batch has landed last week and will be allocated this week. Will be getting my white K5 next week. And yes it is 2012 car. Luckily i waited for the 2nd batch. hi bro,any idea how many units are there in 2nd batch? still didnt see much K5 on the road. btw, care to share where did you booked your K5? Is the SA good for recommendations? |
Feb 13 2012, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(zrill @ Feb 13 2012, 07:27 PM) Hi bro, Thanks bro. Can share his contact number as well?Not very sure how many cars in the 2nd batch. I actually booked the car early before the launch date (17 dec 2011). My SA is very good as he really knows bout car. He is a car person. Hate going to some SA who knows cr*p about cars. Have been to atleast 10 showroom and finally found 1 who knows about the car. He is Kevin from Kia Glenmarie. Tell him Hazrill white K5 recomended. Btw did you managed to yet drive the car before committing? Yea, most of the SA really dissappoint. Don't feel the sincerity and knowledge on product. |
Feb 20 2012, 11:04 PM
Feb 21 2012, 04:03 PM
Feb 25 2012, 12:15 AM
Feb 27 2012, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 27 2012, 10:59 PM) OK, folks. Let's all take a chill pill and get back to the Optima discussion shall we? Thanks for the great review bro. Care to share where did you get to test drive?Finally managed to test drive the Optima, it was impressive! Low end torque isn't that bad. Once it goes to second gear the pick up is really good. Word is, the so called sluggishness when the car first goes in motion, is actually designed as a safety feature to prevent over-acceleration. Handling is precise, ride is comfy(for 18" wheels), pickup is good, tackles sharp corners with confidence, ohh... love the dual sunroof! Despite the width and length of the car, it actually drives more like a sports car as opposed to a family sedan (think Camry). Initially, one may get overwhelmed with all those buttons on the steering wheel, center console and door panel. May take a awhile to figure out the functions of each button. Yeah, took awhile to find out where that freakin' petrol tank lid release button is located For those who want a burst of power when overtaking, the paddle shifters ROCK! Gear shifts are smooth and precise. Switching from Manual back to Auto requires some horizontal shifting. Last but not least, the Hill Start Assist Control (HAC) is really nifty too. Just stop the car on a slope, press the brakes, slowly release it and the car will remain stationary for 10 secs before rolling backwards Overall, I would say it is one awesome car. If anyone can suggest a better alternative, do let me know! Nuff said |
Mar 2 2012, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 2 2012, 07:07 PM) Guys, i managed to get a 2nd test drive today. Im more impressed now. Here is my take on the car: Bro, thanks for the detailed write up.Acceleration & pickup I had 4 adults in the car including the salesman. Managed to get a straight clear road and floored the pedal. The acceleration was sluggish for the first 2 secs and then the power kicked in. I must say its very much comparable to the Teana with its Xtronic unlike what i mentioned earlier. The engine has got a certain vroom to it more like a rumbling tiger when the RPM passes the 2000 mark. Some might love it but i think it didnt sound too refined for my taste. The Teana and Camry were a tad more refined. But the power was there and the pickup was really impressive despite its heavier weight. I would think the harshness of the engine will improve over time since i was the 1st to test this car when it arrived yesterday. Handling & Road Grip I chose a deserted roundabout and did about 7 rounds at about 80kmph with the full load of passengers. I must say i am quite impressed with its cornering ability and road grip. There was only marginal body roll (much better than the Camry at lower speeds). The 18 inch tyres and probably traction control really kept the car stable. Not sure if 80kmph was fast enough for a roundabout but its certainly the fastest ive been on one. Its a small roundabout so turns would have been sharper. Brakes The brakes are quite good and stopping power was quite evident. I even tried cornering braking while taking the roundabout and the stopping power was really good. I hit about 110kmph before i came up to a traffic light and slammed the brakes (not enough to engage the ABS though). It surely has a confident feel. NVH & Wind Noise As mentioned earlier, i hit 110kmph and tried different scenarios with the sunroof just to gauge the NVH of the sunroof. I tried with the ceiling panel open but with the glass closed and also with both closed. The effect was the same. Virtually no wind noise even at high speeds. Not sure if it will hold up at around 140-150kmph though. Didnt feel any windo noise coming from the doors or windows as well which mean the door seals are quite good. Hope they last though. But during hard acceleration, the engine could be heard and it does sound a bit harsh. But once you reach cruising speed, the engine is virtually silent. The whole test drive lasted about 1 hour (longest ive been). I must say im more impressed now. Im almost certain to get the Optima K5 now. Have started asking around to get the best deals. Best i got so far was a RM700 rebate. Can you also share where did you managed to secured the test drive? Thanks |
Mar 3 2012, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(Frenly @ Mar 2 2012, 11:34 PM) cybermaster98 bro, Sg Wang? go to sungai wang, there is some sales guy there ...was told if u get from him he will give rm 1000 cheaper n free gps ... he told me he have couple of units in hand ... so give a try i will go for a test drive tomorrow if time permit ...will go to naza hopefully there r 1 unit for test drive Sg Wang got Kia meh? |
Mar 15 2012, 03:10 PM
http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/kia-wins-two...trophy-cabinet/
for those who are in doubt of KIA... seems they are really improving by leaps and bounds... |
Apr 6 2012, 05:13 PM
maybe it is just me, but i feel there are some K5 styling cues in this "Toyota"
http://paultan.org/2012/04/06/toyota-usa-n...-toyota-avalon/ esp the dashboard and tail end... |
Apr 7 2012, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 7 2012, 06:51 PM) there was 7 of us. 4 whites, 2greys, 1 silver. Pretty good for the 1st TT. Salute to irangan for the most mod. Impressive!!!Trying to avoid D segment but this K5 really poison me kao kao... |
Apr 10 2012, 06:11 PM
Apr 18 2012, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(Tokyoboy2000 @ Apr 18 2012, 05:18 PM) Question : y my ride change the gears automatically even I'm using in manual pedal shift mode ? Things happen everytime when I rev my 1st gears till 6000rpm than change to 2nd gear, when it's around 3000rpm++ in 2nd gear, the gearbox did you shift your gear lever to manual mode? or just activated by paddle shift?automatically jump to 3~4th quickly even I didn't press in anything...does this happening is common to all the owners here ? |
| Change to: | 0.0493sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:55 AM |