126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Aug 9 2011, 12:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Aug 9 2011, 10:40 AM)
but nokia said they wont produce any meego device anymore?
Nokia willnot produce anymore MeeGo device AS LONG AS Elop in charge of Nokia

So if you want to see another MeeGo device from Nokia you have to buy Nokia shares,become it's majority stock holder & kick Elop out.
Another way is make public demo asking current Nokia shareholders to sack Elop.

But just to remind you again,Nokia have signed legally bind deal with Microsoft to produce Nokia WP7 devices.Means if the management want to quit from this deal it'll take huge amount of money to terminate this deal.Also I'm pretty sure Microsoft's Harvard powered lawyers won't just sit around & do nothing to prevent Nokia from escaping from Microsoft clutches.
Also since a number of important employees working on MeeGo device already quit,it'll be harder to turning back to MeeGo.

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Aug 9 2011, 11:54 AM)
I want to apply for N950 developer kit but I don't have a Nokia device to start with. How to go about this?
From my understanding you can obtain the dev kit (Nokia N950) with 2 ways.

As commercial developer:
You need to show your working app to Nokia & ask for the dev kit.Whether they give the dev kit depends on how useful your app & whether it's commercially viable.There are also several other conditions.

As independent developer:
You can develop your own app or contribute ideas on how to improve the OS functions.
Initially when Nokia give the 1st 250 dev kit you can just pitch in the rough sketch of your app idea.But to obtain the current extra 50 dev kit you need to show a working app.It can buggy as hell but it should be executable & run basic functions it was programmed.
If you want to contribute to improve the OS I suggest you to make a team & work on a idea.For example MuhammadAG,joerg & few others are working on adding USB OTG function on N950/N9 & they were given N950.You can think of some other ideas.

http://wiki.meego.com/Community_Office/Com...xtended_Program
These are some ideas submitted.You can also read on the info on how to obtain the dev kit from the link.

If you have good app or ideas do inform me.I'll try to help you contacting relevant parties.

Good luck & I hope to see a N950 running loose in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Aug 9 2011, 12:55 PM
Leo the Lion
post Aug 9 2011, 02:37 PM

6,358 posts

if im not mistaken, they won't produce any meego phone this year. but in the future, there will be more meego phone.
nicholasbeh
post Aug 9 2011, 02:50 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 9 2011, 02:37 PM)
if im not mistaken, they won't produce any meego phone this year. but in the future, there will be more meego phone.
only when the Fatso out of Nokia Finland.
zero_kbom
post Aug 9 2011, 05:25 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 9 2011, 12:48 PM)
Good luck & I hope to see a N950 running loose in Malaysia.
AFAIK, Asri Al Baker of I-Symbian and All About Meego already gotten hold of N950. One lucky dude indeed laugh.gif

Still, I do hope more N950 will be available. Heck, I'd buy it even with its no-warranty, unfinished state! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Aug 9 2011, 05:25 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Aug 9 2011, 05:31 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Aug 9 2011, 02:37 PM)
IF N9 sells well (I doubt there will be high volume of sale) Nokia Board might pressure Elop to produce 1-2 more MeeGo device to "test water"

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Aug 9 2011, 05:25 PM)
AFAIK, Asri Al Baker of I-Symbian and All About Meego already gotten hold of N950. One lucky dude indeed laugh.gif

Still, I do hope more N950 will be available. Heck, I'd buy it even with its no-warranty, unfinished state! laugh.gif
Oh really? Should invite him to post here..I love to hear a Malaysian comment on N950.

Well,if the price is right I'll buy N950 without warranty too.
BuFung
post Aug 9 2011, 06:26 PM

8,407 posts

N9.. postpone... laugh.gif
qwerty79
post Aug 9 2011, 10:17 PM

1,907 posts

Alamak....N9 priced at £519.95 in UK. Direct conversion RM2,558.66. Super expensive.
aspire2oo6
post Aug 9 2011, 10:19 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

There a post twitted saying its 32,000 INR
eaglehelang
post Aug 9 2011, 10:40 PM

1,075 posts

The price in UK & Europe is more expensive. E6 was 380 Euros(RM1,600) but only RM1055 when released in Malaysia. Maybe cos the sets in Asia are Made in China.

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Aug 9 2011, 10:41 PM
sklchan
post Aug 9 2011, 11:36 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 9 2011, 06:26 PM)
N9.. postpone...  laugh.gif
only a countdown timer vanish didn't mean delay mah... sweat.gif
already got press release explain the timer removed because the release will depend on service provider woh... whistling.gif
joshuawong
post Aug 10 2011, 09:54 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Aug 9 2011, 05:25 PM)

Correct me if I'm wrong, the Nokia N950 is just a device for developer to build and test app. It will not be a finish product, it gonna be test error phone for MeeGo smartphone.
sklchan
post Aug 10 2011, 10:06 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(joshuawong @ Aug 10 2011, 09:54 AM)
Correct me if I'm wrong, the Nokia N950 is just a device for developer to build and test app. It will not be a finish product, it gonna be test error phone for MeeGo smartphone.
also it's not a GIFT, all of them need to return the device... yawn.gif
x132755
post Aug 10 2011, 11:36 AM

How To Own A Property Without Spending Your Money? Got 1 Way....
13,313 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 9 2011, 06:26 PM)
N9.. postpone...  laugh.gif
postpone to? hmm.gif
zero_kbom
post Aug 10 2011, 03:55 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Aug 9 2011, 05:31 PM)
IF N9 sells well (I doubt there will be high volume of sale) Nokia Board might pressure Elop to produce 1-2 more MeeGo device to "test water"
Oh really? Should invite him to post here..I love to hear a Malaysian comment on N950.

Well,if the price is right I'll buy N950 without warranty too.
I'll try to ask him to post here. Wanna hear his take on the phone too. But AFAIK, he is enjoying the phone to the bits. Hey, who wouldnt be happy to join the super exclusive n950 club laugh.gif
Buying a n950? I'm prepared to do anything if I have the chance to buy one.

[WTS] A kidney. Any takers here?

QUOTE(joshuawong @ Aug 10 2011, 09:54 AM)
Yep, its clearly labeled as developer device, dev kits etc. It wont be finished, thats for sure. But taking cues from TMO, it sure look very, very useable at current state. It even become the daily driver for lots of dev out there, who have the phone.

But really, since when Maemo powered devices can be said as a finished product? laugh.gif

QUOTE(sklchan @ Aug 10 2011, 10:06 AM)
also it's not a GIFT, all of them need to return the device...  yawn.gif
They didnt have any time frame yet as when they gonna have to return the device. And they have to develop apps in order to borrow one.
singa89
post Aug 11 2011, 12:06 PM

long live play
1,204 posts

this is by far the most beautiful phone nokia has ever made

i love it! plan to get a pink 1 if this meego beast can work as a wifi hotspot like android
Ghostblind
post Aug 11 2011, 12:38 PM

4°₭ ⍧∟⌊⌋ß
546 posts

QUOTE(singa89 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:06 PM)

i love it! plan to get a pink 1 if this meego beast can work as a wifi hotspot like android
yeahh me too.. pink so amazing !!! laugh.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Aug 11 2011, 12:42 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(singa89 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:06 PM)

It can.N9 has build in joikuspot(wifi hotspot app)
mrfarhatadib89
post Aug 11 2011, 08:59 PM

2,414 posts

release date?
adraxx
post Aug 12 2011, 05:53 AM

187 posts

http://www.engadget.com/2011/08/11/nokia-n...ven-more-meage/
Ghostblind
post Aug 15 2011, 11:41 AM

4°₭ ⍧∟⌊⌋ß