Is this the sign that N9 is ready for shipment?
Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity
Jul 1 2011, 08:42 PM
5,105 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: In front of my desktop/laptop/phone |
Is this the sign that N9 is ready for shipment?
Jul 3 2011, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 2 2011, 07:55 PM) LOL... Nokia Communicator series are the one to use Symbian OS initially.Whats up with the surprise faces and expression? N810 was the first and last tablet. 7710 was the first and last S90 smartphone. N900 was the first and last Maemo, and now another new entry to make way, N9 the first and last Meego. WHATS THE BIG DEAL ANYWAY?? IT'S IN THE BLOOD... All the Internet Tablet series used Maemo. N770 - OS2005 aka Maemo & OS2006 aka Maemo 2 N800 - OS2007 aka Maemo 3 N810 - OS2008 aka Maemo 4 & Diablo aka Maemo 4.1 N900 - Maemo 5 There are 2 reason why Maemo project lasted this long : 1) Due to the open source nature 2) Excellent support from Maemo community As Andy said MeeGo is not just Nokia's project but also collaboration between multiple company.There are still future for it outside Nokia. LG has expressed their wish to develop handset device based on MeeGo.Let's see how things goes after MeeGo 1.3 released. MeeGo is still viable OS.Whatever done in MeeGo 1.2 Harmattan can be done in "official" MeeGo.Just matter of interested parties making resources so people can make great UI like Harmattan's. Anyway aside from handset MeeGo have other targets. Unlike Android which is targeted as mobile OS,MeeGo has multiple target since it's inception. Intel has vision to have a single core OS but with multiple UX which can be used for multiple type of devices like in vehicle drive,handset,netbook,tablets & plenty more. In a way this has much more potential to be a complete OS compared to Android.You can see that Google is slightly struggling to to make Android 3.X as polished as Android 2.3X for handsets. But yes,in order for the potential to be realized Intel need another strong partner. QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 2 2011, 09:58 PM) Huh? MeeGo is not only Nokia, it was collaboration between Intel & Nokia. From the beginning, there wasn't plan for only Nokia device, other brand also got plan for MeeGo device; And MeeGo OS not just plan for smartphone platform. Whether it's MeeGo Harmattan or MeeGo is not a big issue.Both the API's are compatible & Harmattan can do pretty much do what MeeGo want to do just with different UI.Go to MeeGo official website and find out more. This N9 is using MeeGo Harmattan, which is actually a Maemo6 (codename Harmattan); As what I know, halfway during the development, Maemo and Intel's Moblin project merge and come up with MeeGo. So, the original Maemo6 project did not abandon, instead they release as MeeGo "1st instance" or Harmattan, which is NOT actual MeeGo, but MeeGo compatible or something like that; There're some differences, but as long they can make the difference not visible to the end user, then it should be OK. Even from initial plan, after MeeGo Harmattan, the next Nokia device will be a real MeeGo device, so anyhow this MeeGo Harmattan will also be the first and last of MeeGo Harmattan. If I'm not wrong, N770 was the first tablet running Internet Tablet OS (aka Maemo), then N800, then N810, and finally N900 (Maemo5) the last of Internet Tablet; As for Maemo lifespan, AFAIK, the Maemo 6 was in development then MeeGo project came into picture; Thus, the MeeGo Harmattan (which is a Maemo6 evolved or dissolved?) As for the support, the support for the Nokia Internet Tablet is fairly well known... and each device suffers pretty much the same fate... If the different file packaging is 1 one scaring some then it's not a major issue because since the Harmattan API is compatible with MeeGo API you can just chuck the source code in Community OBS & it'll produce rpm packaging. I think this blog post pretty much sums up MeeGo Harmattan - http://flors.wordpress.com/2011/06/26/the-...-1-2-harmattan/ Developers device recipients already been announced.I have to say majority of them are worthy recipients who contributed a lot for Maemo users.I'm still unsure whether MohammadAG got the N950 but he sure deserve it for the work he did with Maemo 5. Some of the developers projects bit funny but we'll see how it turns out later.Hopefully when N9 is announced the users will have all the basic applications covered & with some extra fun applications. I really wish Nokia will put some appropriate price for N9.I love all Nokia's Internet Tablets.My very 1st encounter with NIT's is when my cousin bought Nokia 770 when I was in secondary school.Having seen multiple guys using N800 & N810 made me kinda jealous.So it was bit dream come true when I finally managed to get my hand on N900.I'll hate it if the price of N9 is too high & I can't afford it... Perhaps Nokia can give special discount for any of the internet tablet's owners? This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 3 2011, 12:52 AM |
Jul 3 2011, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 3 2011, 12:56 AM) My bad, I did not realized there were more ancient Internet tablet from Nokia. Initially Maemo don't support sim card.The sim card & phone functions were only added in Maemo 5.N900 with it's smaller screen size also considered tablet? Not smartphone? Hence why it was called internet tablets. 770 was launched in 2005 if I'm not mistaken.So in a way Nokia got into tablet market way before Apple or Google but with unpolished product. This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 3 2011, 01:04 AM |
Jul 3 2011, 01:13 AM
Jul 3 2011, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jul 3 2011, 01:13 AM) Ah well...It was meant to be Nokia's pet project to save their sorry @$$es from Apple but you know the fiasco after Elop took over...At least MeeGo/Maemo in Nokia will die a glorious death. Added on July 3, 2011, 1:24 amSeriously I'm not getting what Elop is planning.He keep on closing stores,sell/outsource Nokia's software/OS,fire workers,letting some good talents go,announcing that Nokia will share it's software with other WP7 OEM & practically telling people not to buy N9. Is he even has any plan to make Nokia return to higher profit? I won't be surprised if when everyday he comes to his office there were people asking "Dude,do you know WTF are you doing?" This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 3 2011, 01:26 AM |
Jul 3 2011, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 3 2011, 02:53 AM) There was a saying: Windows always been plagued by virus/worm/trojan problems.Send someone in, attack from the inside, bring it down, then... when the time is right, TAKE OVER. Seems pretty serious? http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/43486360/ns/bu...wont-be-around/ "Microsoft, which is Nokia’s primary software partner, could easily buy the company and is often mentioned as a suitor." Maybe this this Microsoft found a real life usage of trojan horse tactics from there. QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jul 3 2011, 03:18 AM) You think after saving the company's face multiple time & been promised the top job but in end dumped unceremoniously for an incompetent fool Vanjoki will still want to come back?I don't think so. Also Elop's plans already been executed.I don't think anyone can reverse the deal with microsoft now. I understand now why American always make fun of Canadians.They are idiots. This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 3 2011, 07:44 AM |
Jul 3 2011, 08:26 PM
Jul 3 2011, 09:18 PM
Jul 3 2011, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Jul 3 2011, 09:28 PM) Well,Nokia must have high confidence on Elop.During OPK's tenure when the Nokia stock crashed nearly 45% he got booted out. Elop did the same thing in 9 months but his job is still secured. |
Jul 3 2011, 11:16 PM
Jul 4 2011, 07:49 PM
Killing Symbian is right move IMO.But Elop should have kill it silently.
If I'm Elop this is my plan for Symbian: 1st of all I won't announce anything about selling/stop supporting Symbian. In next 12 months release 10 Symbian phones. The following 12 months reduce to 5 Symbian phone. The following 12 months reduce to 3 Symbian phone. After the end of 12 months only then I'll announce that there won't be any Symbian device but say Nokia will continue provide updates for Symbian devices. After 12 months of that announcement announce the very last of the Symbian update & then make all Symbian OS component open source so current users can continue updating the OS with other enthusiast. |
Jul 5 2011, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Jul 5 2011, 07:54 AM) Maemo enthusiast will.Nokia gave away 250 free N950 for independent developers.They were chosen based on their contribution in Maemo or how interesting their proposed MeeGo app is.I looked through the proposed project & felt most of them are very interesting but it seem there will be very few average consumer targeted product. Anyway Nokia decided to leave MeeGo Harmattan out of OTG function.But MohammadAG & joerg from N900's h-e-n team already proposed idea to integrate OTG in N9.Custom kernel here we go... Even Nokia X3-02 have OTG out of box.Wonder why Nokia keep leaving this function out of Maemo/MeeGo devices... QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Jul 5 2011, 09:15 AM) If the application were written in QT/QML it's possible to recompile it in debian package & run in MeeGo with minor code modification. |
Jul 5 2011, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 5 2011, 12:54 PM) Basically, those that were not past users of Nokia Maemo devices (N900, N810, N800, N770) might not know about the strong community of Maemo developers. If any non-Maemo users want to see how much the community has contributed to Maemo OS I suggest you guys to take 1 fresh PR1.2 based N900 & compare it to the heavily modified N900 with CSSU + kernel-power.Maemo have a lot of FREE apps (and very useful and powerful apps and also widgets), ported apps from Desktop version (e.g. Chrome Browser, aMSN, MyPaint, so much more), there is also WarCraftII and StarCraftII run with stratagus engine, and so much more; Something you don't find in your common smartphones; And don't need to be surprise if you do, because all these were very old news since N900 or even before N900. The community/developers which support the Maemo OS is amazing, more so being that the OS has no support from Nokia, unfinished, unstable, buggy OS, many features still not yet implemented, etc. Imagine how hard these developers work, and they don't get $$$. You'll see huge difference. Regarding the apps,there's not much paid apps available in Maemo/MeeGo probably because current users prefers to use free version of application from the repository. |
Jul 7 2011, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 7 2011, 12:18 PM) 50 Developers. Now the n9 emulator is sucks! So lag. I saw from my colleague MacBook. I dun have laptop to bring to training Haven't heard much about the emulator.Most of the devs prefers to write the code with the sdk & straight away test with N950.Added on July 7, 2011, 12:25 pmLolmao if got problem of developing meego, can't google because that is few people know and working on it, so better go to nokia dev forum and ask for help XD. The instructor said. I suggest you to refer to MeeGo forum if you trouble with writing application with QT.MeeGo developers community there might be small but they give fast & quite constructive comment.Else you can visit MeeGo IRC. QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jul 7 2011, 05:01 PM) Sorry I confused with n9 and n950 because I thought only n9 have the Anna looks in icon mode. Why the confusion with N9 & N950? If the device has physical keyboard then it's N950 else it's N9.Actually it is n950. |
Jul 12 2011, 11:38 PM
Any chance they'll invite me?
Got bunch of things I want to test in MeeGo Harmattan |
Jul 13 2011, 11:28 AM
Jul 16 2011, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jul 16 2011, 07:23 AM) I'm terribly disappointed that I came sooo far from JB to KL, arrived in KL around 6pm, lost about 3 hours in KL, and im 2 hours + late and finally got to know that there isn't N9 to HANDS-ON I doubt this will happen.There's a blockhead working as Nokia's CEO & he's making decision like retard.only a discussions about the N9. My suggestion to Nokia, just follow the hardware trend la, now everything dual core quad core. Focus on the smoothness of MeeGo, swipe2, multitasking, browsing, social networking. And don't abandon MeeGo for god sake Nokia already outsourced/sell their major softwares.Also number of important employees (from MeeGo team) already left or wants leave. Without these it'll be impossible to go back to MeeGo as primary OS. Anyway can anyone give full details of the event yesterday? |
Jul 16 2011, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jul 16 2011, 04:59 PM) Saddening but true. Its hard to go back to Meego after this. Especially when lots of the employees responsible for it being booted out from the company. Haih. Rather than hoping that the Nokia will continue provide software support you better hope that MeeGo/Maemo community still interested in this device.As long as there are still interest in this community they will continue with their version of software support.Nokia do reassures us yesterday that N9 will be supported for years to come. But for how long? Its still left unanswered. (or using their terms, they could not quantify it) Details of the event? Its mostly more on the E6 and the X7, plus Symbian Anna as a whole. Not to mention, some brainstorming on N9 marketing in Malaysia. Sent from my Nokia E6-00 N900 now have almost complete landscape/portrait support thanks to community software support. Those who were working in Maemo/MeeGo was not booted out.Most of them quit because of disagreement with Nokia Management on the OS support issue. It's a wonder Nokia managed to keep stskeeps after MeeGo fiasco. But it was a good move to support the OS with the 250 unit of N950 to independent developers. |
Jul 16 2011, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 16 2011, 09:17 PM) Let's just say the hardware already fix, nothing can be done, although we all hope it can get better hardware. True that as long as the OS well optimized, smooth, can handle multi-tasking well, etc. The hardware isn't important.... but something that is also important; Nowadays, it's about HD and Full HD capability, the N9 would most probably have trouble playing Full HD, by the time it's launch, especially next year, the requirements from people will go even higher due to the standards is changing and moving forward everyday, thus it is crucial not to delay too long. This device, I believe was suppose to launch early this year (if not last year), but there was lots of delay. Regarding the hardware of N9,Nokia can upgrade the hardware if they want because according to those who worked on hardware adaption of MeeGo they already covered TI chipsets.So it is possible to use TI OMAP 4xxx series processors if Nokia wants.But I think Nokia management probably prefers WP7 to have more glorious hardware.Look at the N900, it was delayed, even though it's still a good device and promising OS, but due to the hardware limitation, it causes many limitation to the OS for the community to improve it. As for end user, during the day it was launch, it was still OK, but now, YouTube supports 480p, 720p,... many videos are in HD quality, websites are more complicated than ever. One thing tough, it's good to know that the N9 is generous with 1GB RAM. That's indeed a shocking, especially from Nokia. Just stating that hardware is still important, at least as a feedback to Nokia for future devices; They may have provide a decent or good hardware spec, but by the time they launch it, it might be outdated as technology moves too fast. Anyway, honestly speaking, whether it's the FIRST and/or LAST MeeGo device from Nokia, it's not really important, especially nowadays... How many people actually use the phone for like maybe 2 or 3 years. In the coming years, probably people will change phones is shorter interval, with phones getting cheaper, technology moving faster, and also telcos offering this and that plan. People would be tempted to change their phone. So, I think as long as this N9 and it's MeeGo OS, can fullfill the requirements of the user during it's time, it's good enough. More important, how good it is compared to others, what it can do that others can't offer during it's time. Just like N900, when it's launch, there's so many things/features that it have that NO competitor has. It was UNIQUE and people who KNOW about these stuffs, sees your device, they will be amazed and wonder WHY their phone can't do it. This is what makes people interested, want to change. It's similar like iPhone, what is can do, it attracts people who want 'smoothness', 'simplicity'. This N9 selling point is even better I would say, it has smoothness and simplicity, yet its very powerful and flexible; Something that, probably no other mobile OS currently can offer? (but can soon catch up; so the key is to not to delay too long) Basically, Nokia is really looking forward to market the N9 and get more people interested; One reason I was told is they need to convince that Malaysia has a lot of interested owners so they can bring in this device or maybe more volume or something like that. Remember that N900 was originally not plan to be launch in Malaysia, but due to overwhelming demands, it was finally launch here; Then again, the sale response I think wasn't that good? I think, probably due to this, they need to convince the N9 market for Malaysia? No idea, just my speculations based on N900 response; After all, if they bring many units here and it didn't sell well, then they might as well market this device in those countries that really looking forward for this device (the N9 will not be launch in several country, plus, India and HK, I think the have many enthusiast/interested people, look at the response for N900 and their amazing launching for N900) Better hardware is always a welcome but as you say solid build OS is more important. It think 1080p should be video standard for the time being(2-3 years).So as long as N9 can play 1080p videos it should be fine.Anyway I think further enhancement to the video playback is always possible. Like N900 we can only play 320p video resolution but there is freemangordon's 720p video patch in kernel-power now.It still needs DSP codec but it's a good attempt to see whether N900 can 720p videos or not.Too bad we cannot use TI's Android DSP patch to be used in Maemo (it's not redistributable) There is a talk that MeeGo Harmattan's swipe UI might be used in Symbian Belle.The UI alone won't make Symbian as good as MeeGo because being a linux OS MeeGo is much more capable OS than Symbian. If Nokia Malaysia wants to talk about low sale of N900 in Malaysia I say they should blame themselves.How many of you ever seen N900 advertisment? How many of you seen N900 is (Ori set) in any phone shop? There was lack of any kind of promotion for N900 in Malaysia.They might argue that N900 was released for specific kind of users only for me no matter kind of users it'll be you still need a good promotion. I love the N900 release in India.It was some kind of linux festival N9 have a lot of strong point that'll suit both advanced & regular users but the uncertainly over software support & developers support might make potential users to to think twice before buying the device. I'm a N900 owner & long loved Maemo device but even I still thinking whether I should get N9 or not. This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Jul 16 2011, 10:25 PM |
Jul 18 2011, 12:47 PM
Does the rangers receive every single Nokia new phones?
| Change to: | 0.0513sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:56 PM |