QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Aug 28 2011, 08:28 PM)
but those are rare, just like Cherry MX switch which is grey, green, and other kinds etc like clear casing.
rare? i got two green switch in my house, all old skool one year 80'sMechanical Keyboard Club V3, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts
Aug 28 2011, 09:53 PM
1,012 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Tower |
Aug 29 2011, 12:05 AM
4,234 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Damn those switches are dusty.
ALPS and dust aren't very good. What brand are your keyboards? NTC? Mind taking a picture of the back of the keycap, see whether they are doubleshot? |
Aug 29 2011, 01:21 AM
Aug 29 2011, 06:32 PM
1,726 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Taiping Perak |
QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 28 2011, 09:53 PM) that is why i say rare.you got 2 doesn't means it's still widely available now, plus you mention it's 80`s. Current widely available alps are Black and White version. while other colors are very rare now due to their production of such unique switch has been stop/axe. OR market demands aren't high, so these switch are considered as expensive due to the fact they need to be custom order. This post has been edited by Cyclonechuah: Aug 29 2011, 06:33 PM |
Aug 29 2011, 07:16 PM
40 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: I lurk |
Anyone know if Ace Hardware or any hardware store sells Lithium Grease or any grease that I can use to grease some of my keys?
Getting an annoying squeak on 1 or 2 of my keys |
Aug 29 2011, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Aug 29 2011, 06:32 PM) that is why i say rare. Depends on the alps type. I have a board with green simplified ALPS. Still available via the ARON keyboard on taobao.you got 2 doesn't means it's still widely available now, plus you mention it's 80`s. Current widely available alps are Black and White version. while other colors are very rare now due to their production of such unique switch has been stop/axe. OR market demands aren't high, so these switch are considered as expensive due to the fact they need to be custom order. |
Aug 30 2011, 11:24 AM
ppl can u rekomend ducky or filco? i need a keyboard tat can last for 5 years oso less shining
Aug 30 2011, 12:15 PM
6,774 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 12:24 PM) FILCO seems to be a better bet as most of it's owners almost had no comments/whines on it apart from the wear of keycaps.Some ppl having problems with Ducky and some dont. Ducky is cheaper and offer more features though. |
Aug 30 2011, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 30 2011, 12:15 PM) FILCO seems to be a better bet as most of it's owners almost had no comments/whines on it apart from the wear of keycaps. yeah tats y im so pening right now, yes ducky is built with more low cost part but with many features unlike the filco which got the quality but with standard features. afaik filco is come from japan and ducky were from taiwan/china, so i think mybe filco can last long as japan always make a good product.Some ppl having problems with Ducky and some dont. Ducky is cheaper and offer more features though. |
Aug 30 2011, 01:06 PM
2,021 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 11:24 AM) Why not include Leopold into the option? Flip a few pages back and you can see squarebox's review on the Leopold keyboard. Based on his remark, the build can rival the almighty Filco. PS: last time i think i saw someone wrote that the designer of the leopold is the one that designed the FILCO. |
Aug 30 2011, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(rurushu @ Aug 30 2011, 01:06 PM) Why not include Leopold into the option? Flip a few pages back and you can see squarebox's review on the Leopold keyboard. Based on his remark, the build can rival the almighty Filco. hmm quite interesting, desing compact good for space. but i dun like the 'enter' key, small one, prefer the old skool 'enter' key which larger like the steelseries7g.PS: last time i think i saw someone wrote that the designer of the leopold is the one that designed the FILCO. |
Aug 30 2011, 01:42 PM
2,021 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 01:32 PM) hmm quite interesting, desing compact good for space. but i dun like the 'enter' key, small one, prefer the old skool 'enter' key which larger like the steelseries7g. The "long" enter key is the US ANSI layoutThe "big L shaped" enter key in 7G is the "Big Ass" (Big Asian) The "I shaped" enter key found in some Japanese Layout is the "ISO" PS: all infos are lurked from geekhack |
Aug 30 2011, 02:32 PM
1,203 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: 192.168.1.1 |
QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 01:32 PM) hmm quite interesting, desing compact good for space. but i dun like the 'enter' key, small one, prefer the old skool 'enter' key which larger like the steelseries7g. If you want the Large "enter", I don't think Filco had this layout. Properly Ducky is your choice now. |
Aug 30 2011, 03:09 PM
Get the PLUM G3000
Those are ones with the reverse L shape enter key |
Aug 30 2011, 07:39 PM
2,150 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
I'm thinking of getting the Xarmor mech keyboard. Specifically the blue switch one but I am worried about its durability. Anyone here have used one before can give some comments on the keyboard?
Aug 30 2011, 07:41 PM
1,203 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: 192.168.1.1 |
QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Aug 30 2011, 07:39 PM) I'm thinking of getting the Xarmor mech keyboard. Specifically the blue switch one but I am worried about its durability. Anyone here have used one before can give some comments on the keyboard? Why do you get Xarmor mech? Because of backlighting? If yes, may consider Ducky 9008 Shine |
Aug 30 2011, 07:43 PM
1,314 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, KL |
QUOTE(ooiwbng @ Aug 2 2011, 11:39 PM) Guys, I've received my keyboard..XARMOR U9BL-S GreenSamurai, i see you first time posting here, so please do search before posting anything.Initial views Firstly, the packaging has a very premium feeling. You get a black box with paper latches which is covered by a slide out info sheet. You get all the info about the keyboard outside. Even though this keyboard is priced significantly higher than the Razer BWU, the inside packaging is not as good but not to be underestimated as everything is packed tightly to ensure safety of the keyboard and its accessories. Removing everything was fairly easy until you lift the keyboard. It's not easy lifting this keyboard with one hand as it is heavy. What comes with the keyboard? You get a nice rubber coated arm wrest which I personally can't enjoy due the limited real estate on my desk. More on the arm wrest later. You also get a plastic keycap puller and 4 non-lettered orange key caps to replace the 'essential' WASD or directional caps. Coming prefixed to the PS/2 cable, is the PS/2 to USB adapter which you can remove to enjoyed N-RKO to its fullest. Less crap, More keyboard When I first laid hands on the keyboard, the smoothness of the rubber coating caught my attention. It enhances grip as advertised -by me- as well as preventing stains. The keyboard comes with MBTF 50 million actuations. Along with 4 brightness levels, you can choose from dim to bright 'bright'. Initially, I bottomed out on every key press but now I'm slowly beginning to enjoy the mechanical side of the keyboard. Brown Cherry MX for this variant. There's no click but if you bottom out, a loud 'thuck' awaits you. Not annoying though...Hitting hard on rubber-domes do Regarding the arm wrest, it's a pure waste that I don't get to enjoy it. In fact, my wrists suffer without it due the the height of the keyboard. Installing the arm wrest is easy but removing it is hard as you can't press both sides at the same time to easy the process. My advice is to not install the arm wrest unless you really want(need) it. The angle is sufficient with legs extended. Back-lighting is good but for the media keys which lie from F1 to F6 are dimly lit as the LED is position on top of the switch and the media engravings are below the F keys. One thing about the spacebar. No squeaks as reported by some users and the back-lighting for the keyboard is actually cool as the led is in the middle which the engraving is a long line so the brightness goes down evenly in both sides. Pictures » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Feel free to ask me any question. Will upload pics of back-light if requested P/S. TS, please add my nick to the front page for XARMOR U9BL-S |
Aug 30 2011, 07:50 PM
2,150 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(zandara @ Aug 30 2011, 07:41 PM) Yea one of the reason is because of backlighting. I did consider Shine but the one storm is selling is brown switch and I don't think I want to get that switch on a mech keyboard. At least not for my first mech keyboard. |
Aug 30 2011, 07:59 PM
277 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 01:01 PM) yeah tats y im so pening right now, yes ducky is built with more low cost part but with many features unlike the filco which got the quality but with standard features. afaik filco is come from japan and ducky were from taiwan/china, so i think mybe filco can last long as japan always make a good product. There's no keyboard that wont be shiny after 5 years of usage.After owning so many mechanical keyboards, I would strongly recommend Filco, Leopold and Cherry. These brands have been renown for their quality and they will serve you well for more than just 5 years. QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 01:32 PM) hmm quite interesting, desing compact good for space. but i dun like the 'enter' key, small one, prefer the old skool 'enter' key which larger like the steelseries7g. This "Enter" ?![]() This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 30 2011, 08:43 PM |
Aug 30 2011, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(Squarebox @ Aug 30 2011, 07:59 PM) There's no keyboard that wont be shiny after 5 years of usage. yeah like tis one, and another reverse 'L' shape on SS 7g. hmm i tink will lookin forward for filco coz more ppl rekomen it. but still filco and ducky are manufactured by the same company right which costar?After owning so many mechanical keyboards, I would strongly recommend Filco, Leopold and Cherry. These brands have been renown for their quality and they will serve you well for more than just 5 years. This "Enter" ? ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0388sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:21 PM |