277 posts

My geekhack keys have arrived

Squarebox
post Jul 7 2011, 02:59 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Jul 7 2011, 01:36 AM)
How much were they?
They cost USD$1.5 and above.
And the waiting time is 4month and longer...

Best part is that they are double-shots smile.gif
Squarebox
post Aug 14 2011, 12:12 PM

277 posts

Squarebox
post Aug 14 2011, 09:53 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 14 2011, 12:19 PM)
Dayum, blue black plate for cherry blues.
Looks like leopold style keycaps? Another project but them Koreans?
It's a new keyboard in market smile.gif
Squarebox
post Aug 16 2011, 03:18 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Aug 15 2011, 02:05 PM)
Awww no NKRO. Would like to see a NKRO version of it.
It's new. Don't expect it to be here anytime soon. Only way is to bringing in yourself.
It has nkro smile.gif
Squarebox
post Aug 17 2011, 01:39 PM

277 posts

More poison!!!

Squarebox
post Aug 17 2011, 04:44 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 17 2011, 02:04 PM)
Mionix?
Their KB is a reworked version of Thermaltake Meka series.
And from what experience i got from TT Meka... they are somehow below medium.

well, just my 2cents..
Thermaltake Meka and Meka G1 are 2 very different keyboards.
Indeed Mionix Zibal is a blinged-up Meka G1, so they will tend to have the same pros and cons.

At least they are better that Ducky
Squarebox
post Aug 17 2011, 07:04 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 17 2011, 05:25 PM)
@squarebox, Why post pics that are so big
The TT Meka and the WASD keyboard is the same. Reviews said it was alright.
Sorry about the picture size, I'll resize them in future.
I didn't say it is bad, I'm just say they are the same and will have the same pros and cons.

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 17 2011, 06:22 PM)
Nope. Meka or G1 are in same category.

Meka = Tenkeyless
Meka G1 = 104 Keys.

TT had once send them to me to try before. End up bad experience with funny reasons.

btw, mind to elaborate why they are better than ducky? blink.gif
If you've done your research properly, you would have known that the Meka and Meka G1 are worlds apart because they are from different OEM. I'm not allow to announce who the OEM for G1, Zibal and WASDkeyboards but I can say the Meka is from IONE who is notorious for poor QC, thus, the Meka was stopped and G1 was introduced to replace it.

Ducky have QC problems which they refuse to fix or acknowledge.
Firstly is the badly misalign key cutouts as shown in the picture above. It's present all over the keyboard but some more obvious than others.
Secondly is the shell casing is poorly design with lots of creaks. I have tested almost all mechanical keyboards in the market and only Ducky have this. I'm very thorough with QC.

Thirdly, the only brands I have be requested to fix is Ducky(1 week old set) and Steelseries(3years old set). I have yet to encounter problem from other brands.

My mechancial keyboard experience:
- Access POS keyboard
- Cherry G80-3494
- Cherry G80-8113
- Cherry G80-1950
- Cherry G80-11900
- Ducky 1087
- Ducky 9008
- Filco Majestouch - 104
- Filco Linear-R - 104
- Filco Majestouch 2 - 87
- Goldtouch mechanical numpad
- Mionix Zibal
- Noppoo Choc Mini
- Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
- Siig minitouch
- Steelseries 6Gv2
- Topre 87U Silent
- Unbranded mechanical numpad

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 17 2011, 09:08 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 17 2011, 10:35 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 17 2011, 09:33 PM)
Topre 87U Silent, do they worth everyone penny it cost? hmm.gif
BTW, nice mask. whistling.gif
Topre are definitely worth the money if you type the "proper" way. It's a enjoyable keyboard to use. Unfortunately, I have a odd way of typing so Topre aren't good for me.

Topre 87U Silent are really really quiet. They are quieter than rubber-domes and any Cherry switches.

There are a few all 55g version which are too stiff and too close to what you get from the average rubber-dome keyboard.
There is also an all 30g version which only comes in Japanese layout.

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 17 2011, 10:36 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 17 2011, 11:45 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 17 2011, 10:52 PM)
Well, honestly i am not enthusiast in any of the meca keyboards. So, i have no idea about it.
I've reopen the archived email TT sent me. And yes i had to admit i remember the wrong info.

And yet, i never doubt anything about your "expertise" in mecha keyboard industry. no need to showoff
I'm no business expert but at least I know that if you are selling something, you must at least know your product and the competition well. Imagine a customer ask a question about your product and you cant answer, won't it look very bad?

I'm not showing off but rather remarking on your ignorance to research.

Would you like you spend RM$300 just to find out you wasted your hard-earned $$ on a crap?
I posting here to that I can help others to make a wise decision and conserve their $$.
I believe RM$300 is alot to most people in Malaysia and spending wisely is very important don't you think?

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 17 2011, 11:46 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 18 2011, 03:50 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 18 2011, 11:09 AM)
Can I visit to your house haha!
Sure but it's in Singapore.

QUOTE(THEswordmaster @ Aug 18 2011, 11:55 AM)
Wow.... so which 1 is your favorite keyboard? biggrin.gif
Filco is my favourite and Cherry are close behind.

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 18 2011, 01:23 PM)
Model M's are excellent anti theft devices.
No thief is gonna take it, and it is also perfect if you need something for self defense.
That reminds me that I have a old and dirty IBM Spacesaver which I loaned to a friend smile.gif
Need to spend alot of time refurbishing it...

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 18 2011, 07:37 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 22 2011, 01:32 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 22 2011, 01:21 PM)
Yes. It is easy to remove and remount once you are used to it. Squarebox made a video on how to do it, but not sure where that went.

Keyboards are tax free, considered as computer accessories.
Let Cyclone to comment on how he handled kastam since he did such a high value import for keyboards anyways with his leopolds.
It's still up...

Squarebox
post Aug 25 2011, 11:35 AM

277 posts

I got a taste of Leopold FC500R, ALL THANKS TO SUPERMINT from VR-Forums

Pros:
- Solid build quality that can rival the almighty Filco
- Uses Cherry Stabilizer which makes it easy for keycaps changes
- Very good and grippy rubber feet
- Well-designed and implemented cable system

Neutral:
- Cherry Stabilizer changes the feel of the MX switch
- The LED cover is just a sticker (some will feel it's the classic styling but others will feel it's cheap)

Cons:
- Lasered keycaps which will stain and discolour like the Steelseries keyboards
- The height-raising feet strangely do not have rubber feet

Rating : (8/10)

Leopold clearly deserves to the High-End Mechanical Keyboard sticker.

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 25 2011, 11:35 AM
Squarebox
post Aug 25 2011, 01:52 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 25 2011, 12:24 PM)
@Squarebox

Wondering what camera u used to capture those shots.. Amazingly Bokeh xD

I like how the leopald looks, no joke and minimalist, not like those keyboard with waste edge space
I use a Nikon D5100. I'm glad you enjoy the pictures.

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 25 2011, 12:42 PM)
Thats how Ducky/FILCO/CM storm/PLU/Noppoo/POKER etc are designed
@ squarebox, is this going to feature in your collection or just a 'review' unit?
It belongs to another user on VR-Forums which he purchase from Australia. I will be purchasing one soon as it will hit Singapore retail in about a week time.

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 25 2011, 01:53 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 30 2011, 07:59 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 01:01 PM)
yeah tats y im so pening right now, yes ducky is built with more low cost part but with many features unlike the filco which got the quality but with standard features. afaik filco is come from japan and ducky were from taiwan/china, so i think mybe filco can last long as japan always make a good product.
There's no keyboard that wont be shiny after 5 years of usage.
After owning so many mechanical keyboards, I would strongly recommend Filco, Leopold and Cherry.
These brands have been renown for their quality and they will serve you well for more than just 5 years.

QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 01:32 PM)
hmm quite interesting, desing compact good for space. but i dun like the 'enter' key, small one, prefer the old skool 'enter' key which larger like the steelseries7g.
This "Enter" ?

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 30 2011, 08:43 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 30 2011, 09:09 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 09:05 PM)
yeah like tis one, and another reverse 'L' shape on SS 7g. hmm i tink will lookin forward for filco coz more ppl rekomen it. but still filco and ducky are manufactured by the same company right which costar?
Nope. Filco is made by Costar and Ducky is made by Ducky.
Squarebox
post Aug 30 2011, 09:32 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Aug 30 2011, 09:12 PM)
if i not mistaken, ducky is from taiwan right. actually a little blur who manufacturing it but at certain forum they say ducky is manufactured by Datacomp...
Filco is designed in Japan but manufactured in Taiwan.
Ducky is believe to be designed and manufactured in Taiwan.
Most mechanical keyboard are manufactured in Taiwan or China.
Cherry keyboards on the other hand is manufactured in several places; Germany, Czech Republic and China.

I have mechanical numpads which are OEM from Datacomp and they have much better QC than Ducky. I highly doubt Ducky is OEM from Datacomp but I may be wrong.

This post has been edited by Squarebox: Aug 30 2011, 10:16 PM
Squarebox
post Aug 30 2011, 09:40 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 30 2011, 09:35 PM)
I'm in Singapore now, getting my second Ducky tomorrow.. Any Filco to have a look? Or any other good keyboard?
Be sure to drop by Funan DigitaLife Mall. There's a shop that have rarer/older Filcos.

C H Computer Pte Ltd

109 North Bridge Road
#05-04 Funan Digitamall
Singapore 179097

Phone: +65 6837 0886 Fax: +65 6837 0884
Mon - Sat: 11:00 am - 7:30 pm
Squarebox
post Aug 30 2011, 11:00 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Aug 30 2011, 10:43 PM)
any backlit mkb other than ducky shine ?  hmm.gif

razer dont want la. its famous for " send back to hospital " wan doh.gif
There's also Mionix Zibal and Cooler Master Storm Trigger.
Squarebox
post Aug 31 2011, 12:31 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Aug 30 2011, 11:50 PM)
Erm... Filco got... the US ASCII layout is that type of "enter" key....
May i ask what is meant by "shiny"? I try look at the pics by Ripster in GH but i cant see the difference....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Here's a picture of my 1 year old filco with some mildy shiny keys

"Shiny" can be easily described as smooth/oily spots on the key. Most common examples are used rubberdome keyboards.
Cheap rubberdome shine very easily.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0238sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:07 AM