126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

SRLee
post Jul 3 2011, 03:08 PM

437 posts

Question 1

Hey everyone, my laptop came with 2 cables that can be used to charge my laptop. These are cables that are plugged into the power brick and power point. Which should I use?

1. Looks like this: user posted image

2. The other one that has a straight head.

Question 2

Will I get warranty for my RAM and Beats Solo headphones? Should I send the warranty cards?

Question 3

Where to find my purchase receipt/invoice for this laptop?

This post has been edited by SRLee: Jul 3 2011, 04:14 PM
SUSngkhanmein
post Jul 3 2011, 03:17 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

this 1 is old plug but is safer to use & it will eat more consume power!

This post has been edited by ngkhanmein: Jul 3 2011, 03:17 PM
joonwei23
post Jul 3 2011, 04:23 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Jul 3 2011, 12:31 PM)
Rm 3699 with beats. =)
Is the left lower end always warm to touch?
yes it is. unless you're on your HD3000 and with cool sense set to coldest I guess. tongue.gif
bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 05:12 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Jul 3 2011, 10:00 AM)
Hello , nufag here =p any thing i should do on my new machine except on the first post ?
Hi! Zhao,

MIne was Rm3099 + rm70 for extra 4gb ram +rm120 for carepack+the hp sling bag. ->so good price, is it possible to give me/pm me the sales man name, so I can get this good price as well. smile.gif

6001tx is recommended -> I agree with with you too, advantage -> manual switch vs blue ray eg. never use blue ray disc b4 even it release long. haha..

And i was told to fax the carepack form and receipt form to hp after 3days---> So they are using fax

Care pack 3years mean 1year original given warranty + 2year additional . Rm120 for mine. --> so cheap for extra 2 yrs. I check hp malaysia online shop, 3 day response onsite for RM 3yrs for $.299. Difficult decision here, extra 3 years onsite vs extra 2 yr offsite for another RM179 more . Note: Have to call Hp tomorrow to check whether onsite service available in Kuching. In Kuching, hard to find anything, ran around the city and could not even find 1 hp 6001tx display unit, only brochure.. lol. KL got everything but traffic JAM JAM JAM.

And the laptop bag come with is Targus or Hp brand? Hp brand ---> got it. Thanks.

For my Knowledge, the first page covers almost everything. Made recovery disk, repartition uninstall bloat ware, windows update, drive update and repartition your drive the way u like.

Thank you again for replying Zhao.

QUOTE(Momojii @ Jul 3 2011, 11:10 AM)
Btw do they have beats earphone =) if you buy at mobility square? Like it won't be too pricy even with beats.
If come with beat Solo.need extra RM500-->RM3699. I may play with the headphone for 1 to 2 days... haha (I bought a wireless head phone previously, and use it for 2 or 3 times for tv. Nowadays, I dont even know where I keep it. And I am not comfortable with selling thing in ebay or amazon.

The online promotion is much better deal, but only 6114 available, and I don't want to complain everyday why I pick 6114 instead of 6001 even though I know the graphic switch problem. I use open office instead of microsoft office. Hard disk may be good. But the finally price with extra warranty may be near RM4k. ( if purchanse online, still can ger rm120 for extra 2 yr warranty from mobility square?) I just want to get a good price laptop to replace my asus N61jq which is having heat issue shutting down itself even though I am only downloading and playing flash game. LOL.

Thanks for reply. Zhao and Momojii.

Have fun with u new toy Dv6... smile.gif

By the way, do they have extra charge for credit card payment in Mobility Square?

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Jul 3 2011, 05:22 PM
j-insigh
post Jul 3 2011, 05:30 PM

329 posts

acid,
how often you do the optimization using the cmd code u gave?
joonwei23
post Jul 3 2011, 05:59 PM

1,019 posts

guys any free anti virus to recommend ?
avg seems pretty slow and suckish.
oh and i heard that instead of anti virus, some windows thingy is sufficient ?
any ideas ?
akash3656
post Jul 3 2011, 06:05 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Jul 3 2011, 05:59 PM)
any ideas ?
Avast fee or Microsoft Security Essentials.... I ditched AVG LONG time ago... (like 6 years ago) At that time it was version 8.....
joonwei23
post Jul 3 2011, 06:16 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ Jul 3 2011, 06:05 PM)
Avast fee or Microsoft Security Essentials.... I ditched AVG LONG time ago... (like 6 years ago) At that time it was version 8.....
downloading mse. will try it out and see. thanks smile.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Jul 3 2011, 06:19 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(j-insigh @ Jul 3 2011, 05:30 PM)
acid,
how often you do the optimization using the cmd code u gave?
I ran it once a month.
akash3656
post Jul 3 2011, 06:41 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Jul 3 2011, 06:16 PM)
downloading mse. will try it out and see. thanks smile.gif
Make sure you run Norton Removal tool and AVG removal tool.....
.:zaxiao:.
post Jul 3 2011, 06:47 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(bbs3322 @ Jul 3 2011, 05:12 PM)
Hi! Zhao,

MIne was Rm3099 + rm70 for extra 4gb ram +rm120 for carepack+the hp sling bag.  ->so good price, is it possible to give me/pm me  the sales man name, so I can get this good price as well. smile.gif

6001tx is recommended -> I agree with with you too, advantage -> manual switch vs blue ray eg. never use blue ray disc b4 even it release long. haha..
And i was told to fax the carepack form and receipt form to hp after 3days---> So they are using fax
Care pack 3years mean 1year original given warranty  + 2year additional . Rm120 for mine. --> so cheap for extra 2 yrs. I check hp malaysia online shop, 3 day response  onsite for RM 3yrs for $.299. Difficult decision here, extra 3 years onsite vs extra 2 yr offsite for another RM179 more . Note: Have to call Hp tomorrow to check whether onsite service available in Kuching. In Kuching, hard to find anything, ran around the city and could not even find 1 hp 6001tx display unit, only brochure.. lol. KL got everything but traffic JAM JAM JAM.
And the laptop  bag come with is Targus or Hp brand? Hp brand ---> got it. Thanks.
For my Knowledge, the first page covers almost everything. Made recovery disk, repartition uninstall bloat ware, windows update, drive update and repartition your drive the way u like.

Thank you again for replying Zhao.
If come with beat Solo.need extra RM500-->RM3699.  I may play with the headphone for 1 to 2 days... haha   (I bought a wireless head phone previously, and use it for 2 or 3 times for tv. Nowadays, I dont even know where I keep it. And I am not comfortable with selling thing in ebay or amazon.

The online promotion is much better deal, but only 6114 available, and I don't want to complain everyday why I pick 6114 instead of 6001 even though I know the graphic switch problem. I use open office instead of microsoft office. Hard disk may be good. But the finally price with extra warranty may be near RM4k. ( if purchanse online, still can ger rm120 for extra 2 yr warranty from mobility square?) I just want to get a good price laptop to replace my asus N61jq which is having heat issue shutting down itself even though  I am only downloading and playing  flash game. LOL.
Thanks for reply. Zhao and Momojii.

Have fun with u new toy Dv6... smile.gif
By the way, do they have extra charge for credit card payment in Mobility Square?
I have no idea about the seller name. He is the manager of pj it mall branch (mobilitysquare)
U must purchase the laptop from mobility square only you are entittle for the rm120 carepack.
Most visa credit card is free from extra charges except american expresscard .

any ideas ?
I need a recommendation tooo smile.gif

About repartitioning, if I partion ea into 250 gb , will the previous installed stuff removed?

Thanks for the info bout the cool sense + hd3000 . Hahaha will us that during web browsing.

Opps accidentally used my fren acc to reply (zhao)"s comment. zhao here

This post has been edited by .:zaxiao:.: Jul 3 2011, 06:49 PM
bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 07:38 PM

107 posts

any ideas ?

My wife use avast, i did not hear any complain from her, presume its ok.

xXBraskaXx
post Jul 3 2011, 07:58 PM

29 posts

Those looking for free version of anti virus, just go for Microsoft Security Essential...

I personally got Norton 360 installed, and everything is good without slowdown ~
mfa333
post Jul 3 2011, 08:12 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(reevephon @ Jul 2 2011, 04:40 PM)
Good, waiting the news from you whether the DVD recovery works with the the SSD with all the drivers and applications installed.
Sorry for late reply. I totally forgot to update about this.

Yes, recovery DVD works on new HDD/SSD. I changed my stock HDD to 160gb intel SSD, ran recovery dvd and choose factory reset. The recovery completely formatted my ssd and installed everything including made a partition for recovery on the new ssd. The laptop is as newly bought dv6 after the process..

With ssd, everything seems instantaneous when i do anything.. thumbup.gif

Post-recovery pictar..
powerpack240v
post Jul 3 2011, 08:21 PM

For the anivirus, I use Avira on 8 of my computers at home. It is damn good. Can even make it ignore certain files which you know give a false positive.

And you can even make it start only after windows starts so your boot time is faster.
Dackson
post Jul 3 2011, 08:28 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jul 3 2011, 08:12 PM)
Yes, recovery DVD works on new HDD/SSD. I changed my stock HDD to 160gb intel SSD, ran recovery dvd and choose factory reset. The recovery completely formatted my ssd and installed everything including made a partition for recovery on the new ssd. The laptop is as newly bought dv6 after the process..

Post-recovery pictar..
Congratulation ^.^ So, window ill auto detect driver and replay it? in other word, bios will let those software know that this my hardware. You should know how to do it, recovery software ^.^ Recovery software will ask SSD from Mr.BIOS, oh~ you hving 160Gb, can borrow me 10Gb to me ? laugh.gif
how much is 160Gb SSD ?? want to sell ur HDD ??

Added on July 3, 2011, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(bbs3322 @ Jul 3 2011, 07:38 PM)
any ideas ?

My wife use avast, i did not hear any complain from her, presume its ok.
Antimalware Byte, Immunate, Returnil Virtual System, MSE, 360, Kaspersky Virus Removal Tool~

Added on July 3, 2011, 8:32 pm
QUOTE(powerpack240v @ Jul 3 2011, 08:21 PM)
For the anivirus, I use Avira on 8 of my computers at home. It is damn good. Can even make it ignore certain files which you know give a false positive.

And you can even make it start only after windows starts so your boot time is faster.
Avira good on throjan ^.^

This post has been edited by Dackson: Jul 3 2011, 08:32 PM
xXBraskaXx
post Jul 3 2011, 08:49 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jul 3 2011, 08:12 PM)

Post-recovery pictar..
Mind to share your Windows Experience Index (WEI) score? brows.gif

This post has been edited by xXBraskaXx: Jul 3 2011, 08:50 PM
bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 08:54 PM

107 posts

Hi! mfa333

So factory reset will reformat the whole drive. Is there other option in the recovery dvd which only reformat the system drive but not the data drive we created ourself.
mfa333
post Jul 3 2011, 09:07 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jul 3 2011, 08:28 PM)
Congratulation  ^.^ So, window ill auto detect driver and replay it? in other word, bios will let those software know that this my hardware. You should know how to do it, recovery software ^.^ Recovery software will ask SSD from Mr.BIOS, oh~ you hving 160Gb, can borrow me 10Gb to me ?  laugh.gif
how much is 160Gb SSD ?? want to sell ur HDD ??
hahaha yup, it seems that way.. i'm not sure the actual price because i bundle everything and let my uni pay.. brows.gif
sorry, not selling the original hdd.. just in case the laptop need to be send for warranty, i have to switch back to original hdd.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(xXBraskaXx @ Jul 3 2011, 08:49 PM)
Mind to share your Windows Experience Index (WEI) score?  brows.gif
i don't think it will affect wei much.. but i will do it later.. right now i have to install lots of software for my research purpose..

QUOTE(bbs3322 @ Jul 3 2011, 08:54 PM)
Hi! mfa333

So  factory reset will reformat the whole drive. Is there other option in the recovery dvd which only reformat the system drive but not the data drive we created ourself.
yes it will completely format the whole hdd. but i think if recovery partition already existed in your hdd, you can choose the 2nd option on the recovery menu.

Added on July 3, 2011, 9:08 pmoh ya.. how to change hdd mode to AHCI? and what is the shortkey to enable/disable beats audio?

This post has been edited by mfa333: Jul 3 2011, 09:08 PM
bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 09:31 PM

107 posts

Thanks for u reply, mfa333, ohh that's good, so we can keep personal file safely when we format. .

One more thing, i would like to double confirm, for 6001tx model, do they have a usb2/esata hydrid port. Now almost all laptop come with this option, it would be weird if it does not have. USB3 speed still not as good as esata when transferring many gigs of files.

126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:09 PM