HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

bbs3322
post Jul 1 2011, 07:21 PM

107 posts

Hi! Acid_RuleZz and anyone who may know the answer, please help me out. I am interest in the 6001 tx or 6114 tx. After reading u long post, I am still a little bit confuse, please help me to clarify the following points. It is quite a long post as well, please bear with me. Thank you.

1) For 6114- have auto switch problem, u can't pick which video card to use, unless amd or hp release new driver.

2) 6001 tx (the one u r having) can manual pick using which card u like.

3)6114 tx - some open gl programs are not supported on amd card, only can run on intel card.

The confusion i am having here, Whether it is the amd 6770 itself not supporting some open gl programs, or due to switching problem.

In another word, If hp or amd release a patch fixing up the auto switch problem in future. Will amd 6770 be able to support those open gl programs which are not working at the moment or the same result, those open gl still remain not working on amd card after new patch release.

4)For 6001 tx - Are those problematic open gl program working on your amd card or same as 6114tx, only work on intel card.

5) Regarding about the restoration partition which can restore our laptop to factory default. If I repartition the hard drive into c: system 130 gig, and the rest into D: data. (I will leave those hidden restoration partition or Hp tools partition alone)

whenI restore, will it work similar to a dell laptop, let us pick which partition to restore windows, example the c: system and would not affect the D: data. Or it will change the Whole hard disk partition structure back into something like it just first arrive and causing loss of data in D: data drive.
(I restore my laptop every 2 month, using windows disk to retore take long time.)

7) if I change my hard drive to seagate hybrid xt, Is there a good and effective way to clone or image the hp hard divre including the hidden restoration partition, so I can still use it when I want to restore my new drive. Previously, I use true image to clone or image the dell hard drive to new one. It worked for a month or more, then suddenly become unable to boot, I had to transfer file out and reinstall windows again, quite troublesome. (happened a few times)

6)In conclusion. So the difference between 6001 tx and 6114 tx are cpu, size of gpu ram, 16gig(6114 tx) and 8 gig(6001 tx) ram support, touch pad feel and blue ray on 6114 tx. Both have esata and vga port? Am I right?

8) Regarding about the heat issue and ventilation, will this notebook last if i let it on without switching off for few months to 1 yr. My asus N61jq auto shutdown appearing in less than a year, over heating. But my old dell 9300 last for 4 yr without major problem except change 2 fans. 17" have bette ventilation??

9) They both comes with 1 yr carry in support right?. If I purchase the HP 3 Year Onsite Support with 3-day Response for HP brand/Presario/Pavilion Notebook[UA059E] online which is Rm.299, so first yr will be carryin and other 3 yr will be onsite. Am I right?

Is Hp on site warranty similar to dell? call up, tell them problem, and they will arrive onsite and fix up the problem within 3 day. ( I have no experience with Hp?) The asus pick up warranty recently release look quite troublesome, have to email them, describe the problem, which store u purchase from , print the pick up tag and wait for pick up.

That's it. Sorry for the long post. Really having a hard time picking which one to buy.

Thank you.
bbs3322
post Jul 2 2011, 05:11 AM

107 posts

Acid_RuleZz, thanks for the reply.

I will do some more research and call up hp to check.

Thank you.

bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 09:05 AM

107 posts

Hi! Sifus, I check with mobility square in lowyat today for 6001tx and 6114tx. They quote me $3199 for 8gig ram, computer bag and may be ...an optical mouse. Both models are same price. In your opinion, is this price ok or still can negotiate lower or more free stuff? tongue.gif

Which model do u guys most recommend?

From the first page, I notices a lot of ppls bought from mobility square, is this computer shop service and reputation good? Because I am not staying in KL, and have to aski my friend to buy it for me and bring it to Kuching. I don't want to end up getting a display unit or faulty one.

By the way, how u guys register u computer warrant? online right? The mobility square guy told me that they can do it at the shop by filling certain form, is it the normal way of register for people buying there?

The care pack u people mostly bought are 3 yrs one right? how much?

And the laptop bag come with is Targus or Hp brand?

Hope to hear opinion from you expert people soon.
Need to make decision by Monday noon.

Thanks in advance. smile.gif

bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 05:12 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Jul 3 2011, 10:00 AM)
Hello , nufag here =p any thing i should do on my new machine except on the first post ?
Hi! Zhao,

MIne was Rm3099 + rm70 for extra 4gb ram +rm120 for carepack+the hp sling bag. ->so good price, is it possible to give me/pm me the sales man name, so I can get this good price as well. smile.gif

6001tx is recommended -> I agree with with you too, advantage -> manual switch vs blue ray eg. never use blue ray disc b4 even it release long. haha..

And i was told to fax the carepack form and receipt form to hp after 3days---> So they are using fax

Care pack 3years mean 1year original given warranty + 2year additional . Rm120 for mine. --> so cheap for extra 2 yrs. I check hp malaysia online shop, 3 day response onsite for RM 3yrs for $.299. Difficult decision here, extra 3 years onsite vs extra 2 yr offsite for another RM179 more . Note: Have to call Hp tomorrow to check whether onsite service available in Kuching. In Kuching, hard to find anything, ran around the city and could not even find 1 hp 6001tx display unit, only brochure.. lol. KL got everything but traffic JAM JAM JAM.

And the laptop bag come with is Targus or Hp brand? Hp brand ---> got it. Thanks.

For my Knowledge, the first page covers almost everything. Made recovery disk, repartition uninstall bloat ware, windows update, drive update and repartition your drive the way u like.

Thank you again for replying Zhao.

QUOTE(Momojii @ Jul 3 2011, 11:10 AM)
Btw do they have beats earphone =) if you buy at mobility square? Like it won't be too pricy even with beats.
If come with beat Solo.need extra RM500-->RM3699. I may play with the headphone for 1 to 2 days... haha (I bought a wireless head phone previously, and use it for 2 or 3 times for tv. Nowadays, I dont even know where I keep it. And I am not comfortable with selling thing in ebay or amazon.

The online promotion is much better deal, but only 6114 available, and I don't want to complain everyday why I pick 6114 instead of 6001 even though I know the graphic switch problem. I use open office instead of microsoft office. Hard disk may be good. But the finally price with extra warranty may be near RM4k. ( if purchanse online, still can ger rm120 for extra 2 yr warranty from mobility square?) I just want to get a good price laptop to replace my asus N61jq which is having heat issue shutting down itself even though I am only downloading and playing flash game. LOL.

Thanks for reply. Zhao and Momojii.

Have fun with u new toy Dv6... smile.gif

By the way, do they have extra charge for credit card payment in Mobility Square?

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Jul 3 2011, 05:22 PM
bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 07:38 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Jul 3 2011, 05:59 PM)
guys any free anti virus to recommend ?
avg seems pretty slow and suckish.
oh and i heard that instead of anti virus, some windows thingy is sufficient ?
any ideas ?

My wife use avast, i did not hear any complain from her, presume its ok.

bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 08:54 PM

107 posts

Hi! mfa333

So factory reset will reformat the whole drive. Is there other option in the recovery dvd which only reformat the system drive but not the data drive we created ourself.
bbs3322
post Jul 3 2011, 09:31 PM

107 posts

Thanks for u reply, mfa333, ohh that's good, so we can keep personal file safely when we format. .

One more thing, i would like to double confirm, for 6001tx model, do they have a usb2/esata hydrid port. Now almost all laptop come with this option, it would be weird if it does not have. USB3 speed still not as good as esata when transferring many gigs of files.
bbs3322
post Jul 7 2011, 09:02 AM

107 posts

Hi Sifus!! Can help me to do a test on internet download manager? check whether it is working fine in hp 6001tx.

I bought dell vostro 3750 for my wife last month, just found out idm having problem with it, like tray icon on lower right not appearing, idm interface wont show up after clicking idm, very bugging.

I don't know whether it is dell or sandy bridge design fault, please help me to check out. Thank you.

Don't want to have headache after jump into hp.

tongue.gif
bbs3322
post Jul 7 2011, 09:40 AM

107 posts

Hi, sendoh_7, Thanks for your reply. Yes I agree with you regarding idm,
It should not have happen. I used it for almost 5 to 6 yrs, not encounter any problem with all laptop, pentium, due core, i7-740.

Due to my asus having heat problem, I formated it and installed dell with programs same as asus, even same version. (I kept the downloaded program for future use, did not delete them) That's why I am confuse now, dont know what is happening, windows update, or dell software ??

By the way, when I re-installing idm, I noticed 1 time, it stated incompatiblity regarding amd64. I google it, do not undestand.

And idea? bro.

bbs3322
post Jul 7 2011, 04:35 PM

107 posts

Hi bros,

It is the N61jq, bought in Singapore pc fair last year. But I seldom turn it off. May be 1 hour rest for 3 weeks. haha.. I thought asus famous for gaming, should be good with heat? Now, it shut dow when I play flash game and downloading same time. And I am using cooler master x and air con. lol

I am looking for a replacement, 6001tx is one of them, but dun know it will handle well. I only play strategy games like king bounty, hom&m but no 3d type. and heavy downloading. Malaysia internet too sloww..

Btw, sifus, any of u know about singapore hp model 6003tx and 6009tx, are they same as 6001tx and using manual switch? Is DV7 coming to malaysia? I may not going to KL but to Singapore end of this month.

*HP Pavilion dv6-6001TX price drop from RM3699 to RM3499
-> with beat solo? where?

This post has been edited by bbs3322: Jul 7 2011, 04:37 PM

0.0463sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:25 AM