HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V2, - 91 owners!! FUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!

SUSngkhanmein
post Aug 5 2011, 10:02 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

ya.. b4 that i found very irritating but now get used 2 it! actually found out my lappy r awesome, temp r good (if din click games explorer), multi-tasking also working fine + etc.. i google & found out a lot guys wanna del the Q drive.. if any brand of laptop come with office starter sure got Q drive is it???
lee_what2004
post Aug 5 2011, 10:06 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Mine don't have Q drive..
SUSngkhanmein
post Aug 5 2011, 10:12 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

u mean dell? so is it normal or not??
lee_what2004
post Aug 5 2011, 10:19 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yes, Dell. But then, I uninstalled it...
SUSngkhanmein
post Aug 5 2011, 10:24 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

ceh.. u uninstalled! i mostly use excel only so i dun care!
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Aug 5 2011, 10:54 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(RiverDrifte @ Aug 5 2011, 08:28 AM)
sad.gif i brink my 6114 when i messed up my grub loader.. acid ahh.. where r u? i need help!
Whats wrong with your grubloader?
RiverDrifte
post Aug 5 2011, 10:59 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 5 2011, 10:54 AM)
Whats wrong with your grubloader?
dual boot my win 7 with ubuntu.. hand itchy go remove partition in win 7 for the recovery. forget about the grub thing. bam.. this morning.. wake up in grub recovery. 0% knowledge on grub.. so had to reinstall the ubuntu to fix the mbr..

sweat.gif sweat.gif

taking up linux now.. sad.gif
want to give me a hand acid? smile.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Aug 5 2011, 11:05 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

Ubuntu u install in seperate partition or u used Wubi?
RiverDrifte
post Aug 5 2011, 11:20 AM

56 posts

separate partition.. and i cannot brain without startx cause i installed ubuntu server.. sweat.gif
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Aug 5 2011, 11:27 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

So now u cannot boot either windows or ubuntu? laugh.gif

Anyway you can always boot the live usb and reinstall grub. No need to reinstall Ubuntu.

This post has been edited by Acid_RuleZz: Aug 5 2011, 11:31 AM
avengers88
post Aug 5 2011, 11:27 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

Please note all Q DRIVES are from Microsoft Office The free version or what so! So just uninstall microsoft office beta and click to stg and the Q drive will disappear ! Been there done that !
RiverDrifte
post Aug 5 2011, 11:37 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 5 2011, 11:27 AM)
So now u cannot boot either windows or ubuntu? laugh.gif

Anyway you can always boot the live usb and reinstall grub. No need to reinstall Ubuntu.
Apparently my live usb by unetbootwin doesn't give me what i want and my image files are all in the window doh.gif

So i just reinstalled ubuntu again and poof.. error gone. but going to have hell playing with ubuntu server rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Side note. Acid is there anything that i should look out for to install for 6114 so linux/ubuntu can run smoothly like drivers and stuff? notworthy.gif
avengers88
post Aug 5 2011, 11:40 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

I uninstalled the Office started and the click to run thing. And yes the Q drive gone. Try rebooting after uninstalling it.
RiverDrifte
post Aug 5 2011, 11:42 AM

56 posts

SOS

Is just a virtual thing but if you find it annoying then uninstall it biggrin.gif

*I am not using it cause already have microsoft office bundle with lappie*
SUSngkhanmein
post Aug 5 2011, 11:44 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

so office gone lo?? how???
avengers88
post Aug 5 2011, 11:48 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

U dun uninstall office 2010 , u uninstall the office starter and click to run.
The Office 2010 in my laptop is still there.
TSAcid_RuleZz
post Aug 5 2011, 11:49 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(RiverDrifte @ Aug 5 2011, 11:37 AM)
Apparently my live usb by unetbootwin doesn't give me what i want and my image files are all in the window  doh.gif
So i just reinstalled ubuntu again and poof.. error gone. but going to have hell playing with ubuntu server  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Side note. Acid is there anything that i should look out for to install for 6114 so linux/ubuntu can run smoothly like drivers and stuff?  notworthy.gif
Oh...

You can try to install the proprietary driver for Radeon. I heard the latest 11.7 have BACON support. But proprietary graphic in Linux is pain in the butt to install/config. Or you can use the opensource driver and disable HD6770M with vgaswitcheroo or acpi_call command to get better battery life and less heat. thumbup.gif

Anyway.. join us at Lowyat.net-FOSS community to learn more things about Linux. icon_rolleyes.gif The link is in my siggy.
avengers88
post Aug 5 2011, 11:57 AM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

Can i have the latest links for

the new bios, display driver, intel driver and lastly amd 11.7

Plan to do it now.

Then can maybe add the 4 links together in first page, easy to see ma biggrin.gif
avengers88
post Aug 5 2011, 12:08 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

Updated my bios already, I guess, Just open the setup then for awhile it restarted then I m in my desktop screen again. Now downloading the 300mb GC driver. Where do I get the Intel driver ?
rurushu
post Aug 5 2011, 01:13 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 5 2011, 12:08 PM)
i not yet try.. i now damn  vmad.gif  mad.gif  cos opposition unable to win next election.. i wan reformation!!! change gov please.. m'sia is goin bankrupt soon.. i change all the currency to other liau for my saving..
Erm... want to change government i also agree... the custom tax alone is already pissing me off..... But i hope not PAS take over la, if not our lives = THE END....

0.0284sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:29 PM