8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Wiring guide : 3 color wire (green, blue,black), Which one neutral, live and earth

usernameINVALID
post Jun 28 2020, 08:23 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Jun 28 2020, 07:12 PM)
The wires in this image are attached correctly
Thank you

And i have a bigger problem involving possibly a fuse box and a leaky roof.
multinik
post Nov 13 2020, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(usernameINVALID @ Jun 28 2020, 05:31 PM)

Is this correct?

quick question... why does the neutral and earth has many joint wire together?. is it shared neutral?
stormer.lyn
post Nov 13 2020, 07:29 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(multinik @ Nov 13 2020, 12:25 AM)
quick question... why does the neutral and earth has many joint wire together?. is it shared neutral?
Yes
aeiou228
post Nov 18 2020, 04:39 PM

5,867 posts

Hi, anyone can identify which L and N wires goes to Load? because there is no Load marking on the switch itself. I only see only L1, L2 and L3.
The white colour wire is incoming Live from the DB and I need to find out which is the incoming N and out going L and N that goes to the Load.

PDL 20A switch

View from the bottom

View from the top
ozak
post Nov 18 2020, 07:18 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 18 2020, 04:39 PM)
Hi, anyone can identify which L and N wires goes to Load? because there is no Load marking on the switch itself. I only see only L1, L2 and L3.
The white colour wire is incoming Live from the DB and I need to find out which is the incoming N and out going L and N that goes to the Load.

PDL 20A switch

View from the bottom

View from the top
If you switch ON and the red light is ON, than the wire from DB is bottom. (2nd pic)

Cause the red light lamp attach to the TOP.

This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 18 2020, 07:19 PM
aeiou228
post Nov 19 2020, 11:07 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 18 2020, 07:18 PM)
If you switch ON and the red light is ON, than the wire from DB is bottom. (2nd pic)

Cause the red light lamp attach to the TOP.
Like this ?

Yes, the red light is lighted. So the small led wire should be connecting L (load) to N (load) right?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Nov 19 2020, 11:11 PM
ozak
post Nov 19 2020, 11:33 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 19 2020, 11:07 PM)
Like this ?

Yes, the red light is lighted. So the small led wire should be connecting L (load) to N (load) right?
yup. correct.

When switch ON, the load side have electric flow. Than will light up the light.
aeiou228
post Nov 26 2020, 11:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 19 2020, 11:33 PM)
yup. correct.

When switch ON, the load side have electric flow. Than will light up the light.
Thank you sifu,

Successfully replace the switch as per your guidance. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
williamchiew
post Dec 10 2020, 05:59 PM

15 posts

Hi all,

I have a noob questions to ask for help. I'm trying to figure out whether I can loop a power point for use like laptop or charge phone from existing light switch.

Is that possible to add that? Or still need wiring like neutral and earth.
Is a bit hard for me to get the neutral and earth wiring as it's all sealed inside a partition wall.

Thanks in advance.

williamchiew
post Dec 10 2020, 06:13 PM

15 posts

Duplicated.

This post has been edited by williamchiew: Dec 10 2020, 06:14 PM
adamw
post Dec 10 2020, 07:38 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,351 posts

QUOTE(williamchiew @ Dec 10 2020, 05:59 PM)
Hi all,

I have a noob questions to ask for help. I'm trying to figure out whether I can loop a power point for use like laptop or charge phone from existing light switch.

Is a bit hard for me to get the neutral and earth wiring as it's all sealed inside a partition wall.

Thanks in advance.

Not possible, you only have live wire.
stormer.lyn
post Dec 10 2020, 07:39 PM

1,132 posts

Hi all,

What you want to do (for all intents and purposes) is not possible
ozak
post Dec 10 2020, 08:35 PM

17,018 posts

Hi all,

Thanks in advance.

Without N and E, not possible.

And the switch wiring also wrong connection. The COM should be L (yellow) and loop to another COM.

Red and blue should be at L1 each.
SUSceo684
post Dec 10 2020, 11:54 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Hi all,

Thanks in advance.

Not possible. This L circuit at the switch doesn't provide return neutral and earth required for 13A socket there.
The lights' N is connected only up to/at the light point.
williamchiew
post Dec 11 2020, 09:52 AM

15 posts

Thanks all for the advise.
The connection are done by contractor 🤭
I'll correct it back then, really appreciate for the comments!
Thanks 🙏
Agent 45
post Jan 7 2021, 04:48 PM

934 posts

Hi, how to connect this two core copper wire to the plug? i assume just connect either one of the copper wire to Live and Neutral, correct?
SUSceo684
post Jan 7 2021, 10:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jan 7 2021, 04:48 PM)
Hi, how to connect this two core copper wire to the plug? i assume just connect either one of the copper wire to Live and Neutral, correct?
Depends on what is on the other end devil.gif if its a lamp (based on the thin wiring) then either one will work.
jskhoo
post May 30 2021, 11:27 AM

Hi, I am facing an issue of identifying which wire color label. I am attempting to upgrade my Storage Water Heater switch to to Sonoff tx wifi smart wall switch. There are three colors Red, Blue & Black.

Sonoff TX Switch Manual: https://sonoff.tech/wp-content/uploads/2021....2-20210305.pdf

Can anyone help me match the wiring to the diagram please. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by jskhoo: May 30 2021, 11:30 AM
SUSslimey
post May 30 2021, 11:43 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(jskhoo @ May 30 2021, 11:27 AM)
Hi, I am facing an issue of identifying which wire color label. I am attempting to upgrade my Storage Water Heater switch to to Sonoff tx wifi smart wall switch. There are three colors Red, Blue & Black.

Sonoff TX Switch Manual: https://sonoff.tech/wp-content/uploads/2021....2-20210305.pdf

Can anyone help me match the wiring to the diagram please.  icon_question.gif
you cant use that switch.

max rated output only 2 amp.

water heater takes much more than that.
jskhoo
post May 30 2021, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(slimey @ May 30 2021, 11:43 AM)
you cant use that switch.

max rated output only 2 amp.

water heater takes much more than that.
Is it? doh.gif
What should be the power rating I need? Any suggestion of which Smart switch I would need for a storage water heater please?

Thank you

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0486sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:34 AM