30 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Skmm request ISP to block warez sites.

exentric_nova
post Jun 12 2011, 08:39 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Simply said, they're taking the easy way out on heavy usage. We all know the heaviest usage is on piracy stuff and since it IS illegal, they're taking that as an advantage. If the Govt really are serious about piracy, the why te hell are those sellers in pasar malam still everywhere? Even shops in Mines has been there for years and no one seems to bother themselves with it.

IMHO still, unlimited usage is a BIG NO. It brings many bad things. The day TMNet brought it up to gain customers is the day the sign up with the devil. And now they're having a hard time dealing with it.

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jun 12 2011, 08:40 PM
Zephro
post Jun 12 2011, 09:36 PM

174 posts

Fileserve seems to be throttled. Have a premium account and it only DLs at 70kbs.
Meanwhile using Filesonic I can max my DL at 400kbs.
Fark lar, FS I still have 3 months left.
boredoomerz
post Jun 12 2011, 10:14 PM

mite as well ban astro la... ppl rip from astrofirst & upload it online... can u actually believe that? freaking cheapskates trololol
syazwanreno
post Jun 12 2011, 10:22 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jun 12 2011, 02:07 AM)
so conclusion...they both lie to us....so you guys still going to sit there do nothing?  hmm.gif or next election you guys gonna take action  brows.gif

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 12 2011, 08:03 PM)
The question is not about who you put into power ? What assurance can the other party give to us , that this cycle will not be repeated.
THIS!

QUOTE(vivre @ Jun 12 2011, 08:21 PM)
I agree with this. It`s not only about that. I didnt recall coming into cross this issue in their manifesto either.  sad.gif
They did only say something about press freedom and not about internet content freedom.  sweat.gif
Whoever become the goverment.. RIAA and MPAA will still pressure us.
shadow111
post Jun 12 2011, 10:34 PM

3,140 posts

anyone able to access http://www.duckload.com/?
i'm able to access all the rest except this..
myandylai
post Jun 12 2011, 10:50 PM

160 posts

The best way to counter piracy was to offer more legal, legitimate or original online contents, like Netflix, Hulu, Vudu etc at the US. Blocking file hosting service like Fileserve, Megaupload etc simply because it hold non-legitimate contents post by it users is like banning storage media like hard drive, flash drive, memory card etc because users also can store non-legitimate contents in it.

I hope the SKMM would reconsider their counter measure on fighting piracy with a more open minded way. (but of course if the current matter have anything to do with piracy at all)

Thanks for reading.

syazwanreno
post Jun 12 2011, 10:53 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ Jun 12 2011, 10:34 PM)
anyone able to access http://www.duckload.com/?
i'm able to access all the rest except this..
it shut down already.
shadow111
post Jun 12 2011, 10:56 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Jun 12 2011, 10:53 PM)
it shut down already.
ic.. thought it's been blocked or something..
Hornet
post Jun 12 2011, 11:44 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(myandylai @ Jun 12 2011, 10:50 PM)
The best way to counter piracy was to offer more legal, legitimate or original online contents, like Netflix, Hulu, Vudu etc at the US. Blocking file hosting service like Fileserve, Megaupload etc simply because it hold non-legitimate contents post by it users is like banning storage media like hard drive, flash drive, memory card etc because users also can store non-legitimate contents in it.

I hope the SKMM would reconsider their counter measure on fighting piracy with a more open minded way. (but of course if the current matter have anything to do with piracy at all)

Thanks for reading.
hardly have anything to do with combating piracy. its just a step in internet censorship

If we allow them to do this unopposed, you can bet next they are going to block all pornographic website on morals ground. Hell they might even start blocking any website or blogs that oppose the government on grounds that it threatens the harmony of the country.

This is the very reason why many people in other country strongly oppose any government plans on having internet filter or other control over websites. Once you allow the government to take one step, they are not going to stop. The internet is something that no government should have any control over.

This post has been edited by Hornet: Jun 12 2011, 11:44 PM
sg999
post Jun 12 2011, 11:51 PM

1,027 posts

runnig fileserve now
only 10kb/s
WTF
jeffreyp
post Jun 12 2011, 11:55 PM

1,073 posts

i don't mind piratebay as i understand it, but fileserve is my heaven find files(legally) as it is a place for forum to share
now its gone
FK lar

megaupload and depositfiles also block, really WTF!
SUSautoman5891
post Jun 13 2011, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(Hornet @ Jun 12 2011, 11:44 PM)
hardly have anything to do with combating piracy. its just a step in internet censorship

If we allow them to do this unopposed, you can bet next they are going to block all pornographic website on morals ground. Hell they might even start blocking any website or blogs that oppose the government on grounds that it threatens the harmony of the country.

This is the very reason why many people in other country strongly oppose any government plans on having internet filter or other control over websites. Once you allow the government to take one step, they are not going to stop. The internet is something that no government should have any control over.
Not block on moral ground but according to law as porn is illegal in Malaysia. After the Press act is changed this year, expect news websites like Malaysiakini and Malaysian insider to be considered illegal as well and then blocked.
Flicx
post Jun 13 2011, 12:54 AM

63 posts

Disgusting move to filter our Internet. f*** you SKMM
havuk
post Jun 13 2011, 01:11 AM

181 posts

does ip address works? for example instead of thepiratebay.org we use

does it work? i'm baffled because i still can reach tpb at this moment, no vpn no proxy.
[PIMPIN]
post Jun 13 2011, 01:23 AM

325 posts

Fileserve getting about 400kbs, only half of what used to get
exentric_nova
post Jun 13 2011, 01:38 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ Jun 12 2011, 11:44 PM)

It is combating act of piracy not internet censorship. Read it. A censorship is done on something legal, this is done based on something illegal.

The problem is, is it the correct way of combating piracy? They're choosing the HARDEST way to combat piracy; through internet while physical piracy still runs rampat at most pasar malam, roadside and even shopping malls. In the end, its probably TMNet not happy most of it user are hogging all the bandwidth with pirated materials.
kaffra
post Jun 13 2011, 03:56 AM

643 posts

QUOTE(jeffreyp @ Jun 12 2011, 11:55 PM)
i don't mind piratebay as i understand it, but fileserve is my heaven find files(legally) as it is a place for forum to share
now its gone
FK lar

megaupload and depositfiles also block, really WTF!
what about rapidshare or filesonic?
birain
post Jun 13 2011, 07:29 AM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

Online users bypass block

PETALING JAYA: The online file-sharing community remains active despite the Government’s move to block 10 such websites to curb piracy.

Blogger and online marketing consultant David Wang said most users simply moved on to other websites offering the same facilities and services to download content.

“Users can also continue using the blocked websites by getting around it in a few simple steps,” he said.

Wang, who published a blog post titled “What is a DNS (Domain Name System) block and three ways to get around it” following the Govern­ment’s ban against the websites, said IT expertise was not necessary to gain access.

“Anyone who knows how to download free content from such websites will be able to do it,” he said.

A quick online search using the keywords “How to bypass DNS block” also showed many websites offering detailed explanations on the ways to get past it.

It was reported that the Government had declared war on file-sharing websites, with 10 of them blocked by the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) in a bid to combat piracy.

The websites were among the most visited sites by Malaysians to illegally download movies.

The MCMC had on May 30 written to all Internet Service Providers (ISPs) ordering the block.

The letter, which was leaked online, also stated that the websites were being blocked for breaching Section 41 of the Copyright Act, which deals with pirated content.

The MCMC had said that the websites would be blocked in stages.

Sanjeev Nair, a marketing executive at an IT firm here, said although users could access the blocked websites through various other methods, the block should not have been imposed in the first place.

He said it was a violation of the MSC Malaysia Bill of Guarantees which stated that the Government would not censor the Internet.

“It is the principle of the matter and the authorities should realise that the Internet is all about sharing,” he said.

A check yesterday showed that nine of the websites were still accessible.

sos cili padi

see what you guys did there? later all cannot bypass liao doh.gif
annoymous1234
post Jun 13 2011, 09:34 AM

7,616 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Jun 13 2011, 09:35 AM
YoungMan
post Jun 13 2011, 10:20 AM

6,798 posts

Don't know how true is this, but check it out.
http://amanz.my/2011/06/penyedia-internet-...n-daripada-dns/

30 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:12 AM