QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 15 2011, 11:28 AM)
Nasizwan, this liar orang kaya one Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!
Events Club LYN Japan V4, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!
Oct 16 2011, 10:47 AM
347 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: [ Tokyo/Kel/K.L. ] |
Oct 17 2011, 10:20 PM
125 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: KL |
Oct 17 2011, 11:57 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
Why you worry so much? You got a Japanese wife right? ...all you need just focus on work.....
Oct 18 2011, 10:25 AM
527 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(nasizwan @ Oct 17 2011, 11:20 PM) Hey bro, omedetou gozaimasu~! Please post some pics for us to ogle Btw, there's a Japan travel game called Go Go Nippon; really informative game on travel tips and ehem |
Oct 18 2011, 07:03 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Hello there guys. I was just wondering if LYN had some sort of Japan-centric community and I found this thread.
Anyhows, I'm planning on coming to Tokyo sometime Nov-Dec for jalan2, budget style, for two weeks. See how far I can get by with kombini food, hostels, couch surfing and HelpX-ing. Yes, with the rates as they are. Lol. Hopefully I don't get stranded over there or sumthing. I'm not really looking to buy stuff or do anything specific, just there to sight see mainly. It's been years since I was last in Japan and I kinda miss it, I guess. I've been planning to go back for years but only now is it happening. Oh yeah, tried Go Go Nippon already, and while half of the game was informational, the other half felt... well... like a game. Well, it IS a game after all. So guys, is the very idea of budget travel in Japan an outlandish one? Any general cost saving tips, ones that tour guidebooks gloss over maybe? Other than that, I have some more specific questions. 1) Is it even worth it for me to get Softbank or JCR rental SIM (not iPhone, sadly), or would it be better for me to just get a pre-paid B-mobile U300 1-month SIM? All I really need is data anyway. I'm dying to get a Prepaid SIM for another phone (I have spares) but I know that's not easy. Similarly, I don't think the Japanese have prepaid blackberry simpacks either. Rather, is there any way for a tourist to get Blackberry services at all in JP? Besides JCR's rentals. Any "backdoor" way to get data/blackberry services without resorting to rentals? Preferably pre-paid or contract-free. 2) Clothing - Hows the weather like Nov-Dec? It's like between autumn/winter so I'm having trouble deciding to pack for winter or autumn or both. 3) Anything interesting happening late Nov-early Dec? Most online guides I go to tell me nothing's on. 4) Suica or Passmo or JR East travel pass? Looking at the travel pass, I doubt I'm gonna need THAT much investment into travel. I'm more then game on spending time switching slow trains into the far reaches if it comes to that, vs taking a Shinkansen. And given enough stops, I can walk a long, long way (as long as it's cold). 4) ATM machines? Can we withdraw money from ATMs in JP from say Maybank or whatever? Through Cirrus or something? Or should I stick to traveller's cheques/bag o' cash for my financial reserves? 5) Kombini/Supaa Bentos - They DO have kinds that vegetarian/fish-based stuff only right? It'll be kinda horrifying if I were to spend 2 weeks eating cold soba and onigiri for bfast, lunch and dinner. Though I have no real issues if it actually comes to that. Your insights are certainly appreciated. Dozo yoroushiku ya de. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 18 2011, 07:54 PM |
Oct 18 2011, 08:42 PM
4 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hi. if we buy electronic goods from japan, will they work in malaysia? the voltage there is lower compared to ours right?
Oct 18 2011, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(balthier511 @ Oct 18 2011, 07:42 PM) hi. if we buy electronic goods from japan, will they work in malaysia? the voltage there is lower compared to ours right? Socket will be different. if TV / etc tec.....if Handphone / computer they got adapter....110V - 230V will be auto step down to 10-20v for the electronic thing demand...so at Japan / US / Europe / Asia also can used...problem is you need the socket head only.Oh Ya...computer stuff selling at Japan super expensive due to tax. totally no worth buy any computer stuff at Japan |
Oct 18 2011, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 18 2011, 09:35 PM) Socket will be different. if TV / etc tec.....if Handphone / computer they got adapter....110V - 230V will be auto step down to 10-20v for the electronic thing demand...so at Japan / US / Europe / Asia also can used...problem is you need the socket head only. oh so when i bring back to malaysia just need the right socket la right. same as when u wanna use malaysian electronic stuff to japanOh Ya...computer stuff selling at Japan super expensive due to tax. totally no worth buy any computer stuff at Japan it's that expensive huh? was thinking about getting a digital camera or something oh well thanks for the info. hopefully i'll find something weird to buy in akiba.. |
Oct 18 2011, 10:49 PM
427 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(balthier511 @ Oct 18 2011, 10:01 PM) oh so when i bring back to malaysia just need the right socket la right. same as when u wanna use malaysian electronic stuff to japan If not mistaken, the commands of the camera will all be in Japanese and can't select language but it may have changed now. A friend bought a DSLR from Tokyo and he had to slowly learn up the functions!it's that expensive huh? was thinking about getting a digital camera or something oh well thanks for the info. hopefully i'll find something weird to buy in akiba.. |
Oct 18 2011, 10:51 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(balthier511 @ Oct 18 2011, 10:01 PM) oh so when i bring back to malaysia just need the right socket la right. same as when u wanna use malaysian electronic stuff to japan There's lotsa weird stuff to buy in Akiba... it's that expensive huh? was thinking about getting a digital camera or something oh well thanks for the info. hopefully i'll find something weird to buy in akiba.. |
Oct 18 2011, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(Shazzac @ Oct 18 2011, 10:49 PM) If not mistaken, the commands of the camera will all be in Japanese and can't select language but it may have changed now. A friend bought a DSLR from Tokyo and he had to slowly learn up the functions! that's true also. shazzac how was your trip?QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 18 2011, 10:51 PM) weird that won't get me in trouble i hope haha |
Oct 19 2011, 07:32 AM
Oct 19 2011, 12:43 PM
Hamsap tanoshi......you want the ehem service only
Oct 19 2011, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 17 2011, 11:57 PM) I haven't got any employment yet still looking at the moment. I'm worried because I'm gonna be living there with new environment, culture, language, food etc.. Living and holiday in Japan is practically two different thing. I'm gonna need to adjust to fit in. Hope I'll be fine QUOTE(matt85 @ Oct 18 2011, 10:25 AM) Hey bro, omedetou gozaimasu~! Please post some pics for us to ogle Will post photos here once in a while. This Go Go Nippon game sounds interesting lol Btw, there's a Japan travel game called Go Go Nippon; really informative game on travel tips and ehem QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 18 2011, 09:35 PM) Socket will be different. if TV / etc tec.....if Handphone / computer they got adapter....110V - 230V will be auto step down to 10-20v for the electronic thing demand...so at Japan / US / Europe / Asia also can used...problem is you need the socket head only. Yeahh I noticed that too. I checked laptop price in JP online and found out that our local Lowyat sells cheaper.Oh Ya...computer stuff selling at Japan super expensive due to tax. totally no worth buy any computer stuff at Japan QUOTE(tanoshi @ Oct 19 2011, 07:32 AM) Hahahahansap Tanoshi! |
Oct 19 2011, 02:34 PM
527 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(tanoshi @ Oct 19 2011, 08:32 AM) Hisashiburi da na Tanoshi-san~~ been busy with many jobs + studying. Sometimes also malas posting here Wah so many ecchi here wan this Go Go Nippon game My latest target: 2012 Autumn !! Yosh ganbarimasu~! |
Oct 19 2011, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(matt85 @ Oct 19 2011, 02:34 PM) Hisashiburi da na Tanoshi-san~~ been busy with many jobs + studying. Sometimes also malas posting here PM me the link pls!!! Wah so many ecchi here wan this Go Go Nippon game My latest target: 2012 Autumn !! Yosh ganbarimasu~! |
Oct 19 2011, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(matt85 @ Oct 19 2011, 03:34 PM) Hisashiburi da na Tanoshi-san~~ been busy with many jobs + studying. Sometimes also malas posting here huwaaaaaaaaaaaaaa missing nihon honto ni Wah so many ecchi here wan this Go Go Nippon game My latest target: 2012 Autumn !! Yosh ganbarimasu~! attode ne, PM onegaishimasuuuuuuu! |
Oct 20 2011, 02:28 PM
273 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(nasizwan @ Oct 17 2011, 10:20 PM) same here. though mine will only for a few months jom.. let's go lepak at shibuya when you're there and settled QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 18 2011, 07:03 PM) 1) Is it even worth it for me to get Softbank or JCR rental SIM (not iPhone, sadly), or would it be better for me to just get a pre-paid B-mobile U300 1-month SIM? interested to know the answers to those questions too. it's a SIM rental with the mobile phone or is it a prepaid SIM? not really sure how the telco works there All I really need is data anyway. I'm dying to get a Prepaid SIM for another phone (I have spares) but I know that's not easy. Similarly, I don't think the Japanese have prepaid blackberry simpacks either. Rather, is there any way for a tourist to get Blackberry services at all in JP? Besides JCR's rentals. Any "backdoor" way to get data/blackberry services without resorting to rentals? Preferably pre-paid or contract-free. 4) ATM machines? Can we withdraw money from ATMs in JP from say Maybank or whatever? Through Cirrus or something? Or should I stick to traveller's cheques/bag o' cash for my financial reserves? withdrawing cash from ATMs is safer and convenient too. if it's possible. need enlightenment from fellow senpais |
Oct 20 2011, 02:38 PM
691 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Oct 20 2011, 03:04 PM