Hi guys, im using OCZ EL PLATINUM DDR400 512mb x2. The highest i can get is 280mhz using 2.7v with my Abit KN8 Ultra mobo using nf4 ultra.
TCCD/TCC5 discussions, memory tuning, voltage, etc.
Jun 9 2007, 07:42 PM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
Hi guys, im using OCZ EL PLATINUM DDR400 512mb x2. The highest i can get is 280mhz using 2.7v with my Abit KN8 Ultra mobo using nf4 ultra.
Jun 16 2007, 05:28 PM
2,451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Darkness to Light |
QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jun 3 2007, 12:17 AM) Hi guys, Err...bump? Regarding this particular model: Team Xtreem Hermes DDR1 PC4400 DDR 550MHz 512MBX2, 2.5-4-3-7, 2.7~2.9V Is this TCCD loaded RAM capable of achieving 560MHz easily on loose timings (3-4-4-8) at a max of 3.2Vdimm? I think it's possible but i don't want to assume. My rig specs are as in my signature. Owh, and also if it has any compatibility issues with my PC specs. Thanx. |
Jun 16 2007, 09:08 PM
8,103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu. |
Jun 17 2007, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 16 2007, 09:08 PM) tccd runs better in amd platform, some can hit over 300MHz on rather loose timin, still depends on luck of gettin good batch. u ain't need 3.2v for tccd, way too high. i would say 2.8~2.9v max. Hmm, wut do u mean by 'runs better' in amd platform? Compatibility? Reliability? Performance? I would say that Intel-based CPUs are the ones that are lax when it comes to timings. Luck is, well of coz part of the matter too. try to use 865 tweaker to get d best outta ya ram. My enquiry is just that would it be stretching the limit, if the above-mentioned RAM would be to increase by a mere 10MHz? Thanx. |
Jun 17 2007, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jun 17 2007, 12:42 AM) Hmm, wut do u mean by 'runs better' in amd platform? Compatibility? Reliability? Performance? I would say that Intel-based CPUs are the ones that are lax when it comes to timings. Luck is, well of coz part of the matter too. coz k8 of amd are multiplier adjustable (downward thou... My enquiry is just that would it be stretching the limit, if the above-mentioned RAM would be to increase by a mere 10MHz? Thanx. for intel, iirc, higher clocks are always better, timin comes 2nd. This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jun 17 2007, 09:36 AM |
Jun 17 2007, 10:52 AM
2,471 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jun 17 2007, 12:42 AM) Hmm, wut do u mean by 'runs better' in amd platform? Compatibility? Reliability? Performance? I would say that Intel-based CPUs are the ones that are lax when it comes to timings. Luck is, well of coz part of the matter too. ya, what he said is true. I'd tried 2x512mb corsair tccd on both amd and intel platform. it can prime at least 270 @ cl2.5 stable on dfi nf4 but only up to 22x on even with very loose timing on intel p4 2.6c.My enquiry is just that would it be stretching the limit, if the above-mentioned RAM would be to increase by a mere 10MHz? Thanx. I owned a pair of geil one-s tccd, doing 300 @ 2.5-4-3-8 prime stable on dfi nf4 platform but it were sold to another forumer and he told me that he able to do 31x with the same timing. |
Jun 17 2007, 12:43 PM
Jun 17 2007, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jun 17 2007, 12:43 PM) Ok, thanx for the input. But my concern is NOT how much or how far this baby can go. It is purely simple. Assume that: I believe that it could not, but you may try.- Timings can be very loose: 3-4-4-8 - Vdcc can go anywhere from 2.6V up to 3.2V - Multiplier is locked And judging from the specs of the said RAM: Team Xtreem Hermes DDR1 PC4400 DDR 550MHz 512MBX2, 2.5-4-3-7, 2.7~2.9V That would make it have a standard clockspeed of 275MHz. My question is, could it make 280MHz without much of a sweat..or is it near the absolute limit already...? |
Jun 17 2007, 01:43 PM
Jun 17 2007, 02:06 PM
Jun 17 2007, 02:24 PM
551 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jun 17 2007, 12:43 PM) Ok, thanx for the input. But my concern is NOT how much or how far this baby can go. It is purely simple. Assume that: I think, u dont want your TCCD exceeding 2.8v. And, in my exp., i havent met any tccd will do CL3. Resulting in no-boot. n oso from my exp, tightening TCCD sub-timing will benefit little gain in perf. Unless it can boot with " Bank-Interleave" option as ENABLED in bios, then it will be in the same league as BH5 / CH5 / BH6 (of course w/ higher frequency than the later).- Timings can be very loose: 3-4-4-8 - Vdcc can go anywhere from 2.6V up to 3.2V - Multiplier is locked And judging from the specs of the said RAM: Team Xtreem Hermes DDR1 PC4400 DDR 550MHz 512MBX2, 2.5-4-3-7, 2.7~2.9V That would make it have a standard clockspeed of 275MHz. My question is, could it make 280MHz without much of a sweat..or is it near the absolute limit already...? The tightest sub-timing of TCCD can give me around 29s in superpi 1M ( thats at oced to ddr600). n The tightest BH5 (yeah, Team Zeus Series) comes at 27s (oced to ddr500 only). Both at same config,same setup; 3G Opty 146. |
Jun 17 2007, 03:34 PM
I believe i am misunderstood.
QUOTE - Timings CAN be very loose: 3-4-4-8 - Vdcc CAN go anywhere from 2.6V up to 3.2V - Multiplier is LOCKED Please do not compare to ur Core 2 Duo's, Quad Core's, AM64's and god-knows-what-else-used-by-NASA high end and latest PCs. Mine is an Intel P4 Northwood 2.4C HT running on an Intel i865PE chipset. I mentioned that the timings CAN be tight but doesn't HAVE to be. The voltages CAN go from ANYWHERE between 2.6V UP to 3.2V. (Meaning, 2.6v, 2.7v, 2.8v, 2.9v, 3.0v, 3.1v, 3.2v & anything in between). It doesn't HAVE to be 3.2V. And i don't need opinions on multipliers as mine is LOCKED without any option of changing it. I understand that most of u are new-gen of OCers utilizing dual-cores and 64bit procs, but mine is ol'skool northwood bred and my question is still, would it be able to withstand an increase of 5MHz from 275MHz standard, to achieve 280MHz without a hassle? YES/NO? |
Jun 17 2007, 04:21 PM
2,386 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Many calls it "Hell" |
With your setup, probably yes.
For normal Intel setups, most of the time, no. You're running a northwood 30 cap right? |
Jun 17 2007, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(leadaxer @ Jun 17 2007, 03:34 PM) I believe i am misunderstood. Chill out dude, ppl here are just tryin to help, dun be misunderstood. Please do not compare to ur Core 2 Duo's, Quad Core's, AM64's and god-knows-what-else-used-by-NASA high end and latest PCs. Mine is an Intel P4 Northwood 2.4C HT running on an Intel i865PE chipset. I mentioned that the timings CAN be tight but doesn't HAVE to be. The voltages CAN go from ANYWHERE between 2.6V UP to 3.2V. (Meaning, 2.6v, 2.7v, 2.8v, 2.9v, 3.0v, 3.1v, 3.2v & anything in between). It doesn't HAVE to be 3.2V. And i don't need opinions on multipliers as mine is LOCKED without any option of changing it. I understand that most of u are new-gen of OCers utilizing dual-cores and 64bit procs, but mine is ol'skool northwood bred and my question is still, would it be able to withstand an increase of 5MHz from 275MHz standard, to achieve 280MHz without a hassle? YES/NO? No exact answer to ya question, all u can do is trial & error. It still depends on how far d ram can go. if u hit d ceiling say at 270MHz, it's really hard to push it further, even 5MHz more (i'm referrin to prime). Am runnin a pair of be-5, max prime stable is 240MHz, I've been playin with it months ledi but still no luck of gettin it to run @ 245MHz (my target). Be it adjustin d alpha timin, playin d d vidimm, changin slot position to be named fews... So d conclusion is, be happy with wat u got after reachin d limit. |
Jun 17 2007, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(@meno @ Jun 17 2007, 04:21 PM) With your setup, probably yes. Erm, northwood, yes. 30 cap i'm not sure?For normal Intel setups, most of the time, no. You're running a northwood 30 cap right? QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 17 2007, 04:50 PM) Chill out dude, ppl here are just tryin to help, dun be misunderstood. Well, thats the thing. I'm thinking of making a purchase of a TCCD 550MHz, but not going to unless i know for sure it can hit at least 280 (560MHz) with any timing at any voltage. No exact answer to ya question, all u can do is trial & error. It still depends on how far d ram can go. if u hit d ceiling say at 270MHz, it's really hard to push it further, even 5MHz more (i'm referrin to prime). Am runnin a pair of be-5, max prime stable is 240MHz, I've been playin with it months ledi but still no luck of gettin it to run @ 245MHz (my target). Be it adjustin d alpha timin, playin d d vidimm, changin slot position to be named fews... So d conclusion is, be happy with wat u got after reachin d limit. I appreciate everyones help but it would be meaningless if ppl dont know wut i'm talking about. Just making myself clear. Thanx anyway. |
Jun 17 2007, 05:20 PM
for intel platform i wud say hynix or bh-5 either one clicks well with it.
save d $ as tccd really not doin really well in d platform that ur in. |
Jun 17 2007, 07:31 PM
551 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
wow... chill out dude. Just telling,
1 - tccd cant stand high voltage. That is, if u want it to last longer. 2 - BH5 is better for benching well in ur case, there's no assurance how high it can be oced. if u want to achieve ddr 560, y dun just buy ddr600 rams? And, for ram, there's always "Burn-In" procedure.But it very risky.Wrongly burned, u'll end up stuck w/ setting the time u burned. Well, if u want to take the risk, go through high-reputation forums, xtremesystems,ocau, to name a few. There's always a guide for it. mine achieved abt 20mhz after burn-in, 2 notch lower vdimm n tighter timings. |
Jun 17 2007, 08:47 PM
2,042 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jun 17 2007, 05:20 PM) for intel platform i wud say hynix or bh-5 either one clicks well with it. As intel will oc on fsb and amd on ht, will the ram chipset make difference on both platform in term of performance when compare to clock to clock?save d $ as tccd really not doin really well in d platform that ur in. This post has been edited by §layerXT: Jun 17 2007, 08:48 PM |
Jun 17 2007, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 17 2007, 08:47 PM) As intel will oc on fsb and amd on ht, will the ram chipset make difference on both platform in term of performance when compare to clock to clock? i wud bet on amd win in this case, architecture wise amd is better when it comes to memory performance (in d case of p4 vs k8 of course). |
Jun 19 2007, 05:37 PM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Jun 17 2007, 02:24 PM) I think, u dont want your TCCD exceeding 2.8v. And, in my exp., i havent met any tccd will do CL3. Resulting in no-boot. n oso from my exp, tightening TCCD sub-timing will benefit little gain in perf. Unless it can boot with " Bank-Interleave" option as ENABLED in bios, then it will be in the same league as BH5 / CH5 / BH6 (of course w/ higher frequency than the later). My TCCD can use CL3 no problem with higher mhz compared to cl2.5. The tightest sub-timing of TCCD can give me around 29s in superpi 1M ( thats at oced to ddr600). n The tightest BH5 (yeah, Team Zeus Series) comes at 27s (oced to ddr500 only). Both at same config,same setup; 3G Opty 146. |
| Change to: | 0.0285sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:11 AM |