depends on modules...
generally weak
TCCD/TCC5 discussions, memory tuning, voltage, etc.
Oct 25 2005, 11:44 PM
1,372 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sydney - Australia |
depends on modules...
generally weak |
Nov 1 2005, 07:34 AM
Store Representative
679 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PG/KL/CYBERJAYA |
QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 21 2005, 05:35 PM) Can.... even OCZ use dos memtest. what would we need to set and test if some ram rated wif high speed, e.g. PC4000...1. Set you RAM at manufacturer rated speed, not overclocked setting. Also make sure you are using manufacturer recommended voltage setting. Other extra memory options leave at auto. 2. Go to Memtest86 3. Run test #5 for at least 500 loops 4. If no error, proceed to whole test for 6 hours at least. |
Nov 1 2005, 08:43 PM
15,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
same method and ram at default timing
Nov 2 2005, 01:26 PM
Store Representative
Nov 2 2005, 01:41 PM
you mean your ram got 2 rated spd?
go for the highest one |
Nov 4 2005, 10:15 PM
Store Representative
juz test, my tccd can run 245htt only @ 2.83v stable in windows...
trying to run 250htt, but memtest86+ test 8 freeze. tat's why i wondering... memtest86+ can pass using even 2.7v but can't enter windows. getting BSOD. |
Nov 4 2005, 10:37 PM
8,103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tanah Lot @ Dungun, Terengganu. |
QUOTE(Westley @ Nov 4 2005, 10:15 PM) juz test, my tccd can run 245htt only @ 2.83v stable in windows... r u on divider bro? try to run w/ 2.8V 1st, burn usin memtest of windows version for a day or 2, then try w/ 2.6~2.7V, i faced d samething last time too... trying to run 250htt, but memtest86+ test 8 freeze. tat's why i wondering... memtest86+ can pass using even 2.7v but can't enter windows. getting BSOD. |
Nov 4 2005, 11:43 PM
maybe memory controller issue....
because different cpu will react differently my TCC5 does DDR600 only with 2.9Vdimm on my Palermo D0 with fsb:ram at 1:1, while on my Palermo E6, it needed only 2.7Vdimm with the same divider. |
Nov 5 2005, 12:39 AM
Store Representative
nice reply from u all.
thx for the exist of this thread. |
Nov 5 2005, 06:30 AM
forgot dat u have a 3200+ bro, so no divider needed.
juz burn it for a day or 2 as per mentioned previously, it works for me... |
Nov 10 2005, 10:55 AM
4,032 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MSR Headquaters |
QUOTE(dinster @ Oct 21 2005, 06:11 AM) guys, is there anything wrong with my bios settings ? lack of DDR Voltage maybe...crank up to 2.8 or 2.9 lar bruddar....2.6 is for sissies...it's for my Gskill LE PC4400 TCCD... prime large FFT will fail after 1 hour..... Windows Memtest also got errors....... [attachmentid=76334][attachmentid=76335][attachmentid=76336] |
Nov 12 2005, 12:08 AM
Store Representative
Nov 12 2005, 01:24 AM
498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh, Perak |
Burn in TCCD?
I dont think its a good idea... TCCD will not work well after burning in, chances are less. 2.7 to 2.8 is sweet spot for TCCD. If its not stable, don't increase the voltage. I've been playing with TCCD before and gave it 2.9 to 3.0V. After such high VDIMM, the RAM will not be stable at low voltages anymore. |
Nov 12 2005, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Nov 12 2005, 01:24 AM) Burn in TCCD? yup, agree on that, genreally, tccd is more on tweakin & findin sweet spot (voltage) rather than burn in to get it run betta... I dont think its a good idea... TCCD will not work well after burning in, chances are less. 2.7 to 2.8 is sweet spot for TCCD. If its not stable, don't increase the voltage. I've been playing with TCCD before and gave it 2.9 to 3.0V. After such high VDIMM, the RAM will not be stable at low voltages anymore. |
Nov 12 2005, 11:49 PM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Nov 14 2005, 12:33 PM
Store Representative
seems like i'm hving wrong channel...
well, i mean set the voltage to 2.75v or if dun hv 2.75, set to 2.8v to make it run... most of the time 2.75v is the best... but if can't get 2.75 i think go for 2.7v and start stressing the ram... what i hv found out is even 2.8v will make some tccd slowly lost their ability, and having some weird problem like cl2.5 not working... as far i hv found out is, samsung only recommend 2.6v for all tccd... no matter what is written in warranty, 2.7v~2.9v. and it is advisable to hv an active cooling for tccd... |
Nov 14 2005, 04:34 PM
Store Representative
juz found out a new problems, plugged in 4 stick of tccd, gskill fc...
can't run stable using 2.7, but if running 1 pair(2stick) for dual channel, it is okay... and i hv prove tat the 2 pair of ram i buy are fine... currently i'm testing wif my gigabyte board, and also the same. so, my 2.8v stable for 4 stick is nothing related wif bad tccd, juz two pair not match. weird isn't it??? |
Nov 15 2005, 01:43 AM
498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh, Perak |
QUOTE(Westley @ Nov 14 2005, 04:34 PM) juz found out a new problems, plugged in 4 stick of tccd, gskill fc... Actually the RAMs are OK, i guess. It your processor (mem controller) that is hitting the wall.can't run stable using 2.7, but if running 1 pair(2stick) for dual channel, it is okay... and i hv prove tat the 2 pair of ram i buy are fine... currently i'm testing wif my gigabyte board, and also the same. so, my 2.8v stable for 4 stick is nothing related wif bad tccd, juz two pair not match. weird isn't it??? Try setting to 2T and you will have better stability. Or, get another processor (E6, FX or Opteron). |
Nov 15 2005, 08:15 AM
Store Representative
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Nov 15 2005, 01:43 AM) Actually the RAMs are OK, i guess. It your processor (mem controller) that is hitting the wall. gigabyte running 2T as always...Try setting to 2T and you will have better stability. Or, get another processor (E6, FX or Opteron). memcontroller can't support... even running 200htt... |
Nov 15 2005, 08:15 AM
Store Representative
QUOTE(pcmoddingmy @ Nov 15 2005, 01:43 AM) Actually the RAMs are OK, i guess. It your processor (mem controller) that is hitting the wall. gigabyte running 2T as always...Try setting to 2T and you will have better stability. Or, get another processor (E6, FX or Opteron). memcontroller can't support... even running 200htt... |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:54 AM |