100 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

hengsin
post Jun 9 2011, 03:02 PM

145 posts

Hi All,

Do your know any place that I can test this device ( Preferably PJ or Kepong area ) ? I've tested IPad2 at Harvey Norman and would like to try this as well.

TSmydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 03:06 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jun 9 2011, 03:01 PM)
Cool...will go around 3pm... if i have the chance...

Well asus product build quality still the best for me... but i wont go to any their pre-order anymore...
can't comment too much on build Q since its my first asus product. but ya, i'm ok with it.

yes, agree this is the last time i go near asus pre-order...

QUOTE(hengsin @ Jun 9 2011, 03:02 PM)
Hi All,

Do your know any place that I can test this device ( Preferably PJ or Kepong area ) ? I've tested IPad2 at Harvey Norman and would like to try this as well.
honestly, modern day tablets all behave almost the same way. not much to test unless you wanna feel how heavy it is, etc...

i recall some owners bought their unit from digital mall. so you can try the shops there.

for me... i think the only reason why i got the TF is because of the dock. it is both a battery and keyboard. the integrated design means its something thought of by the people at Asus. so no need to get separate BT keyboard. and yes... with the dock that also doubles as battery, specs say we can get up to 16hrs.
xplodingplastix
post Jun 9 2011, 03:06 PM

224 posts

aww.. tot of getting it early morning where not much ppl is there.. will try getting it early morning tmrw cuz i have to go JB in the afternooon.. :S
tracktion3
post Jun 9 2011, 03:08 PM

532 posts

I shared this in another thread, but is good to share it here too as it is really more to the Asus TF.

When I got my TF, I also bought a netbook case. I was in a shop trying to get a screen protector and the guy asked me what is the size, I said is for my Asus 10,1". He said.. can I see? So I open up and showed him. Then he said, this is not a tablet, this is a notebook. Then I undock the tablet and he was like sooooooo surprise and malu abit and said... wah like that also can ah?

Is really funny to see the reaction of people. I was in McD and another German restuarant and quite a number of them looking at the product especially when I remove the tablet and play games. It really do transformed... ha ha ha

So, I guess not many people know about this tablet yet. The Padphone would be another COOL product in the near future.

TSmydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 03:08 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xplodingplastix @ Jun 9 2011, 03:06 PM)
aww.. tot of getting it early morning where not much ppl is there.. will try getting it early morning tmrw cuz i have to go JB in the afternooon.. :S
dun scold them if not arrived yet... lol...

Added on June 9, 2011, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jun 9 2011, 03:08 PM)
I shared this in another thread, but is good to share it here too as it is really more to the Asus TF.

When I got my TF, I also bought a netbook case. I was in a shop trying to get a screen protector and the guy asked me what is the size, I said is for my Asus 10,1". He said.. can I see? So I open up and showed him. Then he said, this is not a tablet, this is a notebook. Then I undock the tablet and he was like sooooooo surprise and malu abit and said... wah like that also can ah?

Is really funny to see the reaction of people. I was in McD and another German restuarant and quite a number of them looking at the product especially when I remove the tablet and play games. It really do transformed... ha ha ha

So, I guess not many people know about this tablet yet. The Padphone would be another COOL product in the near future.
ya, i expect this to make ppl's jaw drop and eyes pop out... imagine opening like notebook... type... then after that, undock and become tablet.

padfon... ya... interesting. in fact, last year, i was telling a fren how manufacturers should come up with that -- a one-up from motorola atrix since ppl are now going tablet. would be even better if the TF101 dock works on the padfon.

well, we'll have shahz comment once he gets an engineering unit... i think he mentioned probably year end or sth...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 9 2011, 03:15 PM
gerrardling
post Jun 9 2011, 03:11 PM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

i still dont know why asus dont wan to release the 3G version. even the same goes to iconia. any idea when they going to release 3g version ?
Ghostblind
post Jun 9 2011, 03:15 PM

4°₭ ⍧∟⌊⌋ß
546 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 9 2011, 03:11 PM)
i still dont know why asus dont wan to release the 3G version. even the same goes to iconia. any idea when they going to release 3g version ?
how about our USB broadband ?

This post has been edited by Ghostblind: Jun 9 2011, 03:16 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 03:17 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 9 2011, 03:11 PM)
just curious as to why 3g model is still sought-after or selling... after all, most would already have smartphone that can double as router. otherwise, there's bound to be some wifi connection -- at home, cafe, office, etc...

plus, 3g version means having another sim card -- meaning extra $$$?

just wondering... or maybe its something i missed out?
tracktion3
post Jun 9 2011, 03:18 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 03:08 PM)

Added on June 9, 2011, 3:10 pm
ya, i expect this to make ppl's jaw drop and eyes pop out... imagine opening like notebook... type... then after that, undock and become tablet.

padfon... ya... interesting. in fact, last year, i was telling a fren how manufacturers should come up with that -- a one-up from motorola atrix since ppl are now going tablet. would be even better if the TF101 dock works on the padfon.

well, we'll have shahz comment once he gets an engineering unit... he mentioned probably year end or sth...
I read and watch the review by Anantech. It seems that they have people who are very closed to NVidia. I heard about the device before even Asus shows it.

Another interesting feature but very well thought off is, when you dock the tablet in the docking without it connected to any power outlet, the dock will charge the tablet like transfering the power to the tablet. It reminds me of jetfire transfer power to Optimus prime.. ha ha ha ha

So now, the tablet has all the power and you can still undock not to worry where the battery is. ..... soo cool idea.
xplodingplastix
post Jun 9 2011, 03:20 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 03:08 PM)
well its expected so cant do anything if its like that, its true that now all ppl dont trust them anymore, its the last time, and will be last to go that place.
tracktion3
post Jun 9 2011, 03:21 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 03:17 PM)
just curious as to why 3g model is still sought-after or selling... after all, most would already have smartphone that can double as router. otherwise, there's bound to be some wifi connection -- at home, cafe, office, etc...

plus, 3g version means having another sim card -- meaning extra $$$?

just wondering... or maybe its something i missed out?
yeah, I think the padphone is the answer, but not everyone likes Asus/garmin phone. So... the transformer is an alternative where we could tether.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 03:25 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jun 9 2011, 03:18 PM)
I read and watch the review by Anantech. It seems that they have people who are very closed to NVidia. I heard about the device before even Asus shows it.

Another interesting feature but very well thought off is, when you dock the tablet in the docking without it connected to any power outlet, the dock will charge the tablet like transfering the power to the tablet. It reminds me of jetfire transfer power to Optimus prime.. ha ha ha ha

So now, the tablet has all the power and you can still undock not to worry where the battery is. ..... soo cool idea.
speaking of charging... read in XFA forum and they advice:
* charge dock and tablet separately (not sure if dock will have separate charger)
* dun charge tablet overnight

wondering if there's truth/ reason in the above especially abt charging dock and tablet together. i was planning to charge both together. then again, dunno how convenient, etc yet since still dun have the dock.
tracktion3
post Jun 9 2011, 03:28 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 03:25 PM)
speaking of charging... read in XFA forum and they advice:
* charge dock and tablet separately (not sure if dock will have separate charger)
* dun charge tablet overnight

wondering if there's truth/ reason in the above especially abt charging dock and tablet together. i was planning to charge both together. then again, dunno how convenient, etc yet since still dun have the dock.
I charge them together. Advice given to charger more than 8 hours for the 1st time. Thats what I did.
mikeeeee
post Jun 9 2011, 03:33 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

thing is, what could go wrong if u charge it overnight ??

if you notice, most modern batt/charger are "clever" type. It will cut the current when the charge is full. Although I don't have expensive tools to record data and prove this, but i do notice that when charging the charger is slightly warm and when its not charging, its not warm. Based on that, i notice that even i leave the tab charged overnight, the charging must have stop at some point because the charger is not warm at all when i disconnect it in the morning.

just my observation
TSmydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 03:37 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jun 9 2011, 03:33 PM)
thing is, what could go wrong if u charge it overnight ??

if you notice, most modern batt/charger are "clever" type. It will cut the current when the charge is full. Although I don't have expensive tools to record data and prove this, but i do notice that when charging the charger is slightly warm and when its not charging, its not warm. Based on that, i notice that even i leave the tab charged overnight, the charging must have stop at some point because the charger is not warm at all when i disconnect it in the morning.

just my observation
ya, but from what i read in the xda forum, they said there's been reported cases on charger not working after that.

check:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1068593
**In order to avoid any problems in the future due to charging, Asus recommends you charge the dock and the tablet, via the mains adapter, seperately.**

**Also do NOT leave it plugged in overnight. There have been too many people saying their chargers no longer work after doing so, so the simple answer is, don't leave it plugged in for that long. It only needs about a 3hr charge max for the tablet part. The dock will take longer though.**

tracktion3
post Jun 9 2011, 03:42 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 03:37 PM)
ya, but from what i read in the xda forum, they said there's been reported cases on charger not working after that.

check:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1068593
Not sure if this is related, but when I updated the tablet to 3.1 and once I dock it, it detected that the dock also need to be updated. So I hope this issue was resolved with the recent 3.1 update.

The 8 hours charge recomended by Asus, I think I saw that in the manual too. Hmmm
TSmydragoon
post Jun 9 2011, 03:50 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jun 9 2011, 03:42 PM)
Not sure if this is related, but when I updated the tablet to 3.1 and once I dock it, it detected that the dock also need to be updated. So I hope this issue was resolved with the recent 3.1 update.

The 8 hours charge recomended by Asus, I think I saw that in the manual too. Hmmm
ya, dock update is normal. in fact, it fixes some issues.

as for the 8hrs, ya... but that's only meant to be initial time. after that, normal usage, the advice as posted in xda forum... dun overnight charge.
mikeeeee
post Jun 9 2011, 03:53 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 9 2011, 03:37 PM)
hehe , i always read reports/feedback with a pinch of salt. And the recommendation is by the user himself not Asus. Apart from that, i've being charging most of my gadgets overnight for most of the time and touchwood no broken charger yet and i really don't see why this particular tablet charger should be any different smile.gif
caterpiez
post Jun 9 2011, 03:54 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Jun 9 2011, 03:08 PM)

My story more funny. Last week I went to this shop and asking for screen protector 10' for my transformer. The guy said he want to see first and when I showed him, he said Asus don't produce tablet anymore. This is the old one so no more stock for screen protector. I was like rclxub.gif This guy really like katak bawah kotak shakehead.gif
Yesterday I'm going back to the shop and saw they also have asus transformer. Maybe he don't remember me and try to promote me to buy transformer. I feel like to smack him bruce.gif
tracktion3
post Jun 9 2011, 03:57 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ Jun 9 2011, 03:54 PM)
My story more funny. Last week I went to this shop and asking for screen protector 10' for my transformer. The guy said he want to see first and when I showed him, he said Asus don't produce tablet anymore. This is the old one so no more stock for screen protector. I was like rclxub.gif This guy really like katak bawah kotak shakehead.gif
Yesterday I'm going back to the shop and saw they also have asus transformer. Maybe he don't remember me and try to promote me to buy transformer. I feel like to smack him  bruce.gif
Whaaa ha ha ha ha... he is a decepticon leh....

100 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:52 PM