12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 11:16 AM, updated 15y ago

7,044 posts

* Specs (from Asus website)

* Shahz's Review originally here

* Reviews from other sites

* Earlier threads on LYN

* TF101 videos

* Owner Listing
Owners, please PM me so I can add you to the list. Thanks.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 30 2011, 02:52 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 11:16 AM

7,044 posts

* Encounters with the Transforming Kind...
Collection of real-life stories about the TF...

* Tips & Tricks
How to change wallpaper...

Keyboard shortcuts...

Live Wallpapers! Where?

How to turn on the TF101 from the keyboard dock?

Want to reduce finger-print on the screen?

HD Wallpaper on Honeycomb

* Recommended/ compatible/ optimised apps for the Transformer
Best to PM me so I can add to the list -- I might missed out 1-2 posts if it is a reply in the thread. Please indicate if its a PAID apps.

* Updating firmware (build number)

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2011, 08:39 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 11:17 AM

7,044 posts

* Updating firmware (build number)

* Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) about the Transformer
Is the Transformer available now in Malaysia?

How much is the tablet and the docking station?

Is it an autobot or deception?

Can the TF connect to a mobile hotspot (example: the hotspot on my iphone4)?

How can I view a website like a desktop (and not the mobile version of the website)?

I want to try rooting my TF. Where can I find guides, how-to, ROMS, etc?

Can I use plug my USB 3G modem into the USB port on the dock so I can get on the internet?

What is the Asus Service Centre contact details?

What are the available accessories -- sleeves, SP, etc??
Please refer to the accessories section below. smile.gif

* Known and/or reported issues
Keyboard lag.

Market access issue -- possibly fixed.

Screen bleed

Shy speaker -- right speaker louder than left.

Quality of the dock

* Accessories
Sleeves/ Cover

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2011, 08:28 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 11:52 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 11:50 AM)
Yeah..And I think the device owners are doing a good job..I saw some posted the 3.1 guides, some market guides etc. Really hats off to you guys. I may not post, but I read every single post on the thread. My part is to write the honest review for you guys so you can make up your minds happy.gif

My next review is the VX6 Lamborghini laptop from ASUS. That's why I post little smile.gif FYI, I will ALSO be reviewing the padfone and the ASUS eeePad Slate. So to all you upcoming fans out there, stay tuned. smile.gif
padfone. so, its not going to just be a concept device? dang... i a bit regret now with my transformer purchase... lol...
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 01:18 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jun 3 2011, 01:04 PM)
Finally an official thread... suggestions to TS, compile transformer owner list..
Yup... Going to do that shortly.

A note to all owners... Can please PM me if you own (at least) one? smile.gif

and sorry if after you PM me, but I dun reply...
dun worry, i will add your name to the list once i get the PM. but i worry too many pm to reply.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 3 2011, 01:41 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 02:04 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Jun 3 2011, 01:59 PM)
market issue fixed(i think), i can now download angry birds rio without problem...

Added on June 3, 2011, 2:02 pmapparently still not working for some apps, robotek cant be installed still
i had no problems with AB Rio. Had problems with other AB versions though... this morning, i used the method suggested by Timothy when I reset to Factory Default. not sure if its coz of the method or that the country error is fixed. i'm just happy i can d/load! smile.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 02:14 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jun 3 2011, 02:11 PM)
is it android market having issue??
i can't seem to get it... from my desktop or from TF... hmm.gif
i think there may be some stability issue. getting error when i view certain apps page on market.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 02:39 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(kkChan @ Jun 3 2011, 02:32 PM)
Hopefully their Padfone can use the docking keyboard, then we'll have 3-in1, that will be so awesome!!!
read somewhere asus designed it that way... the dock can be used with eee pads. so, yes, i'm expecting the padfone will work with the transformer docking station though i know i won't be getting the padfone.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 03:41 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 3 2011, 03:38 PM)
well dun put too much stuff inside your TF then should be enuf one..especially if u put lots of movies sure run out of space easily tongue.gif
ya, i did that earlier (loaded my TF with Keikashi episodes -- even then, cannot fit all) and realise... nar... no need la.

so far, i think i can say i still got lots of space. and that's not counting the microSD card yet. see how 6mths down the road, though... smile.gif

Added on June 3, 2011, 3:43 pmi got no plans to root and/or flash my TF yet. so never gone into reading the steps/ details.

anyone care to share a good/ simple method that i can paste on the first page? though of adding a section there.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 3 2011, 03:43 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 03:44 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 3 2011, 03:43 PM)
All the multimedia files like mp3, mp4, mkv, rmvb, basically songs and movies put them in a microSD card (that's why I plan to buy a microSD card now)...

rclxms.gif
this is actually the better way... coz if need to move the files from one place to another, easier as well. just eject the card.

but i do copy 1-2 favourite files into the TF, in case the card rosak or pinjam to ppl...
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 04:00 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 03:56 PM)
Make sure class 6 at least of class 10 for optimum smile.gif
actually... need to ask all the sifu here abt this.

on the day in was at MV to get my TF, i went to a shop nearby and asked abt the price of microSD card. wanted to compare and make sure the promo package offered on that day was 'worth it'.

the shop fella told me that branded microSD manufacturers dun have Class 6 or Class 10. usually just Class 4. he said Class 4 is good enough. its the 'not-so-branded' ones that comes up with higher speed. any truth in the statement by the shop fella?
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 04:02 PM

7,044 posts

another Q... how many have tried using the bundled SW like MyCloud, MyNet, etc? feedback? i have yet to test those...
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 04:14 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 3 2011, 04:10 PM)
I have a Transcend class 6 8GB SD. If you use it in dSLR to record HD movie, you will see smooth playback result from a movie file recorded on class 6. My friend was using class 4, he said the movie came out to be lagging. So I still believe in higher class, the faster the speed. So better get either class 6 or 10... you dont want performance degradation on your TF, right? smile.gif
ya, but unfortunately for me... the bundled promo package that day was with a Class 4 card from PenDrive.

yes, i read that one can see marked improvements for HD video recording, etc... just wondering if it will really apply for TF. but still, if i get a next card, i'll make sure to avoid that shop in MV. hmm.gif the fella said no difference, and that's why the big manufacturers dun bother with anything more than Class 4.

Added on June 3, 2011, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(garyngkt @ Jun 3 2011, 04:13 PM)
I'm using MoboPlayer can play most movie formats without issues but when I try with .MKV files no sound only video. Still figuring out how to properly play MKV.
if i m not mistaken, MKV is just a container. it still depends on how was used to encode the file. so, possibly its more a decoder than is not available on moboplayer.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 3 2011, 04:15 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 04:23 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 3 2011, 04:21 PM)
Oh ya, the shops that I am searching are all the computer accessories shops.
same here... went to the pc shops near Asus in MV and could not find any Class 8/ 10. looks like i was looking at wrong place... blush.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 04:32 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 3 2011, 04:27 PM)

Added on June 3, 2011, 4:28 pm

As suggested by shahz, try camera shop tengok ada tak. I want to know also. smile.gif
QUOTE(shahz @ Jun 3 2011, 04:29 PM)
Sure got..Especially those that sell DSLRs because these cameras need high speed class for high quality video recording..Just like our friend mentioned above..I bought my class 10 from DSLR shop too smile.gif
ya, i guess i'll check the camera shops in MV when i go there to collect my dock. i wonder when is the stock coming in... unsure.gif

but doubt i'll be getting 1 since i still have a lot of space on the TF and my 8GB card.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 3 2011, 05:25 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 3 2011, 03:23 PM)
make me feel like going back to touch my transformer now... how awesome is the google earth.

i started to worry the 12G memory left with me is not enough for me to install so many things. hhahaha...
i go one up... downloaded google sky. see stars... rclxub.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 4 2011, 03:55 PM

7,044 posts

without dock, its hard to type and edit the thread... ya, using my TF now.

anyway, those having market problem... have you guys tried the proxy methos? i just posted the steps on the 1st page.

Added on June 4, 2011, 3:56 pmi will add owners to the list later. too troublesome without mouse, etc when i add the names + link.

Added on June 4, 2011, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(nles @ Jun 4 2011, 01:44 PM)
Anyone already found USB extension cable that can charge the pad? Bought a USB3.0 extension from lowyat, couldn't work. Other forum also saying not all USB3.0 extension can charge.

Added on June 4, 2011, 2:11 pmHmm wait, it works, it does charge, I bought it from thundermatch noops 3meter USB3.0 extension. So now long enough to put beside the bed haha.

Don't know what apps to install now
speaking of charging... 1 thing i dun like is no indicator lights. dunno when its completed or whether its charging or not.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 4 2011, 03:59 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 4 2011, 10:23 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jun 3 2011, 06:10 PM)
tried to run a 720 mp4 and avi.. smooth on moboplayer...
tried a few 1080 files in mp4 and mkv format. different encoding. these are just some movie trailers ranging from 180 - 400mb.

i can get image on some. on others, blank screen. no sound.

for the files with image, it is not smooth. not very jerky but definitely not as smooth as watching on a high-end notebook.

i guess playing 1080 movies should be possible and better with tegra3.

Added on June 4, 2011, 10:26 pm
QUOTE(nles @ Jun 3 2011, 10:12 PM)
my name ain't on the list, add me ya. My unit have light bleed at the bottom left and left bottom. I got my 32gb from all it kingston RM209.

Haven't got time to really play with it
same here... bleeding top and bottom. seems quite bad though its only obvious when starting up the unit. so far, its not affect the performance. it's more an annoyance. goes to show that for QC, not many can top Apple. sad but true.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 4 2011, 10:26 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 4 2011, 10:37 PM

7,044 posts

for the market problem, i posted another option on the first page -- which is using proxy. do let us know if the proxy works. i got all i need for now. so no plans to do any download. smile.gif

Added on June 4, 2011, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 4 2011, 04:02 PM)
If you have the keyboard, there is an indicator light near the charging port. smile.gif

Added on June 4, 2011, 4:06 pmDid you notice that when you are doing text input in the default browser, the text come out very slow. I have no problem when i do text entry in other apps such as fb and Twitter.
*sigh* when is my dock coming?!? sad.gif

ya, i find typing is a bit slow and annoying on the default browser. probably will try dolphin HD as that name gets mentioned quite often. annoying = when trying to reply to forum, keyboard pops up at the 'wrong time'. is there a way to set it so keyboard won't pop up unless i press some button. i though there was such option and i checked it, but keyboard still pops us.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 4 2011, 10:41 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 4 2011, 11:26 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 4 2011, 11:12 PM)

Added on June 4, 2011, 11:14 pmThis market thingy make me feel very disappointed,  i can't even find WhatsApp and pingchat and Skype. What the.....
have u tried the proxy method? for this method, you might need to try a few until you get a fast and reliable proxy. i remember having tried like 5-6 before i found 1 i could use. even then, it was quite slow. but it was better than not being able to download anything.

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:55 PM