Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

fk2222
post Mar 4 2013, 11:00 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Mar 3 2013, 11:51 PM)
Hi guys. Could anyone enlighten and advice me on buying liquor in taiwan and bring back to malaysia? Kena tax or not? Appreciate the feedback. Thanks
hHA KLIA airports best for msians la, we got e-passport , straight away go to the machine then checked out from arrival. no ppl even care how many bottles u holding.
ntdote
post Mar 5 2013, 12:21 PM

324 posts

Guys,

If reach taoyuan airport at 6 am in the morning, anything to do before checking in at hotel?
siauann
post Mar 5 2013, 02:51 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

is it recommended just to stay in taipei only throughout the vacation and travel from taipei to each and every place?

or

staying different place when reaching certain destination?

i will be going end of april and will have around 8days. is it sufficient?
zstan
post Mar 5 2013, 08:18 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Mar 5 2013, 02:51 PM)
is it recommended just to stay in taipei only throughout the vacation and travel from taipei to each and every place?

or

taipei can be completed in 4 days for most of the main attractions. the rest of the days can be used to visit other places.
tribalsun
post Mar 6 2013, 04:28 PM

13 posts

I'm counting the days to go to Taiwan! Can't wait. Adventure! Food Hunting! Shopping with my gf!
Serendipity123
post Mar 7 2013, 09:55 AM

175 posts

To the ladies,

If you like fashion bags, do remember to drop by Skyblue's (天藍小舖 ) shops in Shida Night Market and Shilin Night Market. Not forgetting PG美人网 shop at Raohe Market.

Leggings and pantyhose are also cheap!!! I bought my 180D/200D korean style pantyhose at only NT50 and NT100!

And if you need more luggage bags, you can get the normal ones (no trolley) for NT50 at Danshui Old Street.

IMHO, I think the stuffs at Xi Men Ding are much more expensive than other places (or night markets) in Taipei. If you want clothes, go to WuFenPu (avoid Mondays). If you want shoes and bags, go to the night markets.

Have fun shopping!

This post has been edited by Serendipity123: Mar 7 2013, 09:56 AM
siauann
post Mar 7 2013, 10:36 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 5 2013, 08:18 PM)
taipei can be completed in 4 days for most of the main attractions. the rest of the days can be used to visit other places.
hi zstan
thanks for the info. does this mean thats after 4days staying in taipei i can move to other place and stay there?
besides taipei what other location are recommended to spend accommodation?
siauann
post Mar 7 2013, 10:38 AM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(tribalsun @ Mar 6 2013, 04:28 PM)
I'm counting the days to go to Taiwan! Can't wait. Adventure! Food Hunting! Shopping with my gf!
when is ur travelling period? how many days spend in taiwan trip?

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Mar 7 2013, 09:55 AM)
To the ladies,

If you like fashion bags, do remember to drop by Skyblue's (天藍小舖 ) shops in Shida Night Market and Shilin Night Market. Not forgetting PG美人网 shop at Raohe Market.

Leggings and pantyhose are also cheap!!! I bought my 180D/200D korean style pantyhose at only NT50 and NT100!

And if you need more luggage bags, you can get the normal ones (no trolley) for NT50 at Danshui Old Street.

IMHO, I think the stuffs at Xi Men Ding are much more expensive than other places (or night markets) in Taipei. If you want clothes, go to WuFenPu (avoid Mondays). If you want shoes and bags, go to the night markets.

Have fun shopping!
thanks for these useful info. i should update my wife biggrin.gif
Petre
post Mar 7 2013, 11:45 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(fk2222 @ Mar 4 2013, 11:00 PM)
hHA KLIA airports best for msians la, we got e-passport , straight away go to the machine then checked out from arrival. no ppl even care how many bottles u holding.
didnt know KK airport got such facility leh biggrin.gif

i'm already back in malaysia though, coz of time constraint, didnt manage to get any other than a couple of beers sad.gif

wanted to get some green label... a lot sold at taoyuan terminal 2
Kelvin5717
post Mar 7 2013, 02:11 PM

742 posts

Hi all ok, my itinerary is about 65% and need help to complete it, expert please correct me if there is anything missing or wrong;

DAY 1
- Arrival & Check-in hotel
- Lazy around and Shilin night market

Day 2
- Yeliu Geopark
- Yeliu Marine world
- Jiufen (do i need to transfer to Keeling raiway if I'm coming from Yeliu in order to reach jiufen ?)
- Shifen (anything worth to do in shifen since not lanten festival ?)
- KIV - Keelung & Meikou night market (as planning to have the evening view of the jiufen staircase)

Day 3
- Xin Beitou Hot Spring - Explore museum and find a private hot spring to rent
- Hell Valley
- Yangmin Shan
- Back to Taiepi for night market (not sure which 1 yet)

Day 4
- Ximending Shopping from morning onwards
- Chiang kai-Shek memorial
- National Dr.Sun Yat Sen
- Lunch at Ding Tai Fung first shop
- Wufen Pu Shopping again
- Taipei 101 dawn view
- Roahe night market shopping again

Day 5 - THIS IS MY WIFE BIRTHDAY and IM NOT SURE WHAT BEST TOUGHT OF SPENDING TIME AT DANSHUI & LOVERS BRIDGE since the name sounds romantic lol- morning not decided yet...
- Dansui shopping
- Fisherman Wharf & Lovers Bridge
- what else to do ?

Day 6
- Morning free time at taipei town
- noon till night at bridal house

Day 7
- NO IDEA OHHHHHH cry.gif

Day 8
- Full day shooting for bridal

DAY 9
- noon select photo
- night repeat any of the night market my wife likes

Day 10
- flight at 15.45, what to do else at morning ?

please help running out of idea cry.gif cry.gif what else I'm missing must see attraction sweat.gif day 4 will it be too pack ? since all is nearby at taipei town area im not too sure ??

This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: Mar 7 2013, 02:16 PM
prob queen
post Mar 7 2013, 04:02 PM

59 posts

jiu fern to shi fern is it nearby?

cz i m staying overnite in jiu fern, so 1st day will spend whole day in jiu fern,
2nd day when check out only go to yeh liu, is it okie?

tx
prob queen
post Mar 7 2013, 04:05 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Mar 5 2013, 02:51 PM)

or

yes sifu gt suggest ma, 1st few days go to taipei, the rest days mayb u can go to jiue fern stay one nite, n go some places tat a bit far la

but for me, i keep to stay in one hotel, cz most places can reach by bus or mrt or train
Kelvin5717
post Mar 7 2013, 09:06 PM

742 posts

How to get to the Taipei Expo Park from TMS ?

I was supprise no one mention this is the thread, this is simply amazing place to be;

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/07/taiw...-expo-park.html rclxms.gif
zstan
post Mar 8 2013, 12:27 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Mar 7 2013, 10:36 AM)
hi zstan
thanks for the info. does this mean thats after 4days staying in taipei i can move to other place and stay there?
besides taipei what other location are recommended to spend accommodation?
yes. maybe you can have a look at first page.

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Mar 7 2013, 02:11 PM)
Hi all ok, my itinerary is about 65% and need help to complete it, expert please correct me if there is anything missing or wrong;
DAY 1
- Arrival & Check-in hotel
- Lazy around and Shilin night market

Day 2
- Yeliu Geopark
- Yeliu Marine world
- Jiufen (do i need to transfer to Keeling raiway if I'm coming from Yeliu in order to reach jiufen ?)
- Shifen (anything worth to do in shifen since not lanten festival ?)
- KIV - Keelung & Meikou night market (as planning to have the evening view of the jiufen staircase)

Day 3
- Xin Beitou Hot Spring - Explore museum and find a private hot spring to rent
-  Hell Valley
- Yangmin Shan
- Back to Taiepi for night market (not sure which 1 yet)

Day 4
- Ximending Shopping from morning onwards
- Chiang kai-Shek memorial
- National Dr.Sun Yat Sen
- Lunch at Ding Tai Fung first shop
- Wufen Pu Shopping again
- Taipei 101 dawn view
- Roahe night market shopping again

Day 5 - THIS IS MY WIFE BIRTHDAY and IM NOT SURE WHAT BEST TOUGHT OF SPENDING TIME AT DANSHUI & LOVERS BRIDGE since the name sounds romantic lol- morning not decided yet...
- Dansui shopping
- Fisherman Wharf & Lovers Bridge
- what else to do ?

Day 6
- noon till night at bridal house

Day 7
- NO IDEA OHHHHHH  cry.gif

Day 8
- Full day shooting for bridal

DAY 9
- noon select photo
- night repeat any of the night market my wife likes

Day 10
- flight at 15.45, what to do else at morning ?

please help running out of idea  cry.gif  cry.gif what else I'm missing must see attraction  sweat.gif day 4 will it be too pack ? since all is nearby at taipei town area im not too sure ??
you can only reach yeh liu by bus. shifen can release lanterns at the train tracks. day 5 can have romantic candle light dinner at the restaurants there.

QUOTE(prob queen @ Mar 7 2013, 04:02 PM)
jiu fern to shi fern is it nearby?

cz i m staying overnite in jiu fern, so 1st day will spend whole day in jiu fern,
2nd day when check out only go to yeh liu, is it okie?

tx
yes nearby. u should go jiu fern in the day, then around 4-6pm go shi fen, then back to jiufen

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Mar 7 2013, 09:06 PM)
How to get to the Taipei Expo Park from TMS ?

I was supprise no one mention this is the thread, this is simply amazing place to be;

http://zhishan90.blogspot.com/2012/07/taiw...-expo-park.html  rclxms.gif
yeah its a bit under rated biggrin.gif

can have a look at their official site:

http://www.taipei-expopark.tw/ct.asp?xItem...tNode=7547&mp=4
KenAragorn
post Mar 8 2013, 03:50 PM

144 posts

Hi all, need some advice on my travel plan on whether it will be too pack for 2 of us (me and my wife honeymoon trip) especially for Taipei area. notworthy.gif nod.gif
Thanks ya.

Will be traveling from May 2 - 11, 2013.

Day 1

[Evening]
Arrival and straight go to Taichung and stay for 1 night (for the night market).
Route: Taoyuan airport --> Taoyuan HSR --> Taichung HSR --> Wuri railway station (just 5 mins walk) --> check-in hotel --> take bus to Fengjia night market

Day 2:
[Morning]
Breakfast and check-out. Go to sheep farm/Cingjing and stay for a night. Visit surrounding area.
Route: Wuri railway station take bus --> Cingjing farm (to check-in first before ask the Starry minshu owner to drop us at the Welcome center)
[Evening]
Back to minshu for dinner.

Day 3:
[Morning]
Breakfast and go to Sun Moon Lake.
[Noon/Evening]
Check-in and SML minshu, local tour around.
Route: Cingjing farm --> Puli --> SML

Day 4:

[Morning]
Morning view/feel around SML. Breakfast and then check-out for Alishan.
[Noon]
Tour around Alishan since nothing much to do at this hour.

Day 5:
[Morning]
Alishan tour around and breakfast.
Check-out and go back to Taipei. Might drop by other places nearby such as Ximen.
[Evening]
Check-in to hotel (Ximending) and local tour around.
Route: SML --> Taichung HSR --> Taipei Main Station --> Ximen station (hotel)

Day 6:
[Morning] Ruifang for breakfast, then Jiufen, then Pingxi (evening)
[Evening] Pingxi … maybe around 6pm or before that time, go to Keelung for dinner (Miakou night market).
Route: Ximen station --> Taipei Main Station --> Ruifang Train Station --> ?? [to Pingxi, Shifen, Coalmine]

Day 7:
[Morning] Breakfast around Ximen and go to Wulai. This to do here: Hot spring, waterfall, local food and aboriginal Atayal culture.
[Evening] Gongguan or Shida night market
Route:Ximen station --> Cheng Kai-Shek station --> Xindian station --> local bus 849 (at bus stop G – as labeled on MRT map)

Day 8:
[Morning] Breakfast around Ximen and go to Yang Ming Shan.
[Evening] Tamsui, Fisherman Wharf
Route: Ximen station --> Xinbeitou station (for morning) --> Tamsui station (for evening) --> take the bus number 230 --> Yang Ming Shan bus station --> take the leisure bus number 108 (which travels to various Yang Ming Shan scenic spots, about NT 60 per day unlimited ride) --> Tamsui station (for evening) or
Route: Ximen station --> Shilin station (for morning) --> take bus Red 5 or bus 260 or others (refer link below) --> take leisure bus number 108 --> Tamsui station (for evening)

Day 9
[Morning] Sun Yat-Sen, Chiang Kai-Shek, 101
[Evening] Wufenpu and Raohe night market
Route: Ximen station --> Houshanpi station (nearby the exit 1 of the named station, about 5 mins walking) --> walk 15 mins to Raohe night market (dinner)

Day 10
[Morning] Breakfast around Ximen and final hunting
[Noon] Checkout and time to go back Malaysia

*Day 6,7,8 and 9 is exchangeable ... depending on mood and tiredness*

Kelvin5717
post Mar 8 2013, 06:54 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 8 2013, 12:27 AM)
yes. maybe you can have  a  look at first page.
you can only reach yeh liu by bus. shifen can release lanterns at the train tracks. day 5 can have romantic candle light dinner at the restaurants there.
yes nearby. u should go jiu fern in the day, then around 4-6pm go shi fen, then back to jiufen
yeah its a bit under rated biggrin.gif

can have a look at their official site:

http://www.taipei-expopark.tw/ct.asp?xItem...tNode=7547&mp=4
Ya I found the Pavillion from your blog so so nice and admin should put it into the front page as 1 must visit attraction smile.gif how far do you think it will take from Taipei Main Station ?

Ok the day 5 you mean can have romantic candle light dinner at Shifen or Jiufen ? any good restaurant reco ?

any good suggestion for a romantic candle light dinner at Tamshui / Lover's bridge area since it's her birthday ?

If go Taroko Gorge for 1 day better to travel by our self or go buy a local tour package for 1 day ?
tribalsun
post Mar 8 2013, 07:06 PM

13 posts

I will be going on the 1st of april to 5th for 5 days 4 nights. Posted my itinerary a few pages back. Check it out!
Kelvin5717
post Mar 8 2013, 10:28 PM

742 posts

Hey guys about night market in Taipei, what are those reco and not reco ?

Confirm going
Shilin Night Market,
Raohe Street Night Market,
Ximending

and there are so many others in taipei but im not sure if it worth going ? my girl like pasar malam doh.gif every night also need to go pasar malam for the 10days trip lol, cannot repeat too many same geh and dunwan go to those that have nth interesting so as to waste time and effort, please advise rclxms.gif

Gongguan Night Market (公館夜市)
Huaxi Street Tourist Night Market (Snake Alley), Wanhua (華西街觀光夜市)
Jingmei Night Market (景美夜市)
Liaoning Street Night Market (遼寧街夜市)
Linguang (Tonghua Street) Night Market (通化街夜市)
Ningxia Night Market (寧夏夜市)
Shida Night Market (traditional Chinese: 師大路夜市)

anyone been to the above please advise wink.gif
Serendipity123
post Mar 8 2013, 11:38 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:28 PM)
Hey guys about night market in Taipei, what are those reco and not reco ?

Confirm going
Shilin Night Market,
Raohe Street Night Market,
Ximending

and there are so many others in taipei but im not sure if it worth going ? my girl like pasar malam  doh.gif every night also need to go pasar malam for the 10days trip lol, cannot repeat too many same geh and dunwan go to those that have nth interesting so as to waste time and effort, please advise  rclxms.gif

Gongguan Night Market (公館夜市)
Huaxi Street Tourist Night Market (Snake Alley), Wanhua (華西街觀光夜市)
Jingmei Night Market (景美夜市)
Liaoning Street Night Market (遼寧街夜市)
Linguang (Tonghua Street) Night Market (通化街夜市)
Ningxia Night Market (寧夏夜市)
Shida Night Market (traditional Chinese: 師大路夜市)

anyone been to the above please advise wink.gif
I like Shida Night Market and Shilin Night Market the best! rclxms.gif

Shida, because they have a lot of small shops that sell hip and cool stuffs.
Shilin, coz it's big and things there are cheap.

Raohe, it's okay, a lot of food, not so much on other things. Though they have the PG 美人网 shop there.

You can also try Keelung Night Market after a trip to Jiu Fen.
Kelvin5717
post Mar 9 2013, 02:03 AM

742 posts

QUOTE(Serendipity123 @ Mar 8 2013, 11:38 PM)
I like Shida Night Market  and Shilin Night Market the best!  rclxms.gif

Shida, because they have a lot of small shops that sell hip and cool stuffs.
Shilin, coz it's big and things there are cheap.

Raohe, it's okay, a lot of food, not so much on other things. Though they have the PG 美人网 shop there.

You can also try Keelung Night Market after a trip to Jiu Fen.
added shida and keelung night market rclxms.gif thank you so much anymore ? got 9nights there hahaha now only 5 night market or just repeat hmm hmm.gif

146 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:48 AM