Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

zstan
post Jan 17 2012, 12:24 AM

15,856 posts

Will it be a waste if I go taipei only? I might be heading over to Taiwan but I've already been there 6 years ago and have visited all the tourist spots. Was thinking of doing something different this time. But my friends who are first timers may not agree with me.

There are two places out of Taipei which interests me which peng hu wan and ri yue hu. Are these two places worth the trouble to visit?
zstan
post Jan 17 2012, 09:32 AM

15,856 posts

Xi men ding is at gao xiong right? Lazy go hua lian la. got phobia sitting the bus for long hours d @@
zstan
post Jan 17 2012, 02:30 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 17 2012, 09:37 AM)
adoi zstan... you need to revisit 1st age liao haha. Xi Men Ding is just 1 station away from Taipei Main station. Kenot be 350km South of Taipei kua? unless there is another Xi Men Ding there?

Going Huelien is by train lor.. and infact there is a speed express train i.e Taroko express going there (2hrs journey). For me Taroko/ Chin Sui Bay in Hualien is a must liao
Ahaha. sorry la boss last time i go just sit on bus and don need worry anything. Will read the first page again when i confirm going. now just agak agak ask first tongue.gif So i can take train to hua lian huh.. good good.. i am sick of the bus liao rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

The night market at gao xiong is what name a? i remember got one there. sorry about confusing the names sad.gif can i go gao xiong by train? or need fly there/ bus? hmm.gif

QUOTE(cutiepooh @ Jan 17 2012, 09:44 AM)
It won't be wasting time after 6 years your last visited in Taiwan. There are a lot of changes now. Taipei is like Bangsar and KLCC , Foods there, I still prefer Malaysia foods......and if you do shopping there also will expensive compare to kao xiong , tai zhong and tai nang. Please do research before you travel there,It will take you times for taking transport. If you think to take cab, Please be reminded to ask if they follow the meter. else you will scream of the amount which you think is not far and jam at all. blush.gif
@ Zstan .Your head la. Xi Meng Ding at Taipei la. Gao Xiong is very far still. Is like one in top and one in the bottem.

Xi Meng Ting = Penang, Gao Xiong = Johor. Do research first  doh.gif
Nola i maybe going taiwan for a conference...visiting is just another part of the plan lol.

I know about their taxis. starting price already rm7 6 years ago. now should be more pricier. why scold me la pooh pooh? sad.gif

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ Jan 17 2012, 11:29 AM)
haha yup depends on individual >.<~ i dont like sitting long hours bus~ + i dont like kampung kampung feel haha >.<

Added on January 17, 2012, 11:33 am

xi men ding very near to taipei main station only >.<~
okok thanks >_<

This post has been edited by zstan: Jan 17 2012, 02:34 PM
zstan
post Jan 17 2012, 04:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 17 2012, 02:52 PM)
Kao Shiung no bus or train..Bullet train all the way 1.5hrs from Taipei if I'm not mistaken..but not really cheap lor
LOL i just saw their website. almost Rm150. still ok la compared to flight. hmmm. so if i take from taipei to tao yuan to tai zhong to tai nan to gao xiong and back to taipei its just rm300. still reasonable to me rather than take bus!

hua lian also can take express train from taiwan... another rm100... so maybe need set aside rm500 for transport!! @_@

and i may be staying at Holiday Inn Hotel East Taipei if the organisers didn con me...110 per night (after splitting with 2 people) ! i guess i will be moving out if i were to extend my stay lol.

QUOTE(kons @ Jan 17 2012, 02:55 PM)
starting price is still twd 70 when i was there last year.
most of their taxi will use meter la, i spent more than 30 days in taiwan last year, taking taxi everyday, none of them never use meter before.
furthermore some of them will have discount after travel for certain distance.
and their taxi so much better than m'sia, toyota wish, camry, corolla.

food in taiwan, not all are nice, but the majority of those which i tried are quite nice.
but i'm not a fussy person, especially with food.
ahaha yes the taxis are amazing! i didn try the camry before though. only sat their honda city before(6 years old back punya model) . not really keen on taiwan food also la damn oily and fattening one rclxub.gif
zstan
post Jan 17 2012, 04:40 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 17 2012, 04:33 PM)
To Hualian the express train & conventional train actually same pricing wan haha..and not RM100-lah.. I forgotten liao..probably u can chk by picture blog I linked on pg1

Actually I din goto Kaoshiung, Taichung. Just surrounding Taipei, surburban of Taipei & Hualian nia
one way rm40 mar... so both way about rm80 lor? okla not rm100 haha. rm20 can be used for other stuff.

ahhh.. i see.. how long did you take for that? previously i tour whole island use 7 days. and dunno my friends interested in fo guang shan or not.lol
zstan
post Jan 23 2012, 10:20 AM

15,856 posts

Taiwan power quite low one. For those slightly higher demanding devices you have to find those 3 pin ports. I had to charge my camera in the toilet (using the shavers port) cause the room one not strong enough. Maybe I should have used to tv plug instead. Haha
zstan
post Jan 25 2012, 10:07 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Jan 23 2012, 02:01 PM)
Does those hotels provide adapter to the hotel guests?

some do and may charge a small fee.
zstan
post Jan 27 2012, 11:09 PM

15,856 posts

ok i confirm going taiwan at july liao~~ rclxm9.gif

time to read first page.
zstan
post Feb 15 2012, 11:13 PM

15,856 posts

any airlines that fly to taiwan besides AA/mas/cathay? thanks.
zstan
post Feb 16 2012, 11:10 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Feb 15 2012, 11:29 PM)
China Airlines,EVA Airways
there are more airlines like TransAsia,Jetstar Asia/Tiger Airways if you fly from singapore.and THAI Airways also flies to taiwan if you dont mind transiting in Bangkok
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Feb 16 2012, 10:12 PM)
SIA sometimes offers some good deal to TPE.
thanks! i was looking more for a direct flight.. hmm will consider transiting if air asia don't have any good deal by the time i want.. thanks for the info!
zstan
post Mar 7 2012, 12:44 PM

15,856 posts

How hot will July be ? unsure.gif
zstan
post Mar 12 2012, 11:05 PM

15,856 posts

looks like july's weather is no different from malaysia :/
zstan
post Mar 20 2012, 09:58 PM

15,856 posts

Is one day enough to visit Hua Lien?Do i need to stay over night?

What about Sun Moon Lake? Is it advisable to stay one night there? Or around Puli/Taichung?
zstan
post Mar 20 2012, 11:32 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Mar 20 2012, 10:15 PM)
hua lien only to see the toroko gorge and perhaps the farglory resort
sun moon lake can complete in 1day
both don need stay over night? cause dunno wan go back taipei stay or just spend one night there. suggestions welcomed blush.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 12:24 amfrom taichung to hualien, i need to take train from taichung to taipei and to hua lien right?

there is no direct train from taichung to hua lien? and how do i get around in hua lien if i dont drive? do they have buses? :/

This post has been edited by zstan: Mar 21 2012, 12:24 AM
zstan
post Mar 29 2012, 01:07 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Mar 29 2012, 12:27 PM)
pls advise, what are the available land transport from Hualian TO Sun Moon Lake directly? isit a must to go back teipei, then to sun moon lake
i have the same question too.

but apparently you can take a 4 hour train from hua lien to taichung.
zstan
post Mar 30 2012, 08:13 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Mar 30 2012, 12:01 AM)
is this train direct across from hua lien to taichung  (east to west and not bypass teipei in the north) ? can't find this route leh!!! sighh
http://new.twtraffic.com.tw/twrail/index.aspx

can select taichong to hua lien

from 田中->花蓮

Added on March 30, 2012, 8:17 amhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tianzhong,_Changhua

This post has been edited by zstan: Mar 30 2012, 08:17 AM
zstan
post Apr 7 2012, 08:53 PM

15,856 posts

is it feasible if i book all my accomodation through agoda? or do you guys have better recommendations? thanks smile.gif
zstan
post Apr 7 2012, 10:43 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Apr 7 2012, 10:34 PM)
holidaycity,zuji,asiatravel etc shop around to see which one offer the best rate
thank you smile.gif

Added on April 8, 2012, 12:27 amquestion:

is it faster to take bus to taoyuan airport or take HSR and take another bus?

This post has been edited by zstan: Apr 8 2012, 12:27 AM
zstan
post Apr 8 2012, 09:58 PM

15,856 posts

Hi guys,

are there any tourist attractions within walking distance of the taoyuan HSR? i have a few hours to burn there laugh.gif
zstan
post Apr 13 2012, 11:14 PM

15,856 posts

If i manage to get the deals on agoda and hostel world.. my total accommodation will cost about rm450 at taipei,hua lien, taichung and sun moon lake. is it reasonable?

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:49 AM