TSterryfu
post May 13 2011, 02:40 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(kiguss @ May 13 2011, 02:34 PM)
are you sure is cheaper?

To make call using YES LIFE on iPhone need internet / 3G charges
We need to consider the 3G charges and the internet speed

And it will have 1-2 seconds delay as tested :-)
You're right. If piggybacking on 3 G line will incur the charges. That's why I'm trying to find out how much data it takes for a 3 min phone call or an SMS. Technically an SMS is maximum only 160 bytes (1 character = 1 byte). So far I tried a 5 min call and 2 SMS and my usage never even go up. So definitely less than 0.1 MB

Digi, Celcom & Maxis all give free data charges, and will throttle down (except for Maxis), so technically you not necessary pay additional charges. I think unless you make 100 hrs of calls per month, should not be hitting the data limit (again depends on user)

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ May 13 2011, 02:36 PM)
if i had used for few months, can i port the number to other telco? cos most of the numbers very nice.
Good question. Not sure. Anybody here knows? Agree that the number is very nice smile.gif

hurricane21
post May 13 2011, 02:50 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ May 13 2011, 02:40 PM)
You're right. If piggybacking on 3 G line will incur the charges. That's why I'm trying to find out how much data it takes for a 3 min phone call or an SMS. Technically an SMS is maximum only 160 bytes (1 character = 1 byte). So far I tried a 5 min call and 2 SMS and my usage never even go up. So definitely less than 0.1 MB

Digi, Celcom & Maxis all give free data charges, and will throttle down (except for Maxis), so technically you not necessary pay additional charges. I think unless you make 100 hrs of calls per month, should not be hitting the data limit (again depends on user)
Good question. Not sure. Anybody here knows? Agree that the number is very nice smile.gif
yeah i found few of my desired numbers, so just thinking to port out and keep the number, if not just hope they will release apps for android.
kiguss
post May 13 2011, 02:51 PM

238 posts

Yes we need to find out the bandwidth charges for 1 minute, maybe can request YES to test for us?

by the way, I don't like the delay using this >.<
xaw5126
post May 13 2011, 02:53 PM

3,488 posts

@ hurricane21 you can't cancel your standard phone service unless you plan to use YES exclusively...
hurricane21
post May 13 2011, 02:55 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

QUOTE(kiguss @ May 13 2011, 02:51 PM)
Yes we need to find out the bandwidth charges for 1 minute, maybe can request YES to test for us?

by the way, I don't like the delay using this >.<
i tried its on par with normal phone calls, so far no lags no delays

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ May 13 2011, 02:53 PM)
@ hurricane21 you can't cancel your standard phone service unless you plan to use YES exclusively...
what i mean is port to number to eg. maxis prepaid, cos u know making call on ipad is too wired and inconvenience.
TSterryfu
post May 13 2011, 03:04 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ May 13 2011, 02:55 PM)
i tried its on par with normal phone calls, so far no lags no delays
what i mean is port to number to eg. maxis prepaid, cos u know making call on ipad is too wired and inconvenience.
Agree - I tried the calls and can't feel any more delay than my normal calls. I think it may depend on 3G line as it piggybacks on that connection to the net.

@hurricane - YES uses different technology so I'm not sure whether can do MNP. You may want to check out the YTL Wimax thread on this, and ask around there. (I put the link on the first post).
deepan84
post May 13 2011, 05:18 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

wudnt it be the same as using Viber for calls and Whatsapp for sms? (and its all free BTW)

This post has been edited by deepan84: May 13 2011, 05:19 PM
waj
post May 13 2011, 05:19 PM

19 posts

heya can someone clarify on this Yes Life charges.

So is it confirmed that there is a minimum charges of RM 30 per month for this ?

If it is so, it's not so great a deal then. I can use skype or other VoIP to call in and it is a flexible credit (top up when I need to).

i am interested in this because folks in msia could contact or SMS me without incurring international charges if i am oversea ..
and i can sms them at local rate ..

imagine la if i go oversea and then a fren called ..

<fren> dude ! where are u ?
<Me> aiya in subang la ..
<fren> dude you sounds like you are in some thai disco !!
<Me> no lar where got .. u call my local malaysia phone number ma ...
< .... in the background ..... > Kun yak pai tiaw kub chan mai ?

TSterryfu
post May 13 2011, 05:49 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ May 13 2011, 05:18 PM)
wudnt it be the same as using Viber for calls and Whatsapp for sms? (and its all free BTW)
If not mistaken for both of the apps above can only contact with persons who also have the app installed (you can include Skype in this as well). With Yes Life I can contact any phone no (mobile / landline) irrespective of their phone types, programs, installed apps etc., all at the local call rates.

QUOTE(waj @ May 13 2011, 05:19 PM)
heya can someone clarify on this Yes Life charges.

So is it confirmed that there is a minimum charges of RM 30 per month for this ?

If it is so, it's not so great a deal then. I can use skype or other VoIP to call in and it is a flexible credit (top up when I need to).

i am interested in this because folks in msia could contact or SMS me without incurring international charges if i am oversea ..

imagine la if i go oversea and then a fren called ..

<fren> dude ! where are u ?
<Me>  aiya in subang la ..
<fren> dude you sounds like you are in some thai disco !!
<Me>  no lar where got .. u call my local malaysia phone number ma ...
< .... in the background ..... >  Kun yak pai tiaw kub chan mai ?
Yup, there is a min of RM 30 to maintain the line per month (but can use as credit for calls & SMS). So it depends really on the user and they would need to check what is their mobile plan on and usage. For me I am interested in this also because do international calls at local rates as I'm travelling in the next 2 months (so can get 14 days trial free first smile.gif)

eMKs
post May 13 2011, 05:53 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(waj @ May 13 2011, 05:19 PM)
I can use skype or other VoIP to call in and it is a flexible credit (top up when I need to).

Do Skype have msia number for call in?

This post has been edited by eMKs: May 13 2011, 05:54 PM
wztech
post May 13 2011, 06:39 PM

521 posts

can i receive calls via this?
TSterryfu
post May 13 2011, 06:58 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ May 13 2011, 05:53 PM)
Do Skype have msia number for call in?
No - don't have.

QUOTE(wztech @ May 13 2011, 06:39 PM)
can i receive calls via this?
Yes you can. Make sure the app is on thats all.

Added on May 13, 2011, 7:00 pmOverall, Skype, Yahoo Msger, Windows Live Msg all use the same way to communicate. Both parties need to have the software / app installed in their phone / laptop / tablet, etc. Then only can talk to each other (yes Yahoo & Windows Live got mics option as well). Skype additional benefit is can call phone numbers but the rates are not as cheap as you may think and you need credit card.

However, with YES, you still need to be connected to the net (via 3G / wi-fi, etc.) but you can call any number (the receiver don't need special software) at a low price of RM 0.09 / min. And you can do it whether you're in Msia or other countries (as long as got Net connection).

This post has been edited by terryfu: May 13 2011, 07:00 PM
opera33
post May 13 2011, 08:08 PM

Don't Look Here
641 posts

when using iphone, i can only heard sound using loud speaker, is this a problem? or is meant to be this way?
TSterryfu
post May 13 2011, 08:36 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(opera33 @ May 13 2011, 08:08 PM)
when using iphone, i can only heard sound using loud speaker, is this a problem? or is meant to be this way?
nope you should be able to make a normal call. I just made one just now.

u can also use speaker phone.
aeiou228
post May 13 2011, 08:39 PM

5,867 posts

I installed it on my ipad2 and ipod 4g ( mama look, i turned ipod to iphone4 lol brows.gif ) yesterday and tested many calls and below is my review.

1. Call qually was choppy and slightly delayed on streamyx 1mb line. I can hear the voice clearly from the person i called who was using normal mobile and fixed line but he can't really hear me clearly. Often times I need to repeat 2 to 3 times to make myself clear. Thus the 9 sen per min call rates needs to x 2 times too sometimes.
2. Exactly the same feature as Skype pay as you go plan but at cheaper domestic call rates.
3. Skype pay as you go no monthly commitment whereas Yes life needs minimum rm30 usage per month.
4. Yes life have free local phone number whereas Skype don't have. But one can hardly fully utilized the incoming call phone number due to the fact that we can't online 24/7.
5. Good for calling home from overseas with Internet access as compared to more expensive Skype pay as u go.
6. I'm not optimistic to use it as an incoming call option when traveling overseas because i can't control when and who will call me at certain time and i can't always be in the wifi range. Also for the fact that most of my customers will continue to call me at my primary phone number.

Well, the biggest drawback is the rm30 minimum monthly usage, otherwise it can be the good alternative to Skype pay as you go.
adhoc
post May 13 2011, 09:38 PM

5 Star Trader
1,384 posts

Has anyone tried YES by calling normal mobile and fixed line? How is the quality of call? lag issues etc?
azerak
post May 14 2011, 12:01 AM

805 posts

QUOTE(adhoc @ May 13 2011, 09:38 PM)
Has anyone tried YES by calling normal mobile and fixed line? How is the quality of call? lag issues etc?
i already tried calling a normal mobile phone.my device was connected to a 2mbps streamyx wifi.no problem of lagging,voice was clear.the quality was even better than my digi line sweat.gif
TSterryfu
post May 14 2011, 12:10 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ May 14 2011, 12:01 AM)
i already tried calling a normal mobile phone.my device was connected to a 2mbps streamyx wifi.no problem of lagging,voice was clear.the quality was even better than my digi line  sweat.gif
I believe different people will get different results depending on the wifi / 3G quality. I called via Celcom 3G on iP4 and it was crystal clear, no lag, etc. As good as a normal call. Gonna try making a call while driving. See whether consistent quality ornot.
aeiou228
post May 14 2011, 12:19 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ May 14 2011, 12:01 AM)
i already tried calling a normal mobile phone.my device was connected to a 2mbps streamyx wifi.no problem of lagging,voice was clear.the quality was even better than my digi line  sweat.gif
You heard clear voice from the call receiver's end because the other end is using a gsm line. The problem is at the call receiver's end where our Voices are choppy.
BRY7
post May 14 2011, 12:21 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

What's the difference with this and skype?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:11 AM