125 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

ckmoy007
post Oct 25 2008, 02:21 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

right now he's anxious to get ICE, i understand, last time i had the same feeling... but once u have a 'u think it's decent' system, then u can slowly save up on better ICE cos ur system still pleases ur ears. juz my 2 cents...
howiechoo
post Oct 28 2008, 07:20 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(Anders @ Oct 21 2008, 09:21 AM)
Cheap thing not good; good thing not cheap  biggrin.gif
i object this..hehe
Anders
post Oct 29 2008, 10:06 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Oct 28 2008, 07:20 PM)
i object this..hehe
howie, u have cheap price good thing drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
bafukie
post Oct 30 2008, 08:49 PM

1,406 posts

there are alot in the market actually hehe...
taxidoor
post Oct 31 2008, 09:19 PM

1,008 posts

hi all sifu does anyone hear ANFA amplifier before?

This post has been edited by taxidoor: Oct 31 2008, 09:20 PM
zilole9729
post Oct 31 2008, 11:57 PM

Validating
152 posts

i am juz curious bout certain things bout ICE. i need some recommendations on what i shud do. but 1st, u can c how long is it gonna be. kinda fussy when it comes to my car. i m sure those who love their cars will understand me. sorry if my ideas r juz plain stupidity or simply not possible. but any feedbacks will surely be appreiated, good or bad. i m ready for some kaw kaw scoldings or rude n sarcastic comments.

i m quite new to ICE. driving a kancil. my current ICE setup is as follows: HU - Clarion DB186MP, Comp - Boschmann AL100SE (4" 2
Way), Coaxial - Nakamichi SPC2-650 (6.5" 2 Way). All connected to the HU. no amps, no subs. a simple ice setup. however, i belif i was conned by a guy in Seremban. he is a real cut-throat. those of u from Seremban might know who is it already. LOH TONG MING or better known as LTM. when i went there, i was really new n juz fell for the image his shop had. anyway, too late now. juz wish no one from here will ever go there. this is juz my experience.

let's get back to my ice setup. i want a system that can compete in any sound competition in malaysia n dont lose terribly. u get wat i mean? budget is out of the question. i wouldnt mind spending 5k (certainly not more than that) for my kancil if its really worth it. although it would be difficult for me to come out with that much of money lump sum, i really dont mind. oh yes, i listen to almost any kind of music n i want good sound quality. but here's the catch, while i want it to be for competitions, i also want it to be practical for my daily usage. i want the lights n all those good looking stuff in my trunk but still be able to take out my spare tire. hehe. get me? is it possible? i want to be able to listen to songs, watch videos in the best manner without giving too much of a headache. my intention here is juz to get the best quality. thats y i say i want a system for competitions. not really keen in going for any competitions anyway. but will surely do at least once to c where i stand. it must also look good cuz i want ppl to look at my car n its ice n get astonished. hehe.

so now that all sifus out there know what i want. i really need help here. what would u suggest. HU+comp+sub+amps? HU+comp+coaxial+sound proofing? stick to m,y current HU,coaxial n comp? i dont know. u tell me. pls specify the brands and models as well. where can i get them? i'm from seremban. dont mind coming to klang valley but would always prefer to get it done it done in seremban itself. n also the price for each.

there's one guy said that he could do it for 5k for competition. it seems he has won some b4 n even some of his customers go for competitions. he sells limited brands. so of cuz he promotes his brands only such as pegasus, eclipse, blaupunkt and another brand better than pegasus(cant recall now).

this was his suggestion eclipse HU nearly 2k. canonly play cd n mp3 i think. definitely cant play vcd or dvd. sound proofing but not for the whole car. pegasus comp for the front. he said he will fix the tweeter to the pillar. 1 pegasus 12 inch sub. n cant remember 1 or 2 pegasus amps. n high quality cables.

what do u guys think? is it worth? or m i being cheated again? juz wanna be careful this time. all ur feedbacks will be very much appreciated. are those items sold in e bay, here n lowyat originals?

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:10 ambtw, wats sq, sql n spl? sq= sound quality? sorry guys. really really new to all these things. tq.

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:21 ammy budget of 5k is not inclusive of the monitor or screen or wateva u call it.

nearly forgot this as well. i know i said i m willing to spend 5k but if lesser better as long as it can fulfill my needs. anywhere u guys know where i can pay in instalments? hehe. finding it hard to save 5k.

This post has been edited by zilole9729: Nov 1 2008, 12:21 AM
ckmoy007
post Nov 1 2008, 12:42 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

SQ=sound quality, SQL=50-50, SPL=Sound Pressure Level.
As for ur plan to make ur car bling bling for 5k it's kinda impossible. unless, u DIY and buy all cheap 2nd hand stuffs then maybe u'll got a chance. tongue.gif
basically a 'basic' SQ setup, HU= 1500-2000, front comp=1000-1500, rear empty, sub 1000, amps=2000-3500 depending on the setup u wan. so it's oledi more than 5k without the installing workmanship and decorative works... those dat u see in competition are mostly ppl that has free time, those hi end SQ players r low profile and seldom join competition, those pegasus and stuffs appears a lot in competitions locally, and i wonder who r their opponents, dun mean to look down on pegasus but i neva been to the competition and they won so many titles, and wonder wat r the hi ends doing as u know competitions r divided to classes to diff power and not price of system, so if pegasus lawan those hi end ones... i juz wonder.
zilole9729
post Nov 1 2008, 12:48 AM

Validating
152 posts

oh yes, the guy who said could do it for 5k said that better if i do all at once rather that 1 by 1. dunno the real reason. can i do one by one?

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:52 am
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Nov 1 2008, 12:42 AM)
SQ=sound quality, SQL=50-50, SPL=Sound Pressure Level.
As for ur plan to make ur car bling bling for 5k it's kinda impossible. unless, u DIY and buy all cheap 2nd hand stuffs then maybe u'll got a chance.  tongue.gif
basically a 'basic' SQ setup, HU= 1500-2000, front comp=1000-1500, rear empty, sub 1000, amps=2000-3500 depending on the setup u wan. so it's oledi more than 5k without the installing workmanship and decorative works... those dat u see in competition are mostly ppl that has free time, those hi end SQ players r low profile and seldom join competition, those pegasus and stuffs appears a lot in competitions locally, and i wonder who r their opponents, dun mean to look down on pegasus but i neva been to the competition and they won so many titles, and wonder wat r the hi ends doing as u know competitions r divided to classes to diff power and not price of system, so if pegasus lawan those hi end ones... i juz wonder.
based on this, i guess that guy was intending to take me for a ride. thanx man. really value ur opinion. how many amps do i need? or juz use a 4 ch amp? can i do this slowly? meaning i fix the hu 1st. then, the amps maybe. till i m finally satisfied.

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:54 amwhat kind of cables should i be looking for? brands?

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:56 amnow that i know sql is 50-50, i think i would prefer sql. so still the same like wat ckmoy007 suggested?

This post has been edited by zilole9729: Nov 1 2008, 12:56 AM
ckmoy007
post Nov 1 2008, 02:45 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

i myself doing one by one, doing all at once will juz offer u immediate satisfaction with ur current budget... for me i keep HU the last place, every yr there's something new. depending on ur budget and how far u wanna go... can go for active setup(w/o passive x-overs) or passive setup(using passive x-overs). active setup gives u more control on ur setup but of course is more costly. as for amp config., u can have 2x 2ch + monoblock, or 4ch + monoblock. if u wan SQL 50-50, u can have 2 mid end 12" subs like kicker compVR or similar, this setup more suitable for pop/electronic music, not so suitable for slow music, the wave of bass will be quite big... the monoblock must be gud enough to get 1000W RMS @ 1ohm at least. then u can pounce ur neighbourhood basically.
as for cables, there r tons out there and can't really suggest which one... but those gud ones r quite pricey.
for ur situation, i suggest u getting the front component and front comp speakers since u r having a non stock HU. if u wan more suggestions, juz pm me. next step is sub and amp for it, then choose ur HU properly and plan ur setup on how u going to play with ur current gears/system, then now it comes to the wiring and finding a gud sifu to tune ur system. cheers...
zilole9729
post Nov 1 2008, 10:05 AM

Validating
152 posts

can anyone tell me the difference btw good amps n lousy ones? does it matter anyway? after all, the sound is not coming from amps. correct me if i m wrong.

bafukie
post Nov 1 2008, 10:22 AM

1,406 posts

lol... amps doest not produce sound but it amplifies the signal from ur HU to ur speakers. Whether its worth getting good amp its up to individual. Also different amp gives different kind of sound. Some dynamic, some clean, some warm.. lousy one gives noise tongue.gif
zilole9729
post Nov 1 2008, 10:31 AM

Validating
152 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Nov 1 2008, 10:22 AM)
lol... amps doest not produce sound but it amplifies the signal from ur HU to ur speakers. Whether its worth getting good amp its up to individual. Also different amp gives different kind of sound. Some dynamic, some clean, some warm.. lousy one gives noise tongue.gif
so based on what i want, what type of amps would i need?
ckmoy007
post Nov 1 2008, 05:16 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

it's not juz based on wat u wan... based on ur budget too, u wanted a competition class sound system and onli with a 5k budget for everything... tongue.gif think about it. u will have to get some mid ends one... and wat type of amp is based on ur setup.
zilole9729
post Nov 1 2008, 06:08 PM

Validating
152 posts

ok la. lets put it this way. 5k if lump sum. but now i m planning to get one by one. so no need any mid end rite?
ckmoy007
post Nov 1 2008, 07:36 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

yup, no prob with 2 or 3 things of hi end with 5k...
zilole9729
post Nov 2 2008, 01:28 PM

Validating
152 posts

if my HU, comp n amp only high end can ah?
ckmoy007
post Nov 2 2008, 03:59 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

can why not? u mean u wan cap ayam sub to compliment ur system? think twice. if limited budget, go for mid end lo... still sounds ok... actually they sound good for newbies. smile.gif
zilole9729
post Nov 5 2008, 10:20 AM

Validating
152 posts

i have another question here. does size really matter? for eg, there's 5.5 n 6.5 components rite? wats the difference? lets take pegasus comp as an example.

Model : PG166PF
Type : 6.5" (16cm) Kelvar Cone 2-way Component System

Features
- Soft and Detailed Sound from Aluminium Case Silk Dome Tweeter
- Rigid 6.5" (16cm) Double-layer Kelvar Cone
- Well Matching Aluminium Case 2-way 12dB/Octave Passive Crossover
- Solid Wooden Box Packing

Specifications
Power Rating : 75 Watts RMS, 150 Watts Peak
Frequency Response : 40 - 20K Hz
Sensitivity : <no spam links> (1W/1M)
Impedance : 4 Ohm
Crossover : 3.5K Hz at 12dB/Octave, with 0, -3dB and -6dB selectable attenuation circuit
Woofer : 6.5" (16cm) Double Layers Kelvar Cone, 1.2" (30mm) Ribbon Wire Kapton Voice Coil
Tweeter : 1" Silk Dome, Aluminium Body, 25mm Kapton Voice Coil, Neodymium Magnet
Master Pack Quantity : 1 Set / Carton

Model : PG136PF
Type : 5.25" (13cm) Kelvar Cone 2-way Component System

Features
- Soft and Detailed Sound from Aluminium Case Silk Dome Tweeter
- Rigid 5.25" (13cm) Double-layer Kelvar Cone
- Well Matching Aluminium Case 2-way 12dB/Octave Passive Crossover
- Solid Wooden Box Packing

Specifications
Power Rating : 60 Watts RMS, 120 Watts Peak
Frequency Response : 45 - 20K Hz
Sensitivity : <no spam links> (1W/1M)
Impedance : 4 Ohm
Crossover : 3.5K Hz at 12dB/Octave, with 0, -3dB and -6dB selectable attenuation circuit
Woofer : 5.25" (13cm) Double Layers Kelvar Cone, 1.2" (30mm) Ribbon Wire Kapton Voice Coil
Tweeter : 1" Silk Dome, Aluminium Body, 25mm Kapton Voice Coil, Neodymium Magnet
Master Pack Quantity : 1 Set / Carton

as u can c here, the differences are the size, power rating and frequency response. how significant are these differences? or does it simply mean that bigger means louder?
ckmoy007
post Nov 5 2008, 08:39 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

size does not mean loud or not, a small tweeter can be loud as well. it is juz the frequency range dat they handle. 5" components r better in the mid frequency while 6" are more bassy.
zilole9729
post Nov 5 2008, 10:11 PM

Validating
152 posts

when u say mid frequency, what do u mean?

125 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:35 PM