10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy TAB Official Thread V2, Best and most portable 7" Android tablet

TSbenny888
post May 27 2011, 11:55 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ May 27 2011, 10:51 PM)
Thought SGT battery averages 4 to 6 hours and ipad is 8 to 10 hours  sweat.gif
Working period : 7 am till 7 pm - The Tab can easily last up to 8 hours - if I reduce by browsing on 3G it can even lasts 10 hours - no sweat. My Tab is always online :

- 3 email accounts update every 15 minutes
- Newsfeed ( Newsoom), Tweetdeck, Twidroyd, GReader Pro - refreshing every 30 mins to an hour
- Browsing - average 2-3 hours
- SMS about 10/day
- Phone calls about 10
- Skype/MSN an hour
- Youtube/videos - an hour

All the usage exclude gaming as I don't play games with it

Added on May 27, 2011, 11:58 pm
QUOTE(elea88 @ May 27 2011, 11:47 PM)
ERR.. i am still stuck installing the PAPAGO. Would u be kind enough and give me the download page and the instructions ?
Please refer Page 1 post # 4 for links and instructions. Many users has follow it and got it working. Remember to run spareparts and have compatible mode for full screen enabled

Added on May 28, 2011, 12:01 am
QUOTE(miriel10 @ May 27 2011, 11:54 PM)
^ Why don't you try SygicAura? It's a good alternative to PAPAGO.
Overall I prefer Sygic Aura as I find it more user friendly, easier to pin down locations, beautiful graphics, many special features not found in Papago X5, can work by default in both landscape and portrait mode. GPS lockup using Sygic is very fast, consistently within 2 secs maximum unlike Papago X5 which can take 5 to 10 seconds. Only issue is the maps are not so often updated as Papago X5

This post has been edited by benny888: May 28 2011, 12:01 AM
TSbenny888
post May 28 2011, 11:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I found this simple and short article about A-GPS and GPS , a topic that was raised several times in this forum. Look it up to understand these 2 terms better

http://www.wpcentral.com/gps-vs-agps-quick-tutorial
TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 10:06 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sherdil @ May 29 2011, 06:56 AM)
A small and portable phone for me is important, it doent need to be too elaborate.
A larger device like 7" for internet usage, whenever i want to use it will compliment my telephone.
I think its difficult to have a one in all device.
I got the SGT P1000 because if in case my h/p has a problem, i can use this device to make a call.
I am still learning about Android and that was one reason i gave my Incredible S to my bro, as i found it neither big or small.
I still have my old faithful Nokia for my main line, as i find it easy to use with one hand.
Cheers

Added on May 29, 2011, 7:25 amP.S. Anyone using a Car Charger for your SGT
I am interested to get one, can someone recommend me and at what price?.
Car charger you need to get those whose output is 2A as the TAB needs a larger input compared to other smartphones. Contact adamking , fellow user at garage sales as he sells these. And any car charger with USB port that can charge ipad can also be used. Average price - around RM 30 to 40 for generic types; high quality types eg McKay around RM 100+
TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 10:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ May 28 2011, 09:51 PM)
hey pros..

have u guys come across these..

1. random auto reboot
2. hang while gaming, need to force reboot

what are the possibilities?
thanks.
These type of problems is usually due to crack apps esp those downloaded from the so called blackmarket which is the worst /dangerous source of cracked /pirated apps. If you have been using such apps , live with these problems or buy original. I can assure you if you use original apps, you will not see such issues
I have used so many androids and I never faced such issues as I only use original apps ; I have so far spend about US$ 150 on apps but I considered worth it as the same app I just pay once , I can use in my other Androids too. I need not worry about apps crashing and best of all my apps are auto updated everytime

Added on May 29, 2011, 10:14 am
QUOTE(sherdil @ May 29 2011, 10:10 AM)
Thanks everyone.
Btw: Are the generic car chargers safe, anyone uses generic charger
YES is safe based on my experience - just don't buy those cheap RM 10 types. I have been using generic types for the last 10 years for all my gadgets. YOu want security and peace of mind, buy those better quality - cost you in range RM 100+

This post has been edited by benny888: May 29 2011, 10:18 AM
TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 11:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rashad @ May 29 2011, 10:45 AM)
Hi guys, after several days of searching the net to make my adhok network work i have stumbled on a couple of good websites to solve the issue:

Ps: this solution is for anyone having the latest rooted gingerbread 2.3.3 rom and wants to connect to his laptop internet connection:

(A). u need to get the wpa_supplicant that is working on gingerbread, i got one working and its from the beloved xda forums( http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1058319)

1. Make sure ur tab wifi is turned off.
      2. Make a copy of the original wpa_supplicant in case things go
          wrong. use root explorer and go to system/bin u will find the file
          there.
      3. Now unzip the file got from xda, and replace it with the original
          wpa_supplicant.
      4. turn on ur wifi and u should see any adhok network.

(B). Now this is the most important part inorder to get an internet connection working on ur tab u better download a small app for that instead of creating a manual adhok connection on ur pc. i learned this from this website thx to him ( http://pal-talks.blogspot.com/2011/04/miss...-laptop-to.html ).

The app is called connectify u can get it from this link ( http://www.connectify.me/thanks.html?v=2.2.0.18699#basic ).

1. download app. go through the instructions there u can use
                    ur PC Lan network or wifi connection, i am using Lan
                    so i chose that.
                  2.Now u should be able to see the connection on ur Tab
                    and able to connect to internet.

I hope benny u can use this and add it to ur first posts in case anyone needs it. u can't believe how tough to get a complete tutorial to make this work.
Great info. Good tips - will post it up

TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 05:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Fnavigation in Google maps above ver5 is disabled in Msia due to licensing issues between Google and Msia.
Use Brut version to navigate. Refer page one for links and how to do it
TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 06:08 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jhonsonlee @ May 29 2011, 05:42 PM)
Returning for Stock Problem (To Claim Warranty)

P1000DXKM3 -- FIRMWARE

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1049621&page=6
Were you earlier on Overcome ? If so, your kernel version would have change and even flashing the stock rom will not change it. Any Samsung technician will know straightaway you have flash your rom

Anyway please update us any issues claiming

I was previously using Samsung Galaxy S and three times I sent in to Samsung Service Centre ( Spore Plaza Spore ) and in all 3 occasions they noted I have root/flash XDA roms but they just ignored it and still process for me, all 3 times free of charge. There were no repairs - just reflashing back stock firmware - got it back within 2-3 hours each time
TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 06:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(zeok @ May 29 2011, 06:09 PM)
Hey guys..

Please welcome me! Just bought SGT yesterday. A month ago i qeued up at switch mines and got my ipad2,but sold it 2 days ago and buy the SGT( do u think i made a right decision? =p ). At first want to w8 10.1,but didnt know when can i get it either. So guys,sory if i ask noob questions! =p
Welcome. And please spend some time reading page 1 post # 1 to 5 : have compile some useful info over there
TSbenny888
post May 29 2011, 07:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Easy read to understand BOOTLOADERS

http://androidcommunity.com/android-101-bo...aders-20110527/
TSbenny888
post May 30 2011, 12:06 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(izizree @ May 30 2011, 11:56 AM)
guys just flashing my rom yesterday and now ended with blank screen like nothing and it's hell.i can do nothing.just a blank screen can't enter downloading mode or anything.how can i do?am i bricked my tab?wat am i gonna do?plase help me with the solutions.anyone?
Press the power button hard to switch off. On the Tab again, what do you see if you cannot reboot successfully ?
And provide details what you id - what rom were you tryin g to flash ?
Did you run Chainfire bootloader check and patch if to ensure you can flash other roms ?
TSbenny888
post May 30 2011, 01:07 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(izizree @ May 30 2011, 12:16 PM)
i tried push the on/off button many times but there's nothing shows.just blank.im trying to flash overcome rom.i dont know maybe i put the things wrong or what cuz im new to SGT and also with odin.i dont know what is chainfire bootloader.and i dont know what is my id or anything else.really noob here.please help me!
Respect you that you go and flash without learning the basics
Can you go to download mode ? Press vol down and power button simultaneously . You will see android mascot with downloading shown
If so flash rotohammer JME please refer page 1 on ron flashing for details. This will revive your tab
After successful reboot run chainfire bootloader again refer page 1 for how n where. Then only you flash overcome

If you cannot go to downloadmode you have to send in to service centre as is bricked
TSbenny888
post Jun 1 2011, 11:28 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

If I understand it correctly, the 10.1 comes with either a WiFI or 3G . It'd be great if there is a WiFi/3G model similar to the present 7" Tab

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 1 2011, 11:28 AM
TSbenny888
post Jun 1 2011, 11:47 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Jun 1 2011, 11:43 AM)
Uncle Benny...you mean 7" instead of 8.9" ?
I mean the 10.1" vs the old Tab 7" model. So far based on what I have read, The 8.9" is only WiFi model. Yet to see/read any 8.9" 3G model

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 1 2011, 11:48 AM
TSbenny888
post Jun 1 2011, 05:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 1 2011, 05:09 PM)
hey guys, i plugged the tab on the PC and opened kies (first time)
and nothing happened... its just "connecting" for quite a long time already  sad.gif
This means you have failed to install the USB phone drivers. KIES is still a very buggy software - even with a successful installation , the USB drivers somehow failed to be install, apparently due to conflict with the PC's system files . There are reports of good and similarly fail installations and is all pointed back to the individual PC installed programs. TRy Read post #4 Technical issues Q 12 - try it
TSbenny888
post Jun 1 2011, 05:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 1 2011, 05:48 PM)
Thanks ! I've just rooted with z4, can i unroot after i select permanent root ?
thanks.
Yes, just run the app again and select unroot
TSbenny888
post Jun 1 2011, 10:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Jun 1 2011, 05:53 PM)
thanks, after rooting, imma lagfix my tab, running kinda slow here...  biggrin.gif

fabian.

oh ya, and the ryan lagfix can be used on p1010 or not ?
thanks.
No need to use lagfix - this is not Galaxy S. If your Tab is the 3G/WiFi model, just install Overcome 1.6.4 and your Tab will fly. Or installed Modaco R1 change file system to EXT4. Need Gingerbread experience wait few more days - we will see improved version of 2.0 RCI

Added on June 1, 2011, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(shinzan @ Jun 1 2011, 07:26 PM)
I charged my Tab with original charger, but did not reach 100%, just 60% only which took about 8-9 hours. Anyone facing this problem?
Full charging from say 5% to 100% usually takes 4 hours+ only . If your Tab has recovery, go and clear battery settings and try again. If still need such along time, probably battery degraded - the Tab several users has reported such battery failure. Or try find alternative cable to charge to see whether is cable problem.

Added on June 1, 2011, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(beta9x @ Jun 1 2011, 07:48 PM)
To all the sifu here,

my friend have a China made 7" tablet stock with android froyo. Can it be upgraded to gingerbread using overcome RC1?
Definitely NO. Overcome roms meant for the Tab only. You will brick the China tablet if you flash an unacceptable rom

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 1 2011, 10:22 PM
TSbenny888
post Jun 2 2011, 09:21 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(kepompong @ Jun 2 2011, 09:00 AM)
guys,sorry if i'm asking in wrong thread..how much price for tab now??new 3g+wifi?? my girlfriend ask me to survey for her...she want to buy but like always,girls will ask men to survey..
Original rm1599. At Senq rm1499
TSbenny888
post Jun 2 2011, 06:18 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Should buy appreciating asset eg jewellery for wife not depreciating stuff
Anyway the 3g/WiFi is a more worthwhile purchase
TSbenny888
post Jun 2 2011, 06:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Guys I just bought HTC flyer. Will do a comparisontest with galaxy tab
Immediate positive I can easily reply and post stuffs here without problems
Doing it on the tab some problems as cursor keep jumping n disappear n sometimes cannot see what I type

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 2 2011, 06:22 PM
TSbenny888
post Jun 3 2011, 10:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mainstream @ Jun 3 2011, 10:08 AM)
just flashed Version 2.0.0-GOLD from RC1..

but i noticed that the build number is still Overcome 2.0.0-RC1  but the kernal version 2.6.35.7 Overcome-v3.0.0 #6

can someone verify this pls.
No, mine read as Overcome v2.0.0 and kernel is 2.6.35.7 Overcome-v3.0.0.0#36
I just flash the update zip file

This post has been edited by benny888: Jun 3 2011, 10:16 AM

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:52 AM