126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

The Official Blu-ray Thread v12, Let's Blu-ray :D

johnbluraylover
post May 18 2011, 11:09 AM

1,069 posts

i just got my 1st package out of the 20 today. 19 more to go.

i order 2 more last night from AMZ UK, just can't resist the low $, average every disc is below RM40, lots of good old SONY title, most of it region free too. GHANDI, KRAMER, STEALTH,LAYER CAKE,CASINO ROYALE................

Now i am tidying my 20 years old of movi collection, just noticed i got tons of old movie magazine. i have been working on my own "movie project", i cut down all cool movie poster/art card/printout from the old magazine b4 i throw all away. actually i got lots of cool poster, i also found lots of cool actor/actress photo in the good old days. J LO, ANGELINA, CLOONEY.

i just wonder now in a digital world, is there anyone actually still keeping the hard copy poster? i am thinking most of movi fans keep all in soft copy & display it at notebook/screen.
TSAndrewtst
post May 18 2011, 11:36 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 11:09 AM)

i order 2 more last night from AMZ UK, just can't resist the low $, average every disc is below RM40, lots of good old SONY title, most of it region free too. GHANDI, KRAMER, STEALTH,LAYER CAKE,CASINO ROYALE................

Now i am tidying my 20 years old of movi collection, just noticed i got tons of old movie magazine. i have been working on my own "movie project", i cut down all cool movie poster/art card/printout from the old magazine b4 i throw all away. actually i got lots of cool poster, i also found lots of cool actor/actress photo in the good old days. J LO, ANGELINA, CLOONEY.

i just wonder now in a digital world, is there anyone actually still keeping the hard copy poster? i am thinking most of movi fans keep all in soft copy & display it at notebook/screen.

I think got, I seen a lot fans at blu-ray.com do frame some nice poster and paste on wall.

anfieldude
post May 18 2011, 02:02 PM

3,858 posts

Have not watched a complete movie in my set for some time due to recalibrating my system with the new BDP and some adjustments. Finally, watched a movie at long last.

Review:

Prince of Persia : Sands of Time

Movie :
Popcorn flick in the desert! One watchable chick, one "hot" male actor (that the ladies will like), a bad guys, a fast moving action movie with lots of eye catching CGI and plenty of action....I felt the movie was watchable, slightly long in some places, could have been shortened by at least 30mins and still would not have missed much. Lead Jake Gyllenhaal was miscast in my mind (I used to play the Prince of Persia computer game what seemed like a long time ago) and the jumping and all that is well captured in the film, unfortunately Jake does not carry the role consistently. Gemma Arteton was not too great either, the role not being entirely convincing, but passable with decent looks. Don't get me wrong, its not bad by any means, its just a typical popcorn flick that u shd not take seriously. 3/5 (although my wife felt it shd be a 4/5)

PQ :
Would have to give it 4.5. The only problem I found was that the blacks were crushed at some places and while it seems to be the director's intention, I shd warn that the grain is ever present (no pun intended!). The colour tones are skewed golden yellow mostly. Still very good details and I did not ever detect any EE, DNR etc..

SQ:
I was torn between 5/5 or 4.5/5. The LFE is a real treat, many many occasions to unleash low frequency high SPL moments. Panning is great, sound scape is wide and surrounds are very very active. Dialogue is clear...No real complaints actually.

Nice movie to spend 2 hrs of non serious fun! Nothing more than that....

peter32
post May 18 2011, 02:03 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I recommend these two films from Bluray if anyone interested. Btw I don't have them myself, but I have watched it.

So I suspect if anyone would spend to keep a bad hollywood film at home, they should also try to watch these two:

1. Ice Kacang Puppy love: First locally made Bluray also shot in HD. The film is so-so, but it capture many of the Malaysian early 70's to 80's common childhood lifestyle.

Director Ah Niu almost broke his bank to make this. What came out is a rare footage of earlier malaysian lifestyle include some of the lingo and kids game. That itself is a rarity.

Only one or two acted very well, but a lot of them are overacted.

Another reason is to support locally made films, esp among the Bluray gangs. I already have the DVD version before the Bluray was released.

2. Memories of Matsuko (link here) : an unusual genre of film, incorporate tragedies, musical and fine acting. Don't let the review discourage you and I think one should watch it and decide yourself whether it is a warm film, art house, musicals, or just a typical asian tear jerker.

Btw, to me it is not a tear jerker. But this is one of the film that I keep repeating the last 15 minutes to cherish the last bit of musicals, with fine editing, warm finale even during the credit.

Unusual type of film that deserve to be kept in bluray I think.
johnbluraylover
post May 18 2011, 02:21 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 18 2011, 03:03 PM)
I recommend these two films from Bluray if anyone interested.  Btw I don't have them myself, but I have watched it. 

So I suspect if anyone would spend to keep a bad hollywood film at home, they should also try to watch these two:

1. Ice Kacang Puppy love:  First locally made Bluray also shot in HD.  The film is so-so, but it capture many of the Malaysian early 70's to 80's common childhood lifestyle.

Director Ah Niu almost broke his bank to make this.  What came out is a rare footage of earlier malaysian lifestyle include some of the lingo and kids game.  That itself is a rarity.

Only one or two acted very well, but a lot of them are overacted. 

Another reason is to support locally made films, esp among the Bluray gangs.  I already have the DVD version before the Bluray was released.

2.  Memories of Matsuko (link here) : an unusual genre of film, incorporate tragedies, musical and fine acting.  Don't let the review discourage you and I think one should watch it and decide yourself whether it is a warm film, art house, musicals, or just a typical asian tear jerker. 

Btw, to me it is not a tear jerker.  But this is one of the film that I keep repeating the last 15 minutes to cherish the last bit of musicals, with fine editing, warm finale even during the credit.

Unusual type of film that deserve to be kept in bluray I think.
good to know that u recommend MATSUKO cause i ordered it & now is on the way from AMZ UK. i haven't seen this movi, just read review & saw some pic, very imaginative & colorful.

i also ordered JP- CONFESSION, my friend watched the dvd & told me it is awesome, like korea revenge trilogy. i enjoyed dark movi.

Added on May 18, 2011, 2:22 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 18 2011, 03:02 PM)
Have not watched a complete movie in my set for some time due to recalibrating my system with the new BDP and some adjustments. Finally, watched a movie at long last.

Review:

Prince of Persia : Sands of Time

Movie :
Popcorn flick in the desert! One watchable chick, one "hot" male actor (that the ladies will like), a bad guys, a fast moving action movie with lots of eye catching CGI and plenty of action....I felt the movie was watchable, slightly long in some places, could have been shortened by at least 30mins and still would not have missed much. Lead Jake Gyllenhaal was miscast in my mind (I used to play the Prince of Persia computer game what seemed like a long time ago) and the jumping and all that is well captured in the film, unfortunately Jake does not carry the role consistently. Gemma Arteton was not too great either, the role not being entirely convincing, but passable with decent looks. Don't get me wrong, its not bad by any means, its just a typical popcorn flick that u shd not take seriously. 3/5 (although my wife felt it shd be a 4/5)

PQ :
Would have to give it 4.5. The only problem I found was that the blacks were crushed at some places and while it seems to be the director's intention, I shd warn that the grain is ever present (no pun intended!). The colour tones are skewed golden yellow mostly. Still very good details and I did not ever detect any EE, DNR etc..

SQ:
I was torn between 5/5 or 4.5/5. The LFE is a real treat, many many occasions to unleash low frequency high SPL moments. Panning is great, sound scape is wide and surrounds are very very active. Dialogue is clear...No real complaints actually.

Nice movie to spend 2 hrs of non serious fun! Nothing more than that....
dude. how is your OPPO working?

This post has been edited by johnbluraylover: May 18 2011, 02:22 PM
anfieldude
post May 18 2011, 03:10 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 02:21 PM)
good to know that u recommend MATSUKO cause i ordered it & now is on the way from AMZ UK. i haven't seen this movi, just read review & saw some pic, very imaginative & colorful.

i also ordered JP- CONFESSION, my friend watched the dvd & told me it is awesome, like korea revenge trilogy. i enjoyed dark movi.

Added on May 18, 2011, 2:22 pm
dude. how is your OPPO working?
Oppo is great. There are subtle differences between the 93 and the 83. I am using dual HDMI outs, 1 HDMI direct to display (bypassing any AVR so the signal chain is kept as clean as possible - however I do have a Video EQ Pro in between), 1 to the AVR.

It plays my backups very well as well.
johnbluraylover
post May 18 2011, 03:52 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 18 2011, 04:10 PM)
Oppo is great. There are subtle differences between the 93 and the 83. I am using dual HDMI outs, 1 HDMI direct to display (bypassing any AVR so the signal chain is kept as clean as possible - however I do have a Video EQ Pro in between), 1 to the AVR.

actually i am using dual hdmi out too, 1 to my amp then projector, the other to lcd, but some how due to my set up, only 1 has sound.

beside my oppo 93 always causing my projector hang (green /spark) then no picture.

i am sure expert like u after calibration can produce better pic/sound than mine.
anfieldude
post May 18 2011, 03:54 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 03:52 PM)
actually i am using dual hdmi out too, 1 to my amp then projector, the other to lcd, but some how due to my set up, only 1 has sound.

beside my oppo 93 always causing my projector hang (green /spark) then no picture.

i am sure expert like u after calibration can produce better pic/sound than mine.
This is the wrong thread but PM me and I will try to help.
TSAndrewtst
post May 18 2011, 04:14 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 18 2011, 03:10 PM)

May I know how much OPPO 93 now? or the old model 83? worth to get 83 now? or straight to 93?
anfieldude
post May 18 2011, 04:18 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 18 2011, 04:14 PM)
May I know how much OPPO 93 now? or the old model 83? worth to get 83 now? or straight to 93?
OT but the 93 is USD499 if u get from the US, SGD990 (region free) if u get it from Spore and I believe someone was selling it in KL for RM2300 with the region free mod.

The 83 is discontinued but I know some people are selling theirs used from SGD500 and above.

peter32
post May 18 2011, 04:28 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 02:21 PM)

Another serious movie I think you can consider is La_sconosciuta (The Unknown Woman). I watched it by accident as I admire the director tremendously.

The same director made Cinema Paradiso. Which is also a must watched movie, if not for keep.
TSAndrewtst
post May 18 2011, 04:35 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 18 2011, 04:18 PM)
OT but the 93 is USD499 if u get from the US, SGD990 (region free) if u get it from Spore and I believe someone was selling it in KL for RM2300 with the region free mod.

The 83 is discontinued but I know some people are selling theirs used from SGD500 and above.
Thanks a lot for the information smile.gif
johnbluraylover
post May 18 2011, 04:47 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 18 2011, 05:28 PM)
Another serious movie I think you can consider is La_sconosciuta (The Unknown Woman).  I watched it by accident as I admire the director tremendously. 

The same director made Cinema Paradiso.  Which is also a must watched movie, if not for keep.
i love cinema paradiso, but at the moment, no director's cut available, thanks for your rec, definitely will check it out.
TSAndrewtst
post May 18 2011, 05:14 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 04:47 PM)
i love cinema paradiso, but at the moment, no director's cut available, thanks for your rec, definitely will check it out.
It is not available at the moment. http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/La-Sconosciuta-Blu-ray/9361/
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 18 2011, 05:46 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 11:09 AM)

Congratulations for the 1st out of 20..

This post has been edited by sKyWiR3pT3lTd: May 18 2011, 05:46 PM
peter32
post May 18 2011, 07:14 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

QUOTE(johnbluraylover @ May 18 2011, 04:47 PM)
I have watched both original theatrical release (in cinema) and Version Nouvo. To be honest the original theatrical version is better, in terms of story flow & drama development.

Its just like The Abyss original and Director's cut. I think the original is better.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 18 2011, 07:26 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

Watched Men In Black Blu earlier today..

Comical, for a 14 years old film , the CGI looked outstanding. Video was good, but a bit disappointing. It presents some detailing, and i wouldn't say its grain-free, it were heavier in certain chapters but surely looked great ; the color were good as well , vibrant..great transfer certainly not a top notch tier grade. Audio was fantastic. I had to turn down the sub lower. Not much extra's i've managed to watch but it was certainly good, but not fantastic. I liked the Scene Editing Workshop ;o). Overall , great transfer..certainly recommended if you are a fan of sci-fi comedy..
low98944
post May 18 2011, 09:21 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

Anyone notice that The Godfather / The Godfather: Part II already available for pre-order at the price of only $18.99! at Amazon. 2 BDs for only $18.99 is considered very cheap. Good combination for someone dislike The Godfather: Part III.

Will be release on August 2, 2011.
johnbluraylover
post May 18 2011, 10:19 PM

1,069 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 18 2011, 08:14 PM)
I have watched both original theatrical release (in cinema) and Version Nouvo.  To be honest the original theatrical version is better, in terms of story flow & drama development.

Its just like The Abyss original and Director's cut.  I think the original is better.
i prefer director's cut, i get to know the character better.
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post May 18 2011, 11:08 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ May 18 2011, 09:21 PM)
Anyone notice that The Godfather / The Godfather: Part II already available for pre-order at the price of only $18.99! at Amazon.  2 BDs for only $18.99 is considered very cheap.  Good combination for someone dislike The Godfather: Part III.

Will be release on August 2, 2011.
Sapphire Series's individual release had superb audio & video. I do not see any the point of double dipping on this again.
Just an opinion.

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:56 AM