AXN Asia has secured the exclusive first run for NCIS: Los Angeles season two, launching June 28.
http://www.worldscreen.com/articles/display/29564
This post has been edited by Qash-M: Apr 26 2011, 11:19 PM
Astro B.yond Episode III (Version 8.0), NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT
Apr 26 2011, 11:17 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
QUOTE AXN Asia has secured the exclusive first run for NCIS: Los Angeles season two, launching June 28. http://www.worldscreen.com/articles/display/29564 This post has been edited by Qash-M: Apr 26 2011, 11:19 PM |
Apr 27 2011, 12:27 AM
807 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 26 2011, 08:36 PM) I hv to agree with you on that, at the same time I feel giving Astro full exclusive control of EPL was unfair! 6 mbps at RM149 is fine ,how about your astro channels,how much wld that add up to? As has been stated earlier, it depends on what a customer wants and that will determine whether they will go for Astro or Unifi..so just because Astro has the same old crappy content, doesnt mean a person will just switch over to Unifi..Take me for example..Im a crazy football..not just EPL but every other league I will try and follow..now even though Astro doesnt offer me some of the things I want, just because of EPL nd the football, I will stick with them coz I dont seem interested with much with UNifi has to offer..but for some TV enthusiast who dont necessarily have one MUST HAVE TV content, yes they can probably test both services..n talking bout internet, as noob and as stupid I might sound, I can survive with just broadband so Unifi TV bundled with internet services would not be in my best of interests..I hope u know what I mean BTW, I have to disagree about Astro having exclusive rights for EPL..splitting EPL coverage over two providers would not make life better for football fans..it would create more burden..imagine u need two services to watch EPL (Astro & Unifi)..paying for that would be astronomical..and im just not talking about EPL..im talking about football in general..imagine u wanna see EPL and its on Astro but Champions League and Spanish La Liga is on Unifi..I think Singaporeans are facing this problem if Im not mistaken.. This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 27 2011, 12:29 AM |
Apr 27 2011, 06:22 AM
3,147 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 12:27 AM) As has been stated earlier, it depends on what a customer wants and that will determine whether they will go for Astro or Unifi..so just because Astro has the same old crappy content, doesnt mean a person will just switch over to Unifi.. Bro,what I meant was FTA channels do carry some matches,like Indonesia so even the poor gets to watch a live game of his team! As the years go by we pay more and more ! Even when astro carries it its packed with adverts,so it makes no difference except here one person makes all the money.Exclusive rights screw up everything!Take me for example..Im a crazy football..not just EPL but every other league I will try and follow..now even though Astro doesnt offer me some of the things I want, just because of EPL nd the football, I will stick with them coz I dont seem interested with much with UNifi has to offer..but for some TV enthusiast who dont necessarily have one MUST HAVE TV content, yes they can probably test both services..n talking bout internet, as noob and as stupid I might sound, I can survive with just broadband so Unifi TV bundled with internet services would not be in my best of interests..I hope u know what I mean BTW, I have to disagree about Astro having exclusive rights for EPL..splitting EPL coverage over two providers would not make life better for football fans..it would create more burden..imagine u need two services to watch EPL (Astro & Unifi)..paying for that would be astronomical..and im just not talking about EPL..im talking about football in general..imagine u wanna see EPL and its on Astro but Champions League and Spanish La Liga is on Unifi..I think Singaporeans are facing this problem if Im not mistaken.. |
Apr 27 2011, 07:15 AM
1,548 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: ugly kingdom |
QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 12:27 AM) BTW, I have to disagree about Astro having exclusive rights for EPL..splitting EPL coverage over two providers would not make life better for football fans..it would create more burden..imagine u need two services to watch EPL (Astro & Unifi)..paying for that would be astronomical..and im just not talking about EPL..im talking about football in general..imagine u wanna see EPL and its on Astro but Champions League and Spanish La Liga is on Unifi..I think Singaporeans are facing this problem if Im not mistaken.. And most of football fans there are paying for the two providers... Starhub and MioTV... I do agree with you, splitting the content to the other providers (which is very unlikely in Malaysia) will make the citizens more confused. Plus, let's say if Unifi get an exclusive right to air EPL on their IPTV Platform while their service still not covering the whole Malaysia, surely it will lead to more havoc state here. UNIFI HSBB also unbundled, you cannot separate the IPTV and phone service, how about those EPL Fans who even not have an broadband service at home, just have an astro to watch an EPL, taking sports package for the monthly fee of RM71.95, suddenly because of Unifi, they need to pay RM149.00 or even more if TM decide Sports channel are considered premium channel which the cheapest premium channel on Unifi itself is RM6.50. Are they willing to spend that money every month? This case usually applied for those who live at kampung like my uncle, I have asked him about this and he said he doesn't need Broadband at home and surely he will blame Astro if they removed the EPL... (or maybe he doesn't understand at all the "exclusive rights" terms....) Just my 2 cents... not supporting astro and tm. |
Apr 27 2011, 07:45 AM
11,058 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 27 2011, 06:22 AM) Bro,what I meant was FTA channels do carry some matches,like Indonesia so even the poor gets to watch a live game of his team! As the years go by we pay more and more ! Even when astro carries it its packed with adverts,so it makes no difference except here one person makes all the money.Exclusive rights screw up everything! This wat piss me off most, initially channels that advertized as dun have adverts suddenly gets overload with adverts! |
Apr 27 2011, 11:41 AM
137 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(wliat @ Apr 26 2011, 08:04 PM) Hi guys, nobody can help me with my problem? i got a problem with my byond. not sure if this problem have been posted before, the thread is too long to search hehe... i just recently got byond. my audio is fine, but the video is sometimes jittery and jerky like it is missing a few frames. however when i turn off the main power and turn it on again, it is ok...but after like 10 mins the jittery comes back again. what may cause this problem ar? help! |
Apr 27 2011, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 27 2011, 06:22 AM) Bro,what I meant was FTA channels do carry some matches,like Indonesia so even the poor gets to watch a live game of his team! As the years go by we pay more and more ! Even when astro carries it its packed with adverts,so it makes no difference except here one person makes all the money.Exclusive rights screw up everything! Yes I agree with u that probably some matches should be shown on FTA channels and at the same time on Astro..but u look at the Malaysian Super League..even that now has no coverage on FTA channels..only Astro has exclusive rights for that..luckily RTM can still show matches involving the Malaysian national team..But can u blame Astro completely? Heck no..I will put a lot of blame also on FTA channels like RTM n Media Prima channels..they are simply not interested enough to show EPL or Malaysian football..look at Astro..since they took over the rights, there are at least 4 Live matches a week..when the rights was with RTM, only 1 match per week..and even that not guaranteed coz if government held those stupid festival open house, the matches will not be shown LIVE..their stupid highlights coverage is at 12 midnight every Sunday..how o u promote local football at that time of the day? n their presenters? All the same people who was in the same job 20 years ago..still the same bunch..suam2 kuku effort N media Prima..when was the last time u saw any kind of football match on their channels? They would rather show Indon dramas 24 hours a day than do anything for the local sports scene.. Credit also has to be given to Astro..Astro Arena has brought sports of all kinds that Malaysian are involved with..they do bring some sports that u could not dream of would be shown on FTA channels simply coz those blokes at RTM and Media Prima just dont have an ounce of car about it.. |
Apr 27 2011, 11:46 AM
1,715 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang |
I don't like the idea of splitting the channels across multiple providers either. But I'm for the idea of making exclusive rights illegal. Canada already pass such a law.
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 27 2011, 11:48 AM |
Apr 27 2011, 11:53 AM
582 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
new channel 700 - skynews is very nice yaw.. really enjoy watching hd news.. is it temporary channel for royal wedding?
Apr 27 2011, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Apr 27 2011, 07:15 AM) I do agree with you, splitting the content to the other providers (which is very unlikely in Malaysia) will make the citizens more confused. Plus, let's say if Unifi get an exclusive right to air EPL on their IPTV Platform while their service still not covering the whole Malaysia, surely it will lead to more havoc state here. UNIFI HSBB also unbundled, you cannot separate the IPTV and phone service, how about those EPL Fans who even not have an broadband service at home, just have an astro to watch an EPL, taking sports package for the monthly fee of RM71.95, suddenly because of Unifi, they need to pay RM149.00 or even more if TM decide Sports channel are considered premium channel which the cheapest premium channel on Unifi itself is RM6.50. Are they willing to spend that money every month? This case usually applied for those who live at kampung like my uncle, I have asked him about this and he said he doesn't need Broadband at home and surely he will blame Astro if they removed the EPL... (or maybe he doesn't understand at all the "exclusive rights" terms....) I agree about that UNIFI issue..if EPL was on Unifi and u had to take internet bundled with the TV, then I dont think Unifi can match Astro' number of customers..even some warong2 in the kampung just take Astro for the sports pack..now try and think how many of those warong would take up Unifi if football was on their platform and they need to take up internet as well..? Just my 2 cents... not supporting astro and tm. If Unifi want to compete with Astro, they should try give customers of Astro what Astro wont give..for one, let them pick the channels that they want..not come bundled in one..Unifi should try emulate what ESPN has done in the UK..they bid for EPL rights and won 1/4 rights to show matches with the rest going to Sky..ESPN is available on Sky's platform..so the money for subscription for the ESPN channel will go to ESPN and at the same time Sky would still get their share of the subscription fee.. Can I ask u AjkR06, if u know, what leagues are split between the two providers in Singapore? I wish this never happens in Malaysia.. This post has been edited by dxjb: Apr 27 2011, 12:00 PM |
Apr 27 2011, 12:49 PM
6,103 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Marang, Terengganu |
Apr 27 2011, 01:38 PM
1,548 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: ugly kingdom |
QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 11:57 AM) Can I ask u AjkR06, if u know, what leagues are split between the two providers in Singapore? I wish this never happens in Malaysia.. This post has been edited by AjkR06: Apr 27 2011, 01:39 PM |
Apr 27 2011, 02:03 PM
3,845 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Folks, need your help here. I'm contemplating to move to Byond.
Wanted to check, on the normal Byond Box, can I use both output, at the same time meaning the hdmi and Video-AV.? The reason I'm asking I dont plan to take up the Astro DVR, but would like to record some programs time to time. Currently I'm recording using a VCR, yeah yeah I know its out dated technology! SO on the new byond box can I continue the same? Thanks |
Apr 27 2011, 02:24 PM
1,715 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Apr 27 2011, 02:03 PM) Folks, need your help here. I'm contemplating to move to Byond. Yes, you can use both HDMI and Video AV at the same time. Although HD will be downsized to PAL SD on video AV.Wanted to check, on the normal Byond Box, can I use both output, at the same time meaning the hdmi and Video-AV.? The reason I'm asking I dont plan to take up the Astro DVR, but would like to record some programs time to time. Currently I'm recording using a VCR, yeah yeah I know its out dated technology! SO on the new byond box can I continue the same? Thanks |
Apr 27 2011, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 11:46 AM) Yes I agree with u that probably some matches should be shown on FTA channels and at the same time on Astro..but u look at the Malaysian Super League..even that now has no coverage on FTA channels..only Astro has exclusive rights for that..luckily RTM can still show matches involving the Malaysian national team.. Yeah, Astro took sports while the other local FTA resorted to dramas and lately POLITICS ! But can u blame Astro completely? Heck no..I will put a lot of blame also on FTA channels like RTM n Media Prima channels..they are simply not interested enough to show EPL or Malaysian football..look at Astro..since they took over the rights, there are at least 4 Live matches a week..when the rights was with RTM, only 1 match per week..and even that not guaranteed coz if government held those stupid festival open house, the matches will not be shown LIVE..their stupid highlights coverage is at 12 midnight every Sunday..how o u promote local football at that time of the day? n their presenters? All the same people who was in the same job 20 years ago..still the same bunch..suam2 kuku effort N media Prima..when was the last time u saw any kind of football match on their channels? They would rather show Indon dramas 24 hours a day than do anything for the local sports scene.. Credit also has to be given to Astro..Astro Arena has brought sports of all kinds that Malaysian are involved with..they do bring some sports that u could not dream of would be shown on FTA channels simply coz those blokes at RTM and Media Prima just dont have an ounce of car about it.. This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 27 2011, 03:03 PM |
Apr 27 2011, 03:56 PM
Apr 27 2011, 04:05 PM
Apr 28 2011, 12:12 AM
38 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Penang |
QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 26 2011, 12:55 AM) Again though, a question for all the sifus out there, which South Est Asain or even Asian country actually carries Sky News or Sky News HD on their network? Coz my understanding is that Sky News is actually intended for viewers in the UK and Ireland? Are there any countries around our region that has it? I dont think even Singapore has this channel.. I was staying in Hong Kong and they had Sky News on there. It is intended for UK and Ireland viewers but of course a lot of stories are international and people in this part of the world love their English football stories too.Added on April 28, 2011, 12:16 am QUOTE(dxjb @ Apr 27 2011, 11:57 AM) If Unifi want to compete with Astro, they should try give customers of Astro what Astro wont give..for one, let them pick the channels that they want..not come bundled in one..Unifi should try emulate what ESPN has done in the UK..they bid for EPL rights and won 1/4 rights to show matches with the rest going to Sky..ESPN is available on Sky's platform..so the money for subscription for the ESPN channel will go to ESPN and at the same time Sky would still get their share of the subscription fee.. Yup but that deal came after EU competition bosses stopped them selling EPL exclusively to Sky. They now are forced to sell matches in 8 packages and one broadcaster can only buy a maximum of 6, that's why Setanta got the other 2 and then were taken over by ESPN. Basically Malaysia needs the same competition measures to dent Astro's dominance but you and I know know the likelyhood of that is slim.This post has been edited by Mr Jones: Apr 28 2011, 12:16 AM |
Apr 28 2011, 12:17 AM
BTW, is there a real necessity to change the coaxial cable from the disc to the box? WHat are the cons using he same?
Apr 28 2011, 04:27 AM
QUOTE(Mr Jones @ Apr 28 2011, 12:12 AM) I was staying in Hong Kong and they had Sky News on there. It is intended for UK and Ireland viewers but of course a lot of stories are international and people in this part of the world love their English football stories too. Not slim pal.the chances are zero ! One malaysia One provider! Added on April 28, 2011, 12:16 am Yup but that deal came after EU competition bosses stopped them selling EPL exclusively to Sky. They now are forced to sell matches in 8 packages and one broadcaster can only buy a maximum of 6, that's why Setanta got the other 2 and then were taken over by ESPN. Basically Malaysia needs the same competition measures to dent Astro's dominance but you and I know know the likelyhood of that is slim. |
| Change to: | 0.0306sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:40 AM |