36 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC

availyboy
post Oct 17 2015, 10:27 AM

So Prettay!
786 posts

Got called from multiple numbers.

Received calls from these numbers asking for address, credit card info n etc.
Human Nature
post Oct 17 2015, 11:23 AM

- student of human nature -
26,519 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Oct 17 2015, 10:27 AM)
Got called from multiple numbers.

Received calls from these numbers asking for address, credit card info n etc.
in one day?
availyboy
post Oct 17 2015, 11:51 AM

So Prettay!
786 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 17 2015, 11:23 AM)
in one day?
Two days though. 3 numbers per day =/ ... got tired of it sweat.gif
cedyy
post Oct 17 2015, 11:53 AM

1,403 posts

when i hear Mandarin voice recording, straight away hang up
Human Nature
post Oct 17 2015, 11:55 AM

26,519 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Oct 17 2015, 11:51 AM)
Two days though. 3 numbers per day =/ ... got tired of it  sweat.gif
i guess they are from the same company, using diff phone number
Mr.Docter
post Nov 8 2015, 02:44 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

In case we exposed the personal details via phone, whats the necessary step to be taken to avoid misuse?

Call respective bank to cancel/renew the credit card?
Human Nature
post Nov 10 2015, 02:02 PM

26,519 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Nov 8 2015, 02:44 PM)
In case we exposed the personal details via phone, whats the necessary step to be taken to avoid misuse?

Call respective bank to cancel/renew the credit card?
If it is a critical info like the CVC code, then yes.
samlhc
post Nov 25 2015, 01:57 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(lipmunhong @ Aug 6 2015, 01:25 PM)
i got this number call me just now.....
ask me the cc front and back number too...
after that just say will charge 300++.....
after that i reject.....
will i get any affect ?????
QUOTE(karcity @ Oct 6 2015, 10:41 PM)
Received a phone call today.. Sir, we are please to send you a discount card as you are holding visa/ master card. Could you give us your address? Then IC ...suddenly I feel it seems like a scam, then I say.. I didn't apply any card. Immediately she shut off the phone... Not even thank you!
Similar case.

Just received call from a women, claim from dispatch department(sound malay) 0123562015 , she need to send me a discount card. A special discount card for visa user.
But she need verification. She ask for bank cards name... " you send me card but dont know what bank I 'm using."

I just tell her " I tak interest .. i tak paham.. " tongue.gif
She will ask agent call me back ><|||

FYI, suspicious number
elgan
post Jan 6 2016, 02:24 PM

166 posts

[Apologies if this is off topic for the thread. Please point me in the right direction.]

I received this SMS alert today from the 63660 number.
RM0.00 R.H.B: RM4208.00 was Charged to your Credit Card on 06 JAN 2016 at klia2.
Pls call 03-27884681 immediately if you did not Perfrom The Transaction.TQ

This is suspicious as I don't have a RHB card, nor was I at klia2. Besides, the fact that it says klia2 and not some specific shop triggered even more alarms.

I didn't call the number, but have checked to make sure there has been no suspicious activities with my actual credit cards from other banks.

Is this a some sort of scam?

victorywp
post Jan 6 2016, 02:46 PM

V.I.P
11,740 posts

QUOTE(elgan @ Jan 6 2016, 02:24 PM)
[Apologies if this is off topic for the thread. Please point me in the right direction.]

I received this SMS alert today from the 63660 number.

This is suspicious as I don't have a RHB card, nor was I at klia2. Besides, the fact that it says klia2 and not some specific shop triggered even more alarms.

I didn't call the number, but have checked to make sure there has been no suspicious activities with my actual credit cards from other banks.

Is this a some sort of scam?
yes, obviously a scam.

1) didn't mention the last 4 digit of your cc.
2) didn't mention the specific merchant name you transacted.
3) spelled the word "perform" wrongly.
elgan
post Jan 6 2016, 03:17 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Jan 6 2016, 02:46 PM)
yes, obviously a scam.
locke
post Jan 13 2016, 09:42 AM

156 posts

I just received a call from 0329804433.
The person mentioned he is from Affin Bank and my credit card is charged RM 4xxx at KLIA and ask me to confirm.

Since i do not have a Affin credit card, i told him that i did not apply and own a Affin credit card.

Then he mention my name and IC and i verified its belong to me.
I told him again i did not apply and own an Affin credit card.

Other than that i did not disclose anything.

Is this a scam?

Human Nature
post Jan 13 2016, 10:13 AM

26,519 posts

QUOTE(locke @ Jan 13 2016, 09:42 AM)
The person mentioned he is from Affin Bank and my credit card is charged RM 4xxx at KLIA and ask me to confirm.

Since i do not have a Affin credit card, i told him that i did not apply and own a Affin credit card.

Is this a scam?
Yes scam. You might want to call affin to verify that you do not own any card with them too.
laymank
post Jan 13 2016, 11:10 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(locke @ Jan 13 2016, 09:42 AM)

Is this a scam?
Confirmed SCAM!

I had the same experience with CIMB, about KLIA2, jewelry shop, RM2xxx, the person had my name and IC correct, but not credit card. I reported the incident to CIMB after that and the officer called to discussed further after that.

If you have any account with Affin, please call them up and report the incident so that they may take precaution against fraud.

Such personal info leaks is getting more rampant lately, it seems. It's worrying....
Human Nature
post Jan 13 2016, 02:29 PM

26,519 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Jan 13 2016, 11:10 AM)
Such personal info leaks is getting more rampant lately, it seems. It's worrying....
I agree, my cousin also received the same type of call last week.
hafizhans
post Jan 14 2016, 08:48 AM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

new user here, one time cimb called me to verify my application,
i asked them 1st to verify my mothers maiden name bcoz i already give it to them during my application.

is it smart to use that method everytime someone call asking about cc info?

Human Nature
post Jan 14 2016, 10:48 AM

26,519 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jan 14 2016, 08:48 AM)
new user here, one time cimb called me to verify my application,
i asked them 1st to verify my mothers maiden name bcoz i already give it to them during my application.

is it smart to use that method everytime someone call asking about cc info?
smart but i doubt they will answer with the maiden name. what i normally do is either get them to ask other questions like workplace, etc or if I feel suspicious, I will get their name and said I will call back the customer service.
bernard79
post Jan 18 2016, 12:07 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 13 2016, 10:13 AM)
Yes scam. You might want to call affin to verify that you do not own any card with them too.
Received the same Scam call. Same modus operandi...
rathian_mhfu
post Jan 19 2016, 11:49 PM

Rioreia Kishou Shu
2,302 posts

I have posted this at citibank thread and i posting here for us all to take precaution

I received this sms from citibank just now..which i dunno what transaction..

Suddenly about 3 mins i received this sms..which not my transaction..

And suddenly more transaction comes by

Luckily i called the customer services and blocked the card immediately..so now i just wait..maybe or maybe not to pay the fraud charged..grrrrrrr sad.gif
Human Nature
post Jan 20 2016, 01:17 AM

26,519 posts

QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Jan 19 2016, 11:49 PM)
Luckily i called the customer services and blocked the card immediately..so now i just wait..maybe or maybe not to pay the fraud charged..grrrrrrr sad.gif
make sure you file a dispute

36 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:43 AM