13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Game Design & Programming 101, cout << "Updated 11th February" << endl;

wenching
post Jan 13 2006, 10:40 AM

Hi there,

I need to compile a list of name today by 1.00 p.m.

However, I believe some of you are not able to confirm till tomorrow.

You can still come for this session, just drop me a call at +6012-6787879 - Chua Wen Ching.

Is best that you email your details to me earlier smile.gif There will be quite a lot of games professionals coming down for this session. It will great for students to be part of the Computer/Video games development industry in Malaysia discussion.

Cheers.
TSC-Fu
post Feb 24 2006, 02:25 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

Damn missed this thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TSC-Fu
post Mar 21 2006, 09:03 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

XNA IS FREE!!!!!!!!!!

Microsoft has just released the first PUBLIC version of it's XBOX360's SDK, the XNA.

XNA btw for those who have no clue is a framework and a set of tools for game developers to help them create games for XBOX360 as well as PC games.

Yes, we small small developers can now create Xbox 360 games!!!! This is really something big, as no company has ever, ever shared their SDKs or engines to the public before. So yeah, it's better than sex for me (at least until this evening lah tongue.gif)

And not only that, you are also able to download the massively big MechCommander2 sourcecodes and medias (like 3D mech models) and play around with them to make your own games or whatever.

MechCommander2 Shared Source download (~1Gb needed, 4.5Gb to install)
XNA March2006 CTP download (213Mb needed)
XNA Build Forum
Hunt
post Mar 23 2006, 01:45 AM

137 posts

Isnt that something.....biggrin.gif
TSC-Fu
post Apr 14 2006, 11:03 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

YannLoh has posted this in the IGDA forum, Malaysian chapter.

HELP University College, the Asia Pacific Institute of Broadcasting Development (AIBD) and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs (FMFA) will organize a 3-day symposium focusing on video games and interactive media industry in Asia. This important event will be taking place at the Multimedia Innovation Center, Cyberjaya, Malaysia, on the 23 ~ 25 May 2006.

Email lohky@help.edu.my if you are interested in participating/attending this event.

More info as I receive 'em.
Hunt
post May 6 2006, 10:14 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Apr 14 2006, 11:03 AM)
YannLoh has posted this in the IGDA forum, Malaysian chapter.

HELP University College, the Asia Pacific Institute of Broadcasting Development (AIBD) and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs (FMFA) will organize a 3-day symposium focusing on video games and interactive media industry in Asia. This important event will be taking place at the Multimedia Innovation Center, Cyberjaya, Malaysia, on the 23 ~ 25 May 2006.

Email lohky@help.edu.my if you are interested in participating/attending this event.

More info as I receive 'em.
Have you got anymore info on this....would like to participate in this event.

heterosapiens
post May 14 2006, 05:21 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(Hunt @ May 6 2006, 10:14 AM)
Have you got anymore info on this....would like to participate in this event.
i've replied earlier but LYN rollback...so, here i post again...

http://www.igda.org/Forums/showthread.php?threadid=21231

and here is what i would suggest for indies and hobbyist biggrin.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=286441
me0wSter
post May 14 2006, 08:47 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

Argh.. Searching the whole forum still does not help.. I guess i'll post my question here.

Does anyone know a site where they do a comparison of 3D modeling software and game engines?

Would be really helpful if someone can provide information on this!

Thx
heterosapiens
post May 15 2006, 12:52 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

May i ask, the comparison you want is betweeen various 3D modeling software and various game engines or the comparison between both of them...? unsure.gif

So far, i haven't see any comparison site...only review of each differently...what actually you want to find out?
me0wSter
post May 15 2006, 07:01 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

Comparison between game engine to game engine and 3d modelling tool to 3d modelling tool. Cant compare things which are totally different and not the same rite?

Cant seem to find any.
heterosapiens
post May 15 2006, 09:40 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

lol...true...just want to clarify that first, before jumping in to help tongue.gif

I need help in choosing an engine for a game. Can you provide help?
The current database editor, Alexey Busygin, can provide professional consulting. Please contact him for details at: alexey at busygin.com
http://www.devmaster.net/engines/faq.php
*i'm not sure if it is free or not*

here is some that google found...

http://www.truevision3d.com/phpBB2/forum-22.html
*don't believe it all, TV3D sucks for C++ users*

mostly, i would suggest to read reviews and complaint from others...but i've been suggested by couple of local game developers to use Dark Basic Pro...regarding 3D modeling software, i can't help much... smile.gif

me0wSter
post May 15 2006, 10:45 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

Was really thinking of those industry standards like 3dsmax and maya and blender. Lol!
heterosapiens
post May 15 2006, 10:51 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ May 15 2006, 10:45 PM)
Was really thinking of those industry standards like 3dsmax and maya and blender. Lol!
err...i don't quite get that..what you trying to say?

and may i ask again : what actually you want to find out?
me0wSter
post May 15 2006, 11:09 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

Something in the likes of the comparison between Blender and 3dsMax and Maya and also something like OGRE with Torque. >.< Hope that helps.

Just wondering if people here would know such a site which did such a comparison.
TSC-Fu
post Jun 1 2006, 09:06 AM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

blender is not an industry standard. faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar from it la brader. its pretty cool though.

industry standard is really just maya and smax. lightwave xsi modo etc. are nominal when compared to these huge beasts.

but software is just a matter of preference. me myself is a staunch supporter of blender lightwave and zbrush.

ogre is ok i suppose. never really tried it. torque however is dead, and whenever you are into serious game devs, support is the one that make/break the deal. as of right now im in the midst of choosing between a $60k Matrox Axio LE and a $45k Apple's FinalCutStudio. And I'm inking towards the Matrox one even though you actually get less. But when the support is excellent, and when the only thing that you wanna do is post production, not troubleshooting, and having the peace of mind knowing that the support guys can always lend another editing machine on the spot should you run into problems, this is the deal breaker. Ogre's support is good, from the way that I see it.

And there are no real comparison articles like what you asked - let me save you the trouble of finding biggrin.gif

Why?

Real serious people have no time to b**** and complain and compare online when there are thousands of bugs still need to be fixed biggrin.gif That's just the way it is.

Get an engine. Any engine. Or a mod, from any game. Heck, even Oblivion. and learn the hell out of it. Then you will know what you can do, and what you really want.
mclelun
post Jun 15 2006, 11:13 PM

662 posts

Torque and Ogre is very different. can not really compare them.

Torque more like a "game maker", which made it quite easy and fast to make a game. They also provide the source for you to modify the engine.

Torque is much same with Unity (Mac)

mclelun
post Oct 20 2006, 03:27 PM

662 posts

my friend just told me that water margin online had a similar file/folder structure for Torque game engine. so I assume it is developed by using TGE. Unlike first impression, it look like a RO engine.

I havent check that out myself, but it is interesting to see MMO is being developed by using TGE.
erikachen
post Oct 25 2006, 08:37 PM

437 posts

Pheonix Games tutup kedai edi ler...
me0wSter
post Oct 25 2006, 09:02 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

QUOTE(erikachen @ Oct 25 2006, 08:37 PM)
Pheonix Games tutup kedai edi ler...
Yes, and where were u when the news came out more than 1 month ago..
stan16
post Nov 7 2006, 08:43 AM

133 posts

anyone checkout www.gameprogramming.org?

i think got some prob there. when i went there, juz a screen with a picture of gameprogramming studio came out. nothing happens even though i click on the picture. can anyone check it out?

broken link?

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:06 AM