113 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

joydeep1985
post Jun 26 2011, 09:40 PM

i m having a problem here can someone help me out regarding this .???? i was actually on 2.3.4 shadow rom .. then i thought of switching back to eclair... so i flashed with 2.59 full sbf eclair from rsdlite ....

now the problem is in clockworkmod boot menu its not mounting the sdcard .. i tried to take the backup of nanodroid but its saying

cant mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 or (/dev/block/mmcblk0) (No such file or directory)

i tried to format the sdcard from windows to fat32 and then again went back to clockworkmod boot menu .... but it results the same .. the error is still persisting.
can someone tell me whats the problem with this ? and why is it happening ? a little off topic but i m new here ... and pretty much widout clue why is all this happening ..

can someone help me out of this situation ?
prozai
post Jun 26 2011, 09:54 PM

97 posts

hei guys...
i search around google and found that apps to SD only available for 2.2
where can i find for 2.1 cuz its like quite impossible???
i want to dl hd games sad.gif
defybest
post Jun 26 2011, 10:28 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jun 25 2011, 11:45 PM)
just wait for 1 or 2 days.
spend tat day to feel wat is MotoBlur® all about..
download required file..

1. Stock Official SEA 15 SBF ROM
2. RSD Lite 4.9
3. SuperOneCLik
4. 2nd Init 1.4
6. MIUI or CM7 RC1 ROM

thats it..
so simple to flash our Defy®. 7-10 min finish and greeted with brand new Defy®

JUST DONT FORGET TO WIPE.WIPE.AND WIPE before flashing new ROM..
u wont screw up.. seriously.

Added on June 25, 2011, 11:47 pm

ya lo..
Quadrant score soo IMBA..
mine hitting 2.5k on 3rd run.

any better benchmark out there?
Antigua is consistant. 2k+ on defy custom is decent score beating desire hd
blackwhitechipsKL
post Jun 26 2011, 10:35 PM

330 posts

the new phone batteries now all no need charge 8 hours lah....old battery tech yes, new battery, as long full, no problem liao. just make sure if you store long and not using, charge full before storing. avoid full cycle charges, meaning charge full, use until very very last drop, then charger full again. one a month do that ok, to sort of 'calibrate' the battery, but if not, you're better off with short cycle charges
salimbest83
post Jun 26 2011, 10:58 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,641 posts

QUOTE(joydeep1985 @ Jun 26 2011, 09:40 PM)
i m having a problem here can someone help me out regarding this .???? i was actually on 2.3.4 shadow rom .. then i thought of switching back to eclair... so i flashed with 2.59 full sbf eclair from rsdlite ....

now the problem is in clockworkmod boot menu its not mounting the sdcard .. i tried to take the backup of nanodroid but its saying

cant mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 or (/dev/block/mmcblk0) (No such file or directory)

i tried to format the sdcard from windows to fat32 and then again went back to clockworkmod boot menu .... but it results the same .. the error is still persisting.
can someone tell me whats the problem with this ? and why is it happening ? a little off topic but i m new here ... and pretty much widout clue why is all this happening ..

erm..
not sure..and no idea at all
my phone come as 2.2 and never look back then..
always on MIUI blush.gif

Added on June 26, 2011, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 26 2011, 09:54 PM)
hei guys...
dont think 2.1 support apps2sd
still not change to new ROM brows.gif

This post has been edited by salimbest83: Jun 26 2011, 10:59 PM
joydeep1985
post Jun 26 2011, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Jun 26 2011, 08:28 PM)
erm..
not sure..and no idea at all
my phone come as 2.2 and never look back then..
always on MIUI  blush.gif

Added on June 26, 2011, 10:59 pm

dont think 2.1 support apps2sd
still not change to new ROM brows.gif
i know 2.1 doesnt support but how cm clockworkmod isnt able to find it ? i mean it doesnt makes any sense for tht error sad.gif
blackwhitechipsKL
post Jun 26 2011, 11:08 PM

330 posts

did you download cwm from the market apps or the cwm is a custom defy recovery mod?
iamKiet
post Jun 27 2011, 10:54 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(joydeep1985 @ Jun 26 2011, 09:40 PM)

If you mean you can't restore the nandroid,then this might be the problem:
Different version of CWM reads different directories,try
1)sdcard/clockworkmod/backup
2)sdcard/goapkrev/backup
I once faced the same problem with you hmm.gif

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 26 2011, 09:54 PM)
hei guys...
Now official 2.2 already out,just upgrade it & leave 2.1 alone,big improvement from 2.1 to 2.2,you shouldn't miss it biggrin.gif btw,apps2sd function on for 2.2,so it's impossible for 2.1 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jun 26 2011, 10:35 PM)
the new phone batteries now all no need charge 8 hours lah....old battery tech yes, new battery, as long full, no problem liao. just make sure if you store long and not using, charge full before storing. avoid full cycle charges, meaning charge full, use until very very last drop, then charger full again. one a month do that ok, to sort of 'calibrate' the battery, but if not, you're better off with short cycle charges
+1

This post has been edited by iamKiet: Jun 27 2011, 10:55 AM
prozai
post Jun 27 2011, 04:22 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Jun 27 2011, 10:54 AM)
If you mean you can't restore the nandroid,then this might be the problem:
Different version of CWM reads different directories,try
1)sdcard/clockworkmod/backup
2)sdcard/goapkrev/backup
I once faced the same problem with you  hmm.gif
Now official 2.2 already out,just upgrade it & leave 2.1 alone,big improvement from 2.1 to 2.2,you shouldn't miss it  biggrin.gif btw,apps2sd function on for 2.2,so it's impossible for 2.1  biggrin.gif
+1
oh...im on 2.1 now...shud i follow the first page step by step upgrade to 2.2
or i just use motorola update??? rclxub.gif

+im new to android...defy is my first android fone sad.gif

This post has been edited by prozai: Jun 27 2011, 04:25 PM
kysham
post Jun 27 2011, 04:29 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 27 2011, 04:22 PM)
oh...im on 2.1 now...shud i follow the first page step by step upgrade to 2.2
or i just use motorola update??? rclxub.gif

+im new to android...defy is my first android fone sad.gif
The custom ROMs will only work with 2.2 (I think), so better flash to 2.2 ROM first before going further. Must note that the custom ROMs are like patches or modification to a stock ROM (you can see that the custom ROM's file size is smaller than an official ROM) so you need the correct stock ROM to work it. correct me if i am wrong... sweat.gif
prozai
post Jun 27 2011, 04:37 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jun 27 2011, 04:29 PM)
The custom ROMs will only work with 2.2 (I think), so better flash to 2.2 ROM first before going further. Must note that the custom ROMs are like patches or modification to a stock ROM (you can see that the custom ROM's file size is smaller than an official ROM) so you need the correct stock ROM to work it. correct me if i am wrong...  sweat.gif
oh...so i nid to follow 1st page step by step to upgrade to 2.2 loh hmm.gif
is there any risk in doing so im realy too new in these .___.(rooting, flashing)
sorry for disturbing sweat.gif
iamKiet
post Jun 27 2011, 05:16 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 27 2011, 04:37 PM)
oh...so i nid to follow 1st page step by step to upgrade to 2.2 loh   hmm.gif
is there any risk in doing so im realy too new in these .___.(rooting, flashing)
sorry for disturbing  sweat.gif
No,you should not,cause you can just upgrade the 2.1 rom directly through motorola software update,much easier that way cause the official update already out. (I heard the SEA15 update been pulled back,anybody confirm that? still able to update to 2.2 through MSU?).I am using s'pore AP set so not affected since s'pore using SEA18 firmware.

Added on June 27, 2011, 5:18 pm
QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 27 2011, 04:37 PM)
oh...so i nid to follow 1st page step by step to upgrade to 2.2 loh  hmm.gif
sorry for disturbing  sweat.gif
I am new too & Defy is my 1st android phone too,don't worry in rooting/flashing cause virtually Defy is impossible to be bricked completely due to the locked bootloader icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by iamKiet: Jun 27 2011, 05:18 PM
prozai
post Jun 27 2011, 05:24 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(iamKiet @ Jun 27 2011, 05:16 PM)
No,you should not,cause you can just upgrade the 2.1 rom directly through motorola software update,much easier that way cause the official update already out. (I heard the SEA15 update been pulled back,anybody confirm that? still able to update to 2.2 through MSU?).I am using s'pore AP set so not affected since s'pore using SEA18 firmware.

Added on June 27, 2011, 5:18 pm
I am new too & Defy is my 1st android phone too,don't worry in rooting/flashing cause virtually Defy is impossible to be bricked completely due to the locked bootloader  icon_rolleyes.gif
hm...so i use motrola updater now tp upgrade to 2.2???
but seems like though motorola update's 2.2 is not downgradable???
argh so blur rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by prozai: Jun 27 2011, 05:29 PM
blackwhitechipsKL
post Jun 27 2011, 05:48 PM

330 posts

why you wanna downgrade in the first place?? ppl give you ferrari and you want to install a speed limiter inside?? ppl earlier wanna downgrade cos no official 2.2, so keep downgrade option just in case got problems and need to send for warranty. now that 2.2 is officially out, just update and dont bother to downgrade lah....

sheeshh...i just dont understand the mentality of the ppl....very funny sometime tongue.gif
iamKiet
post Jun 27 2011, 05:53 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 27 2011, 05:24 PM)
hm...so i use motrola updater now tp upgrade to 2.2???
but seems like 2.2 is not downgradable???
argh so blur  rclxub.gif
why should you downgrade it since it is the official 2.2 stock rom? if you wanna downgrade it,then just use the method "nandroid restore + fixed sbf"

Procedure
1.Download nandroid of your choices,be it Nordic(most popular cause used by CM7/Miui) or just like me using the SEA version.

2.Download fixed sbf of Nordic/SEA (Both nandroid/sbf must be the same=Nordic nandroid+nordic fixed sbf OR SEA nandroid+SEA fixed sbf)

3.Copy the nandroid to sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/

4.Download & install RSD lite 4.9 to your COMPUTER (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=966537)

5.Download & install superoneclick to your COMPUTER to root your phone. (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=913709)
(Run the superoneclick in admin mode if you are using WIN7)

6.Download & install 2ndinit to your PHONE,use the version 1.4_2 cause it's the most stable version. (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1032212)

7.bootup the phone after installing the 2ndinit,you will directly enter the 2ndinit mode,go to recovery>custom recovery> THEN wipe cache & wipe data.

8.Still in recovery mode,go recovery>custom recovery>restore to restore the nandroid you downloaded to sdcard.

9.Reboot system.

10.IMPORTANT: hold down POWER+VOL UP button immediately once you reboot the phone then you will enter bootloader mode (black screen + white font written: Bootloader 9.10)

11.Run the RSDlite4.9 in admin mode (right click>run as admin),your phone should be detectable in the RSDlite window.

12.Choose the fixed *.sbf file then click START. Then phone will reboot itself when flashing finished.

Above steps based on my experience,any mistakes do correct me.
I do not hold any responsibility if you ever brick your phone following my steps.
prozai
post Jun 27 2011, 05:58 PM

97 posts

oh sorry...
im really too newbie in these... sad.gif sad.gif
so i go upgrade my defy now using motrola update ok???
i connect my defy to my pc and i duno which mode to select
the software updater cant detect my fone sad.gif
helps pls doh.gif

This post has been edited by prozai: Jun 27 2011, 06:19 PM
Long88
post Jun 27 2011, 06:02 PM

On my way home
1,416 posts

hi..it is a big differents in battery usage between
cm7 beta6 and rc1?
salimbest83
post Jun 27 2011, 06:39 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,641 posts

QUOTE(prozai @ Jun 27 2011, 05:58 PM)
oh sorry...
im really too newbie in these... sad.gif  sad.gif
so i go upgrade my defy now using motrola update ok???
i connect my defy to my pc and i duno which mode to select
the software updater cant detect my fone sad.gif
helps pls  doh.gif
download official SEA 15 rom and RSD lite 4.9 (link at page one or that i post before this)
and required driver

then turn off phone. turn on in recovery mode. (vol down+power), wipe data all
then turn off phone. turn on in fastbootmode. (vol up+power)

fire up ur RSD lite, choose that rom ( extract 1st) press start and go coffee time
10 min come and see ur new phone

Coldf3ar
post Jun 27 2011, 08:34 PM

520 posts

Okey i've some problem with my phone. Currently run with CynogenMod7(.1.0) (And. Vers. 2.3.4).

I cannot load any picture from SD>dcim>Camera. When im trying to open, there's error occur.

"The application Gallery (Process com.cooliris.media) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. FORCE CLOSE / REPORT"

When check back through my computer, da image still there. And can be open also.

And sometime my ringtone randomly change to other(default) ringtone. So I've to set back my ringtone. Not sure about music bcoz not always use it.

This post has been edited by Coldf3ar: Jun 27 2011, 08:35 PM
iamKiet
post Jun 27 2011, 10:27 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ Jun 27 2011, 08:34 PM)
Okey i've some problem with my phone. Currently run with CynogenMod7(.1.0) (And. Vers. 2.3.4).

I cannot load any picture from SD>dcim>Camera. When im trying to open, there's error occur.

"The application Gallery (Process com.cooliris.media) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. FORCE CLOSE / REPORT"

When check back through my computer, da image still there. And can be open also.

And sometime my ringtone randomly change to other(default) ringtone. So I've to set back my ringtone. Not sure about music bcoz not always use it.
Huh? That is weird, you flash nightly or the rc1?i am using rc1 and I have no problem with the gallery or the ringtone either

113 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:08 PM