133 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Please Recommend... a Hifi Stereo System, Pls state your budget pls!!!

hushymushy
post Aug 26 2014, 01:37 PM

1,708 posts

GI Jie....he is also businessman...mau cari makan mar

my nordost power cords are entry level....rm900 a piece for 2 meter length

GI Jie
post Aug 27 2014, 01:09 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 26 2014, 01:37 PM)
GI Jie....he is also businessman...mau cari makan mar

my nordost power cords are entry level....rm900 a piece for 2 meter length
What do you mean "entry level" cords...you mean there are other levels?
So...the "entry level" are not as good as the "intermediate" or "advance" level cords?
Better conductivity? Better resistance to fluctuations?

BTW, where did you get those Nordost power cords? (I am really praying that it is not from Perfect Hifi)
GI Jie
post Aug 27 2014, 02:30 AM

722 posts

Oh shit. I just found out that I can only buy it from Perfect Hifi. Ah ha! I just found out that they have a dealer on Nathan Road in Tsim Sha Tsui in Hong Kong. Hahahaha...I will be there next week. No more Alvin.

Might even get the Nordost "Sort Fut" and V2 interconnects there. Depends on the price though.

This post has been edited by GI Jie: Aug 27 2014, 02:42 AM
Sentinel92
post Aug 27 2014, 03:33 AM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 27 2014, 02:30 AM)
Oh shit. I just found out that I can only buy it from Perfect Hifi. Ah ha! I just found out that they have a dealer on Nathan Road in Tsim Sha Tsui in Hong Kong. Hahahaha...I will be there next week. No more Alvin.

Might even get the Nordost "Sort Fut" and V2 interconnects there. Depends on the price though.
PS Audio AC12's brah. I haz em. brows.gif brows.gif
hushymushy
post Aug 27 2014, 09:24 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 27 2014, 01:09 AM)
What do you mean "entry level" cords...you mean there are other levels?
So...the "entry level" are not as good as the "intermediate" or "advance" level cords?
Better conductivity? Better resistance to fluctuations?

BTW, where did you get those Nordost power cords? (I am really praying that it is not from Perfect Hifi)
yes...there are many power cords in the market

not necessary the top of the range is the best...some power cables alter the sound and add alot of ajinomoto into the sound

i change to different power cords for the awg of the cable

example: integrated amps i will look for 14awg to 10awg cables depending on the power requirements. 12awg would be a good balance

cd player i would only use 18awg or 16awg cables.....too big makes the sound coarse

actually i thought through your vahalla2 speaker cables with spades....i think Alvin made the right choice in supplying you with spades....not that i'm on his side or anything

here's my point of view....as you mention, the cables are freaking heavy...and i remember d V2 has a piece of wood that is quite heavy...if you use banana on your guaneri....the weight might strain the banana plugs plus you cable will have a sharp bent which is not good
having spades will help to ensure your cable is smooth on your speaker end...plus you are not using the stands right....

at the amp section....if you are using normal rack...i think the amp will be elevated about 5" from the floor...should not be a problem

GI Jie
post Aug 28 2014, 12:02 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 27 2014, 09:24 AM)
yes...there are many power cords in the market

not necessary the top of the range is the best...some power cables alter the sound and add alot of ajinomoto into the sound

i change to different power cords for the awg of the cable

example: integrated amps i will look for 14awg to 10awg cables depending on the power requirements. 12awg would be a good balance

cd player i would only use 18awg or 16awg cables.....too big makes the sound coarse

actually i thought through your vahalla2 speaker cables with spades....i think Alvin made the right choice in supplying you with spades....not that i'm on his side or anything

here's my point of view....as you mention, the cables are freaking heavy...and i remember d V2 has a piece of wood that is quite heavy...if you use banana on your guaneri....the weight might strain the banana plugs plus you cable will have a sharp bent which is not good
having spades will help to ensure your cable is smooth on your speaker end...plus you are not using the stands right....

at the amp section....if you are using normal rack...i think the amp will be elevated about 5" from the floor...should not be a problem
Not the gauge but the length as well. Know a bit about wires as I actually majored in physics. Hahahahaha
But that was like three decades ago.

Actually I prefer a larger gauge power cord for the amps but shorter in length. 16awg & 1m is my preference.
For the CD player, I would prefer 12 to 14awg but 1.5 to 2 meters in length.

Spades or Banana plugs are not the problem here. What I am pissed off at is the fact that I ordered plugs and I got spades. Didn't even know I got spades until I got home. Double parked outside near the bus stop, ran in, collected the V2 and ran out again.

Anyway, will be off to Hong Kong next week and there are a few high end hifi shops within walking distance of my hotel. Don't really know what the prices there will be like but at least I don't have to wait more than a month for the cables. Spoke to a few people and they told me that it is way cheaper in Europe. Now I am at two minds cos I will be going to Europe at the end of the year.

Decisions...decisions.
Enigmatic
post Aug 28 2014, 12:24 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 28 2014, 12:02 AM)
Not the gauge but the length as well. Know a bit about wires as I actually majored in physics. Hahahahaha

Actually I prefer a larger gauge power cord for the amps but shorter in length. 16awg & 1m is my preference.

Spades or Banana plugs are not the problem here. What I am pissed off at is the fact that I ordered plugs and I got spades. Didn't even know I got spades until I got home. Double parked outside near the bus stop, ran in, collected the V2 and ran out again.

Anyway, will be off to Hong Kong next week and there are a few high end hifi shops within walking distance of my hotel. Don't really know what the prices there will be like but at least I don't have to wait more than a month for the cables. Spoke to a few people and they told me that it is way cheaper in Europe. Now I am at two minds cos I will be going to Europe at the end of the year.

Decisions...decisions.
Don't forget your VAT refund whilst buying in EU as well. A good 19% off.
hushymushy
post Aug 28 2014, 09:00 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 28 2014, 12:02 AM)

Decisions...decisions.
becareful of going to a 12awg for cd player.....i would say proceed with caution
the last time my friend tried a 14awg 2 meter for his mcintosh player....basically the sound became coarse

amps....i think high powered amps above 150watts per channel should have at least 12awg cable....

the higher the number....the smaller the conductor
using a thiner cable for the amp vs the cd player is a dangerous game my friend.

HK becareful of fakes......alot of hifi shop sell china replicas there
some you can't tell the difference

i would rather you try bangkok....
GI Jie
post Aug 28 2014, 09:14 AM

722 posts

Fake Nordost cables in a HK? Maybe but we are talking about Radar Audio Company, the authorised Nordost Dealer in HK.
hushymushy
post Aug 28 2014, 02:52 PM

1,708 posts

authorised dealer should be ok.....
try to get wattgate power receptacle as well....the one that is with gold plating
MY hard to get the wattgate
GI Jie
post Aug 28 2014, 03:55 PM

722 posts

What Wattgate Power Receptacle? Do you mean the gold plating power plugs?
hushymushy
post Aug 29 2014, 09:25 AM

1,708 posts

its the wall power socket
to me...that makes a difference
GI Jie
post Aug 29 2014, 09:50 AM

722 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Aug 29 2014, 09:25 AM)
its the wall power socket
to me...that makes a difference
OIC...Maybe I will get a few while I am there. However, won't get it installed now but wait until my new house is ready.
Anything you want me to get you while I am there?

Bro, we gotta come out one of these days to "lim teh" lah
hushymushy
post Aug 29 2014, 11:25 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Aug 29 2014, 09:50 AM)
OIC...Maybe I will get a few while I am there. However, won't get it installed now but wait until my new house is ready.
Anything you want me to get you while I am there?

Bro, we gotta come out one of these days to "lim teh" lah
sure....'lim teh' is a must....hehehehehe

eerrr for now...no plans of buying any hifi stuffs......thanks for the offer though
sgmati
post Sep 13 2014, 05:41 AM

182 posts

My budget 3k, can buy from Jb or Sg.

What can I get?
GI Jie
post Sep 14 2014, 05:25 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(sgmati @ Sep 13 2014, 05:41 AM)
My budget 3k, can buy from Jb or Sg.

What can I get?
Less than 8 inches of Nordost Valhalla 2
sgmati
post Sep 15 2014, 01:44 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Sep 14 2014, 05:25 PM)
Less than 8 inches of Nordost Valhalla 2
Paid 2500 only can get a cable, maybe I shoul buy a home theatre instead of this.
GI Jie
post Sep 15 2014, 02:08 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(sgmati @ Sep 15 2014, 01:44 PM)
Paid 2500 only can get a cable, maybe I shoul buy a home theatre instead of this.
Hahahahaha. Don't worry about me. Get Hushymushy to recommend you something.
GI Jie
post Sep 15 2014, 02:14 PM

722 posts

Hushymushy, the frigging V2 only cost HKD64,000 here. I bought two sets of the Sort Fut for HKD18,300. The V2 interconnects cost HKD40,000.
sgmati
post Sep 15 2014, 02:28 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(GI Jie @ Sep 15 2014, 02:14 PM)
Hushymushy, the frigging V2 only cost HKD64,000 here. I bought two sets of the Sort Fut for HKD18,300. The V2 interconnects cost HKD40,000.
you operate a cinema?
lol

How to calculate ROI for this one?

133 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:11 PM