8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Credit Card v15, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting

MilesAndMore
post Mar 28 2011, 09:25 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 28 2011, 08:13 PM)
I wonder what happened to the MOD proposal ... did LYN operators disagree to it ?
I was wondering about the same thing.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 28 2011, 09:06 PM)
yah yah, I must go and point out to Admin urgency of another MOD. By the way, I myself just spamed at the newest thread on best credit. Maybe I should open a new thread too on "Best Credit Card" and the only thing posted is "There is No Best Credit Card. Anyone opening a thread on this subject shall be banned for 3  days" ahaha
+1

MilesAndMore
post Mar 28 2011, 11:25 PM

9,301 posts

YES ... YES ... YES !!! Called OCBC just a few minutes ago. Found out my Titanium MasterCard is approved rclxm9.gif I applied the card through email this time around. The application form was emailed to them on last Thursday night (24 Mar 2011), it was put into the system on the next day morning. Now it is approved. Looks like it took just two working days for them to process my application thumbup.gif
MilesAndMore
post Mar 28 2011, 11:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 28 2011, 11:32 PM)
Saya tumpang gembira  biggrin.gif
ThankQ ThankQ. I'm so happy now. Probably can't sleep later on. Oh yeah, i really am that obsessed about this card laugh.gif

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 28 2011, 11:37 PM)
Turnaround time for OCBC TI is just 2 days?
Probably demand has dropped significantly for this card ?
I suppose so. Anyway, i'm just as surprised too. Very happy though biggrin.gif I can finally get involved in the standalone OCBC Titanium MasterCard thread.

MilesAndMore
post Mar 30 2011, 01:32 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(silverarrows @ Mar 30 2011, 10:36 AM)
Just realized HSBC has changed their VISA Platinum to "Visa Signature".

Can we apply CIMB VI with HSBC VS?  hmm.gif
Bloody hell ! The benefits clearly trump HSBC Premier World MasterCard vmad.gif

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Mar 29 2011, 10:03 PM)
Congratz bro, time to cut ur HSBC?
It's KIV for me now due to the recently introduced credit card guidelines. Afraid i might loss all other cards which i applied using this HSBC MasterCard sad.gif

QUOTE(zenquix @ Mar 30 2011, 11:05 AM)
Interestingly....

Earn 5X Reward Points and exquisite privileges home and abroad! Enjoy more rewards when you shop at selected nationwide shopping malls, departmental stores, supermarkets and for your dining and hotel spend overseas. This is on top of our exquisite HSBC VIP SmartPrivileges and Visa Premium Privileges, all with HSBC Visa Signature Card.

A reaction to Maybankard2?

Right now..  HSBC Visa Sig + OCBC Tit MC + M2 Amex looks like 3 cards that 1 can keep
So far they have not published those places that its cardholders can get 5x HSBC Rewards Points. Hopefully the list will become available soon.

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Mar 30 2011, 01:19 PM)
They will converting the existing card members' Platinum card to Signature card, this is what I get the information from their CS.
They will send the new Visa Signature card to the existing card member.
I had their VISA Platinum last time. Canceled it when the credit card tax came into effect. I got it through FD pledging. Now i wondered if i can apply for this card using another bank's credit card. My Citibank VISA will soon come to its 1-year anniversary biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Mar 30 2011, 02:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 30 2011, 01:35 PM)
hahaha, write to HSBC and complain lah.

anyway, I think it is a good marketing move by HSBC to rename their Plat to VS as Plat too common and the "signature" makes it sound like a Premier card.
Haih ... i'm just peanut. Not that would listen to me anyway. Or worse, they might just label me a big complainer and whiner if i complain too much biggrin.gif (because i did complain a lot of things in the past 1 1/2 years like the absence of the new Time Deposit-i product from HSBC Online, freaking slow ATM and the HSBC Rewards page that is still stuck in 2010).

Of all the complaints i made, two have been attended to. I can now view and open new Time Deposit-i through my HSBC Online since Monday and the HSBC Kota Kinabalu branch now have five brand new NCR ATM. They even install one more Cash Deposit Machine supplied by Wincor Nixdorf, making the total available CDM at their Kota Kinabalu branch to five thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Mar 30 2011, 01:39 PM)
Apply for collection?  tongue.gif
No lah. Will actually use it due to the 5x HSBC Rewards Points benefit. But will wait till more details become available about the 5x HSBC Rewards Points.

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Mar 30 2011, 01:39 PM)
Still can view it lah... hehehe... rclxms.gif
Yeah. I can see it too. The Platinum on the top right now spells Signature and beneath the VISA logo on the bottom right, there is another Signature word à la Citibank's.

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Mar 30 2011, 01:42 PM)
they got ur record in HSBC system. they might know ur salary range
No. They don't because the current HSBC credit card i have is a complimentary credit card.

MilesAndMore
post Mar 30 2011, 05:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 30 2011, 02:58 PM)
Wah, on the other hand, since my VS better that your HSBC CC, maybe you shouldn't complain so that I can tell Premier Card holder like you - "your card useless lah" hahaha
Well, it kind of is sad.gif Anyway, i wondered if the new HSBC VISA Signature gets 6% off or 7% when making hotel reservation through Agoda.com considering HSBC Malaysia is the only one issuing VISA Signature in HSBC Group.

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 30 2011, 04:10 PM)
wow... which countried he/she got the card from...  notworthy.gif
Australia, if i'm not mistaken. He was very active for a while but has since gone MIA.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Mar 30 2011, 05:06 PM
MilesAndMore
post Mar 30 2011, 05:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Mar 30 2011, 05:15 PM)
HSBC Taiwan also issued Visa Signature, but is a co-brand card.. biggrin.gif
Oh yeah. Just remember that. The China Airlines one biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ben83 @ Mar 30 2011, 05:20 PM)
So the generic HSBC Plat not being issued anymore now? Only left the HSBC Advance Plat?
Nope

MilesAndMore
post Mar 31 2011, 10:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 31 2011, 06:55 AM)
CONGRATS to MilesAndMore and Hye for being made Moderators  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 31 2011, 12:44 PM)
Congrat to M&M and Hye  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Mar 31 2011, 01:03 PM)
congrats on being mod
now go and remove all those closed threads tongue.gif
Thanks guys ! Now i can flex my muscles laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Mar 31 2011, 11:00 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 31 2011, 06:55 AM)
Me too, with 5X, no diff compared to MBB2 AMEX. Only need to swipe RM2000 to get 10,000 points so can waive GST for my HSBC. However the list is places with 5X not out yet.
Yeap, that's right. 0.5% in terms of voucher redemption.
Just to point out that you only need 9,500 points to waive the principal's credit card tax.

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 31 2011, 09:30 AM)
As for the hot topic of changing the name Platinum to Signature... as for me i will not care much, i will concern more on the services, not point upgrading the card but service remain the same. So far as for the affluent market this is more important than then rest.
Generally HSBC customer service is one of the best in the country. What sucks about their credit cards is that the promotions always come with some many stupid T&C.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 31 2011, 01:23 PM)
CIMB's Weekend Book Promotion
5% off on all books at Kinokuniya.
* Promotion valid from 1 April to 1 May 2011.
* Only applicable on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
While we're on CIMB ... CIMB Bank credit cardholders no longer have the option to redeem for any shopping vouchers anymore.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 31 2011, 01:34 PM)
IF Kinokuniya accepts AMEX, this CIMB promo becomes no point already.
QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 31 2011, 01:50 PM)
You frequent Kino?
does it accept Amex? smile.gif
I go to Kinokuniya all the time and i can confirm that they do accept AMEX. They also accept UnionPay, JCB and Diners.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 31 2011, 02:11 PM)
Not really, once in a blue moon. You don't know how to use search ar?  tongue.gif  Now that is hye, promoted, someone got to remind others of the search function, hahaha. Miles did mentioned yes before, click below
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/547867/+2340
thanks bro for the info. Malaysia boleh. Actually I read a post, can't remember who mentioned it. It goes something like this, our government flip flop on policies. So first the flip on the new ruling, next to wait for the flop (reverse the ruling), haha
Haih ... biasalah with this government.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 31 2011, 02:45 PM)
yah since it is the bank's responsibility to implement the guidelines, every bank will have different approach to it. I give you ideas and you share it at ABM meetings.

1. Ask card members to email their latest BE form. Those who email will get RM10 credited into their account. Benefits:
a. BNM cannot dispute this.
b. Save the banks money on paper, filing space, manpower (running to the fax, office boy moving files, fax misplaced, lines being congested as you mentioned, headaches when want to review or reconfirm as fax/letter cannot be traced).
c. Banks will also get credit where less paper are being used and show that they the bank do care for the environment.
d. Consumers can email at their free time and all will email because of the RM10.
Attaching the latest BE form won't work for everyone. Some passive income need not be declared such as interest earned from ASB, ASW2020, ASD, Fixed Deposits etc.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 31 2011, 09:23 PM)
Just posted my article on HSBC Visa Signature at my blog, click link below:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...re-gone-is.html

the 5X points is capped up to spending of RM1K locally and RM1.5K for hotel and dining overseas  mad.gif
Same old same old. This is just so typical of HSBC.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 31 2011, 02:59 PM)
that's where item 3 comes into play. If a person who does not have outstanding balance, he/she should not be penalized or needing the banks to go waste time checking on hm/her.

First stage is to evaluate all customers that have outstanding balance.
as for linking to IRB, no lah, it will cause havoc to IRB system and giving reason to update system i.e. waste taxpayers' money.
QUOTE(hye @ Mar 31 2011, 03:07 PM)
Yes ... I'm think this idea is practical.
However this raises a problem should BNM do an audit of the customer base and uncovers discrepancies. I'm sure the bank don't want to get into trouble as well.

I don't agree the background checking to be "outsourced" to a third party company because then we are creating another CTOS. I don't agree to my personal information to be commercially used by others in a country where personal information protection is so weak. With CTOS, I don't even have any control over my own personal information nor they compensate me for using my personal information.
This sound like a good idea but the probability of it being implemented is very slim due to the sensitivity of the files kept by LHDN. I bet LHDN won't agree to it either.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Mar 31 2011, 11:01 PM
MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2011, 01:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fuu @ Mar 31 2011, 11:55 PM)
congrats hye and MilesAndMore  smile.gif
QUOTE(wshoh @ Apr 1 2011, 12:21 AM)
Congrats Miles and hye smile.gif BTW, i enjoyed those 'spam' posts by the seniors here tongue.gif
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 1 2011, 01:28 PM)
Ah.. haven't been here for the longest of time and see there's new moderators *congrats*
Thanks tongue.gif

QUOTE(wshoh @ Apr 1 2011, 12:21 AM)
MBBKard 2 Amex easily beats the HSBC Signature - and most high-end merchants accept American Express anyway.
Spot on ! Besides, the points needed to redeem a shopping voucher from Maybank is actually lower than HSBC which is giving Maybankard 2 AMEX an edge here.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 1 2011, 05:51 AM)
Oh yah J Card members do enjoy 10% but flashing my HSBC Plat more classy for a RM10 coffee  tongue.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 1 2011, 01:28 PM)
Speaking of which - please go delete all those threads which aren't pertaining to this forum tongue.gif

And bringing back relevancy to the forum, any discussion on the new ruling by BNM?
Will do. Anyway, don't quite get how this thing works yet. I'm not in Malaysia now. Will study it when i get home next week smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Apr 1 2011, 01:47 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 1 2011, 01:44 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
It takes awhile to get used to the "new" interface but u'll get around it somehow *smiles* Anything just drop me a PM or drop whoever who recommended you and ask the fella to be ur sifu smile.gif
Sure. Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 1 2011, 01:44 PM)
Oh and another thing to add on Credit Cards - anyone heard of banks paying the GST RM50 for U?! wink.gif I got mine waived for 2 cards!
Just OCBC and EON Bank i think. T&C apply of course. Which banks waived your credit card service tax anyway ?

MilesAndMore
post Apr 3 2011, 03:52 PM

9,301 posts

Updates !!!

Maybank - AMEX
1 Apr 2011
- HKD800 > RM319.56 (HKD100 = RM39.945)

**Wawasan Sentosa's HKD rate on 1/4/2011 was HKD100 = RM39.25

I was going to pay by cash for the items that i bought at SOGO but then, i saw this American Express Select logo on the shelf. So i asked the saleslady if i can any further discount if i were to pay using AMEX and was told that i can get an extra HKD100 off the bill. The saleslady was very surprise that i have an AMEX. She said that this card is extremely rare in Hong Kong biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Apr 5 2011, 10:48 PM

9,301 posts

Just got back from overseas and found out that my OCBC Titanium MasterCard is already there inside my mailbox biggrin.gif It was sent through snail mail and had to do a manual activation. Anyway, i am going to OCBC Bank tomorrow to get the PIN number so i can register for their online banking facility.

By the way, just to inform you guys that one may also redeem a Guardian shopping voucher from Maybank using Treatpoints. It is listed under Beauty & Health section. Yeah, stupid ! I know ! They should have listed in under Shopping Vouchers too.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 5 2011, 11:08 PM
MilesAndMore
post Apr 6 2011, 09:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Apr 6 2011, 10:07 AM)
grats MilesAndMore and hye as new moderators.  cheers.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif

you guys truly deserve the new prestige.  thumbup.gif
Thank you tongue.gif

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Apr 6 2011, 10:41 AM)
Just the name of the card type been change as a whole but the limit not much different, if really wanna show off the status go and get a Charge Card like AMEX Platinum Charge Card or HSBC Premier Visa Card or any of those " By-Invitation Only" type of Cards.
I think you meant to say HSBC Premier World MasterCard.

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 6 2011, 10:48 AM)
Yeah ... by Invitation Only card is the next way to go. Unfortunately these cards are so rare that it wouldn't be surprising if the public does not recognize the card should one use it publicly.  Plus most of these cards are using matte finish vs. platinum "shiny" finish which in most cases downplay the cards visibility.
+1. The quality of the card is kind of bad too. Both the HSBC Premier World MasterCard and Standard Chartered VISA Infinite have the same problem which the card numbers appear to be faded/washed out after some time.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 6 2011, 12:44 PM)
I know a few retired millionaire who only uses Gold Card and actually prefer paying with Cash. If you pay with Cash, then it shows you got $$$ else we living off credit.
Well, that is true.

QUOTE(hye @ Apr 6 2011, 03:44 PM)
Sorry folks ... made some errors while managing the posts.
If anyone noticed anything wrong, let me know and I'll look into it again.
What ? What have you done ? I still don't quite get the hang of it yet and don't know what are the things i can or can't do. Need to find a good time that i am totally free to go through all that stuffs.

QUOTE(zigot14 @ Apr 6 2011, 04:30 PM)
Thanks for the info guys.

I can vouched that got discount, because I've just settled one of the card earlier today with lower amount from statement. Maybe it's not proper to called a "discount". I've asked the officer, she said the amount waived usually the late charges and interest. "Waiver" would be a better term perhaps.

But definitely will not go below the principal. This depends on the bank's discretion i suppose?

Mom's case is caused by some real bad financial management, not excessive compulsive spending. But i think still can save from bankruptcy and find jalan like refinance, dispose asset, etc.

Just trying to find a negotiation point for the banks to waive the ridiculous charges and compounded interest over the years. Cannot give banks earn so much  smile.gif
If the money owed is really a lot, i'd suggest you to refer her to AKPK. There is a special thread about AKPK in the Finance main section. Do check it out.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 7 2011, 10:30 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Apr 7 2011, 09:52 AM)
applied for fun the SCB business plat, been calling my house for few days but i always not in and the end the reject application thru SMS, i heard frm my wife its frm S.Chart ,so i called n ask why cant they call my mobile ,she said need to call land line for verification, but when i told them when they call during office hrs ofcourse i'm not home and why not try to call my office.
damn funny these ppl. tongue.gif 
1st time i heard need to call landline for verification, other banks like tht also?
Not all banks call all the time. I did not receive any calls for my last few credit card applications. The banks were Citibank, Maybank and OCBC Bank.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 7 2011, 03:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 7 2011, 12:10 PM)
OCBC called my office to confirm I was working there. For some of the cards I applied through agents long ago, the banks will call my mobile to confirm that I did indeed apply for the card.
OCBC didn't call the office, my landline or cellphone. I guess it's up to who's the one processing your application.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 7 2011, 11:47 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Apr 7 2011, 05:33 PM)
on top of that, u can only pay with visa/mc over the counter
This is not true.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 11 2011, 08:50 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(contreasjun27 @ Apr 11 2011, 07:32 PM)
hey people Im running my online business, Im trying to apply public bank credit card but it appears to be fail. The public bank credit card sales person just tell me to provide my company name with official letter, my 3 months bank activities only...

I wanted to get credit card badly because it is very helpful for my business, anybody got any kang tao to apply easier?
Try other banks ... CIMB Bank may be ?

MilesAndMore
post Apr 11 2011, 09:30 PM

9,301 posts

Guys, can any of you confirm what is the current administrative fee/handling charge imposed by Maybank for transactions made in foreign currency ? In my credit card statement, it is stated that "Foreign charges converted by American Express apply a conversion factor of 2.5% to the converted amount plus 0.5% administration cost imposed by Maybank. A charge that is made in a foreign currency other than U.S. Dollars will first be converted into U.S. Dollars before being converted into Ringgit Malaysia when the conversion is done by American Express".

So i guess it is 3% for AMEX (both with and without the Maybankard logo) and 0.5% for Maybankard VISA/MasterCard now ?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 11 2011, 10:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 11 2011, 10:26 PM)
based on zenquix post previously where he did transaction on 5th March and comparing them to BNM rate, MBB 2 Visa and MBB 2 Amex rate was 1.2% and 2.65% higher than BNM's rate respectively. Click below link to my blog somewhere in the middle.

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...ource=BP_recent
Sure. Will do.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Apr 11 2011, 10:26 PM)
Got 3rd agent offering service for HSBC credit cards. I must go start a thread on HSBC CC before more comes in.
Yeah. Noticed that and i have moved it to the services notice board. Exercising my right as a moderator for the very first time tongue.gif

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0517sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:06 AM