9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Credit Card v15, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting

Gen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 07:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(air @ Mar 24 2011, 02:04 PM)
Being offered by UOB for the Platinum, anyone heard something good from this ?
read my articles about My Credit Cards at my blog click here and here and also at my blog click on UOB at Label column on the right.

UOB Platinum (without the Privilege Banking) can access to KLIA & LCCT Plaza Premium Lounge once a month but both times I was there quota habis. Also UOB Plat no longer provide Travel Insurance. But is you want buy Rolex watch with UOB then click here to read my article.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 24 2011, 07:13 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 08:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Mar 24 2011, 07:54 PM)
When was the date when you try to access the lounge? 1st week/2nd week/3rd week or ending of the month? just curious to know how fast they finish the quota...
3rd week Jan at KLIA and 15 March at LCCT.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 24 2011, 08:16 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 09:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

OT

Recently we have people like from non serious forumers like kopitiam type coming here to this new Sub-Section under Finance Section and suka suka post.

seriously see pattern below, 1 or 2 post from newly joined members and then disappear.

Below quote taken from another thread

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Mar 24 2011, 12:32 AM)
Perhaps we need another mod. Miles, Gen-x, hye. Either one of these guys.
yah, yah make me Mod so I can suka suka delete/close threads/posts and issue warnings (can Mod do that?) to all that is not to my liking and have them complaining to Admin, hahaha

I fully support cannavaro suggestion to appoint MilesAndMore and or hye as Mod as both well verse in CC matters. I even propose zenquix.

Gen-X
post Mar 24 2011, 11:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 24 2011, 09:38 PM)
OT

Recently we have people like from non serious forumers like  kopitiam type coming here to this new Sub-Section under Finance Section and suka suka post.

seriously see pattern below, 1 or 2 post from newly joined members and then disappear.
another one http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1805805 rclxub.gif
Gen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 04:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 25 2011, 03:52 PM)
Guys ... something happens to the threads.
A staff restructured it and close some threads. Temporary solution yes ... but it is only a matter of time before the spammers come back.
Yah, thanks to max_cjs0101 something great did happened, we have pinned thread rclxm9.gif

The new mod should also pin bingzero thread on BNM ruling as he was the one who informed us first. But maybe the tiltle grammar should be better, haha
Gen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 06:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Mar 26 2011, 05:18 PM)
What's your opinion on the RHB Plantinum? Better than MBB2?
Well if you dine at places that give you cash back up to 30% with the RHB Platinum, then RHB better. RHB Plat allows you to enter KLIA and LCCT 4 times a year whereas MBB2 no. Also RHB to qualify for auto annual fee waiver, you got to spend RM36K with it where as MBB 2 Free For Life thumbup.gif
Click below link to read me blah blah blah on my 20 years ago credit cards and my present credit cards and how I benefit from them.
Click here to read my article CreditCard No.8 Fool

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 26 2011, 06:26 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 28 2011, 09:06 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 28 2011, 08:13 PM)
Looks like the problem of spamming materializes again.
There is another thread has been open with the purpose of asking what is the best card.

I wonder what happened to the MOD proposal ... did LYN operators disagree to it ?
yah yah, I must go and point out to Admin urgency of another MOD. By the way, I myself just spamed at the newest thread on best credit. Maybe I should open a new thread too on "Best Credit Card" and the only thing posted is "There is No Best Credit Card. Anyone opening a thread on this subject shall be banned for 3 days" ahaha

after I posted this and posted at Front Desk, another best credit card thread was created http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1811371/+0#entry41097701 doh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 28 2011, 09:20 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 29 2011, 06:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 28 2011, 11:25 PM)
YES ... YES ... YES !!! Called OCBC just a few minutes ago. Found out my Titanium MasterCard is approved   rclxm9.gif   I applied the card through email this time around. The application form was emailed to them on last Thursday night (24 Mar 2011), it was put into the system on the next day morning. Now it is approved. Looks like it took just two working days for them to process my application   thumbup.gif
Congrats, finally. Now your headache starts, got to keep track not spend above RM1000 tongue.gif

QUOTE(andy_lyy @ Mar 29 2011, 12:14 AM)
About the KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge. To access it free, just to show the card WITHOUT purchasing or have to purchase the air ticket with the credir card then only entitle to go in?
just show card

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 29 2011, 07:07 AM
Gen-X
post Mar 30 2011, 01:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 30 2011, 01:32 PM)
Bloody hell ! The benefits clearly trump HSBC Premier World MasterCard  vmad.gif
hahaha, write to HSBC and complain lah.

anyway, I think it is a good marketing move by HSBC to rename their Plat to VS as Plat too common and the "signature" makes it sound like a Premier card.
Gen-X
post Mar 30 2011, 02:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 30 2011, 02:13 PM)
(because i did complain a lot of things in the past 1 1/2 years like the absence of the new Time Deposit-i product from HSBC Online, freaking slow ATM and the HSBC Rewards page that is still stuck in 2010).

Of all the complaints i made, two have been attended to. I can now view and open new Time Deposit-i through my HSBC Online since Monday and the HSBC Kota Kinabalu branch now have five brand new NCR ATM. They even install one more Cash Deposit Machine supplied by Wincor Nixdorf, making the total available CDM at their Kota Kinabalu branch to five  thumbup.gif
Wah, on the other hand, since my VS better that your HSBC CC, maybe you shouldn't complain so that I can tell Premier Card holder like you - "your card useless lah" hahaha

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 30 2011, 02:14 PM)
Obviously bcos the requirement to hold platinum card has been reduce. Just imagine the Boss and the staff holding the same card type. where got privileges some more...

Waiting for AMEX to introduce CENTURION to Malaysia as Singapore already got it few years back
Well, we do have a member here in LYN that have the black card.
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 06:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ Mar 30 2011, 11:09 PM)
oh yea! i am going to swipe more with my Visa Signature then!!!!
Me too, with 5X, no diff compared to MBB2 AMEX. Only need to swipe RM2000 to get 10,000 points so can waive GST for my HSBC. However the list is places with 5X not out yet.

QUOTE(zenquix @ Mar 31 2011, 02:36 AM)
Not accurate.. MBB2 Visa is only abt 0.5% equivalent
Yeap, that's right. 0.5% in terms of voucher redemption.

CONGRATS to MilesAndMore and Hye for being made Moderators thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 31 2011, 06:57 AM
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 01:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 31 2011, 12:44 PM)
But can not see Hye tembak people liau... cry.gif
hye, where got tembak people, many people like his no nonsense reply until he got fan club tongue.gif

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 31 2011, 01:34 PM)
wow, you are so resourceful.
This is not listed in CIMB website yet  biggrin.gif
IF Kinokuniya accepts AMEX, this CIMB promo becomes no point already.
I received sms on CIMB offer at Kinokuniya yesterday.
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 02:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 31 2011, 01:50 PM)
You frequent Kino?
does it accept Amex? smile.gif
Not really, once in a blue moon. You don't know how to use search ar? tongue.gif Now that is hye, promoted, someone got to remind others of the search function, hahaha. Miles did mentioned yes before, click below
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/547867/+2340

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 31 2011, 01:52 PM)
Hi Gen-X,

Hope to share more latest news about the latest Guideline, at the moment it seems like the CL reduction will not be implemented so soon as they suppose to annouce to launch it 1st Apr. From previous meeting, what i understand is banks are requesting to extend the timelines so that they have more time to prepare.
thanks bro for the info. Malaysia boleh. Actually I read a post, can't remember who mentioned it. It goes something like this, our government flip flop on policies. So first the flip on the new ruling, next to wait for the flop (reverse the ruling), haha

Actually I am not bothered, come end of year only worry about proofing to the banks on my income.
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 02:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ak1977 @ Mar 31 2011, 02:18 PM)
What I can review now is that, they are struggle on how to determine the customer income without calling the customer, just imagine you have 1mil customer, the manpower, time & most important the cost to handle the update is so high. And again if they check CCRIS report, the cost is also not cheap. For those card issuers with low customer base is still ok. Big banks like MBB,CIMB, Citibank, HSBC & OCBC where their cardbase was so big... phew....

What a mess it going to be, the objective here is to minimise the customer impact or disturb the customer. Just imagine everybody here calling their issuers and say "I just fax over my latest income have you received it can you check for me".. shocking.gif
yah since it is the bank's responsibility to implement the guidelines, every bank will have different approach to it. I give you ideas and you share it at ABM meetings.

1. Ask card members to email their latest BE form. Those who email will get RM10 credited into their account. Benefits:
a. BNM cannot dispute this.
b. Save the banks money on paper, filing space, manpower (running to the fax, office boy moving files, fax misplaced, lines being congested as you mentioned, headaches when want to review or reconfirm as fax/letter cannot be traced).
c. Banks will also get credit where less paper are being used and show that they the bank do care for the environment.
d. Consumers can email at their free time and all will email because of the RM10.

2. To make sure all email, those who submit proof of income via fax, branch or post , an admin fee of RM2 will be imposed and make known to customers it may take up to six months to evaluate and pending confirmation credit limit will be automatically reduced to RM6K, hahaha.

3. ABM should appeal to BNM that people above age 40 ( retirees and pensioners) are not subjected to this ruling if they don't have 12 months consecutive outstanding balance. This is for my benefit tongue.gif Or even extend this to all, so people that are responsible in their spending are not penalized.

4. Maybe all the banks contribute to form a new company that only specialize in evaluating customers for credit cards initially, after few years, extend the service for loans, etc. Consumers want a CC, got to even pay this company a nominal sum so that this company can be self-reliant.

If you guys implement my ideas, please do not hesitate to make donation to me tongue.gif I am also available for consultation, hahaha.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 31 2011, 02:48 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 02:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Mar 31 2011, 02:54 PM)
Let say ah.. On one bad day, your employer decided to cut your salary due to some reasons. The bank won't know unless customer update the bank on their salary movement yearly.

The best solution is to link the bank system to Income Tax system.
that's where item 3 comes into play. If a person who does not have outstanding balance, he/she should not be penalized or needing the banks to go waste time checking on hm/her.

First stage is to evaluate all customers that have outstanding balance.
as for linking to IRB, no lah, it will cause havoc to IRB system and giving reason to update system i.e. waste taxpayers' money.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 31 2011, 03:02 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 04:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Mar 31 2011, 04:24 PM)
anyone?  blush.gif
why you so lazy go check yourself at Citi website, link below
http://www.citibank.com.my/clear/?utm_sour...paign=clearcard

Want more info, call CS.
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 04:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Mar 31 2011, 04:34 PM)
tried but didnt write in there  hmm.gif
you must be blur, click on Clearly Rewarding --> Click Coffee Bean Icon --> Click T&C and read it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 31 2011, 04:38 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 31 2011, 09:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(andytan18 @ Mar 31 2011, 06:13 PM)
just received a sms from HSBC, they upgrade my platinum to visa signature, any difference between them?
Just posted my article on HSBC Visa Signature at my blog, click link below:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...re-gone-is.html

the 5X points is capped up to spending of RM1K locally and RM1.5K for hotel and dining overseas mad.gif
Gen-X
post Apr 1 2011, 05:51 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 31 2011, 11:00 PM)

While we're on CIMB ... CIMB Bank credit cardholders no longer have the option to redeem for any shopping vouchers anymore.
shakehead.gif cry.gif vmad.gif Anyway, I only use my CIMB MC at places I get benefit/discount with it, so I guess I'll still be benefiting with it. I guess this will encourage more to use the CIMB Visa Infinite that gives 0.5% cash back for local transactions.

QUOTE(Kyle_22 @ Mar 31 2011, 11:17 PM)
yeah, i wished they'd raise the cap higher- I mean, I thought HSBC Visa Plat/ Sig normally is high spender (altho I dont spend much with them!)
appreciate the Parkson/Isetan/Tangs 5X points, altho wish they'd extend the list of KL malls to be more than just MV/ Gardens.
Yah lah, since it is targeting customers who spend their money at The Gardens Mall.

QUOTE(wshoh @ Apr 1 2011, 12:21 AM)
@Gen-X If only HSBC hired you...Jusco J-card will get you the 10% discount at Starbucks too.
I am not fussy, any CC company will do. Oh yah J Card members do enjoy 10% but flashing my HSBC Plat more classy for a RM10 coffee tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 1 2011, 05:53 AM
Gen-X
post Apr 1 2011, 08:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 1 2011, 01:28 PM)
Ah.. haven't been here for the longest of time and see there's new moderators *congrats*
It has indeed been a while since we last saw your post at Finance section. Good to have you back as you tend to make the forum more lively.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 1 2011, 01:44 PM)
Oh and another thing to add on Credit Cards - anyone heard of banks paying the GST RM50 for U?! wink.gif I got mine waived for 2 cards!
You as usual will get your annual fees waived and now GST too notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Citibank did not even bothered to offer me anything when I wanted cancelled my Clear Card, but then again yours is the highest ranking Citibank CC. So what is the other card?

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 1 2011, 08:23 PM

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0459sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:35 PM