29 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Universiti Malaya V1, Discuss everything about UM here!

TSredscorpion
post Jul 7 2011, 03:10 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Jul 6 2011, 04:10 PM)
Just wanna ask if anyone stay in hostel? Is the room sharing or can one have a single room? Any rules for that?
which college u are referring to? and is it for undergrads or postgrads?
gobulan
post Jul 7 2011, 04:01 AM

Just wanna ask if it's true that UM got this distance learning for LLB or not bcoz my sister's friend said she got her LLB from UM distance learning. If got, then I also want to apply oh. smile.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 7 2011, 08:54 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Jul 6 2011, 04:10 PM)
Just wanna ask if anyone stay in hostel? Is the room sharing or can one have a single room? Any rules for that?
Varies depending on which college (hostel) are you staying in...
Usually its 2-3 persons per room...
Unfortunately for 1st years, your roomates will be randomly selected...
IpohBoY
post Jul 7 2011, 12:30 PM

722 posts

Let's say I will be in my first year in my Masters program. So there will be no single room?
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 15 2011, 06:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Jul 7 2011, 12:30 PM)
Let's say I will be in my first year in my Masters program. So there will be no single room?
Nope laugh.gif
XxAC3xX
post Jul 16 2011, 10:39 PM

380 posts

hi guys! i jz got accepted by UM n i gt a few questions hopefully u guys cn enlighten on..

1. KES -SARJANA MUDA KEJURUTERAAN (ALAM SEKITAR) <--this is 4yr Environmental Engineering right?

2. wht u thk bout environmental engineering thr? is it good?

3. i got 2-KOLEJ KEDIAMAN KEDUA, is it comfortable thr? ^^

4. do find studying in UM interesting n fun? UM sounds to me like every1 will study all the time only.. hmm
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 17 2011, 12:09 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Jul 16 2011, 10:39 PM)
hi guys! i jz got accepted by UM n i gt a few questions hopefully u guys cn enlighten on..

1. KES -SARJANA MUDA KEJURUTERAAN (ALAM SEKITAR) <--this is 4yr Environmental Engineering right?

4. do find studying in UM interesting n fun? UM sounds to me like every1 will study all the time only.. hmm
1 & 2. Not my field, so can't really comment on it laugh.gif

3. Most college are the same, not very good, rather crampy :/

4. Hmmm, should be the opposite haha laugh.gif University life is quite fun, try to join more activities, open your eyes, widen your social circle, enjoy mamak food thumbup.gif
IvanWong1989
post Jul 17 2011, 12:16 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

shocking.gif tj u frm um????? shocking.gif
XxAC3xX
post Jul 17 2011, 02:08 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 17 2011, 12:09 AM)
1 & 2. Not my field, so can't really comment on it laugh.gif

3. Most college are the same, not very good, rather crampy :/

4. Hmmm, should be the opposite haha laugh.gif University life is quite fun, try to join more activities, open your eyes, widen your social circle, enjoy mamak food  thumbup.gif
3. aww...so wht r the options?

4. great to hear that =)

btw,
-does the UM has any exchange programs? such as japan, europe, US, australia?

-one more thing, wht is the race ratio thr? im jz more acquainted with my own race, i dont mind mingle around with any friendly people.
TSredscorpion
post Jul 17 2011, 06:45 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Jul 17 2011, 02:08 AM)
3. aww...so wht r the options?

4. great to hear that =)

btw,
-does the UM has any exchange programs? such as japan, europe, US, australia?

-one more thing, wht is the race ratio thr? im jz more acquainted with my own race, i dont mind mingle around with any friendly people.
the crampy part depends on which college. i've been to 10th, 2nd, 8th and 11th college during my time studying there. all of them are quite spacious except for 8th that is a bit small for 3 people a room. but then, the space cant really be compared to ur own room at ur house la. living in university, u'll have to adapt to survive what. another option to choose is to rent a room or a house outside around the UM area. but then, if u dont have ur own transport, its better to stay at the hostel provided. the public transport is kinda poor in my opinion.

about the UM exchange programs, yes it is available. but it actually depends on the faculty if im not mistaken. some faculties do provide exchange programs while some dont. and it depends on ur cgpa and how active u are also if i remember correctly.

the race ratio i think around 50% are bumis and the rest is combination of chinese, indian etc. but to me, the race ratio should not be a question in the first place i guess. just be yourself and mingle around with everyone no matter what race. the more friends u make, the merrier it is right? networking is important in everyone's life because u'll never know what the future brings.
XxAC3xX
post Jul 17 2011, 11:05 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(redscorpion @ Jul 17 2011, 06:45 PM)
the crampy part depends on which college. i've been to 10th, 2nd, 8th and 11th college during my time studying there. all of them are quite spacious except for 8th that is a bit small for 3 people a room. but then, the space cant really be compared to ur own room at ur house la. living in university, u'll have to adapt to survive what. another option to choose is to rent a room or a house outside around the UM area. but then, if u dont have ur own transport, its better to stay at the hostel provided. the public transport is kinda poor in my opinion.

about the UM exchange programs, yes it is available. but it actually depends on the faculty if im not mistaken. some faculties do provide exchange programs while some dont. and it depends on ur cgpa and how active u are also if i remember correctly.

the race ratio i think around 50% are bumis and the rest is combination of chinese, indian etc. but to me, the race ratio should not be a question in the first place i guess. just be yourself and mingle around with everyone no matter what race. the more friends u make, the merrier it is right? networking is important in everyone's life because u'll never know what the future brings.
sounds great! smile.gif most probably i'll accept the offer

1 more question, what is the possibility of chging course, frm environmental eng. to mechanical eng. ? wht should i do?

This post has been edited by XxAC3xX: Jul 17 2011, 11:05 PM
TSredscorpion
post Jul 18 2011, 01:43 AM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(redscorpion @ May 3 2011, 05:04 PM)
there are few of my friends who changed course last time. but only few of them got to change in the 1st semester and that was during middle of the semester while most of them got it in the 2nd semester. i guess ull have to stick with the course for a semester or so. u may try to contact the faculty first and see if theres anything they can do before u start the degree programme. here's the contact for the faculty economy :

Department of Economics
Faculty of Economics and Administration
Tel: +603-7967 3661 / 3749
Fax: +603-7956 7252
Email: tdid_fep@um.edu.my

and here's the contact for the faculty accounting :

Faculty of Business and Accountancy
Tel: +603-7967 3800
Fax: +603-7967 3810
Email: leechin@um.edu.my
QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Jul 17 2011, 11:05 PM)
sounds great!  smile.gif most probably i'll accept the offer

1 more question, what is the possibility of chging course, frm environmental eng. to mechanical eng. ? wht should i do?
above was my reply about the changing course in previous page. im not really sure how it is conducted now actually. u may try to give a visit to ur faculty office though for better advise.
XxAC3xX
post Jul 18 2011, 06:49 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(redscorpion @ Jul 18 2011, 01:43 AM)
above was my reply about the changing course in previous page. im not really sure how it is conducted now actually. u may try to give a visit to ur faculty office though for better advise.
oh thk you vry much! im looking forward to thr =)

Added on July 20, 2011, 9:54 pmguys, does the lecturer halls/classes in UM gt WIFI? coz im a stock player, i need internet during classes...

This post has been edited by XxAC3xX: Jul 20 2011, 09:54 PM
fcfreak
post Jul 22 2011, 10:41 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(gobulan @ Jul 7 2011, 04:01 AM)
Just wanna ask if it's true that UM got this distance learning for LLB or not bcoz my sister's friend said she got her LLB from UM distance learning. If got, then I also want to apply oh. smile.gif
nope...im there. pretty sure everything is here, campus based course. =/

guys, does the lecturer halls/classes in UM gt WIFI? coz im a stock player, i need internet during classes.

stock player? dude...for real?
anyway yeah, most of them. Except, maybe new buildings?

This post has been edited by fcfreak: Jul 22 2011, 10:45 PM
z21j
post Jul 23 2011, 12:44 AM

1,307 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Jul 16 2011, 10:39 PM)

1&2. Engineering faculty is just too large la... almost all engineering programs are 4 yrs.

3. Good for u to get 2nd college. Ur faculty is just like 5 minutes away from ur hostel and 7 minutes like that to the library. This college, although not the best in term of facilities, but definitely the BEST LOCATION among other colleges.

4. Every1 will study all the time? I dont think so. Rather, outing all the time.
KaRiLa
post Jul 23 2011, 12:49 AM

15 posts

not accepting the course before 22th july 2011 will cause any problem~because upu state the date is before 30th july~
i will be disqualify from the offer?

i am so scare now!
sama_kun
post Jul 29 2011, 01:13 AM

103 posts

i heard that UM residential college fees is the most expansive among IPTA, ist true?

those who from 2nd college, how your life daily.. is it worth for RM10 per-day.. for 100 years hunted hostel?

just wondering...
Kern_lun
post Jul 29 2011, 10:41 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(sama_kun @ Jul 29 2011, 01:13 AM)
i heard that UM residential college fees is the most expansive among IPTA, ist true?

those who from 2nd college, how your life daily.. is it worth for RM10 per-day.. for 100 years hunted hostel?

just wondering...
yes because of kl life.. believe me living outside will be more blood sucking.
try good in koko and academic result.. you may living in um till graduate. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Kern_lun: Jul 29 2011, 10:42 AM
arsenwagon
post Jul 29 2011, 12:53 PM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

dude if you think expensive. u can try staying outside. the college rate of rm10 per day is effin cheap esp when 3 meals are included (3 meals for 3.50 btw. 6.50 for accommodation) u go outside rm3.50 can barely buy u a meal.

outside, rm10 per day accommodation. oh yea, electricity, streamyx + water bill, not included. also enjoy the long walk into campus. if u ddrive, then god bless, that means more expenditure for you.

best thing bout staying in hostel near ur faculty, u can wake up 30 minutes before class starts and still manage to get to lecture on time.
u stay outside try this stunt , u gotta make sure ur name is Flash.

[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2011, 06:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sama_kun @ Jul 29 2011, 01:13 AM)

just wondering...
Personally I don't really like staying at college... mainly because of the constant water and electric disruptions during my time... and not to mention the constant monkey attacks (7th college) doh.gif
THe college is not exactly very clean as well... food is okay though (except for Wednesdays haha)~
But I've heard that most colleges are shifting to not providing food now... so the living expenses will be higher later on...

Living outside will surely be more expensive, but then personally I think the lifestyle and quality would be better icon_rolleyes.gif

29 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:36 PM