So, iOS wont be the big thing, i guess...
Wow... Maxis is bringing in Xoom! How about other tablets???
This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Apr 18 2011, 10:35 AM
Enquiries/Recommendations Tablet Computing - Android 3.0(Honeycomb) V1.0, Discussion for Android 3.0 based Tablets
Apr 18 2011, 10:30 AM
1,081 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Alpha Centauri |
Lots of people complaining about ipad & itunes, bluetooth,3G.. etc... most of my colleagues going for android now...
So, iOS wont be the big thing, i guess... Wow... Maxis is bringing in Xoom! How about other tablets??? This post has been edited by RayKazansky: Apr 18 2011, 10:35 AM |
Apr 18 2011, 12:42 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
22,158 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Singapore |
Transformer was available for pre-order in Singapore today, and has juz ended 10mins ago...
Apr 18 2011, 01:10 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
Apr 18 2011, 01:23 PM
probably...
that's wat Asus Singapore posted on Facebook... anyway, dug up sth interesting abt Transformer... http://technidroid.com/2011/04/16/asus-tra...elected-models/ This post has been edited by astria: Apr 18 2011, 01:27 PM |
Apr 18 2011, 01:43 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(astria @ Apr 18 2011, 01:23 PM) probably... Woo~ Rear cameras... do we actually need it? hehe that's wat Asus Singapore posted on Facebook... anyway, dug up sth interesting abt Transformer... http://technidroid.com/2011/04/16/asus-tra...elected-models/ I think its a good thing to have several variants of the the Transformer.. more flexible |
Apr 18 2011, 01:47 PM
well, i think it's useful in certain situations... more of like a "nice to have" feature... same thing as camera on phones...
Apr 18 2011, 02:52 PM
5,531 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Kajang, Selangor |
Anyone preordering the Transformer from Singapore? 699 SGD for the 16GB version and free keyboard dock.
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news/view/164904 Limited to 100 units though. |
Apr 18 2011, 02:52 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Kelana Jaya |
Apr 18 2011, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Apr 18 2011, 02:52 PM) Anyone preordering the Transformer from Singapore? 699 SGD for the 16GB version and free keyboard dock. sold out already...http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news/view/164904 Limited to 100 units though. does it come with camera anyway? and "free" keyboard indeed... SG$699 = US$561... and in US it's US$400 + US$150 for Transformer and keyboard... This post has been edited by astria: Apr 18 2011, 03:19 PM |
Apr 18 2011, 06:39 PM
5,531 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Kajang, Selangor |
There is a 5mp camera at the back.
Apr 19 2011, 12:52 AM
330 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Manjung |
go go tranfomers
Apr 19 2011, 01:07 AM
2,909 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: London, United Kingdom or Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
Yes comes with camera.. But the camera apparently is quite bad, worse than mobile phone ones.. One of the users gave a review and commented it on YouTube..
iOS still seems to be smoother overall looking at the YouTube video.. But Multi tasking definitely beats iOS4 hands down.. Added on April 19, 2011, 8:30 amhttp://www.engadget.com/2011/04/18/asus-eee-pad-transformer-uk-edition-review/ Asus Transformer review is out... Hmm... UI doesn't look so good as I suspected... Seems like Honeycomb still need some tweaks and Asus needs to get their software done properly, though everything else looks really impressive... I take back my words, I think iPad2 is still gonna dominate for now... This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Apr 19 2011, 08:30 AM |
Apr 19 2011, 08:47 AM
3,965 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Seriously, BB Playbook is beating any android tablet out there now..
Just get BB playbook.Best tablet at this moment |
Apr 19 2011, 11:28 AM
1,853 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 19 2011, 08:47 AM) Seriously, BB Playbook is beating any android tablet out there now.. No native apps for email, calendar? Nahhhhh, keep dreaming la playbook want to beat honeycomb...Just get BB playbook.Best tablet at this moment Added on April 19, 2011, 11:30 am QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Apr 19 2011, 01:07 AM) Yes comes with camera.. But the camera apparently is quite bad, worse than mobile phone ones.. One of the users gave a review and commented it on YouTube.. You must look another review bro....engadget look biased..iOS still seems to be smoother overall looking at the YouTube video.. But Multi tasking definitely beats iOS4 hands down.. Added on April 19, 2011, 8:30 amhttp://www.engadget.com/2011/04/18/asus-eee-pad-transformer-uk-edition-review/ Asus Transformer review is out... Hmm... UI doesn't look so good as I suspected... Seems like Honeycomb still need some tweaks and Asus needs to get their software done properly, though everything else looks really impressive... I take back my words, I think iPad2 is still gonna dominate for now... This post has been edited by baretta: Apr 19 2011, 11:30 AM |
Apr 19 2011, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(baretta @ Apr 19 2011, 11:28 AM) No native apps for email, calendar? Nahhhhh, keep dreaming la playbook want to beat honeycomb... I can live with that. No point having lots of apps but not stable OS and occasionally lag device.. BB Playbook is freaking fast, not lag and ultra smooth UI makes me... |
Apr 19 2011, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Apr 19 2011, 01:07 AM) Yes comes with camera.. But the camera apparently is quite bad, worse than mobile phone ones.. One of the users gave a review and commented it on YouTube.. u ve to take into the account that Engadget = iGadget...iOS still seems to be smoother overall looking at the YouTube video.. But Multi tasking definitely beats iOS4 hands down.. Added on April 19, 2011, 8:30 amhttp://www.engadget.com/2011/04/18/asus-eee-pad-transformer-uk-edition-review/ Asus Transformer review is out... Hmm... UI doesn't look so good as I suspected... Seems like Honeycomb still need some tweaks and Asus needs to get their software done properly, though everything else looks really impressive... I take back my words, I think iPad2 is still gonna dominate for now... QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 19 2011, 11:58 AM) I can live with that. No point having lots of apps but not stable OS and occasionally lag device.. seriously, if u want to compare BlackBerry's tablet OS against iOS and Honeycomb, i would say there's no fight at all...BB Playbook is freaking fast, not lag and ultra smooth UI makes me... sure it runs fast, but there's still quite a lot of rough edges that needs to be smoothen out first... not that iOS nor Honeycomb is perfect (the former needs a UI overhaul to suit the larger screen, while the latter needs to work more on security - Google admitted that corners were cut in making Honeycomb so as to speed up it's development, and till now Honeycomb is still not released for general consumption yet), but there's still quite a lot of catching up for RIM (and the others), if they re serious abt the tablet market... especially when iPad is basically dominating the market now... no pt having a pretty UI/shell when the inside is crap... supporting Android apps out of the box is the right direction, let's see wat else RIM has in their sleeves... This post has been edited by astria: Apr 19 2011, 04:19 PM |
Apr 19 2011, 04:21 PM
1,081 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Alpha Centauri |
Nothing is best, it's all up to personal preference. I got hooked up with android due to my wife's Sony Ericsson phone. So smooth and speedy UI.
I use apps killer to kill unwanted items. That speeds up the device. I believe, when you double tap the apple's button, the task killer will appear. Hope Honeycomb will improve over short period of time as it is still new. |
Apr 19 2011, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Apr 19 2011, 04:18 PM) supporting Android apps out of the box is the right direction, let's see wat else RIM has in their sleeves... Talking about that hardware, it has Dual HD cameras (3 MP front facing, 5 MP rear facing), supports 1080p FHD video recording. Comes with 16/32/64GB memory..means can install gigabytes worth of Android apps, without worrying memory space. I believe running apps in internal memory is wayyyy faster than SD cards !!! At 1024 x 600 pixel resolution on a 7" display, the PlayBook is packing a pixel density of ~170 pixels per inch which it delivers a crystal clear and bright picture. Photos and HD videos look amazing on the PlayBook. |
Apr 19 2011, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 19 2011, 07:11 PM) Talking about that hardware, it has Dual HD cameras (3 MP front facing, 5 MP rear facing), supports 1080p FHD video recording. honestly i dun see which Honeycomb tablets cannot rival it in terms of hardware...Comes with 16/32/64GB memory..means can install gigabytes worth of Android apps, without worrying memory space. I believe running apps in internal memory is wayyyy faster than SD cards !!! At 1024 x 600 pixel resolution on a 7" display, the PlayBook is packing a pixel density of ~170 pixels per inch which it delivers a crystal clear and bright picture. Photos and HD videos look amazing on the PlayBook. take LG Optimus Pad for example... 2MP front camera, dual 5MP rear cameras, capable of 3D 1080p recording 32GB ROM + microSD expansion 1280x768 8.9" monitor RIM needs something else to distinguish itself from the others... so far it basically look more like a Galaxy Tab or a Flyer competitor... but personally i prefer Asus Transformer or Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9... |
Apr 19 2011, 08:44 PM
2,909 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: London, United Kingdom or Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
Personally I think playbook is a bit too small as a tablet.. If you're gonna do any reading it, 7 inch is just too straining.. It's gonna be either 8.9,9.7 or 10.1 for me..
I agree with astria for the point where BB playbook needs something significant to distinguish themselves from, in which they still do not have it.. Like Asus transformer, they have the keyboard/extended battery which is brilliantly made, also IPS display/Gorilla glass for such a low price compared to Xoom.. Whilst that iPad2 has some really exclusive killer apps such as Garage Band which is a good enough reason for anyone to get one compared to other Android tablets, not forgetting their smooth UI which is still above honeycomb at least.. RIM gotta up their game even more if they wanna compete, it's no wonder that their stock prices dropped downhill since the playbook released.. |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:30 AM |