64 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

TSMr.LKM
post Mar 17 2007, 02:36 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

No, I didn't piggyback it. I don't have the dovetail bar. I am going to get one soon as well as a counterweight system. http://www.astro.premcom.com/ADM/ADM%20Pro...il%20System.htm

I am so stupid that I forgot to take the full eclipse photo... I though the red hue Moon has to be taken via a telescope... OMG..

Hey, you just checked www.spaceweather.com? We are out of luck this time for the solar eclipse...
vikingw2k
post Mar 26 2007, 01:14 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Snapped just now at my house

more half moon pics here
March05
post Mar 27 2007, 06:25 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Hey, vikingw2k, I think we were both out feeding the mosquitoes at the same time. laugh.gif

I saw the nice moon setting too and decided to carry out the telescope for some shots, as usual with my Casio Digicam.

My results:

The Half Eaten Moon:-
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b349/Mar...on26March07.jpg

I love this lunar feature located in Mare Fecunditatis; the 2 Messier Craters and the long birthray (actually there are two rays but my setup couldn't resolve this). I always think of this as a spaceship crashlanding site.......
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b349/Mar...MessierMoon.jpg

Just a test of my focusing: the ultra slim Rima Ariadaeus. Happily I caught it although this is not quite the best time to photograph it. Believe it or not, this is a flat bottomed almost straight valley roughly 200-300 kilometers long, 4 kilometers wide and about half a kilometer deep. See if you can figure out where it is in my pic. blink.gif
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b349/Mar...maAriadaeus.jpg

TSMr.LKM
post Mar 27 2007, 09:35 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

March05, I think I have the same photo as your last one.

Viking, I suggest you use shorter exposure so that more details will show.
March05
post Mar 27 2007, 11:51 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 27 2007, 09:35 PM)
March05, I think I have the same photo as your last one.
The Rima Ariadaeus one? Where is it? I couldn't find it in your blog.

But I found your Lens of Madness..... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Which reminds me, have you insured your LX90?

TSMr.LKM
post Mar 28 2007, 02:43 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(March05 @ Mar 27 2007, 11:51 PM)
The Rima Ariadaeus one? Where is it? I couldn't find it in your blog.

But I found your Lens of Madness..... laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif Which reminds me, have you insured your LX90?
Is there any insurance for telescope? If yes, I would like to get one though and one for my future RCX400~~~~

I forgot where did I put it... By the way, that advertisement is really hyperbolic, just like a RC telescope which uses a hyperbolic mirror. laugh.gif
March05
post Mar 28 2007, 06:51 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Nowadays they will sell insurance for anything under the sun, otherwise how to pay for commercials like Lens of Madness?
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 28 2007, 07:10 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

hahaha, it's true. I would like to check about it from my cousin.
March05
post Mar 30 2007, 09:46 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Strange thing happened this morning. I woke up at about 6.00 am, feeling disturbed. Then I went out into the garden and looked up. There was Jupiter, and Scorpio, brilliant!

But I noticed something unusual happening to Jupiter - got out my Casio and tripod, and took a 5 sec exposure.

See what I saw!

Jupiter was DANCING!!!!

TSMr.LKM
post Mar 30 2007, 06:34 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Could it be the Jupiter?
Evirober
post Mar 30 2007, 07:40 PM

636 posts

Thats indeed quite strange....

Dude any more shots ??
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 30 2007, 07:52 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

I am quite sure that he is fooling with us. laugh.gif As there was a case before.
March05
post Mar 30 2007, 08:22 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 30 2007, 07:52 PM)
I am quite sure that he is fooling with us. laugh.gif As there was a case before.
That picture is straight from the original shot.

Other than increasing the contrast, reducing the gamma a little bit to reduce the background noise, and resizing it to 800x600, I swear there was no photoediting, double exposure, or any deliberate camera tricks!

The phenomenon disappeared immediately after the first shot I took. In all subsequent shots I took, Jupiter was rock solid still. As if Zeus suddenly realised someone was watching him.

This was taken just 5 minutes later. Longer - 15 second exposure. You can also see more stars now.

No more dancing! cry.gif
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 31 2007, 11:24 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

March05, I suggest you better report this to www.spaceweather.com. This will be an very exciting event. Jupiter was dancing.
March05
post Mar 31 2007, 12:15 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Mar 31 2007, 11:24 AM)
March05, I suggest you better report this to www.spaceweather.com.
Ya, I was thinking of submitting this picture to spaceweather. Maybe their experts can figure out what caused this miracle.

I was quite groggy from sleep that morning and it could be I was imagining things, but what could have caused the first shot to come out like that?

TSMr.LKM
post Mar 31 2007, 12:28 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

The track of that object is so abnormal.
yewkhuay
post Mar 31 2007, 11:31 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

Noob here , if i use D80 and go up to hill top, say , Mt.Tahan , wat else do i need just to shoot star / moon / horoscope?
TSMr.LKM
post Mar 31 2007, 11:46 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

A tripod. If better, a german equatorial mount to make sure that the star is pinpoint or it will be trail.
vikingw2k
post Apr 3 2007, 07:49 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Full Moon - 2th of April 2007

TSMr.LKM
post Apr 3 2007, 08:46 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

The first photo seems to be out of focus.

64 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:02 AM