Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007
Eithanius
Jan 25 2007, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 25 2007, 06:13 PM) Maybe your friend has good luck with it.  By the way, March05, our astronomy club needs fund to get observing equipment, could you help us to look for some? (either funds or equipments)  Astronomy Club...?  where...? when...? will be good if there's some activities down the line.... how about a night of observations with the new equipments should you guys get some...
TSMr.LKM
Jan 25 2007, 11:41 PM
It's my school astronomy club, CHHS Astronomy Club. It's formed by me and my several enthusiast friends.  Maybe we will hold an event which is the Aurigid meteor shower which is said to be 1000 meteors per hour.
March05
Jan 26 2007, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 25 2007, 11:41 PM) Maybe we will hold an event which is the Aurigid meteor shower which is said to be 1000 meteors per hour.  My eyeballs will pop out of their sockets! You want to recruit me to be one of your fundraisers? That's a new role for me. I'm more expert as a fund-waster......
julchin_09
Jan 26 2007, 12:00 PM
Haha...hilarious March05, 1000 Meteors an hour is great. If the program really goes thru, PM Me and I will join you guys that night.... The most I've seen was 50+ during the Leonid meteor shower of 1998...  Its almost 10 years ago...
TSMr.LKM
Jan 26 2007, 11:07 PM
Hehe, March05, help us lar. Help us to build the best Kluang and Malaysia Astronomy Club. Julchin, how about you? 50+ an hour was great! Mine was 3 during 25 minutes.
March05
Jan 27 2007, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 26 2007, 11:07 PM) Hehe, March05, help us lar. Help us to build the best Kluang and Malaysia Astronomy Club. Julchin, how about you? 50+ an hour was great! Mine was 3 during 25 minutes. See what I can do lah...but I hope I'm not the only fundraiser you have. If so you'll have the poorest club in Malaysia. It's been so long since I last experienced a meteor shower I can't even remember what a falling star looks like.  I hope it's not Alzheimer's.
TSMr.LKM
Jan 27 2007, 07:46 PM
Haha, your luck is even worse. I guess you are not the only one. I am looking for more too!  Do you have MSN Messenger or any other IM?
Savor_Savvy
Jan 31 2007, 03:34 PM
Is those RM1xx range of refractor and reflector telescope good for sky-watching? How's the quality of the image and the telescope? Im interested in astronomy but duno which telescope to buy. Plz help..........
TSMr.LKM
Jan 31 2007, 10:31 PM
Erm.. those telescopes will keep you out of interest very very soon. How much is your budget?
Savor_Savvy
Jan 31 2007, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 31 2007, 10:31 PM) Erm.. those telescopes will keep you out of interest very very soon. How much is your budget? Around RM1xx-RM2xx
March05
Feb 1 2007, 04:08 AM
Just like any other hobby, the more you spend on your equipment, the more you can do with it. My personal opinion for all it's worth: Less than RM2K: You'll feel like upgrading very soon. Or lose interest, as Mr.LKM says. RM2K-5K: Sweet spot for entry level. RM5K-RM30K: Serious Amateur. Above that: Crazy and Loaded AstroNUT. Any chance you can pop over to Kluang and join Mr.LKM's club?
TSMr.LKM
Feb 6 2007, 03:19 PM
Actually my club is only limited to the students of Chong Hwa High School Kluang as it's one of the school activities to join. For that price range, I suggest you to get binocular. It can do imaging with some modification. This post has been edited by Mr.LKM: Feb 25 2007, 12:43 AM
TSMr.LKM
Feb 25 2007, 12:48 AM
Just to infrom you that there will be a Moon eclipse this 4 March. It's going to start at 0416.
By the way, last time I accidentally removed the secondary mirror and now I need to do collimation. God bless me!
March05
Feb 25 2007, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Feb 25 2007, 12:48 AM) Just to infrom you that there will be a Moon eclipse this 4 March. It's going to start at 0416.
By the way, last time I accidentally removed the secondary mirror and now I need to do collimation. God bless me! Don't forget to update the thread title. It's still stuck on last year's Sept 8th Lunar Eclipse........ Collimation ah? God bless you! That's the one thing I detest about owning a telescope with mirrors. BTW did you get a lot of ang pow this year?
TSMr.LKM
Feb 25 2007, 08:02 PM
About RM500 lor... Your 6400 is so powerful... Hey man, help me to find subscribers for streamyx so that I can get more powerful telescope. Actually 8" is the best scope for this country under this type of atmospheric condition as larger scope will only reveal the lousy atmosphere.  I just found that the seeings these days are really good, the stars don't even shine a bit.
March05
Feb 25 2007, 11:08 PM
Waaaah so much ang pow. Me very jealous lo. I agree that our sky conditions make it a bit difficult to justify getting a larger aperture....but some ppl just want to buy 10"+++ to show off. So your collimation done already? Recently I tried to collimate a Newtonian, after 2 hours, still not satisfied with the image quality. But then I was mad enough to try to do it in the daytime, crazy me. Over here in Klang Valley, the skies were quite good just before CNY. Now getting bad again......hope it will be clear for the eclipse. Maybe if I have time, try for some shots of Saturn too.
TSMr.LKM
Feb 25 2007, 11:48 PM
It's not much. I believe you get more than me before~ Hehe~ I haven't done the collimation, exam is coming......
March05
Mar 4 2007, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Feb 25 2007, 11:48 PM) exam is coming......  How come you are always having exams? Anybody managed to photograph this morning's eclipse? I just couldn't get my camera mounted & focused properly this morning (too many beers and wine last night celebrating Chap Goh Meh and I got a hangover); watched the moon shrinking with my naked eyes instead. It was awesome!
TSMr.LKM
Mar 4 2007, 08:48 PM
Oh yeah, this time I have sucessfully taken down the photos since the Moon entered penumbra and then the almost full eclipse. I will process the photos tomorrow. I need to adjust the exposure value, some are underexposed that it seems like the eclipse has been there. March05, do you manage to find sponsors for me?
vikingw2k
Mar 5 2007, 03:15 AM
LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
Snapped 3 hours ago at my house compound, donated lotsa blood to the bloody mosquitoes there 
Moon 1  Moon 2  Moon 3  Moon 4  Moon 5