21 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Astronomy Photography, Lunar Eclipse on 4 March 2007

March05
post Aug 1 2005, 10:51 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Any SLR, whether digital or film based, can be used for photography with a telescope.
If u want to tinker around with homemade adapters, then u can also fit any webcam to a telescope.

However, all that does not matter a single bit if u do not have a good mount for ur telescope. For astrophotography, long exposures (the shutter may have to remain open for hours!) are standard. So if ur telescope cannot track accurately, all u will get, even with a RM30,000.00 SLR, is a nice blur or a mess of zigzagging coloured lines instead of nice starpoints.

A basic motor driven equatorial mount accurate enough for astrophotography will cost u easily a few thousand ringgit.

However, a telescope is a cheap alternative to a high powered telephoto lens for photographing terrestrial objects. For example, a 600mm focal length telescope can be purchased (without mount) for a few hundred rinngit. Just ask Nikon for the price of the equivalent _ on second thoughts don't bother if you want to avoid a heart attack.......
March05
post Aug 3 2005, 10:59 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 2 2005, 04:17 PM)
From what I see, a Hong Kong man used a webcam and mount it on the telescope and the picture he took was in very high resolution, very clear!. The telescope is able to do auto-tracking but I don't know the price.
Digital astrophotography is the `in' thing now due to the ease of use and low prices of webcams. In the past, digital astrophotography required expensive equipment with special cooling systems to reduce noise levels. Now, using `stacking' technology, u can get pretty fantastic pictures with a cheap usb cmos sensor.
However, u will still need dark and clear skies, and plenty of patience to obtain a masterpiece.
Amateur astronomers nowadays account for many of the new `discoveries' due to their enthusiasm and diligence with their amateur setups. So if u think u would like to have a comet named in ur honor, have a go at it!

March05
post Aug 4 2005, 04:41 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Comet Robin 2005 sounds kinda nice, doesn't it?
March05
post Aug 12 2005, 01:59 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Are u ready for tonite's meteor shower? No need for any special equipment, just use ur eyes.
Unfortunately, those of us in the Klang Valley are out of luck due to the haze.........hope the skies are better for u in Kluang.
March05
post Aug 12 2005, 03:55 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

No fixed time, just look up at any clear patch of sky and be very alert, they move very fast! I usually start observing from 11.00 pm and watch until I fall asleep in my garden in Subang Jaya in the early morning.

As a bonus, Mars will also be up just after midnight and you will start to see the constellation Perseus (where the meteors will seem to come from) after 1.30 a.m. Also try to spot the Andromeda galaxy in the northeast after 10.30 p.m. (hint: use a pair of binoculars).

Other interesting sights: the Pleiades (Seven Sisters) in Taurus just next to Perseus, and then at about 3.30 a.m. be rewarded with the rising of the famous 3 stars-in-a-row, the belt of Orion the Hunter!

Good luck, and happy hunting!
March05
post Aug 12 2005, 04:50 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Aug 12 2005, 04:03 PM)
offcourse climbing mountain is the best for
wider view and clearer sky. Lying on ur roof can also but dont fall asleep too fast!!
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
climbing mountain in the dark? u must be better than Tom Cruise (ala mission impossible 2) whistling.gif

Since this is the photography (and not astronomy) forum, I thought I better suggest someone try photographing the meteor shower and post some shots here.
Just use any wide angle lens, focus on infinity, mount the camera on a sturdy tripod, aim up to the sky, set camera shutter on `B', and do a long exposure! Even if you don't get any shooting stars, you can admire the nice long star trails........
By the way, old fashioned film cameras are better than modern digital cameras at this kind of photography.
March05
post Aug 12 2005, 06:12 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Aug 12 2005, 05:25 PM)
..but where did I put it
hah.. cry.gif
that has a familiar ring to it....hahaha.
I have just about given up on cataloging my entire analog photo collection too.
March05
post Aug 12 2005, 08:33 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

It would depend on how clear your view of the sky is. Usually we only see the brighter streaks and the occassional fireball and smoke trails. If the air is really clear, and u are lucky enough to be far from civilisation, u might see a barrage of shooting stars.
However, the most we can hope to see in the best spots in Malaysia is probably in the region of a few hundred per hour (i believe this was reported by experienced watchers in Penang last year). In Kuala Lumpur, the most I've ever counted is 15 per hour, which I would consider as good as a storm!
This year, with the haze, zero count is my expectation for Klang valley.
March05
post Aug 12 2005, 08:49 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Aug 12 2005, 08:39 PM)
yes2.. drool.gif so climb the mountain..
Anyone here going to Gunung Ledang tonite?
March05
post Aug 13 2005, 10:09 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

So anyone had any luck with the Perseids this morning?
In Subang Jaya, all I could see was a brave red moon which happily went down to rest at midnite. But it was great to able to see the moon at all! Shows the haze is clearing up a bit.

AdrianA, there are many astronomical objects that we can see with our naked eyes. We just never took the time to think about it or bothered to learn identify them. Your eyes can see, on a clear nite, up to 2,000 stars. How many of us can name even one? (Other than our Sun, of course). Astronomy is one of the few science hobbies which anyone can take up without requiring expensive equipment or a degree, only need your eyes. Just take your time over it, it's not a competition, it's a lifetime of awe and wonder.
March05
post Aug 22 2005, 10:12 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Looks like this year's Perseids was a wash out due to the haze.

Next object of interest is the planet Mars which is rapidly approaching a close encounter with Earth in October this year. See whether you can spot the ice caps!

BTW, there's a rumour going round on the internet that Mars will be as big as the Moon this Saturday, 27th August. It's false, but Mars will still be a spectacular sight and ideal for photography in the coming months......
March05
post Aug 23 2005, 11:53 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 22 2005, 01:45 PM)
Cool man, I am not sure whether I am able to buy a telescope by that date  huh.gif
You can just use your eyes and enjoy watching Mars flirting with our Moon this Thursday morning (after Wednesday midnight).
March05
post Aug 24 2005, 10:07 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 24 2005, 03:06 PM)
This Thursday morning??? I better don't sleep this night  drool.gif
Did you see Venus and Jupiter setting earlier this evening? Beautiful sight, clear skies in Subang Jaya for once.
Hope the weather holds another 4-5 hours. Tomorrow night Mars and the Moon will be drifting apart already, like ships passing in the night......so sad.

March05
post Aug 24 2005, 11:16 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 24 2005, 10:44 PM)
Hope my photo of it turns out good - it was tricky balancing the exposure for both the moon and the buildings.
Show us, show us!
Butter cookies, eh....my stomach's growling now, it's time for supper.
March05
post Aug 26 2005, 07:06 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 26 2005, 03:03 PM)
Oh bad, I just noticed large moon but no venus cry.gif
You can't see Venus and the Moon at the same time right now.
Tonite, you can try to see Venus just after sunset (~ 7.30 p.m). Best time should be around 8.00pm to 8.30 pm. Venus will set at about 9.00 pm. Look to the West.

The Moon will rise at about 1.00 am on Saturday (tomorrow) morning after Mars rise (at ~11.40 pm tonite).
Two nights ago, the Moon rose ~25 minutes before Mars instead.

Hope you have better luck tonite!
March05
post Aug 27 2005, 04:03 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 27 2005, 03:23 PM)
So, can we spot venus at tonight?
Yes, you will be able to see Venus quite easily. Just go out at about 7.30 pm and look to the West. If the sky is clear of clouds, you should be able to watch Venus until about 9.00 pm. Just above Venus is Jupiter.

By 2nd September, Jupiter will catch up with Venus and move alongside it. After that, Jupiter will set earlier than Venus!

If you keep watching every evening from now on, you will finally get to see Venus and the Moon together. Venus will have its own close encounter with the Moon on the 7th September. It'll be a fine sight with the Moon, Venus and Jupiter all close together! Time to observe, ~8.00 pm.

Anyone with a digital camera, please record this occasion and post your pics here!

March05
post Aug 27 2005, 08:32 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(deepyu @ Aug 27 2005, 03:37 PM)
Yup, as I mentioned earlier, it's a hoax that goes back to over two years ago.

Anyway, if you have a telescope, better start watching now, as the ice caps are believed to be receding fast and may not be so big at closest approach in end October.......

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 27 2005, 04:12 PM)
with bare eyes? I think I will have to prepare my camera for this
See first, then snap photo mah.

Just try a 15 sec exposure with your camera on a tripod with standard f2 36 mm (SLR equivalent 50 mm) lens at ISO400. Bracket between 1 sec to 2 mins to find the best exposure - will depend on your sky conditions.

Then don't forget to post the pics here. thumbup.gif
March05
post Aug 29 2005, 03:32 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

Here's a picture of Venus & Jupiter last night looking West at 9.00 pm from my place in Subang Jaya. Taken on Sony Handycam in Super Nightshot mode.
Just to give ppl an idea of what to expect.....this is no work of art.
please note: the 2 big ufos are artifacts of lens flare from the bright streetlight.
March05
post Aug 29 2005, 04:38 PM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 29 2005, 03:58 PM)
Hooray, since I looked at your picture, I have taken the photo of Venus and Moon accidentally during that night. I thought I saw nothing except moon during that night, I will post it tomorrow.
Waiting eagerly, Mr LKM!
March05
post Aug 31 2005, 12:16 AM

Certified Lowyat.NUT
2,171 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Aug 30 2005, 06:00 PM)
Here is a photo of Moon and "not-sure" Venus  biggrin.gif
That is not Venus, it's Mars. On 25th August morning, Mars rose ~ 25 minutes after the Moon, just as shown in your photo. biggrin.gif At that time , Venus was already below the horizon to the West.

21 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0368sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:34 PM