Asus N53SN review, and discussion
Kyozen
Mar 29 2011, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Mar 29 2011, 01:45 PM) add more ram will make big different meh? i thought it depends on memory speed  i really like this laptop over sager np8130 becoz of the design and cheaper by rm600-700 but... really need clear doubt first  look at our brother my_nickleo n53sn with 12gb ram but same score as 8gb 7.6 score (maybe wei can detect 8gb is max?) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1769836/+500 ( at last post) well, are you heavy gamer fanatic? if you dont mind playing some intense game on mid high setting instead of max like sc2 then go for asus n53sn for better design, lighter, less bulky and no warranty worries and get those extra money get more ram, gaming mouse zalman cooler~ this is just my opinion choices are still yours to decide  Added on March 29, 2011, 2:01 pmasus n53sn gt550m can handle high setting in sc2 but not ultra This post has been edited by Kyozen: Mar 29 2011, 02:01 PM
empire177
Mar 29 2011, 04:10 PM

Is there a need to make a recovery dvd? I thought we can use the recovery partition or something?
SUSBorsch Soup
Mar 29 2011, 04:10 PM
I agree with TS on the B&O speakers, it is above average only, just tried one in the shop, sound is loud but not very crystal clear.
ineser
Mar 29 2011, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(empire177 @ Mar 29 2011, 04:10 PM) Is there a need to make a recovery dvd? I thought we can use the recovery partition or something? Just to be safe, try to make recovery discs
cowithgun
Mar 29 2011, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(Kyozen @ Mar 29 2011, 01:54 PM) Added on March 29, 2011, 2:01 pmasus n53sn gt550m can handle high setting in sc2 but not ultra i think 550m can run SC2 in Ultra. i m using 5650 (weaker than 550M), at stock clock already can run SC2 in Ultra, using Catalyst 11.2 (AI set to Performance / Advance), disable Reflection, everything else in Ultra, including Texture. Getting above 40 FPS most of the time. Running at 1366x768 though. Using Patch 1.3. Can even run at Extreme setting, but in with Protoss Carrier, it will drop down to 25 FPS. This post has been edited by cowithgun: Mar 29 2011, 06:08 PM
TSTrance4eva
Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(empire177 @ Mar 29 2011, 04:10 PM) Is there a need to make a recovery dvd? I thought we can use the recovery partition or something? Make recovery better incase ur HDD crash
empire177
Mar 29 2011, 07:21 PM

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM) Make recovery better incase ur HDD crash K now 4th disc le... and wth! Really 6 disc?! CRAZY! Other ppl only like 3 disc!
ken3230
Mar 29 2011, 07:49 PM

any N53SN user able to update the nvidia control panel so can setting other than 3D Setting and Video tat can set the resolution stretch and fit on the screen
TSTrance4eva
Mar 29 2011, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(ken3230 @ Mar 29 2011, 07:49 PM) any N53SN user able to update the nvidia control panel so can setting other than 3D Setting and Video tat can set the resolution stretch and fit on the screen  Why cannot fit your laptop screen. On your screen cannot go higher than 1366 x 768 you know unless you connect to external monitor If wan fit perfectly on your screen go to desktop>right click> screen resolution > set to 1366 x 768
ken3230
Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 29 2011, 07:54 PM) Why cannot fit your laptop screen. On your screen cannot go higher than 1366 x 768 you know unless you connect to external monitor If wan fit perfectly on your screen go to desktop>right click> screen resolution > set to 1366 x 768 sry dint mention, i mean in game ther will 2 black boader beside
TSTrance4eva
Mar 29 2011, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(ken3230 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM) sry dint mention, i mean in game ther will 2 black boader beside what game
Kyozen
Mar 29 2011, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(ken3230 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:39 PM) sry dint mention, i mean in game ther will 2 black boader beside u confirm got set maximum resolution? usually this case is dint set to maximise Added on March 29, 2011, 11:36 pmQUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 29 2011, 07:17 PM) Make recovery better incase ur HDD crash how come when do back up, recover half way then got backup the hidden partition to make the recovery dvd. has stopped working A problem caused the programe to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available? This post has been edited by Kyozen: Mar 29 2011, 11:36 PM
TSTrance4eva
Mar 30 2011, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(Kyozen @ Mar 29 2011, 11:09 PM) how come when do back up, recover half way then got backup the hidden partition to make the recovery dvd. has stopped working A problem caused the programe to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available? Wa you wasted how many DVD??? I think maybe you were doing something else on the laptop while its backing up to the DVD. Suppose to leave the laptop alone cause this program eats away lots of resources. Nothing happen to mine cause I did not disturb the laptop while its backing up to the DVD Btw you used AI recovery burner right???
TSTrance4eva
Mar 30 2011, 01:59 AM
Btw guys, do you think I should delete Asus Live Update???? I heard its a useless program and very hard to delete....need to use 3rd party program
lee_what2004
Mar 30 2011, 02:00 AM
*stare* ji--------
Delete it...
Kyozen
Mar 30 2011, 02:54 AM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 30 2011, 01:48 AM) Wa you wasted how many DVD??? I think maybe you were doing something else on the laptop while its backing up to the DVD. Suppose to leave the laptop alone cause this program eats away lots of resources. Nothing happen to mine cause I did not disturb the laptop while its backing up to the DVD Btw you used AI recovery burner right??? yes, using ai recovery~ is it the same as windows system backup? doing it now hope it is if not waste 2 more disc d.... Added on March 30, 2011, 2:55 amQUOTE(Trance4eva @ Mar 30 2011, 01:59 AM) Btw guys, do you think I should delete Asus Live Update???? I heard its a useless program and very hard to delete....need to use 3rd party program yeah delete it...very buggy 1...use windows update better This post has been edited by Kyozen: Mar 30 2011, 02:55 AM
springfall
Mar 30 2011, 01:35 PM
@Trance4eva or who ever who owns the n53sn
in the hood there's 2 ddr3 ram 1033mhz sticks right?
if i add 1-2 ddr3 1333 mhz together is tat ok?
Kyozen
Mar 30 2011, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(springfall @ Mar 30 2011, 01:35 PM) @Trance4eva or who ever who owns the n53sn in the hood there's 2 ddr3 ram 1033mhz sticks right? if i add 1-2 ddr3 1333 mhz together is tat ok? no its 1333mhz by default not 1033
empire177
Mar 30 2011, 01:39 PM

QUOTE(Kyozen @ Mar 30 2011, 02:54 AM) yes, using ai recovery~ is it the same as windows system backup? doing it now hope it is if not waste 2 more disc d.... Added on March 30, 2011, 2:55 amyeah delete it...very buggy 1...use windows update better hw come the windows update everytime i shutdown will have update =_=
Kyozen
Mar 30 2011, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(empire177 @ Mar 30 2011, 01:39 PM) hw come the windows update everytime i shutdown will have update =_= starting time is like that cause alot of updates. u can go to control panel and set you choose when or what u want to update