is there a front air intake or juz the normal under the laptop air intake?
Asus N53SN review, and discussion
Mar 28 2011, 10:30 AM
4,072 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: μετά |
is there a front air intake or juz the normal under the laptop air intake?
Mar 28 2011, 09:48 PM
Mar 29 2011, 10:31 AM
Mar 30 2011, 01:35 PM
@Trance4eva or who ever who owns the n53sn
in the hood there's 2 ddr3 ram 1033mhz sticks right? if i add 1-2 ddr3 1333 mhz together is tat ok? |
Mar 30 2011, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(GooD_DaY @ Mar 30 2011, 11:47 PM) Nice review bro and congratz on ur purchase~ if no one does that i will do it, my bro hav 1 5750 and my n53sn will come on 21 april, then i will compare n tell u guys Btw, i think aspire series with dolby home theater have a good speaker too as i'm using my cousin one since my 5750G has been returned for swapping~ Try compare to 5750G speaker and give review about it to other forumers~(poison, poison~ |
Apr 2 2011, 12:39 AM
Apr 2 2011, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(cool_vibration @ Apr 2 2011, 09:02 PM) Trance4eva, Have you use asus express gate to browse internet, somehow it loads very slow compared to browsing in windows. i had a u41jf as medtioned.. using express gate to get to a browser is faster in terms of getting through windows and firefox/chrome.. but soo far loading is kinda slow and battery hungry.. still figuring out how to install chrome n skype alsoAny solution? can install google chrome in asus express gate? oh yeah, express gate loading faster? get SSD or HDD hybrid then can go faster.. 5400rpm throttles the speed.. Added on April 2, 2011, 9:07 pm QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 2 2011, 10:48 PM) Haha gratz i've used express gate, itz slower but loading plain things is quite fastNice design ya Added on April 2, 2011, 8:53 pm Have not try yet la...maybe after my dl finish You can't install chrome cause its not compatible with express gate. Anyway if its slow, you can always log in to windows battery consumption higher than windows.. strangely.. im using a u41jf 8 cell batts my comp last me 9 hours in windows and 6-8 hours in express gate.. maybe is how it manages the ram etc.. but itz great for airports etc when u can juz shut lid and bye bye to ur flight.. This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 2 2011, 09:07 PM |
Apr 2 2011, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 2 2011, 11:26 PM) lol your right if u do find a way to use express gate (EG- hate typing) with other software do let me know also.. cuz i was give 3 months with the u41jf as it was claimed by my dad.. (boohoo- no test runs) but if EG runs 3-4 hours on the sn i would be super happie.. cuz note taking would be great.. (dont play music on EG- kills the time left)found this review bout express gate "Like many other Asus notebooks, the present N53 includes Asus' Express Gate software. This is actually a mini operating system based on Linux connected upstream of Windows OS and boots significantly faster than Windows due to the slimmed down functions. In the case of the N53S, about 5 seconds pass until the Express Gate desktop is available. However, the user should scale down its requirements on graphics and available functions. Otherwise, you will be confronted with a distorted representation and the felt speed of given applications (calendar, pictures, browser, Facebook, YouTube and a few basic games) won't be as expected. If you believe this is especially energy saving you're wrong. Our multimeter measures 17-26 W, which is considerably more than the idle mode of Windows operation. " games, i somehow incorporated 2d games into the EG games menu i dunno how.. but like i say not enuf test runs// This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 2 2011, 09:42 PM |
Apr 2 2011, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 3 2011, 12:05 AM) EG can play musics??? hmm.. apparently they hav skype but dunno why it got deleted from EG.. sud hav more in development as asus wants more pple use it.. can't sell a product which does what a handphone does better.. but EG can play all FLASH CONTENT!!! flash works wonders in boring times..I assume the SN can last 3hours on EG unless the req is scale down la and i don' think you can install any other software on EG cause EG is an Linux based OS. Might be some software out there for EG....maybe from Asus Btw you getting SN after your u41jf is gone???? bro gt 5750g, i was using u41jf, but it looks oo nice and hav 9 hours practical usage (10 hours advtise) dad look, hmm slim, long life, fast.. i'll take it.. then now im using my 7 yr old lappie, again..killing me with itz 7400 geforce go.. 9hr to 5 min batts... april 22 is my day wootz! |
Apr 2 2011, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 3 2011, 12:29 AM) Skype got deleted he switch from win6.0 to blackberry bold... he joined the wrong dark side... but heck he nids do presentation which is longer hours than me..Lol dad take away??? ask him get a android phone la Anyway, SN is better than 5750g IMO cause better design,speaker,graphics and better arrow keys(on the 5750g is sooo small).....getting 5750g also ok la. Price is reasonable for its brand and specs. im soooooooooo getting a sn.. decided since december...dammit.. y i hav 2 w8 soo long... keys gt to agree too small n flat.. speakers on 5750 is actually great compare to my 7 yr old parvilion not too shabby.. graphics, switching is like best leaved to manual.. nvidia in acer can't really switch easily.. always hav to man config or right click run in nvidia.. ( i set in the control panel ady alwyas still run in cpu gpu) |
Apr 2 2011, 11:41 PM
Apr 2 2011, 11:45 PM
QUOTE(thieflord @ Apr 3 2011, 01:43 AM) dun say tat.. unless ur lap boots up <70 sec always or u nid immediat access to info on the move then itz useful cuz windows sleeping consume fair bit of batts... boot up tooThis post has been edited by springfall: Apr 2 2011, 11:45 PM |
Apr 3 2011, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(empire177 @ Apr 3 2011, 10:30 PM) Guys, just wanna ask whether u all shutdown might have the force shutdown thingy appear but before u can click on it, the laptop has shutdown cause im experiencing this prob sometimes.. wow, im impress that the sn had that many probs.. i must quickly get 1 to help solve (would be fun)anyways, the force shutdown thingie may be caused by some programs still saving etc or updates which is still installing(most of it) -check which programs tat windows is having probs shutting down and post back for me to c..like process heavy things like psd n premier will take ages to close one way to slove is to increase the w8ing period for shutdown's or like what i do on my comp is be4 i shutdown i click my desktop n start menu 6 times each soo that most process is cleared (switching windows programs to the most recent state) and i would hav shutdowns or entering sleep mode quickly..(pple complain sleep takes ages to enter and i found this technique works well) Added on April 3, 2011, 8:44 pm QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 3 2011, 10:42 PM) nope, dual channel oni..This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 3 2011, 08:44 PM |
Apr 3 2011, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 3 2011, 10:46 PM) well if im getting it and if itz really 2x2 gb ram 1333 mhz, i would get 2x4 gb 133mhz rams slots for mine and place them in the indicated channel slots for optimum usage of the rams.. rams are getting cheaper, juz w8 few more months sure drop as ddr4 comming.. there shud be 4 dimms with 2 one pair n another 2 one pair, 2x2 goes on 1 pair, 2x4 goes on another pair.. then u get better channel usage is booting up that slow? pple complaining asus bloatware's slowing down..? wanna c for myself... This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 3 2011, 09:01 PM |
Apr 3 2011, 09:21 PM
Apr 4 2011, 01:31 AM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 4 2011, 03:03 AM) This review is for the desktop le +1.. loled series 560gtx wah, syok if in laptop.. sure can play anythingAnyway, i tried AC Brotherhood with the new driver....and i can't really max out everything or else there will be a bit lag. I have to scale down a little to get it real smooth. Still i can enjoy AC Brotherhood with great graphics....wonder how would the old driver performed. |
Apr 4 2011, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(nvrgivup @ Apr 4 2011, 09:15 PM) yeah with all the scary reviews, i really dunno shud i get 1.. juz 2 more week be4 i ship it over here... shud i really buy and spent fun time fixing bugs/probs with u guys or spend more quality time with my assignments..maybe i shud jump back to bad hp with heat probs n not so stable hardwares.. after all my dv6000 lasted me 7 years with stupid probs of keyboards n heat but no glitchy software installments and random boot time.. itz all constant 10-20 min toilet breaks for me. @trance4eva is it really bad or juz ur are soo unlucky, did u ask the shopkeaper/S.centre for a swap? the probs are overwhelming from games to boot to drivers.. i also scared... This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 4 2011, 07:24 PM |
Apr 4 2011, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 4 2011, 10:59 PM) unless some 1 wan pay 5000 ringgit to buy in australia tat is.. gt upgrades 4 3d i heardAdded on April 4, 2011, 9:04 pm QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 4 2011, 10:59 PM) No they dun cause their screen is not 3D supported but the GPU is the backup cd u made shud have like for exmple 6 cd, 5 for windows 7, 1 for drivers and softwares.. like this ratio.. i dun think itz wise to spend $ for what u gt in ur hands.. worse come to worse, get it off lala land on9Added on April 4, 2011, 9:02 pm When you reformat using the hidden partition or CD there will still be bloatwares Why must I get a copy of Windows 7, its a bloody waste of money. I already have this and I just need to delete some stuff after reformat. This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 4 2011, 09:05 PM |
Apr 4 2011, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 4 2011, 11:11 PM) I can't swap cause the problem is the software and not the laptops hardware. but mainly i switch to asus for their rep in cooling their comps.. i hate when my hp burns out during heated games and dell's probs with heat is no prob solver, both hav 2 lugg a mini suitcase and cooler when u join others on games at other houses.. i chose dell over asus cuz the price ber quality per performance and not choosing acer cuz built not sastify my needs for usage(hardwarefailrate)... levono leh... they charge okkaaayy... heat not significant speaker not all great, hardware okkkk... but service.. dun come in terms for asus international warrenty.. which i really nid.. c'ing u guys having fun, but overall i know itz a great choise and kudos to those who hav it, cuz after reading the spec n hardware installed i know itz good and went looking for it since dec juz hope im not unlucky (i will surely help those issues that i know how to fix dun worry)Anyways, you can't really find the "perfect" laptop. Every laptop sure got some problems. Lets says, HP~Heat Problems I would not call my self unluncky, maybe lucky??? lol. Im still quite satisfied la cause it did not cause much prob as my previous laptop. During gaming everything works out fine. I even got the boot up time to be normal. So why worry, nothing is perfect in this world Added on April 4, 2011, 9:13 pm |
Apr 4 2011, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(ellimistx99 @ Apr 5 2011, 12:00 AM) I don't think that's true. At least from the days of Vista/XP I remember as long as you got a newer OEM than your laptop it'd be fine and would work. Either way, you can call ASUS and get a clean (bloatware free) CD if windows 7 and it will work. quite wrong there my dear, if we can use the oem under the hood, wow, i can go selling win7 and xp as my uni has heaps of them everywhere, letz say 200 per floor in the library gets me loads of cash. and i tried with vista, it didnt work.. tats y im runnig vista ultimate lala land type wventhough i got the vista cd and oem keys.. what happen to my boot sector? my hhd locked and files corrupted.. partitioned the bad part, and used the ok part..But my point remains the same. Do a CLEAN install from a CLEAN windows CD and it will make a world of difference. Added on April 4, 2011, 10:19 pm QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Apr 5 2011, 12:08 AM) Btw do you know even if you did a clean install, you still have to install the same driver which in the 1st place cause the same problems. My prob is not really bout the boot up time or lagging during normal use. My prob is when after waking up from hibernation, everything starts to lag and im suspecting it might be due to one of windows new update... i updated my ultimate pack with a bug fix once, i endedup restoring my comp 1 month back as it corruted my hdd backups tat is bad.. boot up errors took me long to fix Added on April 4, 2011, 10:22 pm QUOTE(ellimistx99 @ Apr 5 2011, 12:13 AM) They should provide it free. us provided FOC, they even throw it in ur bag. malaysia, ummmm no such thing.. last time i got a racovery sample cd... was like when the 1st amd dual core launch in mal.. after tat no more..About the lagging, that will be taken care of too, could be a combination of apps, antivirus, registry issues, improper un-installation, anything could cause the hibernate issues. If it's really bothering you what you can do is, Clean Format, Install Firefox or Chrome, Install JUST your drivers (don't do windows update), and then create a restore point or an image. Then hibernate, shutdown whatever and do your tests. Then install updates. If the same issue happens, you know it's the updates. If the updates are okay, then create restore point and create a backup image again. Then start installing your games and msn and whatever else crap you want. This way you know EXACTLY what has been installed/uninstalled. Side note: Just use Microsoft Security Essentials as your A/V it's more than good enough, don't get any other one. This post has been edited by springfall: Apr 4 2011, 10:22 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0549sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:34 PM |